New Super Mario Bros. Wii Wii

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 576 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 576
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best episode of Mario I played. Can play a lot of people and the story mode and more successful, the proper graphics and gameplay is really correct. For me, it's Mario is the best all of Mario.
  2. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    To say this sucks is to say you hate gaming, this is the 3rd best 2d (2.5d, whatever it's still in the 2D realm) mario game i've played. Next to SMB3 and SMB1. The story is the same, the gameplay is awesome, as typical mario games are. The graphics are suited for 2.5D awesomeness, which means they are good. The Bosses are good, i like koopalings, Epesically the final bowser To say this sucks is to say you hate gaming, this is the 3rd best 2d (2.5d, whatever it's still in the 2D realm) mario game i've played. Next to SMB3 and SMB1. The story is the same, the gameplay is awesome, as typical mario games are. The graphics are suited for 2.5D awesomeness, which means they are good. The Bosses are good, i like koopalings, Epesically the final bowser fight. Overall: 9 out of 10 Expand
  3. MichelJ
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing single-player, amazing multiplayer (up to 4 people what a mess) but thats the fun the mess, amazing game, both thumbs Up
  4. MarkH
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game is a great mix of old school and new school and is up there with the best of the Mario games. It also has one of the best boss battles of all-time (I love the throwback to older Mario games). Plus there is lots of replayability with the star coins and secret exits.
  5. Steph
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    As a casual gamer I loved it. Sure, some levels were difficult but not impossible if you're persistant. Nostalgically reminded me of the old NES Super Mario only with enough fresh moves to make it new, different and better! Multiplayer mode is very, very fun.
  6. ibrahime
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    i love this game. haven't had this much fun with a game since super mario world and its easily should have 90 on here but the stupid critic love shit codmw to give this a chance
  7. BobM
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no coincidence either. This game is one of the best I've played in years, and simply put, hands down, this game has one thing that 99% of the HD, cinematic blockbusters on other consoles sorely lack: replay value. I've already played through this game twice, and I have been playing it a third time, simply because the levels are FUN to play through. Plus, as a bonus, the multiplayer modes are, in fact, while chaotic, very very fun. Kudos to Nintendo on another masterpiece. Expand
  8. SnoozerBear
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Love it... Too tired from playing to write anything else! I don't think it's too hard; I can speed run most levels in a minute or two without losing a life... It might be too hard for your 'Average' gamer, aka. Casual gamer. Casual gamers beware! This game is not for wimps; only people who can press at least 2 buttons at once... XD
  9. EvanB.
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Nintendo succeed. This game is exactly where this series needed to go. Bravo, Nintendo, you deserve high marks! Expand
  10. RJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    This is an essential game in every gamer's library. The lack of online may put some people off, but for me it's just a minor issue (it all depends on your gaming habits). The single player is solid and challenging at just the right level, the co-op is a blast, and the game differentiates itself enough from the DS version. I would have liked a more streamlined restart after This is an essential game in every gamer's library. The lack of online may put some people off, but for me it's just a minor issue (it all depends on your gaming habits). The single player is solid and challenging at just the right level, the co-op is a blast, and the game differentiates itself enough from the DS version. I would have liked a more streamlined restart after losing one life, but that's also just a minor gripe. All in all, this game is a must-buy. Expand
  11. the_ghost_master
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, when you want to play 4 players, it just rocks! The mess created makes it really fun, cooperative and competition is good, so that you can kick the enemy or help him defeating and enemy. This brilliant enemy woke up Mario 2D games and I hope it sells a lot. Expand
  12. Fix
    Jun 21, 2012
    9
    You can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motionYou can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motion control for the spin jump. I can't tell you how many times I accidentally shook the controller during an intense moment, thus activating the spin jump at the worst time possible. I don't throw my arms around when I play either, it's just very sensitive. I would give 10 stars if the shaking of the controller action was mapped differently or it supported a classic controller. Expand
  13. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    Simply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of newSimply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of new ideas. The game also has a multiplayer mode...but that's where it falls flat. Characters can bounce off of each others heads, and the levels start to feel very cramped in multiplayer. There is also not a lot of item variety, and when a Nunchuk is plugged in, the on-screen directions still act as if the Nunchuk is not plugged in. This confused me in the beginning. On the plus side again, the 3 Star Coins hidden in each level mean that New Super Mario Bros. Wii will keep gamers entertained for a long time. So, overall, I'd say that New Super Mario Bros. Wii rules as a Mario game, and it is certainly worth buying if you're a Mario fan. Expand
  14. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This game pays tribute to former games glory, difficulty, and story. Actually, that was it's only downside, the fact that I knew Bowser was gonna pull his same old trick. But, then, the game absorbed me into fun levels, new power-ups and enemies, and Toad houses to win 1-Ups, Power-ups, and Star Powers in every world.
  15. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    This game is worth. buying and completing.

    PROS
    -fun
    -nice story to listen too
    -easy controls
    -creative worlds

    CONS
    -poor graphics

    Expect a fun, but low graphic experience when buying this.
  16. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome! The 2nd best NSMB game. The graphics are great for the Wii. The level designs are awesome. You can play as Toads which I like. The multiplayer is very fun. New Super Mario Bros Wii is an awesome game and you should definitely buy it!
  17. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This was my All-Time Back up favourite game. New Super Mario Bros. 2 just came out in 2012 when I was obsessed with this game. Fufufu and I played together for at least 30 min. and one time, my Aqua Blue Nintendo 3DS needed to be fixed, so I had to play this instead of NSMB2 for 2weeks or so. You should totally get this game. It is FLAWLESS! I'm on World 9.
  18. Oct 16, 2015
    8
    The Perfect game for Mario fans and those of you who think Mario is okay I say the game is worth a try. It's basically like the Mario bros but it has a funny opening seen and it has a lot of power ups. Overall: If you have a wii it's worth a try though the DS version is better.
  19. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and MarioWhen the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  20. NateSc
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    wow....frustrating fun you can't stop playing. I cannot find a fault in this game. The final fight is amazing. Some of it gets tricky but nothing impossible. Also, the more people...the 10 times funnier it gets. Still fun first player but still. The games takes about 4 non stop days to beat but maybe 2 weeks if played on occasions. Get it or rent it now!
  21. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Yeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - NewYeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - New Super Mario Bros..?? What's up with that? "Yeah it's the old game.. only new! But without any new ideas!" .. that's so cheap. The power-ups are gimicky and boring and the feature where you can play as up to four players at the same time is just frustrating. You end up killing eachother all the time which sucks. And why can't you play this game with the classic controller? It would have been perfect for that retro feel, but no. You have to hold the Wiimote sideways, which is uncomfortable and annoying. So this is definately the best Mario game since Super Mario World, but that doesn't really say much, does it? Expand
  22. JohnB
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Dont rate the game before you have collected all the star coins and completed the world 9 stages. I'll tell you, not until when you start doing that the real game and challenge begins. This is one of the best 2d- mario game ever created.
  23. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Not too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game isNot too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game is that it lacks the 'x element' that made past 2D Mario games top of their class and essential purchases. It's not something specific that I can put my finger on, but it definitely effects my feelings towards this game. I just don't hold this title in the same regard as, say, Super Mario World or Super Mario Bros 3. Collapse
  24. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    This game is about Mario the main player (which you play if player one) and you have to save the princess, Mario
  25. MattJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    6
    Uninspiring, unimaginative, "by the numbers" Mario game that is also far too difficult for the average gamer. The Mario magic is definitely missing from this one. Play 'Super Mario World' instead, it's far superior.
  26. Suffering
    Jan 2, 2010
    5
    Just too, too hard!
  27. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Possibly the worst game ever played. To say the controls are sluggish would be the understatement of the year. It isn't that the game itself is hard in design, it is on par with other fun 2D mario games, however the developers went way over the top with handicapping the player with slow, laggy movements. You might as well be trying to play this game with mittens on.
  28. JohannD
    Jan 1, 2010
    0
    This game is terrible. My brother and I tried for hours to play together and it was sheer torture. This game is a relentlessly unforgiving and punishing hell. There isn't real strategy or enjoyment, just the same "dodge this, jump that" redundant garbage. Don't buy this game unless you love to torture yourself and desire an ulcer.
  29. Mar 27, 2011
    4
    The game is unoriginal and way too difficult, and not difficult as in challenging, but rather difficult as in cheap. Really easy to die and when you do die you usually lose a lot of progress, and playing the game with other people is borderline impossible thanks to the bizarre decision on the part of the developers to make characters wildly bounce off each other. Also, the music isThe game is unoriginal and way too difficult, and not difficult as in challenging, but rather difficult as in cheap. Really easy to die and when you do die you usually lose a lot of progress, and playing the game with other people is borderline impossible thanks to the bizarre decision on the part of the developers to make characters wildly bounce off each other. Also, the music is absolutely awful, every song has this one horrendous sound effect used constantly. The gameplay is decent enough when it isn't frustrating but those moments are few and far between. I would recommend taking a pass on this one. Expand
  30. AGuyWithAnActualOpinion
    Jan 22, 2010
    0
    This is the worst Mario game to have ever been created since Super Mario 3. Do yourself a favor and get Mario Party 8 instead of this if you want a REAL Mario game.
  31. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    Not too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game isNot too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game is that it lacks the 'x element' that made past 2D Mario games top of their class and essential purchases. It's not something specific that I can put my finger on, but it definitely effects my feelings towards this game. I just don't hold this title in the same regard as, say, Super Mario World or Super Mario Bros 3. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#2 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Enjoying Mario in the genre that saw him born is always a great pleasure, even if you are not a fan of the platform titles. Nintendo returns to its specialty: to offer hours and hours of fun by giving us games with their own personality and a shellproof gameplay.
  2. 80
    That sense of cohesiveness isn't always present in New Super Mario Bros. and it makes for an uneven experience that's difficult to score.
  3. 80
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game with friends, and I had a great deal of challenging fun with the solo mode. But if you’re looking for a new Mario adventure that’s tailored to creating the maximum amount of fun for just one person, you’ll have to wait for next year’s Super Mario Galaxy 2.