Arc Rise Fantasia Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Arc Rise Fantasia is set in the Meridian Empire. Creatures called "Contaminant Dragons" are causing trouble as they pass the Meridian in flocks. If one is killed, the resulting explosion poisons the local area. When the empire receives word that a massive horde has its sights on the capitalArc Rise Fantasia is set in the Meridian Empire. Creatures called "Contaminant Dragons" are causing trouble as they pass the Meridian in flocks. If one is killed, the resulting explosion poisons the local area. When the empire receives word that a massive horde has its sights on the capital of Diamant, it immediately sends out an army to fight them, including L'Arc, a cool and collected novice mercenary, and his friend Alf, the beloved prince and second in line for the throne. L'Arc is severely injured during the battle, but is saved by a girl named Ryfia, who has secrets in her past and possesses the power to control "ley squalls," naturally occurring storms of no magic that usually take the form of luminous rain. A young woman named Adele, who has been a friend of L'Arc since childhood, renders assistance to the party through use of her unique form of combat, Luminomancy. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. 82
    Flawed? Sure. Is Arc Rise Fantasia the best RPG I've played? Far from it. However, Arc Rise Fantasia captures the heart and soul of the JRPG so wonderfully that it will be easy enough to overlook the flaws.
  2. Nintendo Power
    75
    Despite its flaws, though, I ultimately enjoyed my time with Arc Rise Fantasia. [July 2010, p.84]
  3. There is no doubt about it, Arc Rise Fantasia wants to be a hardcore JRPG. In many aspects it achieves this, but before fans go rushing to buy it they have to ask themselves: just how much grind is too much grind? If killing the same weak enemies over and over for innumerable hours before any story progression is made doesn't deter you, then by all means buy Arc Rise Fantasia.
  4. Although there is a decent amount of story material to cover as well as some potential for grinding/leveling up, nothing here warrants a second play through.
  5. 60
    If the only system you have is a Wii and you need an RPG, this certainly isn't a bad title to settle for. For gamers with more console options, however, the enjoyment you'll derive from Arc Rise Fantasia will likely be tied to how much you like combat, since the story certainly isn't anything worthwhile.
  6. 58
    If you're one of those players who simply can't make do without a Tales-like RPG experience every few months, Arc Rise Fantasia might have enough of what you're looking for. But for most players, the game will simply be a flashback to the bad ol' days of the mid-'90s, when shoestring localization budgets botched many an epic RPG adventure.
  7. When the reward for beating the next boss is just more bland gameplay, it just isn't worth the effort.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Graphics are just beautiful as well as the story. The characters are fully developed, despite the awful voice acting. In my opinion, the gameGraphics are just beautiful as well as the story. The characters are fully developed, despite the awful voice acting. In my opinion, the game would've been perfect if it weren't for the terrible voice acting. After you finish the story there are many reasons to keep playing, though I'm not gonna spoil it. There are a variety of detailed weapons. Customizing armforce adds to the strategy. The game encourages you to level up and unlock armforce, though it can be very time consuming. I cried so much on a few parts.. especially the ending. The OST is amazing and flawless!! Currently in my music lists. I recommend this game to all rpg players out there. This game needs more credit and should have a sequel!! Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    Arc rise fantasia es uno de los grandes títulos que vistieron al Wii durante su tiempo ya que nos presenta una historia muy solida con unoArc rise fantasia es uno de los grandes títulos que vistieron al Wii durante su tiempo ya que nos presenta una historia muy solida con uno cambios de argumento geniales y situaciones inesperadas que harán que la historia te mantenga al filo de asiento; asi mismo este jueggo nos presenta un gameplay innovador en muchas facetas con un hermosa aroma a los Rpg´s de la vieja escuela. Siendo honestos este titulo parece una fusión entre Final Fantasy VII y Tales of Shymponias por muchas cosas en su desarrollo.
    El replay value es otra de las cosas buenas, ya que hay mucho lugares que es necesario re explorar para que puedas encontrar armas especiales, diálogos comicos y algo que no podía faltar: jefes especiales los cuales tienen alto nivel de dificultad.
    Con todo esto podemos concluir que Arc Rise Fantasia es un gran juego que desafortunadamente fue poco conocido gracias a la exagerada critica negativa e injusta que recibió.
    Afortunadamente este título se cruzó en el camino de este servidores para re valorarlo y darle el trato que se merecer
    La calficación que le otorgo a este titulo es de: 9.5
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    For those looking for an RPG with a battle system (turn based) with a choice of strategy, evolved system of spells and weapons customization,For those looking for an RPG with a battle system (turn based) with a choice of strategy, evolved system of spells and weapons customization, will have great fun.

    The story is original and interesting, involving a bit of politics and religion.

    Misses RPG on the Wii? Give him a chance.
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2017
    9
    It took me almost 7 years to pick the game up and decided to start from the beginning. I can still look behind and see my younger self hopingIt took me almost 7 years to pick the game up and decided to start from the beginning. I can still look behind and see my younger self hoping this to be a good JRPG that would be even better than Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World. Well today I can say that YES it is in my opinion one of the most underrated JRPG's of the last 10 years.
    Some reviews point for some flaws of the game but they actually ignore completelly what is good in this game.
    Let's begin with the graphics. They are really good for Wii standarts and I believe if the game had an HD remaster it would still look good, The battle effects, expec arts, rogress summons, magic effects, they all look stunning (once again for Wii standarts). Some animations out of battle seem a little bit "lazy-made", by this I mean that when its not a cutscene or a battle there are almost no animations for most of the characters other than walk, run, punch, even when someone hands you something you don't see any sort of animation that supports the act. For the characters, all of them are easy to recognize (not counting with the NPC's that keep repeting themselvs through nearly every main city or town), you know Rastan like that bad ass adult that really shakes a tough atmosphere, Leslie the sexy shooter with somehow a very strong sense of duty and responsability and yet teasing personality. All of them are easy to keep in mind and all of them have a very good development but I'll leave that for a path more ahead on this review. The monsters have models that repeat in at least the first half of the game, only having a slight recolor to distinguish the weaker ones from the stronger ones, a critical thing to point yes, but in an anime like JRPG its a very common practice, but that doesn't erase the fact that is bad.

    Music:
    Not the worst game for the soundtrack, yet not the best too. What can I say? It has some tracks that really catch the moment that we're living on the game, and others just keep repeating (ex: the dungeon track).
    I've noticed something really curious too, imagine that you just got a cutscene by getting to a point on the game and something really dramatic is shown, the music reflects that dramatic event even when the cutscene ended, however if you go out of that "room" or "zone" of the town or dungeon to fullfill what that dramatic event caused the music just changes to the normal one all of the sudden.
    Some of you may be scratching your heads now, but think a little with me here, if someone important is killed in the game and the killer is close, you will run to catch him, but while you're at that small chase the music that makes the player feel the pressure still goes on until you face the killer (im not saying this happened, just using it as an example of normal game design), so its like "omg this is happening" in one zone and "oh its all normal now" as soon as you leave the zone or the room.
    The rest, its pretty decent for a tradicional JRPG.

    Gameplay:
    Oh boy, this is what i personally consider the most important thing in a game. The gameplay is kinda of a complex one yet very nice to experiment with. Everytime you buy a weapon you get those gems attached to them that if you train enough you can actually take them off and equip in other weapons, this is a good thing to make the grinding being not only for XP purpose because this game is kinda hard and requires a good share of grinding for levels because every boss fight will get you mini-heart attacks every time that the boss turn is on.
    The Orb system is not a hard one to learn weither but one thing in this game is kinda out of place and that is the WP, that's a thing that just shouldn't be there, it isn't necessary, its use is soully make the game harder. Overall think it like the materia system from FFVII turned into a small puzzle that awakens your weapon's secret power.

    Story:
    Well, there are good points and bad points here, I'll start with the bad ones.
    The map is huge they could have made at least 20 more locations but instead the story makes you go to the same places multiple times in different orders again and again, I lost count of how many times I've visited the republic's capital only to be sent to a small town for the party to have a small conversarion at the entrance and then "let's get back to the capital". Dungeon recycling is also present, sometimes its justifiable and sometimes just seems that the game designers were out of places to visit.
    Now the good part, the Story kinda keeps you going with the mystery and triggering your curiosity to look for more rogress and has an ending that made me kinda cry because of 2 things, and one of them is that there will be no sequel (the other would be spoiler). The character developing is there too and evolves with the pacing gone just right.

    Problems: Horrible english dub (Just play undub please), low score reviews because it wasn't a big game company that made it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    Better story, battle system and item management than 95% RPGs out there, ignore the bad voice acting and have fun! The game is quite lenghtyBetter story, battle system and item management than 95% RPGs out there, ignore the bad voice acting and have fun! The game is quite lenghty and challanging, you'll sure die a lot on boss fights! =) Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    this is a good game with a great storyline but the problem for me was the strategy based fighting other than that it was a good game .i wouldthis is a good game with a great storyline but the problem for me was the strategy based fighting other than that it was a good game .i would recommend playing it Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    When I first bought this game, I was really hoping for a great RPG experience like the one I got from Tales of Symphonia. Sadly, that's notWhen I first bought this game, I was really hoping for a great RPG experience like the one I got from Tales of Symphonia. Sadly, that's not what happened. Granted, I had a little fun with strategic combat that the game provided and the graphics are quite nice (for the Wii, anyway), but as I played the game longer, the faults began to surface. While I did enjoy the combat system, it seems that console-based RPGs are more suited to real-time. Second is that while standard enemies are no problem, the bosses are unforgivable and force you to grind levels to even stand a chance agianst them. The last two things, however, are what really killed it for me. The story (for the most part) is very shallow and too similar to Tales of Symphonia to be bragged about, and I couldn't find one character in this game who wasn't either irrelevant to what was going on or just cliche as all hell, especially Adele and Ryfia. And of course there's what everybody else has touched on: the English voice acting is absolutely horrendous (not helped by the fact you can't change it to Japanese). The bottom line is that if you're looking for a good RPG on the Wii, Arc Rise Fantasia isn't the last game to look for, but it's certainly not the first. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

81
19
#19 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
15
#15 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010