User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1853 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum,Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum, so a 10 is fair. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This very well could be the bet game on the Wii. It has amazing graphics, music, gameplay, control, and design. The ideas are very original and is a blast to play, albeit a little too easy to beat the main story. However, there is plenty to do afterwards. This game will have you coming back for more and more. PLAY IT.
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls workI can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls work well when used, it's reasonably easy, but not to say, Kirby levels it probably won't really challenge those who have played older Mario games (those are tough as nails). Anybody who has any sense will enjoy this game. Mario has increased in quality, which is something very special as I have not played a Mario game which does not deserve a score less than a nine out of ten. If you don't have it, buy it!!! Expand
  4. MarkB.
    Jan 27, 2008
    8
    Definitely shows the power of the Wii, but as far as difficulty settings go, makes it too easy. I rarely die, and when I do, I easily pass the level on the next life. Love the graphics and gameplay, which are phenomenal, I just wish it was more difficult at times.
  5. KevinE.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Whoever gives this game a score in the red either hasn't played the game or is biased toward Mario. This is the best game of the year and I've played several of them. 3rd party developers I hope you're paying attention. This is how you make a great game on the Wii.
  6. MichaelF.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the game is stuffed to the brimming with pared down runs of perfect platforming and mind-bending physics. It undeniably excels at every little aspect of its being; platformers will never be the same. Expand
  7. DG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing game play...graphics...great overall!
  8. Bauermill
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Somehow this game blows away Super Mario 64 and possibly all other Mario games with it's graphics, gameplay, story, challenge, and straight up fun! A must have for anyone who owns a Wii. It gets my vote for game of the year.
  9. BradS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising the game so highly, it is definetely not deserving of being on th level of Ocarina of Time or SM64. Expand
  10. KristofferM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    An amazing game which undoubtedly will be remembered as an era-defining classic.
  11. Darkhorse
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around the galaxy enjoying the graphics. Expand
  12. LeeH.
    Mar 3, 2008
    7
    I thing this game is okay. Nothing more, nothing less. People make such a big deal saying it's awesome and unbeatable, but I think it's way over-rated. Some of the levels are extremely long and boring, whereas others couldn't be more fun. The controls are also awkward and different to get the handle of, but once you do, it's easy. I don't think this could be rated I thing this game is okay. Nothing more, nothing less. People make such a big deal saying it's awesome and unbeatable, but I think it's way over-rated. Some of the levels are extremely long and boring, whereas others couldn't be more fun. The controls are also awkward and different to get the handle of, but once you do, it's easy. I don't think this could be rated over a 7, but it's an alright game. Expand
  13. AnonymousMC
    Nov 18, 2007
    7
    It's a good game and fun for the wii. But how it has 98 average score, the highest at present on metacritic above the likes of Assassin's Creed (which has a better storyline, lightyears ahead in graphics even if Mario is cartoony and Call of Duty 4 etc i just do not understand.
  14. H.Jay
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome. I think that's my best Mario adventure yet. A must buy for all Wii owners.
  15. JackS.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Just awesome. Best game for the Wii so far.
  16. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    What the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classicWhat the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classic Mario tunes are back and the music is just great.This game is not great!THIS GAME IS MASTERFUL!A PERFECT 10! Expand
  17. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Since Super Mario 64 we didnĀ“t associate Mario to a perfect game until this game came out. Brilliant technically, really funny, new, fresh, and long. It will take you several months to get the 242 stars that the game has. Difficulty is high but reasonable, and every level surprise you in a different way.
  18. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry RhodanThis game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry Rhodan in Mario style! Expand
  19. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo e muito bom,por causa de sua dificudade,historia,etc... mas tem uns que dizem que e ruim esse jogo maravilhoso jogo de wii.
  20. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Pure perfection. That's all there is to be said. The power ups are amazing and really enhance the gameplay, and each level brings on something new, creative, and challenging. Super Mario Galaxy is a must have for anyone who has a wii, or anyone who appreciates video games, for that matter.
  21. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    I'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they stillI'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they still look friggin pretty. And if you hate on it because your too "hardcore" for mario or it's too "easy", then you are allergic to fun. Isn't that what games set out to do? Give you a fun game to play? Hell, I almost cried with joy when I first beat the game! And that's one of the beauty of the game itself. Does it have replay value? No, not really. But if you want to complete the full game, it'll take you a pretty long while anyway. What I'm trying to say, is if you have a Wii, then you're probably not going to get much more hardcore than this anyway. But, if it just happens that you have a Wii, then this is an absloute MUST HAVE. And I can't tell you how amazing the music is, either. It fits every location perfectly. I don't know what those developers were smoking, but whatever it is, I want some. Some people say that it gets a little too heavy at times (specifically boss fights), but here's two reasons or rather, objections to that. If it's too loud or whatever, there's probably a volume switch on your TV. Also, most of the time, I at least, am too immersed in the game to even notice the music. But if it wasn't there, then it would be empty and silent. The level design is fantastic, the music is pheonamonal, and the gameplay is near perfect. I'm just here to say, I REALLY FRICKING LOVE THIS GAME. If you have a Wii, about 20 bucks, and a craving for fun, then this is a MUST HAVE. Expand
  22. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    An all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'dAn all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'd expect from a Mario game the level design was perfect and so was the music and gameplay. The camera issues often plaguing 3D platformers were pretty much non-existent here. This thing was a delight to play. Visually, it's one of the stand-out games for the Wii (although slightly eclipsed by its successor in this particular field). The game just oozed originality and my excitement in playing it is one I haven't felt since I was a kid playing Mario 64. A magical, magical game. Expand
  23. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    This is the most outstanding game I've ever played. Mario has never done better than this.

    Pros
    -HD graphics
    -nice gameplay
    -fun bosses
    -challenging experience
    -nice story

    Cons
    (none)
  24. Jan 3, 2015
    10
    My favorite game of all time, no questions asked. The atmosphere, music, art design, game play, creativity, and level design are all the best I have ever experienced in a video game. Even the story is pretty deep for a Mario game, it almost reminds me of 2001: A Space Odyssey, maybe not to that level, but it is the closest a video game has ever come to it.
  25. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    Awesome game! One of the best games of all time! The graphics are amazing! The controls are perfect. The level designs are great. It also has great orchestraed music. Super Mario Galaxy is a must buy for everyone! You should get this and SMG2 together if you don't have either.
  26. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This is the best Wii game I have on my shelf( tied with smg2) because I just love how the levels or a.k.a. Galaxies are designed and my favourite character is Cosmic Mario or Luigi. This is an example of a flawless 10/10, and it is interesting or just love how you can get Rosalina for Mario Kart Wii, but I have never played as her. Though I got something accomplished or partly completed byThis is the best Wii game I have on my shelf( tied with smg2) because I just love how the levels or a.k.a. Galaxies are designed and my favourite character is Cosmic Mario or Luigi. This is an example of a flawless 10/10, and it is interesting or just love how you can get Rosalina for Mario Kart Wii, but I have never played as her. Though I got something accomplished or partly completed by unlocking her. You still have to race 50 times to unlock her but anyways, this game is a damn masterpiece( sorry, but once again, I'm kinda excited. No excuse. I hate dat!) you must get and beat it 100% Once and for all. Its easy,fun,enjoyable, and suited for both intense gamers like me or my Wii U friends(some) and Casual Gamers who try to have fun. Expand
  27. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are waterSuper Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are water galaxies, ice galaxies, fire galaxies, grassland galaxies, and much more. I do wish accessing the galaxies was easier, though. It takes forever to get to the higher observatories. Also, there are WAY too many Purple Coin missions. Things get slightly repetitive around the endgame. But altogether, Super Mario Galaxy is a very enjoyable experience that I would recommend to anyone and everyone. Expand
  28. JonathanA.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Wow. This game soars. A true experience, memorable and exhilarating, whether blasting off to a new planetoid to face some gravity-defying, mind-bending puzzle, to walking off a ledge only to find yourself on the other side and with a whole slew of new secrets and things to explore, to just twirling around in the hub-world and dancing with the luma-stars. Hehe. It brings out the kid in me. Wow. This game soars. A true experience, memorable and exhilarating, whether blasting off to a new planetoid to face some gravity-defying, mind-bending puzzle, to walking off a ledge only to find yourself on the other side and with a whole slew of new secrets and things to explore, to just twirling around in the hub-world and dancing with the luma-stars. Hehe. It brings out the kid in me. Mario, you're the man. Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Mario galaxy was the only reason i bought a wii, so if you are a wii owner, you shouldn't , miss it. From the music, the level design, the gravity, etc, etc, this game is a MASTERPIECE.
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I briefly played "Super Mario Galaxy" in my cousin's house and all I can say is...BRILLIANT. The game looks amazing and well polished for a 2007 game (especially despite the fact that it was on the Wii) and its gameplay was also smooth and addictive for my taste. A epic must-play game.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.