Mario Party 8 Wii

Mario Party 8 Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play with motion control! Row your way down a river, punch a statue to pieces, steer race cars and mopeds, and handle a balancing pole while walking a tightrope. Play with the pointer. Drag and drop decorations onto cakes, shoot Boos in haunted house, quickly choose your answer in a gamePlay with motion control! Row your way down a river, punch a statue to pieces, steer race cars and mopeds, and handle a balancing pole while walking a tightrope. Play with the pointer. Drag and drop decorations onto cakes, shoot Boos in haunted house, quickly choose your answer in a game show. Mash those Wii Remote buttons. Jump and pummel your way through a football brawl, hop and run across an obstacle course of spinning platforms. Mario Party 8 includes six brand-new boards, dozens of minigames and many new modes. In a franchise first, you can collect special power-ups and transform your character into a boulder that smashes rivals or a coin-sucking vampire. Mario Party 8 includes "extra-large" minigames like Star Carnival Bowling and Table Menace. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. 90
    Played alone, against the computer, the game is barely worth popping out of its case. But, having even one other human opponent ups the fun exponentially--you just can't get the same satisfaction out of trash talking against a faceless computerized enemy.
  2. Bottom line is that if you love Mario Party, you’ll still love Mario Party 8. If you don’t love the Mario Party games, this one isn’t going to do anything that will change your mind, even with the Wii controls.
  3. Buy it for the multiplayer, pass on the single-player.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    63
    It's just such a waste to see "Mario Party" get a frsh start here, only to have us turn the Wii-mote on its side to use it like any other motion-control-free controller. [Aug 2007, p.72]
  5. Games Master UK
    59
    With brand new controls they had a chance to reinvigorate the franchise. They didn't. [Aug 2007, p.65]
  6. Besides the tired gameplay, Mario Party 8 has some serious presentation issues that will make you wonder if you’re still playing a Gamecube game.
  7. Also, about the ultra-long credits that you can’t skip: please. It’s like watching the dirt get shoveled onto my open grave as I wait for the ordeal to end.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 90
  2. Negative: 33 out of 90
  1. Feb 22, 2017
    10
    This is actually my second favourite Mario party after Mario party 2... I loved the boards (especially King Boo's board), the story mode wasThis is actually my second favourite Mario party after Mario party 2... I loved the boards (especially King Boo's board), the story mode was fun as hell, and even the mini games were pretty decent. The most fun is definitely playing with friends. Expand
  2. AlexE.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    For once, they thought about the formula and changed it - for the better! No more waiting for 3 CPU-Characters to take their turn in Single For once, they thought about the formula and changed it - for the better! No more waiting for 3 CPU-Characters to take their turn in Single PLayer-Mode. But if you want to play like this, you can! That's the beauty of it. You can costumize the party to your gaming pleasure, even Tag-Team Battles (Board-Game-Wise) are possible. And they put more life into the boards, too. Yes, they are smaller, but they benefit from other ideas. Try this one - if you dig this kind of game (and the wacky colours) you can't go wrong, really. Expand
  3. DougL
    May 23, 2008
    8
    A fun game to play with 2-4 people. Best with 4 really. Most of the minigames are fun, some are eh and a few are real clunkers... a couple of A fun game to play with 2-4 people. Best with 4 really. Most of the minigames are fun, some are eh and a few are real clunkers... a couple of my favorites are only for 2 player mode which is a bummer. Overall it would be nice to have more games even if some were similar or derivatives of each other. Game play is a bit long a "standard" game of 15 turns takes about 1.5 hours, this is not the game to start for a quick hit, it is similar to a board game in that it does take some commitment to finishing. I would agree that there is a high degree of randomness to it but i think that is part of the fun who wants to playa game for 1-2 hours if they already know who is good and going to win. If you are more "hard-core" switch off the bonus stars and play on the Tycoon board it requires the most strategy and rewards those who win mini-games the most. Overall fun game with friends with a good replay value, but not in any way a "ahrd-core" game. Expand
  4. BlueFalcon
    Jun 6, 2007
    5
    I like the Mario Party formula, but they really aren't putting any effort into these anymore. The only thing new is how the mini games I like the Mario Party formula, but they really aren't putting any effort into these anymore. The only thing new is how the mini games use the motion sensor now, but it's not that well done. Every other Mario Party I've played has been better than this one (3, 4, 5, and 7). Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I remember when the Mario party games used to be great...I only bought this game because I thought it was going to be as good as the reallyI remember when the Mario party games used to be great...I only bought this game because I thought it was going to be as good as the really old games but sadly I was wrong. The minigames seem a bit overused at this point, and seem to be based mostly on luck, and the boards are just boring and there could have been a bigger character rooster too..If you love Mario Party games, this might be a let-down. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    The Mario Party games have always provided plenty of multiplayer fun (although single player has always been dull) but this eighth entry inThe Mario Party games have always provided plenty of multiplayer fun (although single player has always been dull) but this eighth entry in the series is a huge step backwards. An element of luck has always been required if you were to win but here it is taken to the extreme with stars no longer awarded post-game for winning the most mini-games or collecting the most coins. The mini-games themselves also lack the imagination of previous titles with the majority just requiring players the shake the Wiimote as fast as they can. Do yourself a favour and pick up either Mario Party 4 or the DS Version instead. Expand
  7. GlenP.
    Jun 22, 2007
    0
    The game is a mess. Long, slow board game that determines it's winner essentially by luck, is reqauired to play multiple times to unlock The game is a mess. Long, slow board game that determines it's winner essentially by luck, is reqauired to play multiple times to unlock the mini games. The mini games themselves are a hodgepodge of styles, many making bad use of teh motion technology. Must play the worthless board game to get mini games. bad. Very bad. Pick up SuperMonkeyBall or Muppet Party Cruise for a much better set of mini games. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

58
5
#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
4
#4 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007