Monopoly Streets Wii

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    74
    Simply put, it is World of Warcraft 2.0. Everything seems to fit in: overhauled graphics, new landscapes, additional quests. Thanks, Blizzard.
  2. 70
    Monopoly Streets is a great game as it is, but considering that the core Monopoly experience is available on other platforms at a much better value, it is difficult to recommend this edition specifically.
  3. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Jan 1, 2011
    70
    Not as good as the board game, but a fun alternative. [Christmas 2010, p.85]
  4. Jan 3, 2011
    65
    I still can't shake the feeling that I'd rather break out my actual Monopoly board instead of popping the Monopoly Streets disc into my Wii. It's not an awful game since it's based on something that I definitely enjoy, but the added features don't add much to the gameplay, and I feel that most of the additions got in the way of the fun.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    Monopoly Streets admirably brings the famed board game to life, but annoying characters and poor pacing keep this outing from rolling doubles.
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    While Monopoly Streets' gameplay can be painfully slow at times, especially if you're looking for a fully streamlined experience, it could still prove to be a worthwhile purchase for Monopoly fans who have no one to play with.
  7. Jan 16, 2011
    60
    Anyone who's a fan of the board game will find enjoyment in Monopoly Streets, and EA has done a good job bringing this version to the Wii.
  8. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    If you like Monopoly you'll like Monopoly Streets. But it you like it, you will probably already have the table-top game at home, and would prefer to play it without watching a television. But its virtue lies in the possibility to set up specific rules, and add additional extras to a basic formula, specially in online modes.
  9. Nintendo Gamer
    Feb 6, 2011
    55
    A massive waste of time. [Christmas 2010, p.70]

Awards & Rankings

#62 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Nov 11, 2015
    3
    I love Monopoly, and the first Monopoly game on the Wii was great. This version, which attempts to give properties a personality and life ofI love Monopoly, and the first Monopoly game on the Wii was great. This version, which attempts to give properties a personality and life of its own in a quasi-3D environments, is a complete bust. The boards are loud, the characters are completely obnoxious and the game runs super slow with no option to speed up. You can play as your Mii, but that consolation is blunted when you also realize that this game repeats half of the boards from the original game. As a side note, later versions of this game, bundled with Monopoly (2008) in "Monopoly Collection" (2011) adds the DLC from the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions. Full Review »
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    6
    I might be a bit biased with this game given I am a big Monopoly fan, but I felt it was a pretty decent game. Monopoly Streets is a prettyI might be a bit biased with this game given I am a big Monopoly fan, but I felt it was a pretty decent game. Monopoly Streets is a pretty good transformation. I like the animated characters and city that makes it feel alive. It is a pretty standard video game of Monopoly and does not really take anything to a new level. The computer seems to kill some players off and give others advantages and breaks unfairly. The computer players are morons when it comes to trading and you can totally snipe anyone in an auction at the last second. Also, the whole concept of catching people on your property is gone because it is now automatic. Overall, decent Monopoly game which is made faster by all the calculations being done by the Wii. Full Review »