User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    The game is glitchy, follows the Lego cookie-cutter system, but finally extends beyond the same old thing we see from Lego. This time, we get a Skyrim rip-off in having a world to explore outside of levels with sidequests! Though it may seem like a bad thing to rip-off other games, this game benefits from that and other advancements, as Lego desperately needs to change its formula (or elseThe game is glitchy, follows the Lego cookie-cutter system, but finally extends beyond the same old thing we see from Lego. This time, we get a Skyrim rip-off in having a world to explore outside of levels with sidequests! Though it may seem like a bad thing to rip-off other games, this game benefits from that and other advancements, as Lego desperately needs to change its formula (or else become EA and Activision). Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    4
    This is an embarrassment to Peter Jackson. His magical film has been degraded to an awfully disappointing game. The level design is actually pretty good, with challenging puzzles requiring more than one character. It's the awful graphics that let it down, making it often very difficult to actually see what's happening properly. And, 'oh, please', don't listen to the whiny 12-year-old whoThis is an embarrassment to Peter Jackson. His magical film has been degraded to an awfully disappointing game. The level design is actually pretty good, with challenging puzzles requiring more than one character. It's the awful graphics that let it down, making it often very difficult to actually see what's happening properly. And, 'oh, please', don't listen to the whiny 12-year-old who goes by the name, 'vampirejoe' and thinks graphics are unimportant in a game. There also many glitches that force you to reset your wii. It's a shame because otherwise the game is good. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Okay I was little hesitant about buying this game after these reviews and because they didn't have many of the critics avail. but i'd say that it's ranks right up there with the rest of the different Lego Wii-based games we've played including Star Wars series and the Pirates of the Caribbean, Indiana Jones and batman. I don't think anyone has anything to worry about whether it's aOkay I was little hesitant about buying this game after these reviews and because they didn't have many of the critics avail. but i'd say that it's ranks right up there with the rest of the different Lego Wii-based games we've played including Star Wars series and the Pirates of the Caribbean, Indiana Jones and batman. I don't think anyone has anything to worry about whether it's a mediocre game. If it is mediocre it's not because of the wii platform. So from what I've played with my son it's a fine edition. The split screen does rotate and cut at some inappropriate times but that's about it as far as game play goes. Collapse
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Oh please, don't listen to the 12 year old who whines about graphics when it's nintendo's fault. So, anyway this game is actually good. I only had a glitch where I had to restart my Wii, but that wasn't a big deal. The graphics are fine, just like every wii game. The gameplay is good, less then a few glitches and is fun to play with someone with a friend or your brother. But, this game isOh please, don't listen to the 12 year old who whines about graphics when it's nintendo's fault. So, anyway this game is actually good. I only had a glitch where I had to restart my Wii, but that wasn't a big deal. The graphics are fine, just like every wii game. The gameplay is good, less then a few glitches and is fun to play with someone with a friend or your brother. But, this game is actually good and is worth under 30 bucks. But, the thing is, that is has no multiplayer or anything else. Once your done, that's it. You can do side quests but that's really it. The controls are actually pretty good and the cutscenes and music are both really good. I say it's worth the buy, but be warned, it only has story in it. For under 30 bucks, I say go grab it. If you like LEGO's or like the video games of LEGO's go get it. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    4
    The tragedy of this game is not the environments, which, contrary to other professional reviews, still manage to ensnare players in inescapable glitches. Nor is it in the sometimes infuriating jump puzzles and awkward game mechanics that prevent players from performing necessary jumps. No, the problem with this particular game on the Wii platform is that it is the worst-looking of all theThe tragedy of this game is not the environments, which, contrary to other professional reviews, still manage to ensnare players in inescapable glitches. Nor is it in the sometimes infuriating jump puzzles and awkward game mechanics that prevent players from performing necessary jumps. No, the problem with this particular game on the Wii platform is that it is the worst-looking of all the Lego franchise games. This, when Wii has Epic Mickey 2, released almost simultaneously with Lego Lord of the Rings, which looks amazing even on the outdated and graphically inferior console. Simply put, Travelers Tales phoned it in on this version. The graphics look like a launch-day Gamecube game. When you compare the amazing reality of the graphics on XBOX, Playstation, or PC with the lazy effort here, it becomes almost criminal what Travelers Tales has done. They deliberately released a rip-off. They had no intention of delivering a decent game on Wii. Instead, they chopped the game and sold it at full price. Perhaps it is worth $20 in the bargain bin. But at full price, it is a fraud. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Review for Lego Lord of the Rings Wii version. We have just started playing (two players) and are disappointed that the game has been more frustrating and fun to play.
    The good: audio from movies for cutscenes and mostly following the movie storyline (vs the books) and the variety of characters.
    The bad: awkward control scheme. I enjoyed prior Lego games for the simplicity of the controls, this changed. You have to HOLD down a button to bring up the character wheel and then select that character and close the wheel. Next you have to HOLD down a different button to bring up the item wheel and then select the item to equip your character and close the wheel. This gets frustrating to dig out a character and then a specific item that character has. It was much simpler to click a button to swap between all the characters and equipment. As it is this interrupts gameflow.
    The ugly: vertical split screen views for 2 players. It is frequently hard to see what you're indiviual goal is when you only see a very small slice of the environment with the camera zoomed up close, we spend too much time trying to find the targets to shoot just beyond view. We also encountered some bugs in the first hour of playing. The usual split screen for player 1 was on the left and player 2 on the right - but for the sequence involving Gandalf it swapped player 1 to the right and player 2 to the left (and it took a while to figure out why the characters weren't responding right). Another time the 2nd player started facing the opposite direction of player 1 (i.e. player 1 facing north, player 2 facing south) and that flipped the controller directions. It was fixed when the 2nd player dropped out and came back in a bit later.
    We really wanted to like this game but so far the controls and limited camera have made it confusing. We feel it wasn't tested well for two players on the Wii.
    Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    Okay I was little hesitant about buying this game after these reviews and because they didn't have many of the critics avail. but i'd say that it's ranks right up there with the rest of the different Lego Wii-based games we've played including Star Wars series and the Pirates of the Caribbean, Indiana Jones and batman. I don't think anyone has anything to worry about whether it's aOkay I was little hesitant about buying this game after these reviews and because they didn't have many of the critics avail. but i'd say that it's ranks right up there with the rest of the different Lego Wii-based games we've played including Star Wars series and the Pirates of the Caribbean, Indiana Jones and batman. I don't think anyone has anything to worry about whether it's a mediocre game. If it is mediocre it's not because of the wii platform. So from what I've played with my son it's a fine edition. The split screen does rotate and cut at some inappropriate times but that's about it as far as game play goes. Collapse
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Years of slow innovation have resulted in a game worthy of the LOTR name. Probably not a classic, but the journey there and back again is a treat.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    79
    LEGO Lord of the Rings is as fun as every other LEGO game, but mostly for all the Tolkien fans out there.