Rune Factory Frontier Wii

Rune Factory Frontier Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the creators of Harvest Moon and Rune Factory for the DS comes the first installment of Rune Factory for a home console. Developed exclusively for Wii, Rune Factory: Frontier takes full advantage of the Wii's unique controls to fully immerse players in the Rune Factory universe. RuneFrom the creators of Harvest Moon and Rune Factory for the DS comes the first installment of Rune Factory for a home console. Developed exclusively for Wii, Rune Factory: Frontier takes full advantage of the Wii's unique controls to fully immerse players in the Rune Factory universe. Rune Factory: Frontier incorporates an open-ended structure that allows players to choose the type of game they wish to experience. Whether it's growing crops, expanding the town, fighting (or befriending) monsters or even falling in love, the experience is unique to each player. [XSEED] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. This is one of the best games I've played on the Wii since we've gotten it.
  2. Many people will say that farming sims are the same experience over and over. While that may have been true with the main Harvest Moon series, Rune Factory's addition of RPG elements has given the sub-genre a welcome change that many will enjoy.
  3. 83
    A great package, and one of the deepest RPG's on the system thus far.
  4. Neversoft Co. presents a very dynamic and long title, an excellent spin-off to Harvest Moon that should be considered as an expansion. The new addition of dungeons makes a very dynamic game, highlighted by its sound and graphical features.
  5. This is arguably the most involving non-linear RPG available on Nintendo's flagship system.
  6. Nintendo Power
    75
    Frontier isn't for everybody, but it delivers on its promise of providing a deep, engrossing experience while letting you live a relaxing life. [Apr 2009, p.88]
  7. AceGamez
    40
    Rune Factory is a classic example of a game that has bitten off more than it can chew. It tries its best to offer freeform, open-ended gameplay but only manages to provide an increased number of choices to the limited 'kill all enemies' mantra.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Ever since I played this, I can't go back to Harvest Moon: Friends of Mineral Town.
    The Farming, dungeon crawling, RPG stats and upgrading,
    Ever since I played this, I can't go back to Harvest Moon: Friends of Mineral Town.
    The Farming, dungeon crawling, RPG stats and upgrading, make this a BIG improvement over it.
    Any fan of Harvest Moon MUST get this. It's too damn fun. Now let's hope they bring Rune Factory: Oceans to North America.
    Expand
  2. ChrisS
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    There is so much to do, I don't even know where to start some days. It never gets boring, and has an atmosphere that makes it safe to There is so much to do, I don't even know where to start some days. It never gets boring, and has an atmosphere that makes it safe to play in front of my kids. Expand
  3. FigMan
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    This is the best Rune Factory game I have ever played. Anyone with a Wii, and has any liking for Harvest Moon must get this game. It is well This is the best Rune Factory game I have ever played. Anyone with a Wii, and has any liking for Harvest Moon must get this game. It is well balanced, tons of items to collect/make, and most of all it has that "it" factor that is crucial in these type of games. The translation from Xseed surpasses Natsume by leaps, and bounds. GET THIS GAME! Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    One of the best games on the Wii... One of the best games I've played, period. Guilty pleasure of mine as i know it's a little corny... It'sOne of the best games on the Wii... One of the best games I've played, period. Guilty pleasure of mine as i know it's a little corny... It's that good. if you liked harvest moon but wished there was more... you're gonna love this one. Expand
  5. LowellF
    Apr 11, 2009
    9
    A well-done and addictive game. If you like Harvest Moon, but want a little more interaction and action, this really is the game. More A well-done and addictive game. If you like Harvest Moon, but want a little more interaction and action, this really is the game. More involved and deeper than most building games, it has excellent graphic design and a more interesting story than most 'farming/building' games. I discounted out of hand these kinds of games before, but this really turned me around. I only wish they'd kept the DS connectivity with the translations as I might have invested in that side of things as well. Collapse
  6. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    Very open ended. This can be great when you are growing your character and advancing in level/status, but can occasionally get confusing andVery open ended. This can be great when you are growing your character and advancing in level/status, but can occasionally get confusing and even dry at times when you aren't at a point that you want to be at. Overall, once you get past the rough patches, it is a very addicting and rewarding game that contains more depth and content then the vast majority of the other games in it's genre. It does this by combining a JRPG combat/leveling system with life sim socializing and farm sim care-taking, and meshing them together in a way where they actually effect each other and function in harmony. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2015
    6
    The game isn't awful. The colorful graphics will appeal to anime fans. But this is a rare example of a game that I actually trading in beforeThe game isn't awful. The colorful graphics will appeal to anime fans. But this is a rare example of a game that I actually trading in before beating. I've described it as an MMO without the MMO. It's Harvest Moon with an MMO-style combat system tacked on, where you just click the bad guy and wait for the battle to end. I think there was a Rune Factory game that actually had "A Fantasy Harvest Moon" as a subtitle. What this means to me is that after the small world has all been explored, I just gotta get up every day and work. Work! That's not fun. It was fun while it lasted to explore around town and level up my tools and see what all I could do, kind of figuring out which female character I'd like to romance (if it's an anime, it's a harem anime). Sooner than I expected, I discovered how to grow a beanstalk up to the floating whale-shaped island where all the enemies are. I had to go back every day as I leveled up and could get a little further through the cave every time. Eventually I got to a dead end where there's a girl in a tower and I figured you gotta grow special flowers in her garden to draw her out. But I never did, because that was the point at which I decided this game wasn't worth my time. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#44 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#24 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009