Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    88
    Despite many new entries into the fitness genre, EA Active remains above its competition. EA Active 2 brings a host of new exercises to the mix, great new motion accessories that are more accurate, a very welcome heart rate monitor and robust online integration. The only drawback I find is that versions on other consoles take better advantage of newer motion technologies.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    But as far as exercise programs go, I've never seen anything as complete yet varied as Sports Active 2.
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    83
    Get active with EA Sports Active 2! Hard workout with some control hick-ups, yet among the Wii fitness games it gets your power and stamina up the fastest. And it's still cheaper than going to the gym.
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    Active 2 on Wii is a confident addition to the best fitness series on any platform, and the new features strengthen the offering - if not revolutionising it as EA would have us believe.
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    Active 2 on Wii and PS3 functions well and will give anyone who's willing to put the time in one hell of a workout.
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    78
    It improves on the first installment, which was an interesting product, and enhances most of it, broadening the exercise list and making them more varied, improving the control system through its new accessories and allowing us to join groups to share our advances.
  7. Jan 1, 2011
    75
    While the product might be a little slim on the "fun" factor, it does its job as a no-nonsense boot camp focused on the goal, getting you fit.
  8. Fun, but if you're not obsessed with your heart rate, the original's similar - and cheaper. [Jan 2011, p.78]
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    A bit under Wii Fit in terms of having fun, but works wonderfully. After playing a few weeks on it, "EA Sports Active 2" gave a boost of lessening calories and is worth buying. A worthy fitness video game! Full Review »
  2. May 19, 2012
    8
    Short version: Get it now since it AND the strength training kit are cheap, but it requires a little patience.

    While some of the motion
    controls could stand some polish (but then, ALL motion controls could), overall this is a solid alternative to shelling out $40 a month on aerobics classes and a personal trainer at an average gym. For anyone wanting to get in shape, this game will take you at least from couch potato to weekend warrior within the 9 week challenge, if you stick to its schedule and do ALL the exercises it asks you to. This game does, however, suffer from one major flaw; on its own, the game will give you a so-so workout. The 'super strength building kit' that can be purchased for about $20 as an add-on however, makes it go from a 5 to an 8. I got my copy with the kit at the same time, and the kit is AMAZING for the price. I thought for $20 that I'd get some flimsy crap that would break in one or two workouts or snap like the awful tension bands provided by the base game... I was pleasantly surprised. The game SHOULD have come packed with all these goodies; two good-quality weighted gloves (1 lb each), two ankle or wrist weights (not very comfortable on the wrists, however, unless you're Hulk Hogan, also 1 lb each) and two barbells, one with a Move/Wiimote enclosure, that can weigh up to 4 pounds each. Also comes with a skipping rope (a bit too long for me), also with a Move/Wiimote or move cradle, and a 20-pound tension band with a mesh for holding a Move/Wii controller. It also comes with a thicker, high-quality flat tension strap.

    While a lot of the exercises are basically variations of squats, jogging in place, and jumping, the visual stimulation DOES promote a healthy pace. Anyone who's already in good shape will find it a little slow, however, but for a raw beginner, and at the highest intensity, it'll require a good effort to push through. Some of the exercises, however, just don't work. Mountain Climbers, for instance, are almost completely unresponsive. Stride jumps sometimes work. Skipping will ... skip some of your jumps. The squat, lunge, and upper body exercises move at a frustratingly slow pace, and for the most part serve as a respite between cardio sets. Overall however, at the end of the workout, if you put forth an honest effort and don't take shortcuts, you'll be left panting and secure in the knowledge that you've done something good for your body. Another small gripe is the calorie counter. It doesn't calculate calories burned based on how good your technique was or if you even completed a full rep, it just goes up by a set number and is very mildly affected by your pulse, which often isn't accurate during fast-moving exercises like jogging or foot fires. It's not a huge problem, but you might end up short-changed for calories burned, especially if you swap out the plastic barbells with some real barbells. You can tell the game how much weight you're lifting, but it doesn't change the calories burned... in fact, it makes no difference at all... so why even bother with the feature?

    In closing, I bought my game for $20, bought the strength building kit for $20, and it was a worthwhile investment. I don't have the time to drive out to a gym, none of the equipment has broken despite daily use, and most importantly, I lost 10 pounds during the 9 week challenge without changing my diet. While the game can be a little annoying, if you stick with it, you can reach your goals in the comfort of your own home. One more thing; muting the voices of the trainers is a must.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    By far the most comprehensive exercise game on the Wii. Accurate motion sensors, a heart rate monitor and a rich online presence really keep you motivated to continue exercising. There are some faults which have been pointed out already, but really those are niggles in what is an excellent product. It the discounted price you can get it for it's an absolute bargain. Full Review »