User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2018
    8
    прикольно, яркая графика, но недостаточно
  2. Jul 17, 2016
    10
    EA have done a great job with this game. Definitely the best Need for Speed game on the Wii. The career and multiplayer are the best modes I've played in the game. Also the soundtrack is great as well. I would recommend getting this game
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    i cant believe you professional reviwers, how dare you? this game is the best arcade racer ive played for years, it has a simple but effective yet sometimes frustrating control, awesome visuals and good difficulty curve. speed is tremndous when you pull turbo boost car selection is nice multiplyr rocks......except for some minor control issues i cant really put this game down, maybe thei cant believe you professional reviwers, how dare you? this game is the best arcade racer ive played for years, it has a simple but effective yet sometimes frustrating control, awesome visuals and good difficulty curve. speed is tremndous when you pull turbo boost car selection is nice multiplyr rocks......except for some minor control issues i cant really put this game down, maybe the best racer on wii Expand
  4. ColinB.B.
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    I agree with the previous comments that the graphics are not that great even though the game is quite enjoyable on multiple aspects. As a rendering engineer I feel the art direction could have been more focus and synergestic with the rest of the gameplay. Still the fact that they support up to five control schemes make this game great.
  5. JulesP
    Dec 17, 2009
    9
    Definitely the best part of this game is the driving physics. It's so smooth and innovative! Actually, other driving games should learn from nitro! A masterpiece of car handling and simulation. Too bad the graphics are not so great... which is why I give it a 9 (and not a 10 - physics only deserve a 10).
  6. CorZD
    Nov 29, 2009
    8
    A refreshingly different approach to the racing genre. The graphical style is exciting, the sound of the cars is impressive as is the ability to customize them. The only thing I would like to see in a sequel would be mechanical upgrades, control customization and a choice of cockpit view or behind the car while racing view. Overall this game could be the basis for a whole new series as it A refreshingly different approach to the racing genre. The graphical style is exciting, the sound of the cars is impressive as is the ability to customize them. The only thing I would like to see in a sequel would be mechanical upgrades, control customization and a choice of cockpit view or behind the car while racing view. Overall this game could be the basis for a whole new series as it has a lot of potential! Expand
  7. jamesc
    Nov 14, 2009
    8
    The 2 player career mode is an entertaining addition, with speed being retained. (I haven't ried it with 4 simultaneous players but the option is there). In single player it's inevitably limited but there's plenty of entertainment here in multiplayer.
  8. JulesS
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Great game, physic's spot on and the graphics are fantastic. Well worth the 50$ I paid unlike ODST which is nothing but a cheap expansion made my 2 designers and 2 programmers.
  9. SteveW
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    finally they focused on reliable gameplay. but I know the wii can do better graphics than this, so I'm a little disappointed. I still like the last one the best in the entire series, although too bad it glitches occasionally. With Nitro they got the engine solid as a rock, and it feels really fast which is great!
  10. Colin
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    This game's classic arcade drifting is amazing! Something fresh and innovative from EA. Good job guys.

Awards & Rankings

87
32
#32 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
28
#28 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. 80
    Something else that blindsided me was the killer sense of speed. Dropping behind the wheel of a Charger or Cobra for a quick race was immediately satisfying and while NITRO definitely suffers from low-res car models and building textures, that doesn't stop the game from feeling frighteningly fast.
  2. Even the distinction between car classes fails to develop the gameplay, and within the first half an hour you feel like you've seen pretty much everything the game has to offer. It might scream 'excitement' at the top of its tiny lungs, then, but Need For Speed: Nitro's initially endearing zest quickly degenerates into repetitive strain.
  3. 80
    Nitro is a blast despite its faults, and brings some simply awesome concepts to the table. If you’re a racing fan, this is the first NFS experience that’s actually worth the cash on Wii.