Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes Wii

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    67
    Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes gets the Dynasty Warriors formula and changes the face. It is extremely funny and it will attract the lovers of this genre, but this game is really poor in IA, lack in innovation, and really repetitive and linear.
  2. Jan 6, 2011
    70
    For experienced fans of the genre, the game may be a little on the easy side, but it is certainly enjoyable none the less.
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    60
    There is little doubt that Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes will be lapped up by tactical action fans; it is mechanically robust, pleasing on the eye and has a vitality that has been sorely missing in recent Dynasty Warrior releases. Those not already enamoured with the genre will find less to enjoy here however.
  4. Jan 12, 2011
    70
    Sengoku Basara is a pure hack and slash, proud of its identity, which consist just of a big amount of good beatings. You should be aware of what if you're picking up; if you know it, you will get a really fun experience.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Fans of manga and especially Naruto should check this out. It has great fast paced action and flawless design that makes this a much better choice than the aged Dynasty Warriors series.
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    50
    If you love hack & slash games and don't mind repeating the same objective over and over again, this might be worth renting to kill a few hours but we can't recommend it to anyone who's on the fence.
  7. Nintendo Power
    Oct 22, 2010
    70
    The game's overall zaniness and sense of humor make you want to keep playing just to see what happens next. [Dec 2010, p.83]
  8. 60
    Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes isn't a bad game. The problem is that there is so little depth in the gameplay that the experience can quickly grow old.
  9. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Jan 6, 2011
    66
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  10. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    An entertaining hack'n'slash, that doesn't introduce anything really new to the genre, but will keep you busy and well fed of things to smash.
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    70
    If you like the genre, be aware that this game represents it very well.

Awards & Rankings

76
81
#81 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
62
#62 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most fun and easy to pickup whup-ass beat-em-up games for the Wii! While it has an element of "history" to it, the historyThis is one of the most fun and easy to pickup whup-ass beat-em-up games for the Wii! While it has an element of "history" to it, the history doesn't get in the way of the crazy, whup ass, beat-up combos of damage you can do to hoards and hoards of enemies. While I played with it, I keep having this exciting feeling of "bring 'em on"! It's one of those games that make you feel like a real bad-ass. The key thing is simplicity that works with both an adult like me and my eldest son! The game play is all about doing much damage with as crazy combos - the excitement of achieving Super Basara Frenzy combos of up to 6000 hits without a break is just plain nuts. And super fun and exciting. I have only played 22% of my first character, Ieyasu. I am now just playing Saica to try a different style, and boy it's fun. Even though the map is similar with the different character, the gameplay and whup-ass combos are totally different, and feels fresh. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - don't listen to negative critics. You don't know what you're missing if you don't get this game. GET IT NOW, no regrets! I'll have hours and hours of fun! Full Review »