User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 169
  2. Negative: 42 out of 169

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome and so underrated! One of my first Wii games. The minigames are very fun. The graphics are good. The party mode is great. I really liked the fun bazaar and extras. Mario Party 8 one of my favourite Mario Party games and if you don't like MP8, you're silly as JB. You should definitely go and buy it.
  2. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    This game is friggin awesome. It was my first Wii Game and I conquered the whole game because it was that awesome and if you don't like MP8 you are silly as Justin Bieber. Why the heck is this game is under rated? WHY?! I love the Fun Bazzar,Minigame tent,and the maps are epic. The lucky space is my all time favourite spot to land on. I know it is 2015 but I recommend you pick it up.
  3. JohnK.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    This game is AWESOME FAMILY FUN!!! Yes, the graphics are not cutting edge, and chance does play a large role in the game--- but none of that takes away from the FUN!!! By the way, the graphics are just fine for this cartoon adventure, and chance plays a large role because this is basically a video adaptation of a board game, where chance ALWAYS plays a large role! So if you are looking This game is AWESOME FAMILY FUN!!! Yes, the graphics are not cutting edge, and chance does play a large role in the game--- but none of that takes away from the FUN!!! By the way, the graphics are just fine for this cartoon adventure, and chance plays a large role because this is basically a video adaptation of a board game, where chance ALWAYS plays a large role! So if you are looking for a fun game that you can play with the whole family, pick this game up-- you will not be disappointed!!! Expand
  4. Michael
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Awesome as ever. Get some friends, some drinks, and have a party. Not for the geekiest gamer, there's not a lot of challenge, single player sucks, moving around the board is entirely based on luck, etc.etc. Playing this alone would be only slightly better than playing Monopoly solo. It's a friggin party! Get some friends who you can stand to have around your stuff and who make Awesome as ever. Get some friends, some drinks, and have a party. Not for the geekiest gamer, there's not a lot of challenge, single player sucks, moving around the board is entirely based on luck, etc.etc. Playing this alone would be only slightly better than playing Monopoly solo. It's a friggin party! Get some friends who you can stand to have around your stuff and who make you laugh, then play. Trust me, it's fun. Not a game to be taken seriously, just an excuse to have a good time. Expand
  5. FronkF.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    If you have friends over, you can;t go wrong. 70+ mini-games, great wiimote/nunchaku use, and, best of all, coin-sucking vampires. Need I say more?
  6. EricFernandaz
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I mean c'mon this MarioParty has to be extremely awsome. I mean its on the wii, The coolest system EVER. I mean 6! new extreme boards! Billion Kajillion new minigames! and like 14 Characters! All for the wii remote! The Last thing i can say is that this game is Number ONE
  7. PabloR.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    This game is Great. This game deserves a ten. Only if they didnt have the random frame. But after a while you get used to it. The mini-games are also the best so far, and the Boards are crazy!
  8. ShawnP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Very entertaining party game.
  9. Sebby64
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Nice, fun game. A great hit within my family.
  10. CalebH.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    This game rules. The low reviews made me a bit skeptical. But, after bringing the game home and playing it with the family - I'm sold. This is the best family game on the Wii. We also do multi-player with MonkeyBall, Sports, SSX Blur, and Sonic - but this blows them all away. If you want a great 4 player, multi-player experience - this game is it. My 6 and 4 year olds love playing This game rules. The low reviews made me a bit skeptical. But, after bringing the game home and playing it with the family - I'm sold. This is the best family game on the Wii. We also do multi-player with MonkeyBall, Sports, SSX Blur, and Sonic - but this blows them all away. If you want a great 4 player, multi-player experience - this game is it. My 6 and 4 year olds love playing with me and their mom. There is a lot of text that they can't necessarily read through - but the randomness makes it a level playing-field for the whole family. As for the reviews - they really don't do the game justice. The Wii remote and the multiple control styles make each minigame great. I haven't found one I don't like. After each minigame I say, "That one was so fun, let's play it again." Expand
  11. TinaK.
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    This is a great game weather your 5 or 50. Good family and friends fun is all that matters. not the credits or the graphics. Don't bother wasting your time on complaints because different people like different types of games- and for those who dont like this one fine. This is a simple fun game and i think people are expecting too much out of it. God this is a Mario action game, not This is a great game weather your 5 or 50. Good family and friends fun is all that matters. not the credits or the graphics. Don't bother wasting your time on complaints because different people like different types of games- and for those who dont like this one fine. This is a simple fun game and i think people are expecting too much out of it. God this is a Mario action game, not some sort of super violent adventure. It keeps you off boredom, keeps you entertained and the graphics are fine. I'd rather own a wii (whitch i do.) and have graphics that are good but not perfect (it costs around $300) than buy a stupid PS3 which is huge and costs like $1000 just because of the graphics! Be happy with what yo've got, not what u can get. (The only stupid thing is that the credits last forever and you can't skip them. But hey, at least they are entertaining- unlike most games.) Expand
  12. AlexE.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    For once, they thought about the formula and changed it - for the better! No more waiting for 3 CPU-Characters to take their turn in Single PLayer-Mode. But if you want to play like this, you can! That's the beauty of it. You can costumize the party to your gaming pleasure, even Tag-Team Battles (Board-Game-Wise) are possible. And they put more life into the boards, too. Yes, they For once, they thought about the formula and changed it - for the better! No more waiting for 3 CPU-Characters to take their turn in Single PLayer-Mode. But if you want to play like this, you can! That's the beauty of it. You can costumize the party to your gaming pleasure, even Tag-Team Battles (Board-Game-Wise) are possible. And they put more life into the boards, too. Yes, they are smaller, but they benefit from other ideas. Try this one - if you dig this kind of game (and the wacky colours) you can't go wrong, really. Collapse
  13. May 24, 2013
    9
    Oh it's flat down fun. Best with other friends & family. Still fun with one player! Graphics are terrific, others may insult them but that may be due to a slightly broken Wii (It may be damaged) or a rubbish TV. I have a 47 inch widescreen HD Philips flat screen. Characters are lovely, a great runner upon the series. I have been a fan of the series since MP 4 on the GameCube, my first newOh it's flat down fun. Best with other friends & family. Still fun with one player! Graphics are terrific, others may insult them but that may be due to a slightly broken Wii (It may be damaged) or a rubbish TV. I have a 47 inch widescreen HD Philips flat screen. Characters are lovely, a great runner upon the series. I have been a fan of the series since MP 4 on the GameCube, my first new console (Had an old N64 from old brother). Just thrilling. The controls are great, a great game for all ages. Now, it wouldn't be Mario Party though without someone under 16 playing Like the rest, I totally recommend it. Now, mines scratched but not permanently and my store downtown fixes them for free, oh yeah. The characters are are a great selection. Another to my collection. Totally worth it. Expand
  14. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    Another great multiplayer game in another great Mario Party!

    I dont understand when reviewers give the series low scores because "The games are only decided by randomness and luck" First of all, that is a lie. It is true that you can get very lucky and win because of it, but that is part of how the game works. Secondly however, that is: There is a CHANCE that you can get lucky and
    Another great multiplayer game in another great Mario Party!

    I dont understand when reviewers give the series low scores because "The games are only decided by randomness and luck"

    First of all, that is a lie. It is true that you can get very lucky and win because of it, but that is part of how the game works.
    Secondly however, that is: There is a CHANCE that you can get lucky and win, it doesnt mean that is the majority of the games.
    There is a lot of strategy and planning, but generally, you will get an advantage by winning a lot of mini games.

    It is BS to call this game bad, and say it is solely based on luck.

    Must buy for Wii, 9 out of 10!
    Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. 52
    All of our complaints about previous games – the slow pace, the lackluster single-player affair, the loose attention to detail – all remain and with Mario Party 8 we can add another criticism: ignorance of the Wii remote.
  2. 55
    A really disappointing (but, as mentioned at the start of this review, inevitably still entertaining) Wii debut for the series. Perhaps the next game will truly take advantage of the Wii controls through and through.
  3. There are some good minigames in Mario Party 8, but the overly familiar, chance-heavy board game wrapper gets in their way.