Mario Party 8 Wii

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 186
  2. Negative: 47 out of 186
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexR.
    Oct 9, 2007
    8
    This game is just about the same thing as the previous ones, although using the wiimote does add a fun twist.
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    I don't know why so many people dislike this game, I love the minigames, every board is unique and the music is amazing. Even if single player gets boring try very hard mode once you unlock it and you'll get a challenge. This game should have been in the Wii launch games since it does an amazing job showing what the Wii can do.
  3. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome and so underrated! One of my first Wii games. The minigames are very fun. The graphics are good. The party mode is great. I really liked the fun bazaar and extras. Mario Party 8 one of my favourite Mario Party games and if you don't like MP8, you're silly as JB. You should definitely go and buy it.
  4. Feb 19, 2015
    9
    This game is friggin awesome. It was my first Wii Game and I conquered the whole game because it was that awesome and if you don't like MP8 you are silly as Justin Bieber. Why the heck is this game is under rated? WHY?! I love the Fun Bazzar,Minigame tent,and the maps are epic. The lucky space is my all time favourite spot to land on. I know it is 2015 but I recommend you pick it up.
  5. Dec 24, 2010
    8
    I find this game is very underrated, this game is very enjoyable and I find that with four people or more playing this game is awesome. For all you hard core gamers out there who dislike all party games and only enjoy FPS's or RPG's then don't rate this game bad. As for me I don't play this game that much because the people I play with like FPS's so I keep MP8 for my friends who aren'tI find this game is very underrated, this game is very enjoyable and I find that with four people or more playing this game is awesome. For all you hard core gamers out there who dislike all party games and only enjoy FPS's or RPG's then don't rate this game bad. As for me I don't play this game that much because the people I play with like FPS's so I keep MP8 for my friends who aren't good at FPS's. Expand
  6. JohnK.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    This game is AWESOME FAMILY FUN!!! Yes, the graphics are not cutting edge, and chance does play a large role in the game--- but none of that takes away from the FUN!!! By the way, the graphics are just fine for this cartoon adventure, and chance plays a large role because this is basically a video adaptation of a board game, where chance ALWAYS plays a large role! So if you are looking This game is AWESOME FAMILY FUN!!! Yes, the graphics are not cutting edge, and chance does play a large role in the game--- but none of that takes away from the FUN!!! By the way, the graphics are just fine for this cartoon adventure, and chance plays a large role because this is basically a video adaptation of a board game, where chance ALWAYS plays a large role! So if you are looking for a fun game that you can play with the whole family, pick this game up-- you will not be disappointed!!! Expand
  7. Michael
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Awesome as ever. Get some friends, some drinks, and have a party. Not for the geekiest gamer, there's not a lot of challenge, single player sucks, moving around the board is entirely based on luck, etc.etc. Playing this alone would be only slightly better than playing Monopoly solo. It's a friggin party! Get some friends who you can stand to have around your stuff and who make Awesome as ever. Get some friends, some drinks, and have a party. Not for the geekiest gamer, there's not a lot of challenge, single player sucks, moving around the board is entirely based on luck, etc.etc. Playing this alone would be only slightly better than playing Monopoly solo. It's a friggin party! Get some friends who you can stand to have around your stuff and who make you laugh, then play. Trust me, it's fun. Not a game to be taken seriously, just an excuse to have a good time. Expand
  8. ImadSiddiqui
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    It's fun every now and then.I would play it with friends but not by myself as no Mario Party is fun by yourself that's why it's called Mario Party.Sure they kept the GC graphics for this game and the gameplay has sort of been weakened through repitition.This isn't my favorite Mario Party game cuz
    my fav ones are Mario Party 2+7.
  9. FronkF.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    If you have friends over, you can;t go wrong. 70+ mini-games, great wiimote/nunchaku use, and, best of all, coin-sucking vampires. Need I say more?
  10. EricFernandaz
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I mean c'mon this MarioParty has to be extremely awsome. I mean its on the wii, The coolest system EVER. I mean 6! new extreme boards! Billion Kajillion new minigames! and like 14 Characters! All for the wii remote! The Last thing i can say is that this game is Number ONE
  11. JesseS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Best family game for the Wii right now. Heck, best Party game for the Wii. 5 adult friends, myself, and my 4 year old took turns playing this for about 6 hours one Saturday (no, the 4 year old didn't win a single game, even with a 3 star handicap, but she still had a blast :). Sure, the graphics aren't impressive. So what. It's fun! And, yes, there is a bit of strategy. Best family game for the Wii right now. Heck, best Party game for the Wii. 5 adult friends, myself, and my 4 year old took turns playing this for about 6 hours one Saturday (no, the 4 year old didn't win a single game, even with a 3 star handicap, but she still had a blast :). Sure, the graphics aren't impressive. So what. It's fun! And, yes, there is a bit of strategy. More on some boards, less on others. Expand
  12. PabloR.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    This game is Great. This game deserves a ten. Only if they didnt have the random frame. But after a while you get used to it. The mini-games are also the best so far, and the Boards are crazy!
  13. ShawnP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Very entertaining party game.
  14. Rick
    Oct 16, 2007
    8
    I bought this game never really having played its predecessors and me and my wife love it. Playability is the downside... though this is probably due to the fact that we dont have kids or parties... so its just me and her and normally two of the hardest CPU players. Overall we love the minigames, though some are annoying and the games are normally to long. I recommend this game to the I bought this game never really having played its predecessors and me and my wife love it. Playability is the downside... though this is probably due to the fact that we dont have kids or parties... so its just me and her and normally two of the hardest CPU players. Overall we love the minigames, though some are annoying and the games are normally to long. I recommend this game to the casual gamer and look forward to the sequel. Expand
  15. Sebby64
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Nice, fun game. A great hit within my family.
  16. JonathonM.
    May 31, 2007
    8
    I don't understand why there is so much harsh feedback about this game. I feel it fits the Wii perfectly. A lot of people said brought nothing new to system compared to games we've all played already like Smooth Moves or Rayman but no offense to anyone there is only so much you can do with that Remote, the system isn't limitless. Instead of judging the game by each movement I don't understand why there is so much harsh feedback about this game. I feel it fits the Wii perfectly. A lot of people said brought nothing new to system compared to games we've all played already like Smooth Moves or Rayman but no offense to anyone there is only so much you can do with that Remote, the system isn't limitless. Instead of judging the game by each movement you make with the remote how about judging it based on the unique games played ALONG with the innovative gaming experience the Remote brings to the game. I bought the game yesterday and played it with 3 of my friends and we had a blast. YES, I can see how the game would suck alone but I bought it for when I have people over, hence, "party." Expand
  17. JackT.
    May 30, 2007
    8
    Still fun. Still a good grab for a great group friend setting.
  18. CalebH.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    This game rules. The low reviews made me a bit skeptical. But, after bringing the game home and playing it with the family - I'm sold. This is the best family game on the Wii. We also do multi-player with MonkeyBall, Sports, SSX Blur, and Sonic - but this blows them all away. If you want a great 4 player, multi-player experience - this game is it. My 6 and 4 year olds love playing This game rules. The low reviews made me a bit skeptical. But, after bringing the game home and playing it with the family - I'm sold. This is the best family game on the Wii. We also do multi-player with MonkeyBall, Sports, SSX Blur, and Sonic - but this blows them all away. If you want a great 4 player, multi-player experience - this game is it. My 6 and 4 year olds love playing with me and their mom. There is a lot of text that they can't necessarily read through - but the randomness makes it a level playing-field for the whole family. As for the reviews - they really don't do the game justice. The Wii remote and the multiple control styles make each minigame great. I haven't found one I don't like. After each minigame I say, "That one was so fun, let's play it again." Expand
  19. TinaK.
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    This is a great game weather your 5 or 50. Good family and friends fun is all that matters. not the credits or the graphics. Don't bother wasting your time on complaints because different people like different types of games- and for those who dont like this one fine. This is a simple fun game and i think people are expecting too much out of it. God this is a Mario action game, not This is a great game weather your 5 or 50. Good family and friends fun is all that matters. not the credits or the graphics. Don't bother wasting your time on complaints because different people like different types of games- and for those who dont like this one fine. This is a simple fun game and i think people are expecting too much out of it. God this is a Mario action game, not some sort of super violent adventure. It keeps you off boredom, keeps you entertained and the graphics are fine. I'd rather own a wii (whitch i do.) and have graphics that are good but not perfect (it costs around $300) than buy a stupid PS3 which is huge and costs like $1000 just because of the graphics! Be happy with what yo've got, not what u can get. (The only stupid thing is that the credits last forever and you can't skip them. But hey, at least they are entertaining- unlike most games.) Expand
  20. AlexE.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    For once, they thought about the formula and changed it - for the better! No more waiting for 3 CPU-Characters to take their turn in Single PLayer-Mode. But if you want to play like this, you can! That's the beauty of it. You can costumize the party to your gaming pleasure, even Tag-Team Battles (Board-Game-Wise) are possible. And they put more life into the boards, too. Yes, they For once, they thought about the formula and changed it - for the better! No more waiting for 3 CPU-Characters to take their turn in Single PLayer-Mode. But if you want to play like this, you can! That's the beauty of it. You can costumize the party to your gaming pleasure, even Tag-Team Battles (Board-Game-Wise) are possible. And they put more life into the boards, too. Yes, they are smaller, but they benefit from other ideas. Try this one - if you dig this kind of game (and the wacky colours) you can't go wrong, really. Expand
  21. DougL
    May 23, 2008
    8
    A fun game to play with 2-4 people. Best with 4 really. Most of the minigames are fun, some are eh and a few are real clunkers... a couple of my favorites are only for 2 player mode which is a bummer. Overall it would be nice to have more games even if some were similar or derivatives of each other. Game play is a bit long a "standard" game of 15 turns takes about 1.5 hours, this is not A fun game to play with 2-4 people. Best with 4 really. Most of the minigames are fun, some are eh and a few are real clunkers... a couple of my favorites are only for 2 player mode which is a bummer. Overall it would be nice to have more games even if some were similar or derivatives of each other. Game play is a bit long a "standard" game of 15 turns takes about 1.5 hours, this is not the game to start for a quick hit, it is similar to a board game in that it does take some commitment to finishing. I would agree that there is a high degree of randomness to it but i think that is part of the fun who wants to playa game for 1-2 hours if they already know who is good and going to win. If you are more "hard-core" switch off the bonus stars and play on the Tycoon board it requires the most strategy and rewards those who win mini-games the most. Overall fun game with friends with a good replay value, but not in any way a "ahrd-core" game. Expand
  22. SqueM.
    Aug 28, 2008
    8
    Mario Party 8 Graphics: 8/10 (Just like their previous Gamecube games) Sound: 8/10 (Awesome music and okay sound effects make this worth hearing) Controls: 8.5/10 (Almost niche, though it sometimes won't work) Gameplay: 7.5/10 (Just like the previous MP games, though rather on luck than strategy) Lastability: 9/10 (Worth playing, especially with 2-4 players playing this) Overall: A- Mario Party 8 Graphics: 8/10 (Just like their previous Gamecube games) Sound: 8/10 (Awesome music and okay sound effects make this worth hearing) Controls: 8.5/10 (Almost niche, though it sometimes won't work) Gameplay: 7.5/10 (Just like the previous MP games, though rather on luck than strategy) Lastability: 9/10 (Worth playing, especially with 2-4 players playing this) Overall: A- (Sure it's not the best but it one of the best Mario Party games ever). Expand
  23. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    It 's a fun game in the series that uses the motion remote. There a many kind of candy during the game. And the boards are all different. With the Koopa hotel one standing out because of it unique gameplay. There a even three single player games.
  24. May 24, 2013
    9
    Oh it's flat down fun. Best with other friends & family. Still fun with one player! Graphics are terrific, others may insult them but that may be due to a slightly broken Wii (It may be damaged) or a rubbish TV. I have a 47 inch widescreen HD Philips flat screen. Characters are lovely, a great runner upon the series. I have been a fan of the series since MP 4 on the GameCube, my first newOh it's flat down fun. Best with other friends & family. Still fun with one player! Graphics are terrific, others may insult them but that may be due to a slightly broken Wii (It may be damaged) or a rubbish TV. I have a 47 inch widescreen HD Philips flat screen. Characters are lovely, a great runner upon the series. I have been a fan of the series since MP 4 on the GameCube, my first new console (Had an old N64 from old brother). Just thrilling. The controls are great, a great game for all ages. Now, it wouldn't be Mario Party though without someone under 16 playing Like the rest, I totally recommend it. Now, mines scratched but not permanently and my store downtown fixes them for free, oh yeah. The characters are are a great selection. Another to my collection. Totally worth it. Expand
  25. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    Another great multiplayer game in another great Mario Party!

    I dont understand when reviewers give the series low scores because "The games are only decided by randomness and luck" First of all, that is a lie. It is true that you can get very lucky and win because of it, but that is part of how the game works. Secondly however, that is: There is a CHANCE that you can get lucky and
    Another great multiplayer game in another great Mario Party!

    I dont understand when reviewers give the series low scores because "The games are only decided by randomness and luck"

    First of all, that is a lie. It is true that you can get very lucky and win because of it, but that is part of how the game works.
    Secondly however, that is: There is a CHANCE that you can get lucky and win, it doesnt mean that is the majority of the games.
    There is a lot of strategy and planning, but generally, you will get an advantage by winning a lot of mini games.

    It is BS to call this game bad, and say it is solely based on luck.

    Must buy for Wii, 9 out of 10!
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#6 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. 52
    All of our complaints about previous games – the slow pace, the lackluster single-player affair, the loose attention to detail – all remain and with Mario Party 8 we can add another criticism: ignorance of the Wii remote.
  2. 55
    A really disappointing (but, as mentioned at the start of this review, inevitably still entertaining) Wii debut for the series. Perhaps the next game will truly take advantage of the Wii controls through and through.
  3. There are some good minigames in Mario Party 8, but the overly familiar, chance-heavy board game wrapper gets in their way.