Super Mario Galaxy Wii

Super Mario Galaxy Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2327 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2007 Wii Game of the Year] The ultimate Nintendo hero is taking the ultimate step ... out into space. Join Mario as he ushers in a new era of video games, defying gravity across all the planets in the galaxy. When some creature escapes into space with Princess Peach, Mario[Metacritic's 2007 Wii Game of the Year] The ultimate Nintendo hero is taking the ultimate step ... out into space. Join Mario as he ushers in a new era of video games, defying gravity across all the planets in the galaxy. When some creature escapes into space with Princess Peach, Mario gives chase, exploring bizarre planets all across the galaxy. Mario, Peach and enemies new and old are here. Players run, jump and battle enemies as they explore all the planets in the galaxy. Since this game makes full use of all the features of the Wii Remote, players have to do all kinds of things to succeed: pressing buttons, swinging the Wii Remote and the Nunchuk, and even pointing at and dragging things with the pointer. Since he's in space, Mario can perform mind-bending jumps unlike anything he's done before. He'll also have a wealth of new moves that are all based around tilting, pointing and shaking the Wii Remote. Shake, tilt and point! Mario takes advantage of all the unique aspects of the Wii Remote and Nunchuk controller, unleashing new moves as players shake the controller and even point at and drag items with the pointer. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    Mario has not grown older, but younger with time: more slender, more supple, more graceful. It is as if the boundaries of the genre have become transparent, allowing a unique light to shine forth. Super Mario Galaxy will influence gaming perceptions, sure to replenish any lost passion. It will frequently hug your inner child, evoke tears of joy and tug at the heart. It is everything we have always desired, more than we could possibly have dreamed.
  2. Super Mario Galaxy is an out of this world experience that is spectacularly amazing in every imaginable aspect. It creates a constant sense of wonder that manages to permanently transplant a grin on my face while playing. Even when I died I was smiling. No game has ever done that to me before and it's truly a testament to how perfectly fine-tuned it is.
  3. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  4. It's a perfect blend of the established and unexpected, and a finely crafted piece of software that will infect your subconscious and make you dread dropping the controller. The accessibility, ingenuity, variety, quality, and quantity are impeccable. The only real uncertainty is how much you'll allow it to take over your life.
  5. Nintendo Gamer
    97
    Super Mario Galaxy is one of those rare games that makes children of us all, that'll have you straight on the phone to your gaming comrades, throwing out terms such as 'best game in years' or - gasp! - 'Mario 64 beater.' [Christmas 2007, p.32]
  6. n-Revolution Magazine UK
    96
    Quotation forthcoming. [Issue#16]
  7. I’m glad that after 20 years, Nintendo can still make something old feel new again.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 596
  1. Michael
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Easily the best Wii game to date. With its stunning visuals and fresh gameplay, Mario has again defined the 3D platformer. And the co-op is Easily the best Wii game to date. With its stunning visuals and fresh gameplay, Mario has again defined the 3D platformer. And the co-op is anything but "tacked-on." I'm looking at you, GameDaily. Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, andNintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum, so a 10 is fair. Expand
  3. DavidJ.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    It's a great game and I'd reccomend it to anybody.
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    This is by far the best Mario game of all time. The graphics first of all deserve beyond a 10, I mean, this was a game of 2007! TheThis is by far the best Mario game of all time. The graphics first of all deserve beyond a 10, I mean, this was a game of 2007! The presentation was absolutely beautiful and matches the current Mario games, or even excelling them. The soundtrack is also one of the best in all the Mario games. There are still your usual quirky up-beat themes showcased from other games, but there are also some very beautiful orchestral arrangements which bring the soundtrack over the top. The gameplay and controls of this game are the thing that really brings it over the top though. This games innovation with the gravity mechanics and the 3D planets, etc. was BRILLIANT! It is so fun to explore the planets and have fun with the gravity, even if it becomes bothersome at times. I could rant all day about this game but you should just get it yourself if you don't have it already and play the **** out of it. This game is a must buy despite what others say and is a game that will leave a legacy for years to come! Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2017
    10
    The best Mario game of all time. This game is an absolute masterpiece, and it is perfect in so many ways that I don't even know where toThe best Mario game of all time. This game is an absolute masterpiece, and it is perfect in so many ways that I don't even know where to start. The graphics barely show any age, even 10 years after its release. The visuals in general are mesmerizing, and I found myself gazing out into the beautiful, massive skyboxes many times over. Perhaps the most overlooked part of this game is its music; the soaring, atmospheric melodies written by Yokota and Kondo are unlike anything I have ever heard in a video game. From the welcoming chorus of Good Egg Galaxy, to the beautiful atmospheric soundscapes of Space Junk Galaxy and the Gateway Galaxy, to the climactic opera-like final battle theme, this soundtrack is unforgettable, and may just be my favorite video game soundtrack of all time. The controls are standard 3D Mario, but I feel that Galaxy takes a step up in terms of control responsiveness and accuracy. I feel more control over Mario in this game than I do in Mario 64 and Mario Sunshine. The environments, as I mentioned, are masterfully varied and concisely designed. They feel large, but never unnecessarily so. It is an absolute joy to explore and discover them; the visuals blend with the atmospheric music so nicely. The story, while not necessarily driving the game, is still compelling, thought-provoking, and at times surprisingly heavy, especially near the end of the game. All in all, this game is an absolute masterpiece and one of, if not THE best Nintendo title to date. It is a must play for any Nintendo fan. Rest in piece Iwata, and THANK YOU for this game. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    One of the best games on Wii and just one of the best games in general, the level design in Super Mario Galaxy is some of the best, if you areOne of the best games on Wii and just one of the best games in general, the level design in Super Mario Galaxy is some of the best, if you are a platformer fan and have not played this game you are missing out on a true gem, Whilst getting the first 60 stars is pretty easy to do, getting the full 120 stars is challenging and will give you hours of playtime. The graphics are great despite being in SD, I never looked at the game and thought that it had to be in HD to look good, Nintendo knows how to optimize there hardware to look fantastic. If you have a Wii or Wii U then pick this up for one of the best designed games ever made. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2017
    0
    Best Wii games i ever played, this game has some formula for player to imagine like there are in the mario universe so everyone can play the game. Wii

See all 596 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  2. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007