Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. This has overtaken "Wii Sports" as our favourite tennis experience on the Wii. It's great fun even if you're not a Sega fan, but the lack of online is an insult to Wii gamers. [Apr 2008, p.70]
  2. There's more than enough here to luv for Sega fans big and small. [Apr 2008, p.64]
  3. A superbly well-rounded piece of family entertainment, and a cut above "Wii Tennis." [Issue#21, p.64]
  4. 80
    If you’re looking for a good game of tennis as well as a great collection of SEGA-based goodness, look no further than SEGA Superstars Tennis.
  5. That said, Sega Superstars Tennis is a love letter to Sega fans; if you consider yourself a fan at all, it's a must buy. [Apr 2008, p.85]
  6. So, bottom line: should you get Sega Superstars Tennis? If all you have is a Wii, then even with its shortcomings compared to other versions, absolutely. Pick up a Classic Controller while you're at it for the mission mode.
  7. While the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions include online play and improved graphics, I surprisingly had a lot more fun on the Wii.
  8. Its mini-games are definitely its highlight but once the novelty of them wears off, you’ll probably want to play the original titles rather than continue playing this one.
  9. It's a fun and more complete alternative to Wii Sports tennis. Being able to move the character with the control stick is huge.
  10. Looks and sounds a lot nicer than it plays. [May 2008, p.58]
  11. SEGA fans, run don't walk to the shops, but be prepared to give Superstars a few hours before the gameplay starts hugging you as hard as the graphics and sound. Everyone else, dust off Virtua Tennis 3 for a more complete alternative.
  12. A surprisingly good celebration of all things Sega. If you liked Mario Tennis, you'll like this too. Entertaining stuff.
  13. 70
    Sega Superstars Tennis isn’t the best tennis game out there, especially since the actual tennis isn’t even as close to being as smooth or challenging as something like the Virtua Tennis or Top Spin games, but it can be just as rewarding for Sega fans and those people looking for a simple and fun approach to the sport.
  14. The tennis is merely average, but the challenges and minigames in Sega Superstars Tennis are creatively done and a lot of fun.
  15. 67
    It's just a shame that, due to Sega's mismanagement of its properties over the last decade or so, Superstars Tennis comes too late to fully resonate with today's gaming audience.
  16. If you seek out this kind of game, it will not be perfect, but it's at least a decent way to waste time and has some rewarding goals for playing.
  17. As long as one is willing to accept the fact that Sega Superstars Tennis is attuned to the younger crowd and does not expect an experience anywhere near as deep as the beloved Virtua Tennis - then Sega Superstars fits the bill.
  18. 65
    Sega Superstars Tennis mixes tennis and mini games and unfortunately doesn't really excel at either.
  19. 62
    A passable first entry into a potential new series that still has a lot of untapped potential.
  20. The mission mode falls flat due to its repetition -- it takes too long to unlock rewards and the missions are too samey to be very pleasurable.
  21. 60
    I wouldn't recommend that version of Sega Superstars Tennis to anyone who isn't a massive fan of the company. I had high hopes, but with so many simple yet crucial issues here, it looks like we're going to have to wait for the inevitable sequel before truly enjoying our trip down memory lane.
  22. Entertaining enough at first, but lacking any staying power. [Apr 2008, p.78]
  23. Ultimately Sega Superstars Tennis is yet another frivolous entry in the Wii Catalogue.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. KevinNelson
    Mar 29, 2008
    2
    If you want a frustrating game that has a very hard learning curve, this is the game for you! I was looking for a tennis game similar to Wii Tennis that has some more features. I was right about more features; the ability to agitate you! If you want to play a tennis game on Wii, stick with Wii Tennis for now. Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    6
    Sega Superstars Tennis is an ok game but not as good as Wii Tennis (from Wii Sports), Mario Tennis, or any other tennis video game out there though. Score: 3/5. Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    1
    I feel like after sonic adventure 2 sega games go down hill, but I'm not saying all sega games after SA2 suck, but most of them suck, and this just prooves my point. It is hard to controll and not fun at all. DO NOT LET THE BEGINING MOVIE FOOL YOU!! It looks fun but it's not! Full Review »