Godzilla: Unleashed Wii

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Dec 5, 2007

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 31
  2. Negative: 22 out of 31
Buy On
  1. 49
    Godzilla fans deserve better than this. Unleashed isn't pretty, isn't compelling, and isn't nearly as fun as stepping into the skin of giant monsters should be. Everything about this game is phoned in.
  2. Games Master UK
    Dodgy monster beat-'em-up that doesn't get anything right. [Mar 2008, p.79]
  3. The source material deserves far better than this. [Apr 2008, p.73]
  4. If you really like Godzilla and have a Wii, then you might want to consider waiting for the price to drop before picking this up. Even then, think twice. Your money might be better spent filling out your Godzilla DVD collection.
  5. The game does an excellent job of being pretty, but pretty will only carry you so far in life, especially in an industry where pragmatism (read: gameplay) is king.
  6. I love these monsters, I loved them growing up, we all did. So it becomes a downer to see them transplanted into such drab renditions of themselves. If making a bunch of kids happy with some slap happy antics on a Wii is what this game was aiming for, then it has been accomplished.
  7. We long for a good Godzilla game, but this isn’t it.
  8. Avoid Unleashed like you’d avoid Godzilla himself.
  9. The motion controls are complete slop. [Dec 2007, p.146]
  10. 40
    Unleashed isn't completely without merit -- it just falls far below any reasonable standard for fighting, wrestling, or monster games.
  11. Ultimately, Godzilla: Unleashed is just awful. Even the biggest Godzilla fans among us should not have to suffer through this piece of trash.
  12. This is a really bad game, and made even worse by taking such a cool license and dragging it across a desert of poor controls and ineffective ideas.
  13. Godzilla Unleashed does too many things poorly to be recommended to anyone but the most diehard of Godzilla fans, who will be attracted to some of the game's attempted fan service, like the impressive roster of monsters.
  14. Unleashed is the worst thing to happen to Godzilla since getting killed by Mothra's babies.
  15. Just a shoddily put together game that will fail to excite even the most hardcore monster fans. Avoid this at all costs.
  16. AceGamez
    If you haven't realized by now, Godzilla: Unleashed fails on every level - the only thing I can credit it for is being just about playable.
  17. After about three levels I couldn't take it anymore and put the controller down.
  18. I think the developers missed a great opportunity to insert humor into the game with drastic overacting and exaggeration in the script. Instead of embracing the poor acting and making it a genuine part of the game, Pipeworks just replaced poor acting with poor dialogue and voice-overs.
  19. Godzilla Unleashed is a bad game. There’s really no way around saying it.
  20. Simply put, Godzilla Unleashed is a horrible game—all 17 painful stages.
  21. I plan to sink my copy into a bucket of concrete and plunge it into the deepest part of the ocean, after dropping it in a vat of carbolic acid.

Awards & Rankings

#36 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. GodzillaFan
    Oct 26, 2008
    Godzilla has had a HUGELY succesful movie series (32 movies.... that's a record!). However, back before the 2001 release of GodzillaGodzilla has had a HUGELY succesful movie series (32 movies.... that's a record!). However, back before the 2001 release of Godzilla Destroy All Monsters Melee, most godzilla games typically sucked, and I'm saying this as a godzilla fan (that's pretty bad...). Even then, GDAMM, and it's sequal, GSTE (Godzilla Save the Earth) all had it's flaws, but they were decent. Then, BAM! We are given Godzilla Unleashed, the greatest Godzilla game we had ever been given and one of the greatest fighting games I have ever played. The graphics are awesome for a Wii, and the audio (especially the music) is incredible. The controls took some getting used to. I figured out the controls rather easily by just going through the tutorial. Originally, I thought it was fine. However, many of my friends had trouble with the controls and didn't learn it as easily, so I do have to point that out. It's got 26 monsters to choose from, which is a huge amount judging by the 11 we had in GDAMM around 6 years ago. What really got my attention was the custom options. You can litterally tweak every element of gameplay in the game, whether it is the military, the power ups, or even the size of the monsters. What most of my friend's found fun in was a mode called destruction mode, where you make up your differences with other monsters and can either team up or compete in destroying buildings and fighting military. There is only one major problem I have, and that is the lack of polish this game has. I shouldn't be complaining that much considering that Super Smash Bros. Brawl was delayed like hell and still came riddled with bugs. Yeah, cramming all that content within one year is kind of begging to be riddled with glitches, but I just have to point that out. Some even affect gameplay, most notably being Mechagodzilla's inablity to use power ups and that if you fight godzilla 2000 when he's blue, you won't get any points. However, not all the bugs are terrible. One kinda made up the bugs for me. For some monsters, you can litterally JUMP OUT of the arena if you try hard enough, and then, you can explore the outskirts of the arenas, and you can even walk into the volcano in Seattle. So, my final verdict on this game is that, this game is an awesome game to play with friends or by yourself. The only problems is the bugs, and even that is somewhat made up by other bugs (though not completely, hence the score not being 10). If you are a fighting game or giant monster fan, and you own a wii, then get this game as soon as you can. Full Review »
  2. GeorgeL.
    Nov 24, 2007
    This game is awesome. It's non liner storyline, and beautiful controls make this game the best fighting game ever made.
  3. Nov 6, 2015
    Godzilla Unleashed is a great fighter, filled with plenty of monsters with unique play styles. Though there are some cheap moves (looking atGodzilla Unleashed is a great fighter, filled with plenty of monsters with unique play styles. Though there are some cheap moves (looking at you Destoryah...) and the voice acting is rather bad, though to be fair the guy playing the Admiral is having fun (RAMMING SPEED!). But every fighter has at least one OP spamable move, and fighters like Tekken have the best reputation for voice acting either! Plus the branching story and four different factions plus plenty of unlockable fighters, screenshots, and maps. Full Review »