Battalion Wars 2 Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tricked into believing that the Solar Empire is developing a devastating super-weapon, Commander Pierce and Colonel Windsor of the Anglo Isles launch a pre-emptive strike on the Coral Atolls. The world is once again at war. New naval units, new vehicles and loads of missions makes this anTricked into believing that the Solar Empire is developing a devastating super-weapon, Commander Pierce and Colonel Windsor of the Anglo Isles launch a pre-emptive strike on the Coral Atolls. The world is once again at war. New naval units, new vehicles and loads of missions makes this an explosive Wii debut. Giving Gamers Total Control: Players drive tanks, command ships, pilot planes and direct their troops into the heart of the action in the return of the popular tactical action game for Wii. Online Multiplayer: The battle wages online in three modes: Assault, Skirmish and Co-op. Fight with or against others in land, sea and air combat. Precision Fighting: Wii Remote controller provides intuitive, precise control to bring out the action of this tactical thrillfest. The tactical depth, replay value and online game play makes this a must-have game. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Good old-fashioned strategic action. [Mar 2008, p.68]
  2. With some pretty innovative and solid graphics, great sound and the inclusion of online support, this game is pretty much a must buy, especially for strategy fans looking for their fix on the Wii.
  3. Wii controls do nothing to improve the game, but it's still classic Battalion Wars gameplay. A bit more depth in the strategy department, but overall the game is a bit easier and shorter than the original.
  4. The simplicity of all its elements is kind of a trademark for this Battalion Wars. But that can also be held against the game, because it could use a little more depth. But if you think of it for what it is and not for what it could have been you can enjoy it properly. [Jan 2008]
  5. This sequel to Nintendo's console wargame wages a much more successful campaign on free time.
  6. 70
    Battalion Wars 2 is a good game with some minor issues that do not detract from its overall quality or enjoyment.
  7. BW2 is a strategy game that doesn't demand much strategy. That doesn't mean it's not sometimes enjoyable, but it's nothing more than an occasional diversion. [Jan 2008, p.84]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. JosiahH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    I liked the game, but you couldn't skip those frieking tacky CUTSCENES! also, durring Wi-Fi play, some cheaters would shut their power I liked the game, but you couldn't skip those frieking tacky CUTSCENES! also, durring Wi-Fi play, some cheaters would shut their power off and cut the connection 3 seconds before they lost.Cheaters. By the way if you happen to play against me on wi-fi, my screen name is "war-pig" Expand
  2. JeremyG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Excellent. Easilly one of the best Wii games out there. The only real bad thing about this is that it lacks offline multiplayer. But since Excellent. Easilly one of the best Wii games out there. The only real bad thing about this is that it lacks offline multiplayer. But since nearly everyone has internet support for their wii, or at least can get a wi-fi adapter, It's pretty inconsequential. Solid single player. Solid multiplayer. Solid game. Expand
  3. DavidR.
    Dec 25, 2007
    9
    Campaign is sorta dull,but still fun,tons of classes,and online play wil keep me entertained for a long time to come.Unlockables are just the Campaign is sorta dull,but still fun,tons of classes,and online play wil keep me entertained for a long time to come.Unlockables are just the icing on the cake. Collapse
  4. J
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    My first time playing a Battalion Wars game and I find it super fun. Multiplayer is the best. Awesome missions to complete that aren't My first time playing a Battalion Wars game and I find it super fun. Multiplayer is the best. Awesome missions to complete that aren't just "capture the flag" or Deathmatch. Co-op multiplay is my favorite. The game overall is pretty easy to control with a large arsenal of soldiers and vehicles. I highly recommend this game if you are looking for something different. I would agree that they should of had more Mouse-like controls. Single-player mode is fun too but should be longer. Multiplayer is Awesome! Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    one of the best army games ever its an awesome strategy game thats mixed in with a shooter you can control pretty much any military vehicle orone of the best army games ever its an awesome strategy game thats mixed in with a shooter you can control pretty much any military vehicle or unit the online is very fun despite wiis awful online compatibility the campaign is also awesome get this game you wont be sorry Expand
  6. BenjaminB.
    Feb 17, 2008
    8
    Funny game. Quite entertaining. I like the visuals, sounds and gameplay. but the campaign has too many mission with a lack of choice. most of Funny game. Quite entertaining. I like the visuals, sounds and gameplay. but the campaign has too many mission with a lack of choice. most of the mission have to be accomplished in a certain way. I also miss some more coop-missions. Expand
  7. DJT.
    Jan 6, 2008
    3
    Horrible Horrible game... It's one of those siituations where you think this game could be really cool. But a terrible camera combined Horrible Horrible game... It's one of those siituations where you think this game could be really cool. But a terrible camera combined with the sense that you're playing a tutorial for the whole game makes this one of the worst games ever. Don't waste your time with this one. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews