MadWorld Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2009
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 172
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    The gore does not get boring easily. There is not a dull moment within the game and the graphical style is unlike anything you'll ever see. Probably one of the most violent wii games ever.
  2. May 31, 2013
    7
    A goretastic exclusive title for the wii. Fun gameplay and satisfying executions, however the black and white graphics are frustrating especially when you're trying to see what the you're doing and it is a bit short, but I'm just glad this game exists.
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    In Madworld, the best choices led to the worst flaws! For example, the black and white used is amazing, and renders an atmosphere which is both compelling and very rare on WII, but sometimes it gives headaches to the player who does not know where to go to find the just spawned powerups. Given the way Madworld is thought and realised, it all comes down to level design, and in this caseIn Madworld, the best choices led to the worst flaws! For example, the black and white used is amazing, and renders an atmosphere which is both compelling and very rare on WII, but sometimes it gives headaches to the player who does not know where to go to find the just spawned powerups. Given the way Madworld is thought and realised, it all comes down to level design, and in this case it's not the best. The more articulated the levels are (Chinatown for example) and more entertaining the game gets; you will never replay the wider areas, the big places, because after a while thrashing bodies to raise points is not fun anymore. Fortunately, the bloodbath challenges are genius, and sometimes the bosses are, too. This game does not lack creativity or fresh ideas, especially on WII, but it fails in creating a fully compelling experience with the amazing ingredients it has. It's a pity, because style and the basic gameplay cycle are unique! Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    7
    fun to kill people for a while then it gets repetitive very fast, the commentating is the same every level.. it goes like this, he talks like a dumba rse then he gets thrown to death by this chick
  5. CristianaY
    Jun 8, 2009
    7
    This game could have been a perfect beat-em-up game, it has gratuitous violence, great style, and great audio. However what kills this game is the inherent 'wii-ness' of the title. The camera sucks, and since you can't control it directly you end up struggling to get it to point where you want it. Then the motion controls, they really don't add much to the game, but, I This game could have been a perfect beat-em-up game, it has gratuitous violence, great style, and great audio. However what kills this game is the inherent 'wii-ness' of the title. The camera sucks, and since you can't control it directly you end up struggling to get it to point where you want it. Then the motion controls, they really don't add much to the game, but, I generally hate motion controls because they never just feel right, and just make it more annoying to play the game. If somehow they decided to release a patch so you can play the entire game with the classic controller, with standard controls, this game would easily be a ten. Expand
  6. Colin
    Jan 29, 2010
    6
    Moments of brilliance are let down byt the overall package. In particular the cut scenes are just bad, with lots of static frames and voice overs. This would not be acceptable on 360/PS3 and I don't see why it should be on Wii. One other major problem that I have is that the story revovles around the mystery of who Jack is and why he is fighting in Death Watch. Which means that for Moments of brilliance are let down byt the overall package. In particular the cut scenes are just bad, with lots of static frames and voice overs. This would not be acceptable on 360/PS3 and I don't see why it should be on Wii. One other major problem that I have is that the story revovles around the mystery of who Jack is and why he is fighting in Death Watch. Which means that for most of the game you're not sure why the charater you're playing is doing what he's doing. Which is stupid. Still, it can be really fun at times. Expand
  7. JosephS
    Oct 22, 2009
    6
    Fun fighting game. Gets a little repetitive later on. Absolutely hate the dumbass commentators, and they repeat themselves a lot. Other than that, pretty fun to just pick up and play every so often.
  8. Mr.Nintendo
    Jul 25, 2009
    7
    It has a unique art style and a lot of creativity (when it comes to ways to kill people) but when I got to around the 4th region on the map it just started to get boring and really repetitive. I enjoyed it at the beginning and thought that it was a really awesome game, but at its core MadWorld really is just a basic and linear beat em up that has no real depth whatsoever. Behind all the It has a unique art style and a lot of creativity (when it comes to ways to kill people) but when I got to around the 4th region on the map it just started to get boring and really repetitive. I enjoyed it at the beginning and thought that it was a really awesome game, but at its core MadWorld really is just a basic and linear beat em up that has no real depth whatsoever. Behind all the style that MadWorld has is a game that isn't that special at all. You will end up doing the same thing over and over again. To be honest I wasn't that interested when i first saw the trailers for this game but thought I'd try it out anyway. The music however is outstanding. Whether you like the type of music really is up to you but it definitely fits into the mood of the game. If you're looking for mindless fun that will entertain you and your friends for a while, rent this game as you will get tired of it after a while. If you're looking for an in depth game then look elsewhere because MadWorld isn't it. Overall I'd give it a 6.8/10. Expand
  9. PeterC
    Oct 4, 2009
    6
    Art Style is fabulous, and sound is pretty good. I was shocked, however, at the thin-ness of the gameplay. As others have said it gets really boring REALLY fast. There's a few giggles to be had at the violence and swearing, but the game itself is just tedious to play.
  10. tb
    Apr 3, 2009
    5
    The first hour of this game pretty much blew my mind. the action is awesome and the sheer amount of ways to kill is amazing. but the horrendous controls, mostly the camera but also and the delay of the chainsaw ruined it. other annoyances also hurt. the music is annoying, the horror levels sucked, I couldn't figure out how to beat the witch, and in the middle of the action it often cuts away

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#9 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. 90
    I realize that not everybody will find MadWorld's unique visual and aural presentation appealing, but to me, the game is an instant collector's item and a Wii showpiece, not just for its amazing style, but for its label-busting content.
  2. Nintendo Power
    90
    Although the game is unquestionably brutal, the violence is so over-the-top that it's more humorous than gruesome...For any hardcore gamer, this one is not to be missed. [Apr 2009, p.82]
  3. Brutality, tons of blood and the most violent show ever seen to come exclusively to Wii. Former Clover members prove their talent with this beat'em up portrayed with this comic-book look drawn with black, white and red colors. Modern art with a great sense of humor mixed with a macabre tone, MadWorld can only be blamed for its 6 hours campaign and the little depth it offers as a brawler, compared to the biggest games in the genre.