User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    This game is different but for the most part is innocent. I have beating this game in less than a day and trust me when I say this the Wii doesn't do that to me much. Cooking games are not very popular mostly because I don't know that many games that one are not flash games or are knock offs of this game. I suck at cooking and as far as I know the Wii won't make me a better cook, but IThis game is different but for the most part is innocent. I have beating this game in less than a day and trust me when I say this the Wii doesn't do that to me much. Cooking games are not very popular mostly because I don't know that many games that one are not flash games or are knock offs of this game. I suck at cooking and as far as I know the Wii won't make me a better cook, but I will say that if I wanted to make anything I could use this game and just use the recipes on there. The whole game is cute which can be annoying if you play it more then three hours. I really liked how the food was from other countries and what I found out within five mins of co-op mood was that I know just about every flag ever made.The game is really fun at times, graphics are pretty basic very cartoon like. The music is really silly and only contains like four notes. If you find it cheap grab it, no one should hate this game but they will hate the controls. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This is your classic wii game it is quirky, unique and takes advantage of the wiimote motion controls. I didn't love this game but I'm not really that into the wii. It would be a great game to play with friends, or significant other (as I did) You can race to complete the recipes against one another. There are a decent variety of different cooking techniques you can simulate with theThis is your classic wii game it is quirky, unique and takes advantage of the wiimote motion controls. I didn't love this game but I'm not really that into the wii. It would be a great game to play with friends, or significant other (as I did) You can race to complete the recipes against one another. There are a decent variety of different cooking techniques you can simulate with the different recipes. It seems to appeal more to girls and children (as do many wii games) It is simple and fun for what it is. If you are a hardcore gamer, pass if you are looking for something to play with the uninitiated then it may be worth picking up. Collapse
  3. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    Cooking Mama: Cook Off is the Wii sequel to the popular game Cooking Mama. It now features 55 different recipes with over 300 ingredients to prepare the dishes. If you don't know about the Cooking Mama franchise, the main aim of the game is dishes are prepared by completing a series of short mini-games. Each mini-game represents a step in the meal preparation process, with a complete dishCooking Mama: Cook Off is the Wii sequel to the popular game Cooking Mama. It now features 55 different recipes with over 300 ingredients to prepare the dishes. If you don't know about the Cooking Mama franchise, the main aim of the game is dishes are prepared by completing a series of short mini-games. Each mini-game represents a step in the meal preparation process, with a complete dish requiring anywhere from two to more than a dozen such steps. Unlike its predecessor however, Cooking Mama: Cook Off features a scoring system after every mini-game which actually works really well. The main problem with the game is that the controls haven't been polished well. This leads to a frustrating experience since you fail the mini-games due to the controls. Lovely polished graphics won't make up for the game's downfall and thus it gets a mediocre score. The sequel, Cooking Mama: World Kitchen is much better or just stick to the original. Expand
  4. WillT
    Dec 28, 2009
    5
    Fun at first but then becomes a complete drag, graphically phenomenal but wont last you long at all maybe christmas or the same night you get it, but you won't play it ever again
  5. JenH
    Jan 24, 2009
    3
    This game was very simple and too simple to enjoy. The tasks in the game were limited and very slow. We ended up trading this game along with a couple other wii games for something different.
  6. SethK
    Apr 28, 2008
    0
    This is the worst game I have played in 25 years. The worst Atari 2600 game is probably better than this game. I rented it with a girlfriend who loved and mastered the cake making version of this game, but we were both completely baffled by this game. For instance, it would tell us to stir and then follow the on screen directions. There were no on screen directions, ever. Just a progress This is the worst game I have played in 25 years. The worst Atari 2600 game is probably better than this game. I rented it with a girlfriend who loved and mastered the cake making version of this game, but we were both completely baffled by this game. For instance, it would tell us to stir and then follow the on screen directions. There were no on screen directions, ever. Just a progress bar or a timer that would run out waiting for us to do some unknown motion and we would lose and then look at each other like "WTF was that?!?" Other times it would tell us to shake the remote to do something, but neglect to mention you need to hold the A button, or the B button, or something else, so every single game was pure trial-and-error. Basically, it was 100% frustration and 0% fun. I can't believe I wasted $8 to rent this POS. Expand
  7. JeffZ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    6
    Fun game, but I don't like the breaks between each step.
  8. NatalieJ.
    Nov 8, 2007
    4
    As someone who absolutely loved the original DS game I was bitterly disappointed with this. Certain tasks were hard (Such as cutting) and the range of meals you could cook was really limited. The only thing good about it was the multiplayer, but alas, with the difficulty with some of the tasks, and the way things were phrased when explaining what you had to do made it extremely hard for As someone who absolutely loved the original DS game I was bitterly disappointed with this. Certain tasks were hard (Such as cutting) and the range of meals you could cook was really limited. The only thing good about it was the multiplayer, but alas, with the difficulty with some of the tasks, and the way things were phrased when explaining what you had to do made it extremely hard for someone just to pick up the wiimote and play, all the fun was sucked out of it, into a mess that even Mama couldn't fix. Expand
  9. JessicaC.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Great game! Better played with a friend. You can sit and play for hours and never get bored. I definitly recomend it.
  10. BonbonA.
    Aug 16, 2007
    7
    Actually Cooking Mama: Cook Off could be a great game. Nice graphics, a variety of different cooks and cute accent of the character "Mama" are not enough to cover the fact of the not-so-responsive controller. Even with practice, players will notice that something is wrong with the game, because their Wii Remote doesn't really act like playing Wii Sports or Wii Play. It entertains Actually Cooking Mama: Cook Off could be a great game. Nice graphics, a variety of different cooks and cute accent of the character "Mama" are not enough to cover the fact of the not-so-responsive controller. Even with practice, players will notice that something is wrong with the game, because their Wii Remote doesn't really act like playing Wii Sports or Wii Play. It entertains younger children and old people for a while, but due to its repetitive gameplay nature, they will know when to stop. Expand
  11. LauraM.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Me & my cousins play it all the time!!! it iz really fun, i love cooking.
  12. [Anonymous]
    May 22, 2007
    5
    The game is okay as a rental, but I wouldn't buy it. The controls are not precise enough to make it fun and the repetitive voice of the being "better than momma" is annoying and frustrating. With that being said, this is a truly unique game and if a sequel were to be released fixing some of the blatant issues this could be a fun game.
  13. BillR.
    Apr 25, 2007
    5
    Not a gripping game. Simplistic and repetitive, a couple hours the night I rented it was enough.
  14. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    This is your classic wii game it is quirky, unique and takes advantage of the wiimote motion controls. I didn't love this game but I'm not really that into the wii. It would be a great game to play with friends, or significant other (as I did) You can race to complete the recipes against one another. There are a decent variety of different cooking techniques you can simulate with theThis is your classic wii game it is quirky, unique and takes advantage of the wiimote motion controls. I didn't love this game but I'm not really that into the wii. It would be a great game to play with friends, or significant other (as I did) You can race to complete the recipes against one another. There are a decent variety of different cooking techniques you can simulate with the different recipes. It seems to appeal more to girls and children (as do many wii games) It is simple and fun for what it is. If you are a hardcore gamer, pass if you are looking for something to play with the uninitiated then it may be worth picking up. Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. It’s a niche game that most won’t like but a few will devour. [JPN Import]
  2. 65
    It's the gaming equivalent of a local neighborhood eatery: the food's good and service is decent, but it certainly won't be the best meal you've ever had.
  3. 58
    The inviting presentation will still bring people in, it’ll still be a blast for certain gamers, and the act of doing motion-controlled cooking pantomime will be a hit with the younger crowd and a niche group of gamers. At the same time, the series has a long way to go before it really "feels right" on Wii.