User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 80
  2. Negative: 5 out of 80

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Muramasa: The Demon Blade is an excellent wii game that will captivate. The graphics of course are the best part, with everything being beautiful hand drawn pictures for sprites and backgrounds. The combat is quick and beautiful, and you've an abundance of blades to use throughout the game, each with different abilites. The music is extremely beautiful, and fit perfectly with the mood of the game (You'll be humming them every now and then). The voice acting is of course excellent. The storyline is enjoyable and the cutscenes are embracing. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    This game rocks! The graphics are illustrated, thus making the Wii's graphical inferiority irrelevant, since 2D is being used, not 3D. Dozens of swords to make, all with their own special powers. A must buy!
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Gameplay:9- The gameplay is fantastically well executed and fits the controller well although doesn't boast the move features of the Wii which is why it loses a mark in gameplay but don't let that put you off this is an absolute gem in the Nintendo Wii library. Imagine a hack and slash game that requires a level of depth enough to get the player involved fully.
    Presentation: 10- There's
    no denying the presentation style is fantastic one of the best presentation styles to be found on Wii.
    Graphics:10- The charm of this artistic Japanese game will mesmerise with the colours extremely effective in creating a BEAUTIFUL setting.
    Lasting Appeal: 7.5- While the game is a masterpiece in itself there's not much to come back for although two separate story lines and wanting to better yourself on separate playthroughs add to the lasting appeal.
    Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    Muramasa: The Demon Blade is a aesthetically pleasing game. There are tons of different swords and you can even play as two different characters. This really adds to the length of the game. Other than this, I felt no real draw to the game. I found the gameplay to be a little bit boring and repetitive. It seemed like all I was doing was pressing the same button over and over again! The swords are the only thing that really made me stay with the game as long as I did. I beat both stories, but I have not yet gotten all the swords. Finally, sometimes when you try to attack a certain way, the motion controls seem very unresponsive. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Muramasa have quited impressed me. The visuals are extremely beautifull and at times can confuse you if this game is really playing on a SD machine, the Wii. Even with a large TV, the graphics at 480p are remarkably astonishing. The gameplay is fun, you will want to hack and slash the freaking out of your enemies, performing grandious combos and incredibly movements. Very good musical score set in feudal japan with some notable places. Deserves high praise and it is among one of the best of the best on the Wii. Certified quality game, thats to be sure Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    As captivating as it is beautiful, Muramasa: The Demon Blade is a fantasy hack-and-slasher with enough challenge, exploration, and gorgeous art to please the gamer who sees the Wii as casual. The gameplay is simple enough to understand easily, yet deep enough to last for weeks on end. With over 100 different swords to forge, each with their own special power, it makes combat dynamic and fun to experiment with. The game also has high replay value with the challenge bosses and challenge rooms scattered around the massive recreation of ancient Japan. The game will also keep player busy if they want to unlock all six endings, three per character. For any gamer looking for a hardcore title for the Wii, look no further. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Muramasa is among the most overrated games ever made. The "Graphics" that people rave about are simply an anime, cell shaded, low-frame animated sprites, un-original blends of color style of presentation that REALLY does not, could not keep this game from being a stale experience.

    It's a hack-n-slash platforming game first and a light RPG second. If you were an actual gamer, you'd only
    play this game for the story and lore if at all. Expand
  8. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Muramasa: The Demon Blade is one of the best games on the wii, and a thoroughly underrated title. First off, and obviously as everybody has stated before, the game's visual presentation is stunning. Its almost like a moving water color painting and fans of Japanese style artwork (myself included) will be greatly pleased by this game's aesthetics. This is the best looking 2d game I've ever seen (maybe bar Rayman origins.) But, as I've always said, , I choose the games I like much like the women I like, for their gameplay, not their graphics. Sure at its core, Muramasa is a 2d, side scrolling hack and slash adventure game with platforming and rpg elements, the RPG elements making this game much deeper than just a run of the mill hack and slasher. There's a fun cooking mechanic that requires learning recipes from books and collecting the ingredients to make food that increases your stats and health, as well as a crafting system to make your own blades. These elements, while adding to the depth of the game overall, may not be deep enough for hardcore rpg gamers. Of course, as with any hack and slash game, it runs the risk of becoming repetitive and stale. And while the combat isn't varied in and of itself, it never became a chore to play because the combos are fluid, and satisfying to pull off, as well as each blade having its own unique powers and strengths. There is also enough variation in enemies, each having different strategies you will need to figure out to dispatch them easily. Boss battles are long, epic, challenging and satisfying. The story and characters are strong, based on classic Japanese culture, and the soundtrack is beautiful and matches the games tone well. As far as criticism goes, I do have a few things. One being that while the backgrounds are gorgeous, they do tend to repeat themselves A LOT. There are different backdrops for different parts of the world in each area obviously, but what I mean is for example there is one area where you are in a town setting. The first background you see in that setting will be the one you will see until the area changes (In this case fields of beautiful cherry trees.) This is really a shame seeing as how stunning the art design is, I really wish they would have had 5 or 6 backdrops per area instead of just two or three. This repetition in scenery is only compounded by the enormous amount of backtracking that is required of you in this game. Every time you beat a boss, you have to backtrack all the way to the energy field that was blocking your way to get to the next area, that you can now access with the blade you've just acquired. This game needed some sort of fast travel or hub world system where you could quickly go from one place to another, because this is not a hardcore enough RPG that you will enjoy grinding in battles for exp. My last complaint is that, as I touched on before, I feel like the rpg elements in this game could have been fleshed out more, which leaves them feeling like sort of an afterthought. Overall, this game is an amazing 2d sidescroller that has all of its elements come together beautifully to make it greater than the sum of its parts. This is one of my all time favorite games and just a purely enjoyable game to play. While it does have some flaws, it is still a shining gem in the WII library and a strong contender for most underrated game of all time. Expand
  9. PouyanN
    Sep 9, 2009
    0
    Gorgeous game. The action, while simple, is fast and a sight to behold. If you enjoy simple slashers, then you'll love this one. I don't need to tell you how good this game looks. I also love how they kept the Japanese language and had English subtitles. I can see how this could turn off a lot of potential customers, but I think it really fits the setting. It doesn't get a perfect score from me because of all the backtracking, but the backgrounds are so beautiful that even the backracking is somewhat enjoyable. It's a very niche title and won't appeal to the masses, but if you liked Odin Sphere, or like side-scrollers in general then definitely get this. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Overall, it's a very solid title. Flawed, certainly, but a lot of fun to play if you don't mind a little repetitive combat and a story that feels a bit slow.
  2. It is a beautiful game that is a victim of its own success as the story so badly eclipses the gameplay. Muramasa is an imperfect jewel. It’s a precious stone for sure, but the cut’s not quite right.
  3. For all it's got going for it, though, Muramasa's problem is that it simply overstays its welcome. This is a good 14-hour game, and the gameplay cannot support that kind of play time. I found myself wishing that the game was about half the length it is, which would've left me satisfied, rather than fully exhausted.