Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fire up the fretboard, crank up the amp and get ready to rock like never before. Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock drops you into the spotlight of the largest and most legendary rock concert ever. The star-studded soundtrack includes master tracks by such legendary artists as Guns N’ Roses, The Rolling Stones, Beastie Boys, Muse and Pearl Jam, with added songs as made legendary by Kiss, Alice Cooper and Heart. Now drop that air guitar, tune your exclusive new Les Paul Guitar Controller and shred the night away with Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The learning curve will be steep for some, but give it a chance. The satisfaction level is even higher, and that's always the best reward a video game can give.
  2. An incomparable gaming experience, well worth the expense. And Wi-Fi (co-op and competitive) means no need to splash out on a second guitar. Deserves to be a rocking hit. [Christmas 2007, p.40]
  3. For my money, though, thanks to its strong song lineup and wireless rock capabilities--it's the perfect progression for the series. [Dec 2007, p.84]
  4. Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock is the first time that the franchise has made it to a Nintendo console, and it does so with a bang.
  5. 85
    The Wii version doesn't support downloadable content right now, but with a huge track list, a solid mix of songs, and the trusty Guitar Hero formula basically untouched, Legends of Rock is well recommended.
  6. The same highly addictive and fun game as on other platforms, but the Wii-only features in the guitar are just mostly irritating. The only new thing that works is the vibration that handily announces the availability of star power. On the other hand, the sound from the controller makes you want to smash the whole thing in true Nirvana style. The visuals are ok on old television, but on never HDTV sets the picture quality so bad that the game becomes almost unplayable at times. Also the sound is only mono, which is a really strange thing for a music game. Worst version of a great game. [Jan 2008]
  7. I got a gang of friends together to test it out and we spent hours unlocking songs and fooling around, but, because some of us are guitar heroes and some are guitar zeroes, having a truly quality time is a tougher than it should be. It's still well worth a look. [Nov 2007, p.63]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. JonS.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    It is amazingly fun. The only problem is that some of the songs are hard and take alot of practice.
  2. Polecat
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    An excellent music game, and the best on the system. I can't say my opinion should be the alpha and the omega of reviews, as I really can care less if the sound coming out of my 2 speakers is slightly different, it's really a bummer about the lack of DL-able tracks on the system, but I imagine that access to the SD slot is more difficult to institute into games than I can account for. Solid title though, and an excellent addition to any music aficionado's collection. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I have never played GH I and II since they werent made to Wii. But that summer when me and my brother picked up this game after helping our dad so we could get money was awesome. We did stage performances and perfected our playing. My brother reached nearly to the last song of expert and I started my own expert career. Still today lots of fun with friends due to awesome song list. Expand
  4. ZapB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    This game is really fun, but a little hard to get into if you have never played GH before. It took me a week to get used to medium difficulty, but it was just a matter of training the brain and building the manual dexterity. The songs are mostly good, with the exception of the cover of White Zombie's Black Sunshine. That one is just bad, and it's a pity that what could have been such a fun song got emasculated by a crappy cover. Expand
  5. SteveC
    Feb 8, 2008
    8
    Good, but too easy to complete on easy and medium levels. The songs don't change with the difficultly levels and many of them aren't that good to start with so there's little motivation to slog through on hard and above. Played it lots for the first couple of weeks, now the les paul just sits in the corner. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock provides a slew wildly over-charted chords and general inconsistency in its charting of its decent set of songs. The only new feature of consequence is the guitar battle system which is more a luck-based affair than anything else due to the random attacks doled out to players. Still, it remains an entertaining challenge and good practice for plastic-guitarists, but others need not apply. Expand
  7. DanJ.
    Dec 19, 2007
    0
    You want to play guitar, get a REAL guitar. These Guitar Hero games are nothing but crap. You will get more satisfaction from playing songs on a real guitar then you would pressing a bunch of buttons. Guitar Hero is pathetic. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews