User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Braml.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    This game is just awesome, sweet graphics, superb music, incredible gameplay, and a huge replay, lots of unlockables, one of the best wii games atm imo.
  2. TimW.
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    Number one thing to do in this game is to go through the tutorials and then free ride down the hills and try to get used to the controls. If you clam down and stop flailing the controllers like I was doing during my fits of rage and move in a controlled manner the tricks work quite well. Please for your sake/sanity know that you will probably get pissed at the controls, but stick it out Number one thing to do in this game is to go through the tutorials and then free ride down the hills and try to get used to the controls. If you clam down and stop flailing the controllers like I was doing during my fits of rage and move in a controlled manner the tricks work quite well. Please for your sake/sanity know that you will probably get pissed at the controls, but stick it out you will get used to it, and the game is worth it. Expand
  3. DougM.
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    I took a chance on this game, based on the User comments, as opposed to the 'professional' reviews. My son (12), wife and I LOVE this game. We own and love SSX Tricky, but we do not own SSX 3. That seems to be a factor, since others complain about the repeated content from 3. I cannot understand why the 'pro' reviewer would have issue with the controls... They were I took a chance on this game, based on the User comments, as opposed to the 'professional' reviews. My son (12), wife and I LOVE this game. We own and love SSX Tricky, but we do not own SSX 3. That seems to be a factor, since others complain about the repeated content from 3. I cannot understand why the 'pro' reviewer would have issue with the controls... They were very intuitive and simple to us. CONTROLS: You steer and accelerate with the Nunchuck joystick or- for tighter steering - lean the Nunchuck. You flick the Nunchuck to jump. Push the Nunchuck button and tilt it to grab. To do air tricks, flips and spins, you draw shapes with the Wiimote. That's it. They have changed the graphics from Tricky to be more like a cell shaded / anime style, which is fine. My only complaint is that the audio content is lacking. I miss the character voices, and I would have liked some more music options. Otherwise, this is a SOLID title. Thanks to Meta-Critic users for their opinions. Expand
  4. JakeP.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    I was able to pick this up early, and I was glad I did. The visuals just blew me away with their cartoonish effect. The motion controls work fluently in SSX Blur too. This is a must buy for all Wii owners and nobody will be disappointed.
  5. JimboJ.
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Amazingly fun game! Ignore the low review scores, the reviewers were being impatient. It took me two or three hours total to get used to the controls, but now I'm pulling off ubertricks easily. Definitely the best Wii game out so far. (Apart from Zelda or Warioware, but I'm not really a fan of them.)
  6. JohnA.
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Honestly, this is the best Wii game so far. The controls are tight and easy to pick up. Sure it is a bit hard to nail ubertricks, but it becomes the greatest reward then, not just a mish mash of buttons like in the previous SSX entries. Thanks EA for finally bringing to the Wii what I expected of it.
  7. AndyF.
    Mar 1, 2007
    8
    The controls all work well... once you get used to them that is. Ubertricks do take more practice then they should, but one you get used to them, it is very satisfying. Easily one of the best Wii games currently out there, but don't buy if you have a short temper. You need patience to master the controls, but once you do it is well worth it.
  8. EricC.
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    When the reviews started coming in about the frustrating controls, I was concerned. However, I hadn't bought a game since Twilight Princess, so I went for it. I just got back into gaming with the Wii -- I am not a hardcore gamer. So it should reflect positively on the game that after about 30 min of play, I was pulling off ubertricks with regularity. Yeah, I can't nail them When the reviews started coming in about the frustrating controls, I was concerned. However, I hadn't bought a game since Twilight Princess, so I went for it. I just got back into gaming with the Wii -- I am not a hardcore gamer. So it should reflect positively on the game that after about 30 min of play, I was pulling off ubertricks with regularity. Yeah, I can't nail them every time, but I've learned what works and it gets continually gets easier. It's taken a couple of hours of play to get used to combining the tricks how I want, like deciding which grabs to do with flips or spins. Now that I have a good feel for it, I really enjoy the game. I can do whatever tricks I want whenever. I miss ubertricks here and there, but it's not a big deal. It actually makes me remember to throw creative regular tricks in there to avoid repeats. I'm still on the first of three peaks and I'm enjoying it so much that I can't wait to see what the next 2 peaks hold. If you can get through the learning curve and don't mind or even enjoy precise (sometimes, too precise) controls, you should really enjoy this title. If you want big scores by button mashing, you may get frustrated. Expand
  9. HaroldK.
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    SSX was getting kind of boring, the same thing with new tracks once in a while. While Blur recycles some tracks, the entire feel is entirely new, and it's great. The controls take about half an hour to an hour to get used to, which is probably why the reviewers gave it a bad score - they never took the time to get used to the controls. But trust me, as soon as you get used to the SSX was getting kind of boring, the same thing with new tracks once in a while. While Blur recycles some tracks, the entire feel is entirely new, and it's great. The controls take about half an hour to an hour to get used to, which is probably why the reviewers gave it a bad score - they never took the time to get used to the controls. But trust me, as soon as you get used to the controls, this is an AWESOME must-have game that shows off the Wii's abilities perfectly. It'll take forever to finish all the challenges, and the graphics and ticks are great. Doing the new ubershapes feels gratifying and a lot more satisfying than pressing buttons. All in all, SSX Blur is a must-have for any hardcore gamer - this isn't for your mom or anyone new to games. Expand
  10. TomW.
    Mar 6, 2007
    8
    Excellent game, with nice graphics and innovative gameplay. A bit hard to get used to the control, but once you get it right and tight, the game's awesome!
  11. SteveW.
    Jul 22, 2007
    8
    This is an excelent game. I want to clarify the controls a little more for people who are reading these reviews. People can just pick up the game and play it for the first time and enjoy the tricks by doing any random in air movements with the wiimote and nunchuck. Therefor its fun for guests you may have over to play. The Uber moves are challenging to pull off and thats a GOOD thing. Who This is an excelent game. I want to clarify the controls a little more for people who are reading these reviews. People can just pick up the game and play it for the first time and enjoy the tricks by doing any random in air movements with the wiimote and nunchuck. Therefor its fun for guests you may have over to play. The Uber moves are challenging to pull off and thats a GOOD thing. Who wants to play a game that can easily be beaten. Also, there is a seperate menu in the game that allows you to practice the uber tricks until you master them. I've had this game for a few months now and its still a keeper. Expand
  12. DonnyN.
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    Don't be fooled by some of the lower scores for this game. The learning curve is steep but once you get the hang of things you will realize that this is the best SSX game in the series. Never again should a standard controller be used for a snowboarding game...ever.
  13. AdamT.
    Feb 28, 2007
    9
    I have no idea what game GamePro and 1UP played, because the SSX Blur I just bought and played tonight had perfect controls. The learning curve is steep, but just like going from an automatic to a stick shift car, the learning curve is worth it. And the Ubertricks work just fine, they're hard, as they should be, but they work perfectly if you do them correctly.
  14. APerson
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    Please, please for the love of whatever, DO NOT listen to the people who say that the controls to this game do not work. People saying that must have no hand-eye co-ordination or something because the controls are fantastic, they definitely add to the game rather than taking away from it. If you are even remotely interested in this game it is probably worth it.
  15. BradyS.
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    Blur is my second favorite in the franchise...nipping at the heels of SSX 3. Some of the courses here are recycled from that game...and it seems that the developers didn't do a whole lot to up the overall free-roaming peak gameplay. The controls, I think, are excellent. It took me about an hour to really get the hang of it, but after a while, I was pulling off Ubertricks like Blur is my second favorite in the franchise...nipping at the heels of SSX 3. Some of the courses here are recycled from that game...and it seems that the developers didn't do a whole lot to up the overall free-roaming peak gameplay. The controls, I think, are excellent. It took me about an hour to really get the hang of it, but after a while, I was pulling off Ubertricks like nothing. They are frustrating at first, but if you trace the exact shape you're instructed to, the game responds about 90% of the time...which is great for a first-gen Wii snowboarding title. I think EA did a great job to revolutionize the carving and trick system here, but next time they need to work on motion control sensitivity (or lack thereof) issues. The Groove system works great, and if you've got the sound system to play it loud, you should crank up the bass and turn the lights off. Bottom Line: For gamers who are coordinated and patient enough to master the intracies of this game and concentration it requires, this is a rewarding game...and one of the most exhilarating audio/visual experiences around. An early classic for the Wii extreme sports genre. Expand
  16. ChrisT.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Anyone who says that the controls are too difficult, doesn't know what they are on about. Sure its different from previous versions, but the Wii offers a new experience, one of which I got the hang of pretty quick! Move with the times people....or maybe you are getting arthritis in your hands! Get your snowboots on - its time to ride!!! Great game!!!
  17. MikeM.
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    This game is incredible. It took me several hours to really get the feel for it; it honestly takes a lot of persistence to work through the frustration of the controls. However, they are so rewarding. I find myself pulling off uber tricks without even thinking twice now. Buy it!
  18. GabrielJ.
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    Be patient, and take the time to learn the controls. Once you do, you will see that this game rocks. I won't lie, I was on the verge of regretting my purchase on the first night I had SSX Blur. But on the second night, it all clicked, and I've enjoyed it greatly since.
  19. AndrewG.
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    This is an EXTREMELY fun game to play - definitely my second favorite on Wii. While it certainly takes some getting used to, after about a half hour of training, I was able to get the hang of it. And so, for that reason, I really agree with almost everything that IGN had to say about SSX Blur. On the other hand, I am very unimpressed with the 1UP and Gamepro reviews. I remember when I This is an EXTREMELY fun game to play - definitely my second favorite on Wii. While it certainly takes some getting used to, after about a half hour of training, I was able to get the hang of it. And so, for that reason, I really agree with almost everything that IGN had to say about SSX Blur. On the other hand, I am very unimpressed with the 1UP and Gamepro reviews. I remember when I first played Mario Kart 64 (after being a king at Super Mario Kart) I sucked for the first hour or so because I wasn't used to using a joystick. I had the same experience with SSX Blur. In my opinion, it is pretty obvious that the low reviews due to "poor controls" is a result of the impatience of those reviewers. While I wouldn't want to watch my mom flail around while trying to play Blur, for legit gamers this is an incredible game. I would give it a 10, but the game has made my Wii freeze a couple of times now - which is really annoying. Even so, SSX Blur comes highly recommended. Expand
  20. ScottS.
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    Don't trust reviewers on this one that give it below a 75. This game is addictive, fun, beautiful, and rewarding. Not that hard to master, my friends six year old was pulling off tricks within 10 minutes of playing this for the first time. I'm a skier and I love it.
  21. JohnB.
    Apr 22, 2007
    8
    A solid Wii title that requires some time and mastery, but very rewarding in the sense of the very kinetic and thrilling feeling of hurling yourself down a mountain at high speeds. The controls literally do sell this title. It is NOT easy to pick up and play, though I found myself in good stead after about an hour's practice. The uber's are incredibly difficult, but that's A solid Wii title that requires some time and mastery, but very rewarding in the sense of the very kinetic and thrilling feeling of hurling yourself down a mountain at high speeds. The controls literally do sell this title. It is NOT easy to pick up and play, though I found myself in good stead after about an hour's practice. The uber's are incredibly difficult, but that's fine, it just makes them more satisfying to pull off. Artistically it's nicely designed, although it's no Zelda, and the music is, while not as good as previous titles, still more than passable. There's a lot to like here, if you're into snowboarding, skateboarding, or anything high-speed and fun, give it a try. Expand
  22. DuncanL.
    May 27, 2007
    9
    The controls DO work. With patience and time you'll be pulling off extreme moves.
  23. BillO
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    Great controls, outstanding graphics for the wii. Snowboarding without the pain. I would like to see a version with balance board controls. It took me about 15 minutes to get the basic controls down, and much longer to pull off uber tricks. One of my favorite games in the last 5 years.
  24. RyanK.
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    This is an excellent game! Some advice for those struggling to get it: For the first 15-30 minutes in this game, do the TUTORIALS! The game's controls work very well, but take coordination to master. Once you've got the basics, you'll see that this game is an excellent addition to the Wii library, with very little "Waggle" controls (the worst thing about most wii games). This is an excellent game! Some advice for those struggling to get it: For the first 15-30 minutes in this game, do the TUTORIALS! The game's controls work very well, but take coordination to master. Once you've got the basics, you'll see that this game is an excellent addition to the Wii library, with very little "Waggle" controls (the worst thing about most wii games). The graphics are decent for the Wii, the gameplay is challenging and interesting, and the feeling of leaning into the turns is fully intact. The audio feedback system is great, and as always, DJ Atomica is helpful and hilarious. In the options menu, you can customize how much the motion control affects your turns. You can make it up to 100% analog stick. (The default is 50% analog stick/50 motion control). I've been playing this game with very few weeks off since it came out 2 years ago, and it's still in my top 5 for the Wii. The multiplayer mode is adequate, but limited to only a few modes, and 2 player simultaneous. The single-player mode is mesmerizing, once you've got the hang of it, with plenty of variety in riders, modes, environments, and moves. With 12 Character Careers to complete, you may be playing for a very, very long time, and that's a good thing! You're not going to be an expert the first time you try this game. In fact, if you don't master the tutorials, you'll probably never enjoy this game. The first day you try snowboarding for real, expect to spend it falling on your backside. The same goes for SSX:Blur - there's a learning curve. Expand
  25. JustinG.
    Mar 11, 2007
    9
    I love the new controls. This is a hardcore game in the biggest sense. Grandma isn't going to play this. You will actually have to practice to master those ubers. People will complain that it's TOO hard. But for me it reminded me a lot of playing basketball (just the ubers). You spend sometime wearing your arms out practicing a certain shot (handposition, speed, strength of I love the new controls. This is a hardcore game in the biggest sense. Grandma isn't going to play this. You will actually have to practice to master those ubers. People will complain that it's TOO hard. But for me it reminded me a lot of playing basketball (just the ubers). You spend sometime wearing your arms out practicing a certain shot (handposition, speed, strength of movement), you don't have to in order to have fun with this game, but nothing is better than coming down to crunch time and pulling that practiced fade away jumper for the win (ie bustin out one of those moves to beat your buddies in a trick point match) I'd say if you have a little patients and your not an "uber" nerd who totally lacks arm coordination. You'll get this game like it and eventually love playing the multiplayer against your buds. Snowball throwing is a nice touch. (pegging somebody as they jump over a canyon in a heated race is awesome) Having said how much I like the controls and the game play let me say this. You might have to adjust the carving control in the harder stages to work a little more with the control stick (i found it helped beat those slalom races). Also if I could say one thing to EA it would be this, what the heck is wrong with you!! They make these awesome controls and then sell me the same game I already have on three different DVD's!!! Seriously I love this game I like multiplayer, it's all done very well, but give me new levels and lots of them. (my personal preference, give me ssx tricky - like levels - where the course is totally unrealistic and crazy - that just makes it that much more fun) I never once flew over a sky scraper like murcury city (ssx3) I never once got to kick it in that crazy Japan/pinball looking level like i did in ssx 2. Summation: Loved the game, loved that challenging controls, but thought the lack of original levels and really the lack of a decent amount of levels was a really lame move by EA (seriously if your going to put in old levels, put in ALL the old levels - tsk tsk) Expand
  26. DaryS.
    Mar 13, 2007
    8
    Very easy to pick up, one of the better games I have played in terms of Wii controls. My 5-year old got the hang of it pretty quickly.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. No online play hurts, and the two-player split screen mode offers limited enjoyment, but overall, EA successfully "blurs" the line between realism and fantasy, creating a great video game for all ages.
  2. It replicates the feeling of sliding down a mountain side with eerie precision and manages to make other control schemes feel dated. There’s certainly plenty of opportunity for improvement with the sequel, but with a ton of content and even more fun, it’s hard to go wrong with SSX Blur.
  3. 50
    Dedicated (read: sadistic) gamers willing to invest the time necessary to figure out the controls might get a kick out of this one, but the convoluted controls will turn off most players. The lesson here is clear: Wii developers need to start with a blank slate rather than graft old-school control schemes onto the Wii Remote because, as SSX Blur demonstrates, it just doesn't work.