User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    I have loved the wii lego games but Harry Potter is trash - never have I found so many glitches, been forced to start over, etc. At 95+%, due to a glitch, I can't finish. The achievements are not part of this version so a large part of the game is not even available. I should not have to buy a different system and the game a second time to access the entire game. Don't waste your moneyI have loved the wii lego games but Harry Potter is trash - never have I found so many glitches, been forced to start over, etc. At 95+%, due to a glitch, I can't finish. The achievements are not part of this version so a large part of the game is not even available. I should not have to buy a different system and the game a second time to access the entire game. Don't waste your money - it could be a good game but the glitches have taken the fun out of it. Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    Lego Harry Potter is a great game for challenging children's minds, much like professor Layton, I would recommend this game for children 10 and up. Even adults can enjoy this magical fantasy world where bordom is not tolerated. One of the BEST Lego games ever!
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Great fun. Funny animations. Classic for any kids or adult-kids what love harry potter. Very clean and well done, hours upon hours of challenges. My kids love it, they are 7 and 10. Get it!
  4. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    This is better than expected. The previous Lego game I bought for the Wii, Lego Indiana Jones 2, was fairly difficult to control, but this far surpassed the previous Lego game.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    7
    After the horrific Lego Indiana Jones 2, this game is clearly trying to set the Lego games back on track. Lego Harry Potter: Years 1-4 goes more back to the series' roots. The game still has the amazing Lego charm and Harry Potter is an unsurprisingly nice fit for the series. The gameplay is where this game is at its worst. The entire game is filled with way too simple puzzles usuallyAfter the horrific Lego Indiana Jones 2, this game is clearly trying to set the Lego games back on track. Lego Harry Potter: Years 1-4 goes more back to the series' roots. The game still has the amazing Lego charm and Harry Potter is an unsurprisingly nice fit for the series. The gameplay is where this game is at its worst. The entire game is filled with way too simple puzzles usually involving levitating one object to another place or putting something back together. The same basic puzzles are repeated over and over again. Most of thre game has no combat whatsoever. The memorable scenes from Harry Potter aren't very fun to play in this game and are quite disappointing, like the third task and the fact ther is no playable Quidditch or Hippogriff riding scenes. The boss battles aren't fun and too easy as well. Harry Potter does work well with the Lego formula, especially exploring Hogwarts, but most of the movies' memorable scenes just don't wrk in this game. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    Star Wars, Indiana Jones , Pirates of the Caribbean, Rock Band heck even Harry Potter has an Lego adaptation. Lego has grown very well and gained a lot of attraction , especially for kid, Harry Potter version is nice and fun. I'm very pleased with the entertainment.
  7. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    Relatively good game but the puzzles get old fast. The Soundtrack is copied directly from the movies though it can get repetitive. If you want a Lego game go for Star WARS The Clone Wars.
  8. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    Let me start by saying that this game is very fun when you put the game into your Wii. But once you get really far in the game, the levels get a little boring. What makes this game excellent, though, is how much you can do. Need a break from the story? Play some Lego Builder bonus levels! And, once you complete the story, you can look for all of the characters and aim for 100% completion.Let me start by saying that this game is very fun when you put the game into your Wii. But once you get really far in the game, the levels get a little boring. What makes this game excellent, though, is how much you can do. Need a break from the story? Play some Lego Builder bonus levels! And, once you complete the story, you can look for all of the characters and aim for 100% completion. Dozens of hours of searching and puzzle solving lies in the pixels of your TV. Play it!! Collapse
  9. May 29, 2012
    1
    Hands down the worst video game I have ever bought. No action, no thrills, no fun. Every feature of the game is really bad, with about three levels that are even a little fun. Unless you are an absolute Harry Potter super fan, do not even consider getting this game.
  10. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Like Star Wars and Indiana Jones, I absolutely adore Harry Potter and I was glad to see it get a Lego video game. Very creative and extremely fun. Great job, Traveler's Tales!
  11. May 31, 2014
    9
    The game is excellent, progressing at a good pace. It has ingeniously hidden collectibles, and it has an excellent character roster. Like other Lego games, I wanted to collect all I could. The graphics were good, and I rarely had to complain. The only thing I can really complain about is the easiness of getting lost. The game is quite fun to explore, but the amount of area to explore canThe game is excellent, progressing at a good pace. It has ingeniously hidden collectibles, and it has an excellent character roster. Like other Lego games, I wanted to collect all I could. The graphics were good, and I rarely had to complain. The only thing I can really complain about is the easiness of getting lost. The game is quite fun to explore, but the amount of area to explore can feel baffling. Also, if you haven't seen the movies or read the books, you are going to not understand the story. Expand
  12. Dec 30, 2014
    5
    LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is a game loaded with charm, wit, and poorly designed game mechanics that almost ruin the entire experience. It's enjoyable, but not a very good game.
  13. Mar 8, 2015
    7
    Following LEGO Indiana Jones 2 and being a big Harry Potter fan, I have to say that I was quite pleased with this game when it was released. Unfortunately, my thoughts have changed a bit.

    This game would be receiving an 8 if not for one thing: after completing the main story, I encountered two game-breaking glitches. One that didn't allow me to go inside the Gryffindor common room ever
    Following LEGO Indiana Jones 2 and being a big Harry Potter fan, I have to say that I was quite pleased with this game when it was released. Unfortunately, my thoughts have changed a bit.

    This game would be receiving an 8 if not for one thing: after completing the main story, I encountered two game-breaking glitches. One that didn't allow me to go inside the Gryffindor common room ever again and one that didn't even allow me to get out of a basement so I was basically stuck in there the entire time. Not being able to go back to get 100% on a game you liked lowers the quality in my opinion. There are also does not appear to be a brightness option in the game. Several times in darkened levels, it took me several minutes to figure out what I was supposed to do due to the low amount of light in the game.

    I'm pretty sure what I'm experiencing (the brightness problem) may be simply related to the Wii. PS3 and Xbox 360 players may have no problems. The bugs, however, can be found on all versions, which is a shame.

    Well now on to the actual game. LEGO Harry Potter Years 1-4 made me so happy when it first came out. Harry Potter and LEGO were two of my favorite things at the time (HP still is) and I loved how they turned the first four movies into something so fun and great. The co-op feature definitely adds to the fun factor of the game. LEGO games are simply nothing without co-op. They also brought back the level creator from LEGO Indiana Jones 2 which was a smart move.

    Unfortunately, there is also something wrong with the level creator. Every single time I am almost done with creating a level with my brother, the game crashes and we have to start all the way over which is really a shame. I don't think this a Wii problem because this never happened on LEGO Indiana Jones 2.

    Overall, I think I am giving LEGO Harry Potter Years 1-4 a bit of slack in terms of the score I'm giving it. The levels are great and I would recommend to it any Harry Potter fan...but on another console. Several game-breaking glitches ruined this game for me.
    Expand
  14. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    Let me start by saying that this game is very fun when you put the game into your Wii. But once you get really far in the game, the levels get a little boring. What makes this game excellent, though, is how much you can do. Need a break from the story? Play some Lego Builder bonus levels! And, once you complete the story, you can look for all of the characters and aim for 100% completion.Let me start by saying that this game is very fun when you put the game into your Wii. But once you get really far in the game, the levels get a little boring. What makes this game excellent, though, is how much you can do. Need a break from the story? Play some Lego Builder bonus levels! And, once you complete the story, you can look for all of the characters and aim for 100% completion. Dozens of hours of searching and puzzle solving lies in the pixels of your TV. Play it!! Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. While Harry Potter doesn't offer much innovation for the LEGO franchise, it at least puts it back on track.
  2. 85
    LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is a love letter to fans of the Boy Who Lived. The comedic cutscenes toying with canon, the hundreds of hidden things to find, and the general sense of a great LEGO game paired with a great series really makes this game a standout.
  3. The concept of LEGO Games blends perfectly with the Harry Potter franchise. Possibly the best LEGO Game to date!