Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed exclusively for Wii and based on the GoldenEye film, GoldenEye 007 gives players the chance to use the lethal, gritty style of Daniel Craig's James Bond to outwit, outmaneuver and overtake an arms syndicate that threatens the world in an innovative, modern take on the legendary GoldenEye movie. GoldenEye 007 features an unprecedented lineup of four-player split-screen multiplayer options that encourage social gaming, with over 50 total characters, including eight classic Bond characters, ten maps, three standard modes and 17 special modifiers that allow gamers to create hundreds of game combinations. GoldenEye 007 also features online multiplayer for up to eight players designed for seasoned FPS online gamers with unique modes and a robust XP system for unlockables and achievements. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Dec 18, 2010
    100
    More than just a remake, GoldenEye 007 lives up to its predecessor and then some by not only modernizing the story but the multiplayer as well.
  2. Dec 11, 2010
    91
    Instead of standing in the original GoldenEye's shadow, Eurocom has created a brand new game that is just as compelling and addictive as the original.
  3. Dec 11, 2010
    90
    It's not the N64 version but it more than holds up on its own.
  4. Dec 18, 2010
    83
    Overall I'd say that Goldeneye is more than worth your time, in fact, it's probably one of the best FPS titles on the Wii at this point.
  5. Dec 18, 2010
    80
    It was an impossible task to match the original and surprisingly, by changing almost everything, Eurocom came close to doing it. What they have managed to do is create the second best Bond game to-date, and given Wii owners a great shooter.
  6. 80
    A polished FPS with great multiplayer and plenty of reason to keep playing.
  7. Dec 12, 2010
    58
    This is not your older brother's GoldenEye. It's been updated, re-skinned, had some control adjustments, and instead of reclaiming the crown of top four-player shooter, it's just another face in the crowd.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    @Xiotex

    You are what makes a User Review useless. You've expected to relive your puberty years and play 10 year old technology, and low &
    behold, what's this?? They've changed the game, characters, location, etc... To rate a "0" would be great, IF you had rated the......I'll run through it very fast just to allow you how a short user review can be written and not result in you appearing ignorant.

    Grahics = 0 and why (8 for me, why? The Wii at it's best can't achieve a 10, where is HD when you need it.


    Sound = 0 and why (9 for me, why? There was much care given to sound in this game, every enviroment contained a very realistic sound for where the gameplay took place....the bullet impact was great.


    Gameplay = 0 and why (9 for me, why? The feel of this game, especially compared to the Conduit, was tighter, movement felt good, recoil seemed appropriate, etc...)


    Replay = 0 and why (7 for me, but I'm basing that score off of replying the SP mode only. The missions were all balanced and well done, but I can't see enjoying it as much with a second play-through, half of the fun was seeing (comparing) how they had changed/improved from the original. I haven't played the MP as of yet.
    Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to Game Informer, they are the worst and most biased reviewers out there. They're like the Armond White of the video game industry and their reviews are short and irrelevant to what matters: is the game fun? And the answer in this case is yes.

    Stop comparing it to the dated N64 game - this is a RE-IMAGINING. Not a remake. And it's better than the original as long as you aren't wearing nostalgia goggles. Buy the game, play it for a couple hours and you'll agree.

    Best FPS on Wii (I don't count Metroid Prime as an FPS).
    Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Classic FPS with motion controls and I love the on-line. Goodbye Dual analog sticks you got love DP3 plus Golden Gun. Daniel Craig makes not only good movies he makes great video games. Activision finally impressed me. Collapse
  4. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    Golden Eye 007 is a great game. the only hit i can give it is the frame rate drops sometimes. The story mode is fun and fresh. Remakes are rarely as good as the original which is why i think the changes they made to the story are welcome. But.... its not really about that is it... with the original most people remember the multiplayer and the countless hours spent with friends and family. The multiplayer runs very smooth is a blast. Also the online works very well with 8 player modes that have tons of options. I personally think that this is a Wii must have especially if you enjoyed the original. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    The graphics and sound are great for a Wii game. The game does suffer some framerate drops here and there. The gunplay is satisfying with the wiimote and the controls work well. The AI is overall good and the mission structure works well. The level design is also impressive. The game features plenty of online modes and a four player splitscreen option. One of the best wii shooters. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2011
    8
    God, I didn't expect such a great effort on the making of this game. It was completely worth every penny. The campaign is awesome and badass, Daniel Craig was a good replacement Bond, and even though I played the original game and knew all the plot twists coming up, I was still shocked at most of them! The multi-player is as good, if not better, than the original, and you can play online! It's Call of Duty with the same GoldenEye feel. I wanted to rate this game a perfect ten if it wasn't for a couple of things. One, that is not Natalya, may have the same annoyance factor, but that's not Natalya. Two, the insanely difficult 007 Classic mode. Now, I love a good challenge, I love 'em. But seriously! Only people who have beaten Legend of Zelda without the sword could have a possible chance at beating it! Other than that, it's as good as gold. Get it? Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    1
    Having bought this game for only £10 I thought it would be a great addition to my new nintendo wii collection, even if it was a poor game it would still be worth £10... Right? Well I have to say sadly I am wrong, don't get me wrong the campaign seems alright and follows the movie script pretty close, however if like me you want a good online shooter then this game is just awful!

    One thing that gets me is that the game can't decide what it wants to be, either CoD or N64 Goldeneye, then tries to be a mix of both and ends up feeling all wrong! It uses the CoD health system (in which your health regenerates) and yet tries to give it self more of a gun and run feel, I can't help but think this game should have brought back the old health pack and body armor way of FPShooters.

    The thing that most annoys me about this game is the stupid connection or lag the seems to plague my system... and by the look of some of the reviews I'd think it was only mine, till i reliese its purely down to host connection. I can't tell you how many times I have emptied an entire clip on someone only to hit them once or twice (With burst fire BTW) then have them turn around and waste me! All the guns other then shotgun are junk, meaning that the people who pick the shotgun with more often then not prosper, to be fair thou there is such a lack of guns in this game its unreal, its like the makers of the game wanted to keep true to the 64 game that this game mocks just by being one minute and then be modern the next with weapon scoping... What with like 5 guns!

    I hate the way that when you scope the game locks on to someone, however because no one in there right mind would stay still... especially after taking a few hits it really ends up doing more harm then good, Very frustrating.

    No Wii speak, No way of keeping in touch with people you meet on like, no fun to be had. Only saving grace is that there is still always a game to be had, but for the price you would be silly to not get CoD Black Ops if you want a Wii FPS
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews