• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The incident at Jacutan Archipelago changed Jack Carver's life forever. Jack has had little choice but to embrace the disturbing talents unleashed by Krieger's unique brand of folk medicine. Back at his home port in Micronesia, Jack thought he had finally found paradise. But when a gorgeousThe incident at Jacutan Archipelago changed Jack Carver's life forever. Jack has had little choice but to embrace the disturbing talents unleashed by Krieger's unique brand of folk medicine. Back at his home port in Micronesia, Jack thought he had finally found paradise. But when a gorgeous woman draws him in on a dangerous heist, their sun-drenched days take a chilling turn. Hunted for a murder he didn't commit, Jack must draw on his most savage instincts to make his predators his prey. Dig deeper into the power of the Wii Remote and Nunchuck through survival tactics that include driving, shooting, jumping, balancing, climbing, grenading, and Far Cry’s ever-popular Feral attacking. Choose from a variety of weapons in a struggle to endure the rebel-infested jungle. Take down an unsuspecting victim from behind with a machete or meet the fight head-on with your machine gun. From ATVs to hovercrafts, pickup trucks to Jet Skis, drive over, around, and through vicious combat situations. Utilize the lush, tropical surroundings to your advantage, using stealth to sneak through the foliage past unsuspecting rebels. Feel what its like to be the predator, not the prey, as you unleash the beast within. Jump higher, run faster, and slash with more fury than all of your enemies combined through the animalistic feral abilities unique to the Far Cry series. Challenge your friends in Far Cry: Vengeance's frenetic Chaos mode as you battle to be the last person standing. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 19 out of 23
  1. Certain play aspects are really fun on the Wii controls, such as driving like a maniac through the jungles, and roaring along in feral mode, swatting enemies like you're hitting a home run. But the game suffers from weak graphics, and a why-did-they-bother multiplayer mode that supports only two players.
  2. We expect something special from Far Cry and, frankly, Vengeance just isn't up to scratch. Like a Z-list celebrity, leave this one in the jungle.
  3. The implementation of the Wii controls is solid, but there’s no getting around the fact that this is an old game that’s been repurposed for Nintendo’s new controller to make a quick buck.
  4. The graphics would shame a third-party N64 game - theyr'e that bad. [Mar 2007, p.74]
  5. A bad conversion of an almost year-old Xbox game. Vengeance is playable but it's a massively disappointing Wii debut for the Far Cry series, and the worst FPS on the console so far. [Mar 2007, p.84]
  6. One of the Wii's worst games, an underdeveloped mess that will turn off most of its players by the middle – or possibly even the beginning -- of level one. Ubisoft attempted some innovative control techniques, but most of them feel awful-- even doing simple things like jumping and lobbing grenades sucks.
  7. If the GameCube could handle Metroid Prime's environments and beasties so beautifully, there's no reason the superior Wii can't deliver a first-person shooter worth remembering. Unfortunately, Far Cry Vegeance sure as hell isn't it.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. AlexisM.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing! Absolute greatest game ever. Graphics 9. control 10. sound 10. Story unbelievable. Perfect game
  2. DaneilC.
    Jun 24, 2007
    8
    This game is absolutely amazing, the gameplay is sick as all hell, the controls are killer. The only negative thing about this game is the This game is absolutely amazing, the gameplay is sick as all hell, the controls are killer. The only negative thing about this game is the graphics, i gurantee if this game had some better graphics this game would get a solid 8 out of 10! I reccommend this to anyone that loves gameplay or shooter games, but if you like great graphics/visuals......id suggest looking elsewhere! A+ Game. Expand
  3. SteveO.
    Jan 24, 2007
    7
    Why are there so many negative reviews about this game. First of all the Wii is not a Xbox 360 or PS3 so if you want flashy graphics look Why are there so many negative reviews about this game. First of all the Wii is not a Xbox 360 or PS3 so if you want flashy graphics look elsewhere. most of the complaints seem to be in this department and it is hardly a firm basis for judging a game. Yes the colors are a bit washed out and the textures not superb, the video sequences suffer from vsync issues and there are a few sound and ai glitches. These are minor faults and do not alter the fact this is still a good game, the controls alone make this worth getting even if you have played the Xbox version. If only more people actually played this instead of just judging it by what they see. Expand
  4. JohnL.
    Dec 14, 2006
    6
    I'm very disappointed. I already posted about how it complains and stops game play when I sit a certain distance from the screen. This I'm very disappointed. I already posted about how it complains and stops game play when I sit a certain distance from the screen. This is the 1st game to do this and I have quite a few. Also the graphics are quite poor and frame rate is jumpy at times. Cut scenes are extremely low quality. AI is laughable to the point where you can sometimes shoot one enemy and his buddies just stand around and don't even notice. Zelda is a beautiful game that shows what the Wii is capable of. Far Cry looks just like a bad xbox port rushed out the door for xmas. Expand
  5. ACE5
    Dec 18, 2006
    3
    You can try nintendo, but no matter what you say... "You are a kiddie console !" Just as I and almost everyone else thought... The Wii will You can try nintendo, but no matter what you say... "You are a kiddie console !" Just as I and almost everyone else thought... The Wii will be like the Gamecube and the N64, as in most of the best games for the system will be nintendo made games. And more adult oriented games from third parties will suck on this system for at least the first year or two. But by that time most companies will be moving away from the Wii, and then it's all kiddie games for the rest of the consoles life. This game doesn't play anywhere nearly as good as the 360 version. I didn't love the 360 version or anything, but it plays a lot better than this. I thought the Wii mote would have been ideal for PC type games as essentially you still have a point and click type of gameplay. But somehow I guess that part of the gameplay got lost somewhere. The Wii mote and games like this could have started to bridge the gap between PC gamers and console gamers, but now PC gamers have something to use when they declare that the PC has the best controls..."AGAIN!" Expand
  6. SimonG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    1
    Oh Boy! I played this game almost a year after its release. I figured that if I like Red Steel even though the critics were rough I
  7. RichardH.
    Dec 28, 2006
    0
    This game is absolutely terrible. I just hope people don't think this is the fault of the Wii, but rather Ubisofts fault for releasing a This game is absolutely terrible. I just hope people don't think this is the fault of the Wii, but rather Ubisofts fault for releasing a badly ported and terrible game. Shame on them. Call of Duty 3 on the Wii, is another port, and yet it manages to not have the same graphical shortcomings and terrible glitches as this, so honestly, what were ubisoft thinking? Dollar signs, I imagine. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers