User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 518 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 518

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best episode of Mario I played. Can play a lot of people and the story mode and more successful, the proper graphics and gameplay is really correct. For me, it's Mario is the best all of Mario.
  2. Fix
    Jun 21, 2012
    9
    You can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motionYou can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motion control for the spin jump. I can't tell you how many times I accidentally shook the controller during an intense moment, thus activating the spin jump at the worst time possible. I don't throw my arms around when I play either, it's just very sensitive. I would give 10 stars if the shaking of the controller action was mapped differently or it supported a classic controller. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    Simply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of newSimply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of new ideas. The game also has a multiplayer mode...but that's where it falls flat. Characters can bounce off of each others heads, and the levels start to feel very cramped in multiplayer. There is also not a lot of item variety, and when a Nunchuk is plugged in, the on-screen directions still act as if the Nunchuk is not plugged in. This confused me in the beginning. On the plus side again, the 3 Star Coins hidden in each level mean that New Super Mario Bros. Wii will keep gamers entertained for a long time. So, overall, I'd say that New Super Mario Bros. Wii rules as a Mario game, and it is certainly worth buying if you're a Mario fan. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This game pays tribute to former games glory, difficulty, and story. Actually, that was it's only downside, the fact that I knew Bowser was gonna pull his same old trick. But, then, the game absorbed me into fun levels, new power-ups and enemies, and Toad houses to win 1-Ups, Power-ups, and Star Powers in every world.
  5. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    This game is worth. buying and completing.

    PROS
    -fun
    -nice story to listen too
    -easy controls
    -creative worlds

    CONS
    -poor graphics

    Expect a fun, but low graphic experience when buying this.
  6. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome! The 2nd best NSMB game. The graphics are great for the Wii. The level designs are awesome. You can play as Toads which I like. The multiplayer is very fun. New Super Mario Bros Wii is an awesome game and you should definitely buy it!
  7. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This was my All-Time Back up favourite game. New Super Mario Bros. 2 just came out in 2012 when I was obsessed with this game. Fufufu and I played together for at least 30 min. and one time, my Aqua Blue Nintendo 3DS needed to be fixed, so I had to play this instead of NSMB2 for 2weeks or so. You should totally get this game. It is FLAWLESS! I'm on World 9.
  8. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and MarioWhen the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  9. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Yeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - NewYeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - New Super Mario Bros..?? What's up with that? "Yeah it's the old game.. only new! But without any new ideas!" .. that's so cheap. The power-ups are gimicky and boring and the feature where you can play as up to four players at the same time is just frustrating. You end up killing eachother all the time which sucks. And why can't you play this game with the classic controller? It would have been perfect for that retro feel, but no. You have to hold the Wiimote sideways, which is uncomfortable and annoying. So this is definately the best Mario game since Super Mario World, but that doesn't really say much, does it? Expand
  10. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Not too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game isNot too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game is that it lacks the 'x element' that made past 2D Mario games top of their class and essential purchases. It's not something specific that I can put my finger on, but it definitely effects my feelings towards this game. I just don't hold this title in the same regard as, say, Super Mario World or Super Mario Bros 3. Expand
  11. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    This game is about Mario the main player (which you play if player one) and you have to save the princess, Mario
  12. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Possibly the worst game ever played. To say the controls are sluggish would be the understatement of the year. It isn't that the game itself is hard in design, it is on par with other fun 2D mario games, however the developers went way over the top with handicapping the player with slow, laggy movements. You might as well be trying to play this game with mittens on.
  13. Mar 27, 2011
    4
    The game is unoriginal and way too difficult, and not difficult as in challenging, but rather difficult as in cheap. Really easy to die and when you do die you usually lose a lot of progress, and playing the game with other people is borderline impossible thanks to the bizarre decision on the part of the developers to make characters wildly bounce off each other. Also, the music isThe game is unoriginal and way too difficult, and not difficult as in challenging, but rather difficult as in cheap. Really easy to die and when you do die you usually lose a lot of progress, and playing the game with other people is borderline impossible thanks to the bizarre decision on the part of the developers to make characters wildly bounce off each other. Also, the music is absolutely awful, every song has this one horrendous sound effect used constantly. The gameplay is decent enough when it isn't frustrating but those moments are few and far between. I would recommend taking a pass on this one. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2010
    6
    I am not going to be noobish and claim I gave this game a 6 because it is too hard. Sure, this game is frustrating in places, but that is not the reason for my condemnation of it.
    My main problem with NSMB Wii is that it is just too much of the same. Some levels (especially those early in World 1) look like they have been lifted straight out of NSMB on the DS, and the general feel of the
    I am not going to be noobish and claim I gave this game a 6 because it is too hard. Sure, this game is frustrating in places, but that is not the reason for my condemnation of it.
    My main problem with NSMB Wii is that it is just too much of the same. Some levels (especially those early in World 1) look like they have been lifted straight out of NSMB on the DS, and the general feel of the game doesn't feel revolutionary and fresh like the Galaxy games. The only gameplay element I will seek to praise here is the addition of the Koopa Kids, Bowser's 7 'other' children - they add variety to the game, though sadly not as much as the varied and interesting bosses of NSMB DS.
    I will agree some levels in this game are frustrating (particularly some of those in World 2 which had me literally screaming at the TV), but thankfully this game is not as easy as the cakewalk of the DS prequel.
    All in all, an OK game, but for something truly special and/or revolutionary, reach for Mario's 3D Wii cousins rather than this slightly lacklustre 2D edition.
    Expand
  15. Feb 1, 2011
    6
    This game has absolutely no right to exist. I've played it 100 times before. Even with some creative new levels, and enjoyable moments it can't stop me from feeling like Nintendo has been milking the same game for far to long. I love Mario games don't get me wrong, Galaxies 2 is one of the finest 3d platformers I know, this is because it does things I haven't seen before. This game on theThis game has absolutely no right to exist. I've played it 100 times before. Even with some creative new levels, and enjoyable moments it can't stop me from feeling like Nintendo has been milking the same game for far to long. I love Mario games don't get me wrong, Galaxies 2 is one of the finest 3d platformers I know, this is because it does things I haven't seen before. This game on the other hand is the SAME THING I played on the nes, snes, and every other system. Pure nostalgia is the only reason this game is so favorably reviewed. Is it bad? No it's not. Great? Hell No. Expand
  16. Dec 9, 2011
    3
    I would not recommend this game to long time Mario fans. If you play Mario 3 and Super Mario World a lot, I doubt you would like this. In SMB3 and World, Mario is very quick, light, and agile. In this game he is very slow and clunky, and he can't even turn around properly. The stages are pretty bland and it was like they used this new, slower Mario as a way of justifying that. I'm notI would not recommend this game to long time Mario fans. If you play Mario 3 and Super Mario World a lot, I doubt you would like this. In SMB3 and World, Mario is very quick, light, and agile. In this game he is very slow and clunky, and he can't even turn around properly. The stages are pretty bland and it was like they used this new, slower Mario as a way of justifying that. I'm not saying the game shouldn't be set relative to its own mechanics but in SMB3 and World, you had to be quick. The fast-pacedness was what kept the games fun and NSMBW took that away from the Mario series. Expand
  17. Jun 21, 2011
    6
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is just not as fun as the originals. I do like how it has it's own new items and controls utilizing the Wii remote but it is still just not as fun. I would only say it is fun for a little while but then you lose interest. If you are looking for a Mario game for the Wii I would recommend Galaxy and Galaxy 2. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is nice to have but itNew Super Mario Bros. Wii is just not as fun as the originals. I do like how it has it's own new items and controls utilizing the Wii remote but it is still just not as fun. I would only say it is fun for a little while but then you lose interest. If you are looking for a Mario game for the Wii I would recommend Galaxy and Galaxy 2. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is nice to have but it definitely shouldn't be your favorite game for the console. Expand
  18. Sep 13, 2011
    7
    New Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - thatNew Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - that they do little new or more than what is expected, I WANT TO BE SURPRISED! The game play is great but its the same game we have played before, the new power ups are fun but the end product is shy of its potential. SUPER MARIO WORLD IS BETTER, and that came many years ago Expand
  19. Jun 4, 2013
    3
    First we got the disappointement of Super Mario Galaxy, and now this, the worst Mario game ever, it might be original with the new powers and stuff, but it is all the same, I regret in playing and buying this game.
  20. Oct 30, 2011
    0
    hello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he hadhello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he had only just learnt the controls. he only lost 7 lives in the hole game!! i am really sorry for anyone who has got this game if you play it you must always be really bored - if i were you i would get cooking mama 2 if you are a girl or star wars 2 if you are a boy. if you are a parent or have a younger relative who has this game dispose of it immediately other wise they will get sucked into a world of boringnes and will NEVER stop complaining and if you are thinking of buying this for someone - think again because you are wasting your time! that is all thank you for reading this. Expand
  21. Oct 29, 2012
    1
    Honestly, there is nothing new here. It's just cashing in on the nostalgia of people who enjoyed the good ol days of super mario bros and super mario world. This type of repackaging with a fresh coat of paint would usually warrant a 5/10 because they're emulating a game that was pretty damn good. The problem is that they did change something, they managed to make the controls unresponsive and ****
  22. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    The game can be too difficult in some Worlds. If you have completed all the normal levels in a World but lose all of your lives on the castle then the game makes you beat all of the levels in that World over again as the game only saves after you beat a castle. There should have been a feature to where you can save the game and come back to that save when you lose all of your lives.
  23. Jan 1, 2012
    5
    A blip in a series of games that are otherwise great. This is nowhere near as good as the original SMB games or the Galxy games. The multiplayer is just carnage and the single player is better but level design is good in points but controls are odd and the physics feels too sluggish and floaty.
  24. Dec 12, 2011
    5
    Sincerely, the game is not bad at all, but the problem is that, it was a bad idea to put all of those new items instead of only keeping the classic items or eventhough the items used in New Super Mario Bros. It was really dissapointing.
  25. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    For a retro game junky like myself, this game was everything I could ask for. Well, okay, it was too short. . . but only because I could play Mario levels forever. This takes players back to the old-school one-dimensional Mario games with a lot of the same moves and controls, only now with a much greater level of accuracy in Mario's movements. Thank god. The multiplayer mode is awesomeFor a retro game junky like myself, this game was everything I could ask for. Well, okay, it was too short. . . but only because I could play Mario levels forever. This takes players back to the old-school one-dimensional Mario games with a lot of the same moves and controls, only now with a much greater level of accuracy in Mario's movements. Thank god. The multiplayer mode is awesome because it is total chaos! The secret levels are, for the most part, a challenge to even Mario veterans. Over all, if you liked the older Mario titles or are curious about what they were like, try this one out. Expand
  26. Jan 26, 2013
    1
    The game is really bad, does not worth de price, cant believe nintendo is make horrible games like this, further using one of the most acclaimed gaming franchises. Controls are bad, does not have support wii classic control, and the graphics, oh my... the graphics are horrible, another frustrated nintendo fan. wii is a total failure, wii u will be worse
  27. Jun 22, 2013
    2
    El juego puede ser demasiado divertido para algunas personas pero dando mi opinión es malo y aburrido, pues demuestra ser saltos y saltos con muy poco que sobresalir.
  28. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolute blast with friends, it's just the story needs to improve because oh wait a minute SPOILER ALERT the princess gets captured again, The gameplay is alright, the missions were good the environment was awesome, the controls are a little sluggish, but the game is still good Expand
  29. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    New Super Mario Bros Wii has brought Mario back to consoles for the first time in many years. The game is worse than it's DS counterpart that was made two years ago. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoy this game, but always in the back of my mind I was thinking "man this is like a bad version of the DS Mario." This game does improve the power ups and swimming portions of Mario games (plus ifNew Super Mario Bros Wii has brought Mario back to consoles for the first time in many years. The game is worse than it's DS counterpart that was made two years ago. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoy this game, but always in the back of my mind I was thinking "man this is like a bad version of the DS Mario." This game does improve the power ups and swimming portions of Mario games (plus if you like a challenge you will find it here), but the controls are not as tight as its DS version, and the graphics aren't improved at all. I love good 2D games that are original, and while Mario Wii does fit the first part, it falls short of being original. Expand
  30. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    While the single player is dissapointing, it's very un ambitous and has few good ideas, the multiplayer is a as much fun as any Mario title. The DS game is arguably better, with more imaginative levels, the latest console 2D Mario game is dissapoiting, but still a solid and good platform game, and has some of the best multiplayer co-op action on Wii, only beaten by the likes of Monster Hunter 3.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Enjoying Mario in the genre that saw him born is always a great pleasure, even if you are not a fan of the platform titles. Nintendo returns to its specialty: to offer hours and hours of fun by giving us games with their own personality and a shellproof gameplay.
  2. 80
    That sense of cohesiveness isn't always present in New Super Mario Bros. and it makes for an uneven experience that's difficult to score.
  3. 80
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game with friends, and I had a great deal of challenging fun with the solo mode. But if you’re looking for a new Mario adventure that’s tailored to creating the maximum amount of fun for just one person, you’ll have to wait for next year’s Super Mario Galaxy 2.