NyxQuest: Kindred Spirits Wii

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KenS
    Dec 4, 2009
    4
    More annoying that anything. Difficulty is so-so, puzzles could have been MUCH better. Good OST, okay story, bad gameplay.
  2. EnriqueC.
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    This game was the reason why I switched ON my Wii after almost 8 months covered in dust, and it was worth. Beautiful music, beautiful graphics, very satisfying gameplay and a simple but captivating plot. This game should be taken as a reference for Nintendo's future Kid Icarus game.
  3. FranciscoL.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, one of the best of WiiWare. Loved the music and the usage of the Wii Remote. Nice difficulty curve too, not too hard and challenging at all times.
  4. TomI
    Jul 7, 2009
    9
    Icarian was a truly breathtaking game. I was hooked instantly. I was looking for a solid old school side scrolling platformer and got so much more. The wiimote controls are intuitive and the motion-sensing implementation never feels excessive or gimmicky. I shaved off one point for an unexpected and excruciating level of difficulty toward the end.
  5. Ssseth
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    A fun little plat former. It works in the Wii motion controls in nicely without feeling like it's tacked on or forced down your throat. Passed on the first play through in about 3.5 hours.
  6. MarioG
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Innovative and elegant gameplay. One of the best platformers I've ever played.
  7. NicholasK.
    Jul 16, 2009
    9
    Brilliance doesn't always come in retail. NyxQuest demonstrates exactly what WiiWare is there to do - push forward fantastic innovative efforts like this. A must buy for all platform lovers.
  8. ettorillo
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    Great game, designed with the old school enchantment, for moments I was able to smell my NES console. Simple but addictive, you always need more. It's TOO short and in this game that's a sin. Atmosphere, music, controls, and colossal elements make this a memorable game. I think it is expensive, you pay a book and receive a comicbook.
  9. ShawnL
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Beautiful graphics, music, controls, and gameplay make this my second favorite WiiWare game. Though some compare the game to Lost Winds, and it is very similar to that game, it is much, much better. Don't listen to people that say it is not that long. I have been playing for 6 hours and I'm still not finished. Great value for only $10. Buy it now!
  10. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    This game has a fantastic atmosphere! Perfect music, perfect graphics, perfect controls. Everything at a moderate level of difficulty. It motivated me recently to play WiiWare games again. :-) Only the ending is kind of unsatisfying, for this reason 9/10. Makes me feel the developers run out of time.
  11. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    this game from spanish developers is a great old school new wave platform mixture, classy ,and proves that you dont need much money to make a good game, worth every penny

Awards & Rankings

#26 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A beautiful looking game which is also lots of fun to play. It’s true that it is not a massive game, you should be able to beat it 100% in just 3 hours, but those 3 hours will be completely filled with pure platforming bliss. This is exactly the sort of thing we want to see more of on WiiWare and comes highly recommended to all.
  2. Better looking than many a retail game and with only a little more variety it could've been a 2D classic.
  3. Over the Top has tempered its obvious ambition with skill and understanding, and the result is a game that’s refreshingly quick to take flight.