Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A variety of sports games featuring your favorite Nintendo characters.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 54
  2. Negative: 5 out of 54
  1. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    Mario Sports Mix it's not the best party game for the Nintendo Wii, but Square Enix managed to put together a decent number of sports that will surely entertain you and your friends.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    75
    Despite the faults the individual events have, winning the Star Cup in all four sports unlocks a bonus cameo that almost makes all of the earlier tedium worth it.
  3. May 4, 2011
    70
    A fun mix of sports in an enjoyable package. Great for multiplayer sessions but could get boring by yourself.
  4. Feb 2, 2011
    68
    Mario Sports Mix has become a decent game. It's a game that you'll play when you have company, but boredom will strike soon because of the lack in variation.
  5. Feb 7, 2011
    65
    It doesn't have the depth and appeal of one of the bigger sports game, but it's too barebones to be a cool mini-game party sports game.
  6. Feb 8, 2011
    60
    If you're a more advanced player, dedicated single-sport Mario titles like Super Mario Sluggers and Mario Strikers Charged are far more substantial and enjoyable experiences. But if you want a colorful pick-up-and-play game to enjoy with your less gaming-inclined friends and family, Mario Sports Mix ought to work just fine -- just don't expect to dig it out too often otherwise.
  7. Jan 29, 2011
    40
    Mario Sports Mix has a nice Wiimote gameplay, and both Volleyball and Dodgeball mini-games will grant you a nice and funny afternoon. But beyond that... with but four sports and repetitive game mechanics, the title seems to be a little stingy compared to Wii Sports Resort or the Mario & Sonic series. On the Wii, Mario Sports Mix comes only as the third wheel.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    You know what they, all mario games are amazing! Mario sports mix has fun addicting multiplayer and amazing gameplay with a game like this it's hard to be dissapointed. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    This is a neat little surprise. When I bought this I didn't think it would be as good as it i. Here we actually got 4 fullblown sportsgames basket, hockey, volleyball and dodgeball with cups and all at the the price of one. It reminds me of Mario smash football, a whole lot of fun, beautiful graphics , super animation and rather simple controls. It also has four minigames, unlockable characters and arenas. So this is a very strong package sadly not recieving the right score from the critics. So I will help it a little by giving it a crystal clear 10. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    An incredible game.They planted incredible objectives.The tourney cups,awesome.I speak Spanish.So,in my country the guardian of the crystal it's call ''Bégimo''.Great game.Good work Nintendo. Collapse
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    7
    The game is pretty fun, but boring on single player. The only fun part about single player is doing the challenges in the tournaments. The mini games are also quite fun single or multi-player. Although there really isn't a lot of good things to unlock in this game since most of the stuff you unlock is either pallet swap characters of alternate outfits which really disappoints me. It does have some replay value and if you want to have the most fun playing this game I suggest playing dodge ball. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    6
    This game is very fun, never gets boring. However, I do think Nintendo g=could of included more sports and characters, like Rosalina and Boo/King Boo. However, the courts were awesome with fitting music! Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    6
    Mario Sports Mix is just, just above average. It's fairly fun, and quite mad, but it's fairly fiddly, and not a patch on Mario Karts multiplayer thrills and spills. The unlocking system is broken too, but one redeeming feature is the awesome Square Enix cast, like the Cactuar and the Mages. Now, this is me being a bit of a fanboy, but Sports Mix saves itself from a lowly 5 just by having these guys. Controversial? Damn straight. Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    Well, what can I say. This game was a waste of money. The hockey game sucks horribly. It was the best of the bunch, however. All you had to do is circle behind the net with a speedy player, then shoot it into the corner nearest to you, and it is an automatic goal. I played one game on easy, winning by a whole ton. Then, I played on the Hard difficulty, massacring the computer. I then played on the Expert difficulty, then the computer became cheap, but I still won my a score of 20 or more! The basketball sucks. That is the bottom line. If you play on hard, it is the same as hockey. it is basically an automatic win. Then, on expert, the computer is super cheap. the only way to win is to have a super speedy character, get in front of the defender, then put it in. This sport disappointed terribly. Dodge ball was okay, but the game play just astounded me! Even if the enemy is a half inch from you and throws it as hard as they can, you still can catch the ball, throw it back, and get them out. This was the same deal as hockey and basketball. All of the difficulties were easy. Easy should be called give-away, Medium should be the computer barely tries, hard should be very easy, and Expert should be called easy, but cheap. Volleyball doesn't even get anything on this review. I never even finished a game. It was super boring. DO NOT GET THIS GAME. I rented it for 5 days, and I was ready to take it back after an hour or 2 Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers