Mario Party 8 Wii

Mario Party 8 Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play with motion control! Row your way down a river, punch a statue to pieces, steer race cars and mopeds, and handle a balancing pole while walking a tightrope. Play with the pointer. Drag and drop decorations onto cakes, shoot Boos in haunted house, quickly choose your answer in a gamePlay with motion control! Row your way down a river, punch a statue to pieces, steer race cars and mopeds, and handle a balancing pole while walking a tightrope. Play with the pointer. Drag and drop decorations onto cakes, shoot Boos in haunted house, quickly choose your answer in a game show. Mash those Wii Remote buttons. Jump and pummel your way through a football brawl, hop and run across an obstacle course of spinning platforms. Mario Party 8 includes six brand-new boards, dozens of minigames and many new modes. In a franchise first, you can collect special power-ups and transform your character into a boulder that smashes rivals or a coin-sucking vampire. Mario Party 8 includes "extra-large" minigames like Star Carnival Bowling and Table Menace. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. 90
    Played alone, against the computer, the game is barely worth popping out of its case. But, having even one other human opponent ups the fun exponentially--you just can't get the same satisfaction out of trash talking against a faceless computerized enemy.
  2. Bottom line is that if you love Mario Party, you’ll still love Mario Party 8. If you don’t love the Mario Party games, this one isn’t going to do anything that will change your mind, even with the Wii controls.
  3. Buy it for the multiplayer, pass on the single-player.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    63
    It's just such a waste to see "Mario Party" get a frsh start here, only to have us turn the Wii-mote on its side to use it like any other motion-control-free controller. [Aug 2007, p.72]
  5. Games Master UK
    59
    With brand new controls they had a chance to reinvigorate the franchise. They didn't. [Aug 2007, p.65]
  6. Besides the tired gameplay, Mario Party 8 has some serious presentation issues that will make you wonder if you’re still playing a Gamecube game.
  7. Also, about the ultra-long credits that you can’t skip: please. It’s like watching the dirt get shoveled onto my open grave as I wait for the ordeal to end.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 85
  2. Negative: 30 out of 85
  1. Feb 22, 2017
    10
    This is actually my second favourite Mario party after Mario party 2... I loved the boards (especially King Boo's board), the story mode wasThis is actually my second favourite Mario party after Mario party 2... I loved the boards (especially King Boo's board), the story mode was fun as hell, and even the mini games were pretty decent. The most fun is definitely playing with friends. Expand
  2. ShawnP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Very entertaining party game.
  3. ImadSiddiqui
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    It's fun every now and then.I would play it with friends but not by myself as no Mario Party is fun by yourself that's why it'sIt's fun every now and then.I would play it with friends but not by myself as no Mario Party is fun by yourself that's why it's called Mario Party.Sure they kept the GC graphics for this game and the gameplay has sort of been weakened through repitition.This isn't my favorite Mario Party game cuz
    my fav ones are Mario Party 2+7.
    Expand
  4. RachelY
    Jun 15, 2008
    5
    To be honest, I think it's an okay game... Easily not worth a 10, but it's not worth like a 2 either. Only buy it if you know more To be honest, I think it's an okay game... Easily not worth a 10, but it's not worth like a 2 either. Only buy it if you know more than one person is gonna be playin' it, haha. It's great for 3+ people, it's a good laugh. A lot of it was based on luck, I've found, and sometimes the minigames take a while to figure what you actually have to do! Overall, the game is alright - best on multiplayer. But if you are looking for a good one player AND multiplayer game, I recommend Mario &Sonic at the Olympic Games, or even Wii Sports! Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2011
    5
    Its a good compilation of mini games that has a rather descent story mode and a fun multi-player experience. Using the Wii Remote adds in aIts a good compilation of mini games that has a rather descent story mode and a fun multi-player experience. Using the Wii Remote adds in a small factor of motion game that could have been taken to another level. Expand
  6. EthanR.
    Jun 28, 2007
    4
    I tried to like this game, i really did. But it's impossible. It's ironic, the creators of the mario party series promised new I tried to like this game, i really did. But it's impossible. It's ironic, the creators of the mario party series promised new boards, minigames, characters and much more everygame. But it's exactly that premise that makes this version worse. They messed up the beloved formula by adding on to much things. I liked when we had regular items and now there's candy!? The boards used to be so cool and large... now they're straight and tiny. The single player game is terrible! It's not 4 players playing. It's 2 players playing. With barely any minigames. The only reason I gave this game a 4 was because the minigames. They use the intuitive wii remote to create fun to play minigames. But since you have to play through the dreadful game to get the minigames it's kind of a pain. I don't reccomend this game. :( Expand
  7. GlenP.
    Jun 22, 2007
    0
    The game is a mess. Long, slow board game that determines it's winner essentially by luck, is reqauired to play multiple times to unlock The game is a mess. Long, slow board game that determines it's winner essentially by luck, is reqauired to play multiple times to unlock the mini games. The mini games themselves are a hodgepodge of styles, many making bad use of teh motion technology. Must play the worthless board game to get mini games. bad. Very bad. Pick up SuperMonkeyBall or Muppet Party Cruise for a much better set of mini games. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#4 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007