Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers provides a fresh take on the FINAL FANTASY CRYSTAL CHRONICLES series as it combines the storytelling depth, expansive world and graphical quality of FINAL FANTASY with motion-driven, real-time action gameplay. In this world, realistic gameplay and fantastical art direction are brought together for a truly unique experience for Wii users around the globe. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 53
  2. Negative: 5 out of 53
  1. 88
    In the end, The Crystal Bearers manages to be a somewhat simple but entertaining adventure, but one that is polished and put together with care, for the sole purpose of entertaining the player.
  2. Traditional RPG fans might be put off but everyone else will find lots to enjoy. [Feb 2010, p.76]
  3. Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles - The Crystal Bearer is basically the opposite of traditional Final Fantasy games. Combat is relegated to a puzzle-like minigame, the plot is lighthearted and silly, RPG elements are minimal, and you're never really placed in a challenging situation.
  4. Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers is really a Final Fantasy game in name and setting only. It features almost no role-playing elements and focuses much more heavily instead on exploration and adventure.
  5. While The Crystal Chronicles has some interesting gameplay mechanics, is visually impressing and has an epic storyline, the majority of this adventure is forgettable, due to its annoying battle system, horrible controls and boring mini-games.
  6. Considering the duration of its development, Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Crystal Bearers turns out to be quite disappointing. Beyond its great visuals and well told storyline, the game shows in fact various flaws, mostly gameplay-wise, proving unable to live up to its expectations.
  7. 20
    This game is a mini-game collection masquerading as an epic adventure, and it doesn't even pull that off well.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    this game is a WII Gem, the reason that its getting bad reviews is because people are looking at it like it should be a tratitional rpg game, there are interesting characters and an interesting story.

    the game is not meant to be fast paced, in my opinion the best way to play this game is by exploring the different zones and towns, finding secrets and Medal hunting (Acheivments)

    i think this game never got the attention it deserved, i certainly enjoyed it.
    Expand
  2. ChasM.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    great game. camera's a bit wonky, but not a deal breaker. also, i had no trouble navigating without a map. a good showing of things to come if square enix decides to develop further. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the game. I think it is the epitimy of an rpg. It has awesome graphics and the characters look amazing. I was a bit surprised at the end though. I mean when they leave you hanging like that.
    I was and still am expecting and hoping that they will make another
    game exactly where it stopped on the boat. Cause you cant end it like that.
    There is potential for another game.
    Expand
  4. ShannonS
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    The game is certainly not exactly what you would expect from a classic Final Fantasy, but is a fresh leap in a new direction with the quality in story you would expect from Square. The game play does stumble sometimes and the camera can be frustrating in some battles, but these are common problems on the wii and when you use motion controls a lot. Though it has it's bugs, they are generally annoying, not crippling to the gameplay. Regardless the game is fun, the story is engrossing and entertaining, and the combat is at least innovative if a bit repetitive at times, and the graphics are spectacular for the limitations of the wii. To sum it up, this game is not for everyone, but for those craving something new and fresh in a game with the classic quality of old school story telling, you likely will enjoy the ride. But since it is a jump in a new direction I'd advice those not hardcore Square fans to rent before buying. Expand
  5. FernandoH
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    What's the matter? Hello? This is not a classic RPG, is an adventure. It's not flawless but it's beautiful and fun.
  6. BobM
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    By no means is it "perfect", but I really don't understand what people wanted from this game. It's unique, it's different, it's got great graphics, great soundtrack, interesting characters, good voice work, an engaging storyline, and most importantly, it's FUN. Yes, the camera could be a bit better, and yes, Square could have obviously done a whole lot more than they did with the telekinesis mechanic (especially considering the IR capabilities), but honestly, those things don't detract from what is a seriously underrated and high quality game. And for the record, it's only "short" if you're only trying to just blaze through it to see the ending. Which could probably be said of 80% of the games that come out today. Most games that are rated very highly, usually are still pretty short (5-6 hours), if you're just rushing along. But me personally, I've been playing the game for about that long already, and am not even halfway through, because I've actually been messing around and having fun. And trust me, this game, with it's open world elements, and TK gameplay, is totally suited to spending a LOT of time just messing around. Good game. Deserves good sales, and MUCH higher scores. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    2
    This game is awful. The controls are unresponsive and combat was bland and confusing. Every character's voice was grating and their personality even more so. Even the music contrasted horribly with the game.
    Really, the only high point in it was the graphics, but it's not enough to save this trainwreck.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?