Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 78
  2. Negative: 4 out of 78
  1. 88
    The story is top-notch, and while the gameplay mechanics are simplistic on the surface, there is a surprising level of depth to the game.
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    Epic Mickey is pure magic and makes you realise what we're missing from today's society and why Walt Disney's cartoons were just so good.
  3. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    This is not just a wonderful experience but it is the perfect homage to the rich Disney heritage.
  4. Jan 27, 2011
    88
    Epic Mickey is an animated love letter to all things Disney. It captures all of our favorite characters plis some we had forgotten about, or some we never even knew. Kids will certainly love the game, even if they need help getting past difficult parts.
  5. 90
    Disney Epic Mickey is delightful, funny, charming, highly entertaining and quite challenging game. It mostly treads familiar ground, but also has a few original ideas, and the paint/thinner mechanic gives the designers plenty of opportunities to encourage exploring. The enviroments ooze wonder and imagination, and there's always something to catch your attention and lure you off the obvious path. If you're into action platformers and adventure, don't miss out on Mickeys journey through Wasteland.
  6. Dec 29, 2010
    90
    With quality dripping like paint from a very warped canvas, this is a flawed masterpiece. [Jan 2011, p.]
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    For me, the surprises, historical reverence and inspired platforming creativity make this the Wii game of the year...It's a life-affirming tribute to both forgotten characters and game genres well worth remembering, with an all new added twist. And contrary to how it looks, there's a startling amount of maturity and replayability wrapped within this family-friendly package.
  8. Dec 6, 2010
    89
    All in all I can only recommend the game to all core gamers on the Nintendo Wii. It's pretty amazing to see what Warren Spector and his team at Junction Point have created. The atmosphere, the story and the gameplay are pretty good, and will convince every Wii gamer.
  9. Dec 8, 2010
    88
    The developers have done a great job in making this universe quite epic as you attempt to colourise this dull and dark universe. Sent there by a bad scientist, it's once again up to Mickey to save the universe and the game gives the player some power in how this will be done.
  10. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    This game is a great use of the Wii's technology, and combined with Disney characters, art and music themes we know and love, this is a charming game, and it's not too cutesy for the older kids in your family - although your emo teenager will probably turn their pierced nose up at it.
  11. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    This is a magnificent game. It is a priceless revision, almost erudite, of the Disney world, and as a platform-adventure game is one of the best in the last years.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 50
  2. Negative: 7 out of 50
  1. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    Did this title live up to the hype? No. Let's get that out of the way. Epic Mickey, however, succeeds on many levels. It succeeds in doing what many dragged out franchises have failed to do. Make you care about the characters. While I realize that Disney isn't exactly the Video game exclusive, the creators of Epic Mickey have succeeded in telling a fairly original story that helps younger generations familiarize themselves with the origin and history of Disney and the many forgotten characters from the golden era of cartoons.

    While the story delivers, the game play is where Epic Mickey loses 1 point from a perfect 10. As noted is many reviews, the camera may pose a problem to some players. I was readily spamming the "C" button to avoid such camera chaos, so the camera was forgivable. A somewhat clunky aiming system is also a minor setback in the game. Neither of these small problems, in my opinion, warrant the harsh criticisms many of the reviewers have had on this title.

    I feel that Epic Mickey succeeds in visuals and audio as well. A well balanced (although somewhat repetitive) soundtrack tags along on the wonderful journey in Epic Mickey. The only gripe about the audio is the fact that there is no spoken dialogue - just subtitles and cartoon gibberish. The visuals, though dated and to be expected on the Wii, work very well for the obvious cartoon styled graphics. The framerate suffers at times, and the character models suffer from some pretty rough "jaggies", even running the Wii through component cables.

    I don't normally write reviews, but I had been looking forward to this game since it was announced, and have gladly come to say that this title has brought my Wii back to life for the time being - and I urge people not to latch onto seemingly mindless critics harping on very minor issues.

    Epic Mickey is a blast. Sure it could've been more, but I feel this game succeeds on all of the right levels. Will the 6-12 yr old demographic enjoy it? I think they will, even if they don't understand the context of many of the characters (the game does a superb job of simplifying the origins of the "forgotten characters"). The game play is solid and interesting enough to warrant a purchase from parents for their kids. I do think that this game will be most enjoyed die hard disney fans, since this game pays tribute to classic Disney more than it does current Disney brands.

    Some will moan and complain that the lack of familiarity with characters will cause people to lose interest. I don't think it will.

    Check it out.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2010
    6
    The ideas at play in Epic Mickey are extremely intriguing and attractive, however, the execution is sub-par for a game this generation. The controls and camera are sluggish and take the joy out of the platforming. Generic enemy and level design also plague this title. This game was highly anticipated and I can't feel slightly disappointed by the finished product. This is a missed opportunity by Junction Point and Disney to make a really exciting product that can both introduce Mickey Mouse to a new generation and provide a quality licensed title. Epic Mickey is enjoyable at times, but getting through the tedious segments of the game is incredibly taxing. Full Review »
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    0
    Epic Mickey was a complete disappointment.

    The world is drab. It has no character. The Npc's you run into have boring dialogue, and
    everyone shares the same personalities. It's not even up to the standards of today's Mickey (Clubhouse Mickey). To try to say this is honoring the Mickey of days past is insulting to my memories of Mickey.

    As for the game play. While the paint/thinner concept was interesting, the application fell flat on it's face. It is limited in function, a few spots on the walls, a few objects, but mostly limited to quest specific obstacles and puzzles. As one of the key features of the game that they have been hyping for the past year, I was expecting it to have a much wider role in the game.

    The camera was unforgivable. Not only was there noticeable lag in the control of the camera, the controls were clunky, and it didn't always remain with Mickey. To add to the difficulty, If you destroy a bridge with thinner while doing something else, you will occasionally have difficulty in crossing, as the camera, and line of sight of the brush, will not allow you to paint the far side of the bridge, without some clever control gymnastics.

    The text used was horrible. Even standing next to the television the text was difficult to make out, and gave me a headache after the first half hour of game play.

    It is rated E for everyone, but if your child can't read, there is little to no guidance as to what you need to do, so you will need to be on had to read things for them, and since the npc's will not always wait for confirmation before going on you will need to be on your toes.

    Normally I wouldn't include the manual in a review, but this one is pathetically small. 3-4 pages, that don't really give much information, not even mentioning that the game auto saves, or how to tell when it does. (I think it is the Mickey icon that pops up in the top left corner, but I could be wrong.)
    Full Review »