Metroid: Other M Wii

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 463 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 4, 2010
    7
    I was very excited when this game was announced, because I thought it was a return to the great 2D days of Metroid. While it certainly has a lot of that, I tend to agree with a lot of people that the control scheme really hinders this. The fact that I can't easily target objects myself and have to rely on the computer's "best guess" for shooting enemies can be VERY frustrating. I just wishI was very excited when this game was announced, because I thought it was a return to the great 2D days of Metroid. While it certainly has a lot of that, I tend to agree with a lot of people that the control scheme really hinders this. The fact that I can't easily target objects myself and have to rely on the computer's "best guess" for shooting enemies can be VERY frustrating. I just wish they added an advanced controller scheme that allowed the player to use the nunchuck and also maybe the C button to switch targets. While I understand the idea of not allowing the player to move in first-peson view, I don't see why they couldn't add the dodge maneuver into it. I constantly struggled with getting slammed when entering FPS-mode, because the camera swings in the opposite direction I was looking. I also miss the lonely caverns and insane amounts of exploring. A space station just doesn't do it for me. And finally, they stripped out what made a Metroid game a Metroid game... finding weapon upgrades. There was always a sense of achievement when you found something new. And why have they ditched the classic tune whenever you find a missile pack or energy tank? That was always a nice pat on the back too. It just feels empty. Plenty of action, but none of the feeling. Expand
  2. Sep 1, 2010
    6
    What is Metroid Other M? It's a whole lot of "meh". Being a guy who fell in love with the Prime series, I found the switch to Team Ninja to be confusing, especially since Retro Studios made some of the best titles on the entire Gamecube. I was sure not to get worked up over Other M and I can safely say that it's a good thing I stayed pessimistic.

    Team Ninja thought that for some reason,
    What is Metroid Other M? It's a whole lot of "meh". Being a guy who fell in love with the Prime series, I found the switch to Team Ninja to be confusing, especially since Retro Studios made some of the best titles on the entire Gamecube. I was sure not to get worked up over Other M and I can safely say that it's a good thing I stayed pessimistic.

    Team Ninja thought that for some reason, Other M should include a heavy story in it. Past Metroid games had very little story, just enough for you to know why you're there, and what story was there was delivered through a "Fallout 3" type of examination of logs and stuff. Now it's just spoon-fed to the audience in massive and frequent cutscenes that make it feel like a crappy anime (again, this is Team Ninja).

    As for the gameplay, it feels awkward to hold the controller sideways like I'm playing a Mario game again. Num chuck worked for Prime, and it sounded pretty applicable here. As for the actual game, you go around shooting stuff that tries to kill you. Unfortunately there's an auto-targeting system here that tends to suck in every game. It thinks I want to shoot a tiny mouse over the purple tentacle monster that just knocked off 1/4 of my health. There's still the ability to look around in first-person mode for precision shooting, but I guess that deactivates the bottom half of the power suit because you can't move when looking through this.

    Still, after all the crap I had to say, it's still at the very least playable, and that's not something a whole lot of games can do. Yeah, the story sucks and gameplay could've been better, but I still had some sort of urge to find out what I get to shoot next. In the end, Other M is okay, but it could've been brilliant. Can you hear me, Nintendo? Bring back Retro Studios and let Team Ninja go back to their cruddy Japanese games.
    Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    I agree with Fluggy, the game is not bad. It's totally beyond the Wii, first of all. Secondly the fighting is super well done, graphically and control-wise. There is a diverse array of levels and the way you can view the game in different ways is really fun and innovative. Overall a really great title.
  4. Sep 2, 2010
    7
    Not a bad game, but I felt it didn't match up with Team Ninja's stuff, and just fell in line with the rest of the metroids. The mechanics of the game work well, besides it changing view suddenly because you shifted postion. I don't love the auto-aim, although I don't know how else they could have done it. It does feel a whole lot like a metroid, and I must compliment Nintendo for tryingNot a bad game, but I felt it didn't match up with Team Ninja's stuff, and just fell in line with the rest of the metroids. The mechanics of the game work well, besides it changing view suddenly because you shifted postion. I don't love the auto-aim, although I don't know how else they could have done it. It does feel a whole lot like a metroid, and I must compliment Nintendo for trying something kind of new after all these years. The exploration is fairly limited. I often found it more convenient, to run past enemies, being that there is nothing gained from fighting in most cases. If you love metroid, you will probably enjoy this game to some degree. If you haven't cared much for metroid in the past, than this will probably fall in with the rest. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Un videojuego al estilo de los primeros juegos de la serie ,lo cual produce un poco de felisidad jugar a un videojuego de los origenes de la serie metroid.
    Lo bueno es su historia muy bien relatada lo cual muestra el otro lado de la carismatica samus aram.
    Lo malo es su falta de creatividad de los desarrolladores ,lo cual ase que el videojugador sienta una leve decepcion de esta
    Un videojuego al estilo de los primeros juegos de la serie ,lo cual produce un poco de felisidad jugar a un videojuego de los origenes de la serie metroid.
    Lo bueno es su historia muy bien relatada lo cual muestra el otro lado de la carismatica samus aram.
    Lo malo es su falta de creatividad de los desarrolladores ,lo cual ase que el videojugador sienta una leve decepcion de esta saga,tambien su sensilles ,muy simple el videjuego a la hora de jugar ,esta hecho para videojugadores muy poco experimentados.
    Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    I'd have given this game a 9 but for three really annoying things:

    1. The game is too short. WAY too short. I have beaten the game (even the extra part after the credits) and gotten up to 97% of the items and only have logged 12 hours total. That probably includes time watching the cut scenes which are at least 60-90 minutes worth. 2. There are forced first person perspective moments
    I'd have given this game a 9 but for three really annoying things:

    1. The game is too short. WAY too short. I have beaten the game (even the extra part after the credits) and gotten up to 97% of the items and only have logged 12 hours total. That probably includes time watching the cut scenes which are at least 60-90 minutes worth.

    2. There are forced first person perspective moments I like to call "Where's Waldo" moments where you have to look around until you find some minuscule detail. Several of these sequences were aggravating to me as I would spend 5 minutes plus pointing around, thinking to myself "Crap, what on earth do they want me to look at?"

    3. You will die. A lot. Especially at bosses. I guess it's a Team Ninja thing. In fact I died in this Metriod more times than I ever had in any of the previous entries in the series, sometimes just from normal enemies. The game squeezes a lot of cheap deaths out of you. This is a huge contrast to past Metroid games where death is a rare occurrence usually relegated to boss battles.

    On the whole I enjoyed the game, but it ultimately just wasn't quite what I was hoping for. Certainly not for $49.99 anyway.
    Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2010
    6
    Other M is a classic case of great gameplay killed by awful presentation; the pointless cutscenes, contrived obstacles preventing the use of powers, and boring storyline. We wanted Samus the bounty hunter but we got Samus the insecure. We feel her pain through the trip, since there's no line between "puzzle we just haven't figured out yet" and "dead end". This is just a Linear gameOther M is a classic case of great gameplay killed by awful presentation; the pointless cutscenes, contrived obstacles preventing the use of powers, and boring storyline. We wanted Samus the bounty hunter but we got Samus the insecure. We feel her pain through the trip, since there's no line between "puzzle we just haven't figured out yet" and "dead end". This is just a Linear game littered with excuses to revisit old areas to grab upgrades we weren't authorized to use our equipment to get the first time around. Expand
  8. Sep 11, 2010
    6
    As a fan of the Metroid series, I must say that I was disappointed with the quality of Nintendo's latest entry in the series. The gameplay was certainly fine, but the questionable puzzles, horrible dialogue and voice acting, and railroaded game path makes it hard to actually enjoy it. I was looking forward to hearing more of Samus' backstory, but they decided to turn Samus into a weakAs a fan of the Metroid series, I must say that I was disappointed with the quality of Nintendo's latest entry in the series. The gameplay was certainly fine, but the questionable puzzles, horrible dialogue and voice acting, and railroaded game path makes it hard to actually enjoy it. I was looking forward to hearing more of Samus' backstory, but they decided to turn Samus into a weak character with a poor and unoriginal personality that goes contrary to fan opinion and apparent characterization in the past. I can only hope that Samus' characterization is fixed in future games. And, preferably, that they bring back Jennifer Hale as a voice actress, as the new VA speaks in a dull monotone throughout the entire game. Expand
  9. Oct 15, 2010
    5
    This is a great game, but it shouldn't carry the Metroid name. They have killed Samus as a strong female character and forgot what the elements to a great Metroid game were. I would support Nintendo collaborating with Team Ninja, but not with such an important Nintendo franchise. I'm just going to play Super Metroid and the Metroid Prime Trilogy, and forget this one ever existed (Samus isThis is a great game, but it shouldn't carry the Metroid name. They have killed Samus as a strong female character and forgot what the elements to a great Metroid game were. I would support Nintendo collaborating with Team Ninja, but not with such an important Nintendo franchise. I'm just going to play Super Metroid and the Metroid Prime Trilogy, and forget this one ever existed (Samus is still badass to me...). Sorry fanboys, I love Metroid just as much as you do, but I was incredibly disappointed. Expand
  10. Mar 1, 2012
    6
    This game is only OK. Its basically button mashing fire and enemy avoidance with some interesting bosses. Controls get awkward when you switch to missile mode. The levels are similar to other metroid games. Unfortunately, I got stuck at a cut-scene that would not advance 1/4th of the way into the game. I tried everything while characters stood over the body of another a dead character. IThis game is only OK. Its basically button mashing fire and enemy avoidance with some interesting bosses. Controls get awkward when you switch to missile mode. The levels are similar to other metroid games. Unfortunately, I got stuck at a cut-scene that would not advance 1/4th of the way into the game. I tried everything while characters stood over the body of another a dead character. I don't consider those type of cutscenes gameplay, I tried everything, so I consider it a bug. Anyways it was enough to give up on this game that I only got for $5. I didn't even want to look on gamefaqs. It was stupid. As far as the narration and story I thought there should have been more of it. It was almost nonexistent too, so I'm not sure why people complained about it. Beware, this is a cheap game and might be buggy. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2010
    7
    Wow, everyone is so wrong about this game. There is no way that anyone who is a true Metroid fan would consider this game a classic or better than Metroid Prime. It's obviously not as good. Regardless, the game is far from bad, and people hating it simply for the story need to think more before they write reviews. The story was decent, and better than expected, but it didn't really do muchWow, everyone is so wrong about this game. There is no way that anyone who is a true Metroid fan would consider this game a classic or better than Metroid Prime. It's obviously not as good. Regardless, the game is far from bad, and people hating it simply for the story need to think more before they write reviews. The story was decent, and better than expected, but it didn't really do much for me. The gameplay, once you get used to it, is quite good- very action-packed, with excellent boss fights. However, the game is very short, and the linearity makes it feel like less of a Metroid game. If my Metroid bias wasn't in the way, this would be more like a 6, but it has enough awesome moments to warrant higher. Overall, a fun, flawed, far- from-excellent but still good game. Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    Other M is a great game, but it's a shame the story gets in the way. The game is kinda a cross between shadow complex, and the earlier Meroid games. It's at it's best wandering the ship tracking things down. It's at it's worse when Samus talks. I don't have a problem with her new character because despite her constant inner monologues she technically stays silent for most of the time.Other M is a great game, but it's a shame the story gets in the way. The game is kinda a cross between shadow complex, and the earlier Meroid games. It's at it's best wandering the ship tracking things down. It's at it's worse when Samus talks. I don't have a problem with her new character because despite her constant inner monologues she technically stays silent for most of the time. But her voice actress is awful and makes the plot more like a B SyFy movie then the epic story it could be. The controls are good despite the fact that the controller is just a will mote, and though the story is short (8 or so hours for the main play-through another 3 to 4 to get everything) the boss battles are intense. However times when the game freezes the actions and tell you to look for something are crap, especially since I was playing on a older TV, what I had to look for was never clear and I could have found 10 waldos in the time some of these sequences took, and the game is easy, it looks so cool at times you might not even realize your just tapping one button.Other M is not a bad game by any means but it sure is a disappointing one, make it a master piece next time Nintendo divided by team ninja. Expand
  13. Nov 25, 2010
    7
    Other M is a fine action game. Unfortunately, gamers expect more from this revered series. The game's biggest flaws lie in its poor characterization of Samus and the inexplicable lack of an option to use the Wii's nunchuk attachment.
  14. Dec 10, 2010
    5
    I would easily rate this game as a high 7 or low 8 had it not been for the clumsy controls. Flinging the Wiimote to point at the screen during an action battle to fire missiles is something that can be only said in all caps with F-bombs. The word "Other" in this game's title is definitely fitting as it fails to conform to either the Fusion or Prime gameplay model. I can deal with a newI would easily rate this game as a high 7 or low 8 had it not been for the clumsy controls. Flinging the Wiimote to point at the screen during an action battle to fire missiles is something that can be only said in all caps with F-bombs. The word "Other" in this game's title is definitely fitting as it fails to conform to either the Fusion or Prime gameplay model. I can deal with a new style of gameplay for Metroid if it works; however, Other M does nothing for me. Here are my biggest gripes: First: Previews of this game were misleading. I was expecting a 2D version of Metroid (Fusion) with the ability to explore in first-person perspective (Prime). Let me make this clear, the only time this game is 2D is when you are a morph ball in a tunnel. Second: If you have an older Wii, this game may not work on your system. The disc drive on my Wii couldn't read the disc. Thankfully Nintendo replaced the drive free of charge, but I still had to wait 10 days to receive my repaired Wii. Third: Controlling Samus during a boss/mini-boss fight are absolutely horrid. Switching from third-person to first-person perspective during a battle is complete and total crap. Most likely you are going to die from crap controls rather than skill. Fourth: Is this an action game or an RPG? You are forced to hear the story and watch the movies behind Samus. If this game was an RPG, I might be more inclined to watch; however, I just want to play the game. Expand
  15. Jul 18, 2012
    7
    This is a good game, that's really all there is to it. People that give it a low score, not just on this site but all over the internet, are just Prime fans which is why they say "it's not like the other ones", and unfairly hold it to a non-existent standard. This game did not claim to be a 2D or 3D style Metroid. To rate it properly, you have to take it for what it is. I guess I have toThis is a good game, that's really all there is to it. People that give it a low score, not just on this site but all over the internet, are just Prime fans which is why they say "it's not like the other ones", and unfairly hold it to a non-existent standard. This game did not claim to be a 2D or 3D style Metroid. To rate it properly, you have to take it for what it is. I guess I have to say, good job Prime fans. Because of you, and the way you acted about this game, we will never see a 2D Metroid ever again. Only the extremely sub-par Prime games. As for details of the game itself, my first thoughts were that the automatic aiming would be a bit broken. But the idea is that if you use the standard shot which automatically aims, it's not very powerful. If you take your time and carefully aim a shot with a missile, it will do more damage. A simple yet ingenious concept. Nothing new of course, but at least we can say that this game has the bare, basic fundamentals required in order to be considered a "game". Most modern "games" such as the Prime series, and Skyrim cannot say that. Sure, you can easily clear out a group of small enemies but you're just not going to be taking out boss after boss by spamming the charge shot like some people want to make it seem. And the game is not about fighting each small enemy on your way from point A to point B. They are just there to give you something to do, and to add a small degree of challenge. That is why they're not incredibly difficult. Did you even play Super Metroid? Your beam took up half the screen when you fired it. Killing smaller enemies on the way from point A to point B was extremely easy. The game is about exploration, upgrading your equipment, and fighting bosses. In all of these areas, it succeeds. There are some frustrating moments, such as when the purple lizard like enemy jumps on Samus and you have to shoot its tail. I guarantee very few people survived that their first time. There are the moments where you have to look around for clues, sometimes requiring that you notice a very, very small detail in a large, open environment. I'm so glad they included moments like this in the game. It really goes to show just how many people got to these parts, got mad, and came on Metacritic to give the game a 0/10. The art style, graphics, and use of color in this game is just awesome. Traversing jungles, volcanoes, etc. is really fun to look at, and every now and then it's fun to just stop and look at the scenery. This is probably the most visually appealing Wii game out there. Not to mention all of the awesome animations when taking out a weakened opponent. The story is pretty decent. I would probably enjoy it more if I actually played games for the story. A lot of people complained that Samus "acted too much like a girl", and that she showed weakness. To these people, I have to ask, did you even pay attention to the story at all? The only times she really showed weakness was when she was initially getting in to her career. She was young. She WAS weak. How do you think she got to the level she is at today? Did you want her to just be BORN incredibly strong and independent? Wow, yeah, that would be an awesome back story! Another complaint I often hear about this game is that "you can just dodge everything". No. No you can't. I guarantee the people that say this got hit countless times. Not to mention, that's your choice if you choose to sit there and mash the d-pad as fast as you can in order to dodge. If you think the dodging is unfairly advantageous, then how about you don't abuse it then claim that it's a definitive part of the game when it's not? Expand
  16. Jun 11, 2012
    7
    As a huge fan of the older games and the prime series it wasn't really what i had in mind. It has a cool blend of 2-d and 3-d environments that work pretty well. Metroid other m's control scheme is pretty cool too like pointing the Wii mote at the screen to go into First person and things like that. But the game is severely lacking lots of things. Most of the characters are annoying andAs a huge fan of the older games and the prime series it wasn't really what i had in mind. It has a cool blend of 2-d and 3-d environments that work pretty well. Metroid other m's control scheme is pretty cool too like pointing the Wii mote at the screen to go into First person and things like that. But the game is severely lacking lots of things. Most of the characters are annoying and unmemorable. Samus always has something pretty irrelevant to say, and there are way too many uninteresting story bits that dont make sense and if you were to remove them entirely you wouldent miss out on anything. All else aside it is a pretty enjoyable game but not up to par at all with the epic Metroid Prime saga. Expand
  17. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    They managed to break the excellent gameplay of both the 2D games, and Prime's GOTY award-winning FPS action... in one sitting! let me elaborate...

    The third person parts are ok, i guess, but since the d-pad's 8-way digital input is ill fit for 3D environments. most of the shooting is auto-aimed, taking the fun out of much of the action, this is broken as well as most often than not, the
    They managed to break the excellent gameplay of both the 2D games, and Prime's GOTY award-winning FPS action... in one sitting! let me elaborate...

    The third person parts are ok, i guess, but since the d-pad's 8-way digital input is ill fit for 3D environments. most of the shooting is auto-aimed, taking the fun out of much of the action, this is broken as well as most often than not, the auto aim, picks the target far away rather than the dangerously close one.

    The First Person Mode is infuriating at first, frustrating at best when you get used to it. not being able to move in this mode is really not the way to go here, i still don't understand why... you are perfectly capable of still using the d-pad here to move, yet it's blocked, even free-looking is blocked unless you press and hold B, which also activates locking and missiles which makes it a pain to look around... Fans of the Prime Trilogy will (and have) revolt since there's no good reason lo lock looking around and moving in this mode (even without the nunchuck) than just to piss you off...

    Gone are the Energy/Missile/SuperMissile/Powerbomb pickups when you defeat enemies, now you have to hold the wii remote upwards and hold A to recharge missiles and takes a little while (3 secs?). You also have to do this to recharge Energy, the kicker is you can only do it when you're about to die at 25 energy or less and when you hold the remote upwards and hold A you stand still and completely vulnerable until a blue dot reaches the end of the energy meter. then it recharges, this takes approximately 5 seconds which in metroid terms is an eternity, making it impossible to recharge when most enemies are around, besides, it only recharges the first (or last, if you will) 100 points of energy, not the tanks, these can only be recharged at the save stations. To me... this... outright sucks. It's like Mario with no mushrooms anywhere... WHAT WERE THEY THINKING? it breaks the formula too much!

    Metroid Prime fans are gonna hate it (forsaking the nunchuck is one thing, but locking movement and even free looking in 1st person mode, just to piss you off, is too much, went too far)

    Old school metroid fans are gonna hate it as well, since it breaks the classic formula... (Linearity, shallow, chatty monotone Samus w/daddy issues included)
    Expand
  18. Aug 28, 2011
    7
    First of all, this is highly recommended for fans of meaty adventure games or generally top-down shooters, as the Wii seems to be lacking them. The only reason it got such a low-ish score from me was becuase that it wasn't going to be the classic we were all expecting. It's still a good game, but it's let down by a un-interesting plot and cut-scenes, fiddly D-pad controls and poor shooterFirst of all, this is highly recommended for fans of meaty adventure games or generally top-down shooters, as the Wii seems to be lacking them. The only reason it got such a low-ish score from me was becuase that it wasn't going to be the classic we were all expecting. It's still a good game, but it's let down by a un-interesting plot and cut-scenes, fiddly D-pad controls and poor shooter sections. Basically, treat it as a meaty adventure with Metroid side-bits and references and you won't be disappointed. Fans of previous Metroid games may be. Expand
  19. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    Not the best metroid game out there, but still a slightly good one. The controls are my biggest concern, even after playing this game multiple times, I still have problems. Not to mention the voice acting in the game is terrible. Also, the story was not well written either, I felt they should have worked harder on the story more then anything else because the way they depicted Samus andNot the best metroid game out there, but still a slightly good one. The controls are my biggest concern, even after playing this game multiple times, I still have problems. Not to mention the voice acting in the game is terrible. Also, the story was not well written either, I felt they should have worked harder on the story more then anything else because the way they depicted Samus and Adam's relationship is a little disappointing. I feel as if they should have added more game play to this game. It seems like Nintendo focused more on the cutscenes (which were done very well!) more than the game play. Expand
  20. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    The storyline is great and unique, very emotional and touching unlike any other Metroid game. It does not have much connection to the saga superficially but the story behind holds strong stings attached to the central concept of the franchise. Technical production also outstands from similar games, with amazing graphics and astonishing cutscenes that add more excitement to this newThe storyline is great and unique, very emotional and touching unlike any other Metroid game. It does not have much connection to the saga superficially but the story behind holds strong stings attached to the central concept of the franchise. Technical production also outstands from similar games, with amazing graphics and astonishing cutscenes that add more excitement to this new production. A big flaw can be found in its gameplay, with poorly developed controls that could have taken significantly more advantage of what the Wii platform has to offer. Overall, a good game to pass time but not one to become a classic. Expand
  21. Apr 23, 2012
    5
    I was really excited when i saw the trailer of this game, but when i play it i said... WTF?! I've never seen a Samus like that: She's tormented for the death of the baby metroid, she waas scared by Ridley, when in the other she was absolutely fine. THe new prospective is good, but the first person isn't like the prime ones. You've all of your items, but you can't activate because of thatI was really excited when i saw the trailer of this game, but when i play it i said... WTF?! I've never seen a Samus like that: She's tormented for the death of the baby metroid, she waas scared by Ridley, when in the other she was absolutely fine. THe new prospective is good, but the first person isn't like the prime ones. You've all of your items, but you can't activate because of that **** Adam malkovich, or whatever, that is appared from nowhere. This sucks!!! But i still like the boss battle and cutscenes (not all of those). Expand
  22. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've read some reviews on here that give the game an 8 or 9, while still managing to find significant gripes with the game. I'm here to explain why these gripes are important.
    Item 1: The Story/Dialogue. I would have put these as separate points, but the go together. The story, in a vacuum, is not too bad, except for the gameplay tie-in where you get authorized to use suit pieces (more on that later). However, this is the first Metroid game where Samus has a voice. In previous games, her only "dialogue" was during elevator loading screens, or a few bits of text boxes in Fusion, the next game in the timeline. When a main character is given a voice and, by extension a personality, it should be done so as to reinforce the character and her role in the game. If they meant to keep her as a bad-ass that saves planets, they messed up. However, her voice actor speaks in such a bland monotone that it only diminishes her character. But don't worry, I'll get to that later too.
    Item 2: The Controls. This wasn't too bad at first. I didn't mind switching modes as long as I wasn't under crazy amounts of fire, and the camera angle changes nicely around corners, with a few minor exceptions in morph ball tunnels. However, at the final boss fight, the controls come to a head. You have to freeze metroids in normal, hold-controller-sideways mode (you can go first-person, but dodging Metroids in first-person is nigh impossible), then switch to first-person, point-controller-at-screen mode to shoot missiles. If you freeze all Metroids on the screen at once (which is ordinarily a really good idea), the Metroid Queen will unfreeze them within a few seconds, and now you have to freeze them all again. This was my only real grudge against the controls, but a seamless game that falls apart at the end feels unpolished.
    Item 3: Item Upgrades. To everyone who said that this mechanic is not too bad, I say "Orly?" There is a small cutscene after you meet Adam, your former CO, in which Samus explains that she was in the military (and she could wear her power suit in the military. What's up with that?), but she quit the military to become a "solitary bounty hunter." (actual quote) Right after this scene, which ends with Adam being in charge of a military rescue operation, a small info box pops up saying that Samus has decided to not use missiles or bombs until Adam authorizes it. This is the beginning of the frustration that is the Authorization System. Other Metroid games accomplished similar systems by having really tough enemies either guarding items (Prime) or just tough enemies in the room before the item (Zero Mission, I think). It kept the feeling of exploration alive to find the items yourself. To have the items but not be able to use them keeps Samus in a submissive role. Also, if you do play it (or have played it), there are a few sections where Samus is wary and walks slowly, while the camera swings around to a 3rd-person, over-the-shoulder angle. I found myself wishing Adam would come over the horn and say "Brisk jog authorized."
    Item 4: Samus' Character. This is, honestly, the most important part of the game for me. I'm a huge fan of character development. In previous games, Samus worked alone, with maybe an authority figure that helped her locate power-ups. In this game, there are other people on the station with her, and she is careful around them. Also, the station is called a Bottle Ship. The distress signal is called a Baby's Cry, specifically designed to get attention (when they make a distress signal not designed to get attention, call me). She calls Adam a father figure. She gets freaked out of Ridley, who she fought at least 3 times (Metroid 1, 2, Super. Timeline-wise, of course). She submits to the will of Adam and his authorization. Other M is an anagram of Mother. (oh snap!) Here's what it boils down to: This is a chauvinistic view of one of gaming's most iconic female characters. Other female icons, like Lara Croft, have survived on sex appeal, but Samus has always been carried on her adventurous spirit and awesome fighting skills, with sex appeal only coming in when you beat the game, or Justin Bailey. In this game, her adventuring spirit is gone, especially in Hard Mode, where there are no non-essential collectables. Her fighting skills are still here, to a point, but it's not the same Samus as in previous installments. It's a bad view of gender politics, but Team Ninja has always had a strange view of gender politics (see: Dead or Alive Beach Volleyball).
    At the end of the day, I have to admit that it's not a bad game. It's not great, but if you grab it on sale, you'll probably have fun. However, it is a bad Metroid game. If you come into this game looking for another Metroidvania adventure, you'll get some enjoyment from it. However, if you really wanted to see what happens to Samus next, you'll be disappointed.
    Expand
  23. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    Short review: Metroid Other M is good for a rental or if you can score it for under 10$. It's short, linear, but can be quite fun if you could only skip the cutscenes.

    Longer review Story: I keep wanting video game stories to really engross me, but usually I have low standards. If I'm interested enough to find out what happens next, we're good. Bonus points for good characters and
    Short review: Metroid Other M is good for a rental or if you can score it for under 10$. It's short, linear, but can be quite fun if you could only skip the cutscenes.

    Longer review

    Story: I keep wanting video game stories to really engross me, but usually I have low standards. If I'm interested enough to find out what happens next, we're good. Bonus points for good characters and a fun arc. Other M is offensively stupid in this aspect. I honestly feel a twinge of envy reading any review that praises the story or characters in this game. Clearly these people have an entire unexplored world of fantastic stories that to experience. What is "meh" level to the average person will be fantastic to them...they are strangely fortunate. It would not be so bad, if only the cutscenes are skippable...and they aren't...I've tried every button on the wiimote. I have difficulty putting into words why it's so terrible, however. I guess it must be that you have a story here that shoehorns in themes under the mistaken impression that, so long as a thematic element is present, it is well executed. There are themes of motherhood, female vulnerability, etc. that are indeed present, but the thick dialog and awful execution makes Samus end up looking like a wuss as well as a colossal moron.

    Gameplay: The game is easy...and very very short. You'll most likely be fighting the controls with more furor than the enemies. Pointing at the screen will freeze you into place for an fps mode, and so the response lag will make for mouth frothing frustration as you point at the screen to aim your missiles without the ability to dodge. Otherwise, the gameplay is pretty okay...and I would be willing to forgive the abortion of a story (not to mention the clearly skewed view of women Team Ninja seems to have) if I could skip the cutscenes. Gameplay is 7 hours to finish...longer to get all the stuff. I did end up with 70% of the pickups with only 7 hours played, though, and the game is easy besides. The lack of buttons makes the game straightforward and simple, which I guess is okay.

    The question of Samus: The words "Strong female protagonist" tend to annoy a lot of people. I guess it must be the lack of female developpers in the gaming industry. Could also be that any such character usually comes out trying so hard in a medium plagued with bad writing that it can be a bit off-putting. Samus had managed to avoid this problem in the most egalitarian (if not exactly eloquent) of ways: I'm a woman...that's about it. There was nothing strictly "female" or "male". Her sex was completely irrelevant, and she had no real personality to speak of anyway. That being said, we don't live in a 100% egalitarian society, and so there is a need for actual female characters with depth to fill the complete lack thereof in the entertainment industry in general. All this being said, Other M's Samus is not a good character for the feminist cause, anyway. Stupid, childish (not to mention freezing with fear in front of a monster who she kills on a regular basis), unsure, and constantly waiting on a the permission of a man for action (unintentional on the part of the developers I'm sure, but one can't help but notice...). Throw in the very, very bad writing, and you get a mess.
    Expand
  24. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    By far the worst metroid game a a huge mis-step by Nintendo. The game has way too much focus on it's boring and ridiculous story, the characters including Samus are boring as all hell and I couldn't care less about any of them. The gameplay is decent for the most part, but the controls ruin the experience and make enemy encounters a chore. D-pad controls just don't work for this game. TheBy far the worst metroid game a a huge mis-step by Nintendo. The game has way too much focus on it's boring and ridiculous story, the characters including Samus are boring as all hell and I couldn't care less about any of them. The gameplay is decent for the most part, but the controls ruin the experience and make enemy encounters a chore. D-pad controls just don't work for this game. The game looks pretty good for a Wii title and the animation on Samus is better than ever but the boss battles and enemies aren't memorable when compared to previous games in the series. There are also infuriating 'scanning' segments and the plot has so many dumb moments it's ridiculous. I enjoyed some of other m through the frustration but I felt like I was playing a rip-off metroid rather than a real one the entire time. Expand
  25. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Forget the story. Forget the voice acting, the drama, and the weakness of Samus. Forget it all, and what's left is a great game full of tight action and crazy boss battles.

    However, the issue here is that it isn't easy to ignore the game's numerous short comings. For one thing, the voice acting is just bad. I know that Samus looks like a robot, but she shouldn't have to sound like a
    Forget the story. Forget the voice acting, the drama, and the weakness of Samus. Forget it all, and what's left is a great game full of tight action and crazy boss battles.

    However, the issue here is that it isn't easy to ignore the game's numerous short comings. For one thing, the voice acting is just bad. I know that Samus looks like a robot, but she shouldn't have to sound like a robot too. Samus is so monotone that it makes her constant inner monologue even worse to listen to.

    The biggest issue I have with this game is that it is in no way a Metroid game. Other than the characters, it bears no resemblance. The whole point of Metroid games were to abandon a player on an Alien world, having to figure things out and piece the story together yourself. In Metroid Prime, you accomplished this by scanning your environment for story based clues such as lore. In Metroid: Other M, this aspect is nonexistent. The game doesn't let you figure things out yourself. Rather, it has Samus tell you exactly what's happening at every moment in her monotone voice.
    The game is full of other issues, such as the fact that there is literally no music except for during boss battles. That just plain sucks. I love Metroid music, and this game had close to none of it.

    The gameplay, however, is excellent. It's a mix of fast paced actions with a 3D twist, building upon the great foundation of Super Metroid's gameplay. The graphics, too, are great.

    If you can look passed the game's cruel departure from Metroid norms, what's left is a great action game. However, as far as Metroid games come, it disappoints.
    Expand
  26. Mar 4, 2015
    6
    IF YOU NEED TO PLAY METROID PLAY THE PRIME TRILOGY.
    I thought that the Prime Trilogy set the bar for level design and challenging gameplay so I was excited that there was a new metroid that actually had a story. I bought this game the day it came out, beat it in two days and immediatly took it back and got my money back. I am only writing this review now bc I am annoyed at the tens i am
    IF YOU NEED TO PLAY METROID PLAY THE PRIME TRILOGY.
    I thought that the Prime Trilogy set the bar for level design and challenging gameplay so I was excited that there was a new metroid that actually had a story. I bought this game the day it came out, beat it in two days and immediatly took it back and got my money back. I am only writing this review now bc I am annoyed at the tens i am seeing this **** get. Worst iteration of Metroid ever. The gameplay is not as challenging or as fun as the Prime trilogy and I absolutely hated the story and dialogue. As other reviews mention, Samus goes from interstellar badass to a weak and dull little girl. And yes i know its an origin story, it still sucks. I would give it a 4 but if i set aside some fanboy rage i can give it a 6.5 since i did enjoy (few) parts of it.
    Bottom line: As a standalone game its ok, but as a Metroid game I was very dissapointed
    Expand
  27. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    This is definitely an example of Nintendo and Team Ninja pooping on a classic and well-loved franchise. I don't really feel like completely rehashing what the professionals and amateurs have already complained about: yes, they turned our beloved Samus, the first "strong" female lead character in a video game, into a whiny. weak-willed princess. Yes, the gameplay was left something to beThis is definitely an example of Nintendo and Team Ninja pooping on a classic and well-loved franchise. I don't really feel like completely rehashing what the professionals and amateurs have already complained about: yes, they turned our beloved Samus, the first "strong" female lead character in a video game, into a whiny. weak-willed princess. Yes, the gameplay was left something to be desired. But at its core, the components of a Metroid game were there. It wasn't the worst game I ever played, and let's be honest there's not a whole lot of truly A-list titles on the Wii.

    Is it worth playing? Absolutely. Will you be disappointed? If you're a real Metroid fan, probably. Should you pay retail for it? No way.
    Expand
  28. May 31, 2013
    6
    Don't get me wrong, the gameplay is different from the Prime series so they aren't just rehashing the series and the gameplay is really fun, but my biggest problem with this is how they ruined Samus. I've always viewed Samus as a silent protagonist who never speaks, but it shows how committed to the job she is and her character was revealed through her movements and the way she reacts toDon't get me wrong, the gameplay is different from the Prime series so they aren't just rehashing the series and the gameplay is really fun, but my biggest problem with this is how they ruined Samus. I've always viewed Samus as a silent protagonist who never speaks, but it shows how committed to the job she is and her character was revealed through her movements and the way she reacts to certain things. With this voice actor, she sounds like a damning cheer leader in Samus's armor. It drives me crazy to hear her talk and how she's emotionally scarred from seeing Ridley come back from the dead more often than Krillin is just stupid. This is not a bad game by any means, but how they handled the characters just pisses me off. If you can ignore it and enjoy it for its gameplay, then this is for you. Otherwise, don't bother with it. Expand
  29. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    This is essentially a Metroid movie with a few hours of fun gameplay along the way.

    It has the best cinemas of any Metroid game. Beyond that, I found it lacking compared to the rest of the series, which is admittedly a very high benchmark. Gameplay is fun, and the story explains a lot of unknowns in the series. This is definitely the easiest Metroid game so far. My biggest problem
    This is essentially a Metroid movie with a few hours of fun gameplay along the way.

    It has the best cinemas of any Metroid game. Beyond that, I found it lacking compared to the rest of the series, which is admittedly a very high benchmark. Gameplay is fun, and the story explains a lot of unknowns in the series. This is definitely the easiest Metroid game so far.

    My biggest problem with this game is that it had no replay value. I got 100% completion on my first time through the game (without any guides) in 8 hours, most of which was spent watching cinemas. After that, there was nothing left to do.
    Expand
  30. Nov 12, 2013
    6
    This is not what Metroid is about... It's a shame that the series has gone downhill and a lot is due to the lack of demand with the Metroid franchise. There's no more exploration, even less than Metroid Fusion. This isn't a bad game, it just shouldn't have the Metroid logo slapped onto it. Mediocre story, poor controls, and lack of Metroid feel makes this a poor experience, especially forThis is not what Metroid is about... It's a shame that the series has gone downhill and a lot is due to the lack of demand with the Metroid franchise. There's no more exploration, even less than Metroid Fusion. This isn't a bad game, it just shouldn't have the Metroid logo slapped onto it. Mediocre story, poor controls, and lack of Metroid feel makes this a poor experience, especially for those fond of the series. Expand
  31. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    This is the only Metroid game I've fully played and I had a lot of fun.

    Metroid: Other M picks up after Super Metroid where Samus is flying through space, mourning over the loss of her little metroid baby, when she hears a distress call. Being a hero, she flies down to the source to help out a few surviving soldiers who have found themselves trapped in this deathtrap. The gameplay is
    This is the only Metroid game I've fully played and I had a lot of fun.

    Metroid: Other M picks up after Super Metroid where Samus is flying through space, mourning over the loss of her little metroid baby, when she hears a distress call. Being a hero, she flies down to the source to help out a few surviving soldiers who have found themselves trapped in this deathtrap.

    The gameplay is very enjoyable. It's third person unlike the Prime games, but I'm pretty sure it wasn't trying to follow those at all. While you play through the game, like the original Metroid games, you'll be finding armor upgrades and fighting creatures with your blaster. What adds to the fun are little finisher moves against each creature, where you can jump from one to the other, blasting their heads off. You can even dodge roll and evade attacks, which adds to the smooth fighting mechanics. This also aids the quality of the boss fights who were all memorable in their own way. It's all very fluid in third person, and you can switch to first person by pointing the wii remote at the screen. This gives you the ability to fire missiles, locate certain points of interest, and other cool things. However, when you're in first person, you're very vulnerable as you don't have the ability to move. And if something's charging you while you're in first person, there's a lag time between switching so you won't get out of the way in time. It's not like you could just stay in third person the whole time; you'll be forced into first person on occasion, (at the very beginning of the game, I was forced into it and it took me a good 45 minutes and a tutorial to tell me what i was supposed to be looking at) but there are times where this first person event will add to the fun of boss fights. Something else to note, in order to interact with anything, all you have to do is stand next to it. The gameplay is very fun and worth coming back to.

    The environment and atmosphere of the game is very eerie. You'll be alone most of the time running through dark areas with nothing but the sound of your footsteps and the creatures ruffling around to keep you company. It's this lonely feeling that somewhat pushes me, personally, away from playing the game again. The soundtrack doesn't help at all as it's very dark and has the feel of "you're screwed." It's not for me, but I'm pretty sure that's what they were going for. If eerie is your speed, this is a good game for you.

    The story consists of a whole lot of narration that makes Samus sound like a whiney baby. She's too serious the entire time, like a girl spouting a monologue as an audition for a play. It's emotionless and frankly it gets ridiculous at times. While I enjoy a good story, which this game didn't really have, the cutscenes were excessive and too long in my opinion. I swear I was watching a movie at the end of the game.

    In the end, I did like playing this game when I did. Now that I finished it, I don't really feel like going back to it. However, despite its big story flaws, Metroid Other M is a game worth playing, if only for gameplay which is wonderful and enough to make up for what this game lacks. If you're looking for a really good strong story, you won't find it here, but I'm glad I played this game.
    Expand
  32. Apr 28, 2015
    7
    Nowhere near terrible(only massive fanboys would give this less than a 4 IMO) but certainly not very good.

    Pluses: -Fun gameplay overall despite a few annoying flunks -Pretty impressive attempts at making big character building and backstories for Samus and some people around her -Lots of different little set pieces, lots of enemy and boss diversity, an overall really nice experience
    Nowhere near terrible(only massive fanboys would give this less than a 4 IMO) but certainly not very good.

    Pluses:
    -Fun gameplay overall despite a few annoying flunks
    -Pretty impressive attempts at making big character building and backstories for Samus and some people around her
    -Lots of different little set pieces, lots of enemy and boss diversity, an overall really nice experience in terms of playing it
    -Literally the best graphics I ever saw on the Wii, Samus especially looks wonderful in this game
    -Good voice acting(wait till the minuses for the details)
    -Different characters than 99% of what we see in videogames

    Minuses:
    -Extremely stupid writing decisions concerning how you get the powerups, how you must fight, how you must do anything, which leads to :
    -handholding, both through Samusian monologues fitting a horribly obnoxious Fi from Skyward Sword and through directions by Adam Malkovich and the map system
    -Re-portrayal of samus as a complete and utter cretin, especially with the Varia Suit deactivation when she goes through a fire area because Daddy Adam didn't specify to put it back on(not that it should ever have been off anyway)
    -Linear progression that is directed by Malkovich at all times, making the game as linear as poor Metroid Fusion

    -Along with the linearity, the level design is ridiculously non-Metroid. There is almost no exploration whatsoever and no choice in pathways, and although they made some neat set pieces and things that make you go astray, you never truly explore a brand new area
    -Terrible decision for a 3rd person game to make the missiles usable only in 1st person mode
    -An atmosphere that is thankfully better than Fusion, but not by that much, and nowhere near good metroid games like Super or the Primes or Zero Mission
    -While the voice actors for all characters sound great and Samus' voice is especially charming, the voice acting direction is TERRIBLE. Whoever thought that depressed people always speak in the most soul-sucking monotone voice needs to meet his first depression patient. And then needs to be fired. Samus has a great voice, and all they do with the actress is make her speak the slowest, dullest, simplest and most pointless, pseudo-emotional lines I've heard in years. It's a complete shame if this colours this fine actress' voice as bad for Samus, because it really isn't, it's the direction that is wholly to blame.

    -Lastly, the amount of ridicule the story can get to is pathetic(and thankfully very laughable).
    -Samus being emotional and breaking down because Ridley is around, Malkovich's suicide, the crappy emotional re-telling by Samus of events that just happened because of this game's handholding policy, the pseudo-drama around Mother Brain...it's all really, really ridiculous.

    In pure quality this game earns a 5, but if you can laugh at the terrible story and not take it seriously, the gameplay is overall quite good, the visuals are nice, and it's a fun time. I'm giving it a 7 also because I simply appreciate that Nintendo, a company known for its reticence at crossing bridges *cough*Zelda voice acting*cough* actually greenlighted a game that was filled with story, voice acting and all sorts of creative risks.
    Expand
  33. Apr 21, 2014
    5
    its neat to learn samus' back story, but it is not interesting enough to feel relevant or necessary, which is a large focus of the game, I prefer the isolated feeling of prior Metroid games, that was a key element that they took out of this one. Switching between 1st and 3rd person doesn't feel gimmicky, but does feel unnecessary. the game play is a highpoint though and many of the enemiesits neat to learn samus' back story, but it is not interesting enough to feel relevant or necessary, which is a large focus of the game, I prefer the isolated feeling of prior Metroid games, that was a key element that they took out of this one. Switching between 1st and 3rd person doesn't feel gimmicky, but does feel unnecessary. the game play is a highpoint though and many of the enemies are fun to fight, but they should have just stuck with the first person view of the Metroid prime games. Expand
  34. Aug 5, 2014
    5
    Unlike other metroid games. Was not a fan. The game was a lot of running around, not much exploring to do, and the 3rd person view really took me away from my favorite game series' style.
  35. Jan 15, 2016
    6
    I won't go go into the story or Samus character as others have already done that in the past, Instead I'll tell you that in terms of gameplay this is a descent action game with some fun although repetitive sequences in it but honestly you be better of just buying the prime trilogy on the nintendo eshop.
  36. Mar 22, 2015
    6
    Metroid Other M is Nintendo's attempt to recreate the Metroid franchise, giving Samus a voice of her own as she goes to investigate a distress signal codenamed babies cry upon a spacestation named the bottleship after the super Metroid. She runs into Adam Malkovich, a CEO she served under before she became a full pledge bounty hunter, first mentioned in Metroid Fusion after the events ofMetroid Other M is Nintendo's attempt to recreate the Metroid franchise, giving Samus a voice of her own as she goes to investigate a distress signal codenamed babies cry upon a spacestation named the bottleship after the super Metroid. She runs into Adam Malkovich, a CEO she served under before she became a full pledge bounty hunter, first mentioned in Metroid Fusion after the events of other M. She quit his command after a failed attempt to retrieve Adams brother. Adam asks for Samus to help, but also asks her to keep her suit features locked until he says so. Expand
  37. Sep 6, 2010
    0
    other M rocks!

    some who are too "fixed on the Prime series" or who are just (stubborn) and wanted another Prime, are the ones who are disappointed (and are missing the enjoyment of a great game) but those, who know the real Metroid (NES, thrilling, challenging) and loved Super Metroid (SNES, surprising, complex) will be sucked up in a tens, fast paced, story depth, furious boss fighting,
    other M rocks!

    some who are too "fixed on the Prime series" or who are just (stubborn) and wanted another Prime, are the ones who are disappointed (and are missing the enjoyment of a great game)

    but those, who know the real Metroid (NES, thrilling, challenging) and loved Super Metroid (SNES, surprising, complex) will be sucked up in a tens, fast paced, story depth, furious boss fighting, (charge beam) explosive, thrilling Game!!

    it has the best/most intens charge beam action of all Metroid games

    it's the fastest Metroid game (by far)

    but most important, is its dynamic gameplay flow, that just keeps u going

    sure, it isnt as flashy as the Primes, nor does it offer such a big surface to explore, and one or two cutscenes are a bit kitsh (ala FFXIII a bit)
    but it offers some real unforgettable "jump n run" and "find the next step/way out" moments!

    just dont be looking for Prime, when playing it (look for Metroid), then you wont regret it

    and for those, who have problems switching the views, just point the remote at the scanner-bar on or under your TV (and dont point it straight at the TV)
    Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#4 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    91
    Regardless the shortcomings, Nintendo definitely deserves praise for yet again hiring not one but two orchestras to play the game's soundtrack start to end– hearing real strings and percussion, occasionally augmented by sci-fi synthesizer, adds a lushness to the soundtrack that Metroid has long deserved.
  2. 80
    Experimental by design. It might not always work, but when it does its an experience hard to forget, wearing the Metroid tag with pride with its head held high.
  3. Team Ninja is not Nintendo. This could be the perfect description for Metroid: Other M, a competent action game that simply lacks the quality and the level of polishing of the "real" Nintendo games.