User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 426

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    The 2011 COD game is almost identical to the games that came before it, yet millions of casual gamers still run to the midnight release to pick up a copy. Unfortunately one of my friends was one of them and I got the chance to play the most overrated game of the year. As always the single player is a little shorter than the last one, taking me and my friend around 5 hours to complete. The multiplayer is still the same old solo run and gun fest, but this time on rushed and chaotic maps. Not much else to say really, but if you own any Call of Duty game that came out in the last 4 years, you already have this game. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something
    because it's fun is selfish and they need to tell Activision with their wallets they're tired of getting ripped off every year. Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Tired game , Tired engine, Same crap gets put out every single year for four years and people flock to toss their cash away, sad really sad. I have played it it IS THE SAME AS MW2. why would you buy it again ?? Activision is laughing all the way to the bank! This is pathetic and should have been released as an expansion pack nothing more!
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Activision has once again failed to make their latest COD title stand out. Because, frankly, this is the umpteenth time COD 4 has been repackaged, with little to no innovation. The same broken Multiplayer, the same try-hard 4 hour long story, and soon the same overpriced map packs. It is truly a disgrace, the way Activision keeps confirming their greediness, and lack of interest for their customers. This hasn`t bitten them yet, seeing as a lot of COD-players are very, very young. Too young to stand up and say "I will no longer let myself be milked dry like a cow. I will no longer let this company ruin gaming by repackaging the same game over and over again, therefore being a bad example for the rest". And even when the fans are a bit older, they still have ridiculously low standards, considering they like replaying the same broken game, over and over, paying 60 Dollars every year.

    Because of this greediness and laziness, COD MW3 deserves a 0, but I`ll give Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer games 1 point for the effort.
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is even more pathetic on Wii which is mainly due to the hardware but it is the same tried and tested copy and paste P.O.S

    No matter what format you purchase you will have that de ja vu feeling then you'll blink and see the credits rolling.

    RENTAL
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Appalled by review scores. Battlefield gets ripped on the fact that they added a singleplayer mode to what is essentially a multiplayer only game, just as an addition to add value to the game, yet Activision gets away with this crap every year. It's all about the money, and they're making a lot of it.
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible. Need I say more? This is a 59.99 map pack for MW2 with some bonus campaign content, an over hyped online add on, and garbage multiplayer maps.
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    I got this game on steam on launch day, hoping it would be better than Black Ops. Biggest mistake I have ever made in buying a game, even worse than buying BO. That game was a mess, and I have deeply regretted buying it, but not more than MW3. I have played MW, MW2, BO, and now MW3 and I can say each game gets worse exponentially. I will never purchase another COD game again.

    This game
    really feels like MW1.5 as there is absolutely nothing new. Graphics are more than 4 years old. Same old boring, predictable story. Multiplayer is exactly the same with new maps. This game could have been a $15 DLC, and even that would be a rip off.

    If you guys want a good, quality game, check out The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. There's a game that the developers actually put time into making, about 3 years. Not like each COD game taking less than a year to make, no wonder their quality is so terrible. It's sad that such a piece of junk like MW1.5 can sell millions and even more than games that outclass it like Skyrim. There are just too many mindless, stupid fanboys who enjoy shooting each other with new maps paying a $60 fee every year to do so.

    Overall, this game couldn't even last me 2 days as once Skyrim came out I dumped this piece of crap. Hopefully, the COD series dies with this game or they totally reinvent it because it's only going to get worse from here.
    Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Amazing that CoD can be even worse, The Wii version is absolutely terrible, garbage graphics and controls
    It's just and old game with a new skins anyway, use some common sense people..
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you hate your money, and would like to own a steaming pile of **** inside of a small DVD case, then this game is for you! This is a horrible game designed for brainless kids. I guess that's awesome if your target audience will shell out $60 a year for the same game.
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    12 Hours of single payer game play. Holds true to the COD franchise's lack of content from the past 3 installments. Though those 12 hours of gameplay was more compelling than Black Ops, I still feel incredibly cheated out of $60. Online play is no better than Black Ops. Not just graphically, but the levels almost look like the same levels as BO... Laggy servers, gives laggy movements and firing ingame. Then, they try to sweeten us up with their "Elite" service, but only to find out it will cost you ANOTHER $50. Come on Sledgehammer, can we get a reach around when you're giving us the hammer??? I would say avoid this one... But we all bought it sight unseen already.... Oh well. Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Why drop $60 on a game which had hacks and aimbots on the first day and which the developer does nothing to fix? Go to Youtube and lookup "First Ever MW3 Aimbot". Also lookup the number of bots/hacks/cheats for Call of Duty 2 you will see plenty of them that are still active and that the developer has done nothing about. That speaks volumes about this company and its' priorities. It is also sad that they are going to charge you an extra charge for their Elite service when the rankings are already skewed due to aimbots. If I am going to spend $60 on this game I want support that will fix these issues and punish those that it finds cheating. They really dropped the ball on this franchise with this rushed, buggy, hacked piece of junk. Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Every Call of Duty since CoD4 has tried so hard to out-do its predecessor to the point where its made me look upon some of the greatest FPS games ever made, and think they are obselete. It has made me look at games in new ways, and think, "what is this game doing new, and if its not doing anything new, why play it?"

    Its horrible to think that I used to play marathon sessions of games like
    Counter Strike, CoD 4, and Halo 3, and now I dont even want to think about them. Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    Given the hardware restrictions for this version of a already dying game, there is really nothing positive I can say at all, not that I had anything positive to say about the re-run re-skinned cash cow anyways.
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Horrible the worst game ever

    Horrible, terrible, worst, sick, bad

    Acitivision is sick, COD died in COD4

    this game is a very bad copy and past of COD4
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Hello, this review is for Luke Reilly of IGN AU. I want him to know that he is a turd of a human being, and the world would be better served if he spent his time behind a cash register instead of wasting everyone's time with garbage editorials. Oh yeah, this is getting a 0 because it's the worst game ever, even worse than Superman 64.
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Two step down from Black Ops in every conceivable way. Graphics are psp-level at best, all guns sound like staplers, framerate drops everywhere, lag shooting. Shot guns are useless now. Want to shoot someone? They had better be standing still or you won't hit them. Want to shoot while turning? Too bad, you can't do that in MW3.
  18. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    If you wanted to buy a shooter, why would you want it on the Wii? This is no different than the other CoD ports to the Wii, this is poor at best, an abomination at worst.
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on the internet like Destructoid's own Jimmyx Sterling getting paid big bucks to give it high review scores. Expand
  20. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Just a blatant copy paste of their previous release, just like activision loves to do. It gets boring very fast, I've never really understood the hype about this game, I rented it and just found out like many other that it wasn't good at all. I don't even see any improvments from the past games, nothing out of the ordinary and mostly nothing that looked like something original and new. Everything is just the same, they just make these games for money seriously... Expand
  21. Nov 22, 2011
    1
    okay, i'm just gonna say, this is a terrible game. not because of the stupid reason that it's "a repackaged mw2". although it kinda is, it's also just not fun at all. online got boring after 1 hour, campaign wasnt very enjoyable, and the only high point of the game is spec ops. the survival mode is somewhat fun which is why i'm giving it a 1. do NOT buy this game, a waste of money
  22. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This game blows. Worst game ever released on the wii system. Save your money and get The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword instead, or anyother awesome game by Nintendo for that matter.
  23. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    @BUCKCITY
    All the bad reviews may have been copied from other systems but you can expect the game to be better on those systems (this game was not made with the Wii in mind). Therefore, the reviewers are being generous most of the time as the Wii version should be getting a lower score than the other versions.
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This game is not worth a single penny. Why do people buy this crap every single year? Wake up people, Activision is ripping you off. They say they work two years on this "masterpiece", but isn't it very clear they don't spend more than 6 months?

    This is just another generic first person shooter. There already way too many of them, and these guys are not helping. This game is not worth
    your time or money. Buy Call of Duty 4 for 10 bucks instead, it's the same thing. Oh, and be sure to buy it used - Activision don't deserve your precious money. Expand
  25. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I'd be saying to much if I were to say this game is MW2.5 It's more Like MW2: The Lost DLC Edition Because it's basically the same game! I can't believe I was tricked into buying $60 DLC. The mulitiplayer maps are the worst in the series, The singleplayer is way to short, and the graphics, same dull texters Instead of getting Skyrim, I wasted my hard earned cash on this pathetic excuse for a game
    Never in my life have I felt like such a dumbass
    Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can't believe I wasted $50 on another copy of Modern Warfare 2. SPOILER: It is exactly the same formula as has been seen in the last two games, and if anything isn't as good as them, as i thoroughly enjoyed those games, and this one is just pathetic. Expand
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Game is absolute garbage. The campaign just felt absolutely forced and was completely forgettable by the end of it. Spec Ops is trash because zombies in WaW and Black Ops was just so much better. Not to mention you were able to play it with upto 3 other people that you know! Where's the fun in fighting endless enemies with only one other person? There is no fun in that. On to multiplayer... the maps are the worst I have ever seen. The graphics are extremely dated, Battlefield 3 just completely slaughters this game. The textures are also horrendous! Everything about this game is re-used from Modern Warfare 2. This game doesn't feel fresh at all. All of the guns and skins are re-used... the menus as well... even some of the buildings and vehicles. The sounds of the guns are still bad, and some are the same as MW2. Battlefield 3 is just so much better. Sorry if the truth hurts. This game is just a bad DLC to a game that came out two years ago. Save your money! Expand
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The history was short and sweet, nobody expected nothing better from the story. The multiplayer is where this game shines, well nope, it feels like a MW2 mappack
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is a rehash and its pretty much solidifying the fact that gaming is dying. Every year expect more and more of these things to come out, receive inflated scores by paid off reviewers, and for them to break all sorts of retail records. COD is the new Madden of our time, only difference is it changes even less between installments.
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    The sentence of ACTIVISION:

    "Normally I do not do that, but if you like MW3 go to Metacritic.com and support Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. His note is suspiciously low. Be honest, but help us if you agree."

    MW2.1 is a joke!
  31. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty is smashing records & making BILLIONS, yet they cant even upgrade the graphics engine

    COD is making more money then any other game out there, At least change something with all that money,(Like most developers do) hey maybe they could change the leveling up music?

    CoDs repetitive titles are also taking the eyes of the consumers off of higher standard quality games that
    deserve it (Skyrim, Skyward Sword, AC:R, BF3, UC3, etc.) It should be those games breaking records, you know, the ones with time actually being spent to increase the greatness of them?


    the whole damn world bought CoD, they went full retard man.
    Expand
  32. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    i cant believe i wasted my $$$ on this piece of #####.
    game plays the same feeels the same.
    this should be dlc rather than a full game. this is the last time you got my $$$ activition.
  33. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    This game sucks, I can't believe people are still buying this mainstream crap. They make the same game every year, make some new maps for the boring multiplayer, and slap together a linear, run from point a to b campaign. Its as bad as the ea sports games, as its just milking people year after year. If you've never played the games before, you might enjoy this, but if you've sick and tired of the yearly repetitive cod formula save your money and stay away, you'll find little to nothing new. Expand
  34. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    Unbelievable how the same exact game we played years ago (COD: Modern Warfare 1) gets extra levels and they name that same game COD: Modern Warfare 3. Then they slap a 60 dollar price tag on it an sell it as new. Hopefully now, after literally almost every single user review is a 0 or 1, the publisher and developers of this tittle get the massage.
  35. Nov 28, 2011
    1
    Very very disappointed. I expected Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer games to innovate on what was once one of the greatest franchises of all time. Instead they decided to churn out the same junk from last year and the year before. I'm just in shock they would let this franchise die such a horrible death. The weapon sound effects are the same, rank up sounds same, kill streak menus the same and the main menu is also exactly the same as Modern Warfare 2. Graphics have barley had a tune up. Thing don't look better just more glossy. As if everything in the world of Call of Duty is colored with Candy paint. The Campaign was a let down as well, I expected an epic climax to the story instead i got lead down a straight path to at the end, push keys it told me to, and with such dated graphics it just looks so cheesy. Theres no variety to multiplayer either. Basically its every man for himself. Everyone run around like chickens with their heads cut off. In my opinion this game also takes no skill to play. The weapons significantly lack recoil making it very, very easy to aim and by aim i mean spray rounds everywhere because you wont be bumped off target. Not worth 60 dollars, hell not worth 20 dollars. I'm no fanboy, just a very disappointed gamer. Collapse
  36. Jan 23, 2012
    1
    I played this on the Xbox 360, a bit annoyed at the children droning on with their immaturity. I owned this on PS3, miss it now... Having bought this on Wii makes me want to throttle the prick at gameslop for not warning me about how crappy this game is. Do not buy this, don't. It isn't what you want it to be. You know what, if this is the best Wii has to offer in terms of first person shooters then maybe all it really IS good for is a singy dancy pokemon game after all. I hate that I wasted my money on a wii now. Congratulations Nintendo, you managed to convince me to buy another PS3! Expand
  37. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Seriously?? SERIOUSLY?? THE SAME GAME?? **** this **** I've already played this kinds of game before, I'm not playing a COD game until they offer some NEW mechanics...
  38. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    not even good. were they tring.kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  39. Apr 27, 2012
    0
    More of the same, nothing but FPS garbage. This genre has single handedly destroyed gaming and turned the entire industry into one that favors "safe" shallow gameplay with good graphics instead of games that are actually enjoyable.
  40. Jan 19, 2013
    4
    The main reason why is game is bad is because you can tell that the developers did not care about the game they were making. The Wii did not get MW2 so most Wii players couldn't fully understand the campaign. The multiplayer also had lag shooting then kill streaks didn't work then hackers took over. Overall all its an awful game.
  41. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    I'm sick of the Wii. Motion Controls are not the future of gaming. Why put a really good game on a bad console with horrible controls? The Wii Remote makes it hard to play.
  42. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    Very very disappointed. I expected Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer games to innovate on what was once one of the greatest franchises of all time. Instead they decided to churn out the same junk from last year and the year before. I'm just in shock they would let this franchise die such a horrible death. The weapon sound effects are the same, rank up sounds same, kill streak menus the same and the main menu is also exactly the same as Modern Warfare 2. Graphics have barley had a tune up. Thing don't look better just more glossy. As if everything in the world of Call of Duty is colored with Candy paint. The Campaign was a let down as well, I expected an epic climax to the story instead i got lead down a straight path to at the end, push keys it told me to, and with such dated graphics it just looks so cheesy. Theres no variety to multiplayer either. Basically its every man for himself. Everyone run around like chickens with their heads cut off. In my opinion this game also takes no skill to play. The weapons significantly lack recoil making it very, very easy to aim and by aim i mean spray rounds everywhere because you wont be bumped off target. Not worth 60 dollars, hell not worth 20 dollars. I'm no fanboy, just a very disappointed gamer. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    70
    Whilst there have been cuts to the package, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 remains a solid title on Wii. The story has made it over completely and the multiplayer is as fun as ever, and will easily cut through any days of boredom. If you are into shooters, then this should tickle you the right way.
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    88
    MW3 is the definitive version of the franchise on the Wii and one of the best FPS ever made for the console.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    65
    I realize that I am painting a fairly bad picture of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3, and I admit that it is hard to be objective when I have already had the pleasure to play the title on both the Xbox 360 and the PS3. Comparing across the platforms is hardly fair when the Wii's processing power is so limited that it forces developers to make significant modifications to the gameplay. But even considering that, Modern Warfare 3 is merely an average shooter compared to the other FPS titles on the Wii.