Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 72
  2. Negative: 24 out of 72
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AntonBalck
    Jun 9, 2008
    5
    It wasn't that bad the first few days, but its weaknessess soon showed up. The main game is too easy in the beginning, too unfair and difficult in the end and overall too shallow and stale. Graphics and sound are hardly memorable and controls and physics just don't at all work how you'd wish them to.

    There's a giant pile of minigames, which can provide some
    It wasn't that bad the first few days, but its weaknessess soon showed up. The main game is too easy in the beginning, too unfair and difficult in the end and overall too shallow and stale. Graphics and sound are hardly memorable and controls and physics just don't at all work how you'd wish them to.

    There's a giant pile of minigames, which can provide some multiplayer fun, but most of the games suffer from serious control problems or bad design.
    Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    6
    Super Monkey Ball is actually worse with the Wii controls than with the regular controller. As always, you tilt the course around to try and get your monkey to the goal. In this game, they incorporate boss battles and have fifty minigames to play. The main game itself is still a lot of fun and the tilting works okay, if a little tricky. What drags it down is the terrible boss battles thatSuper Monkey Ball is actually worse with the Wii controls than with the regular controller. As always, you tilt the course around to try and get your monkey to the goal. In this game, they incorporate boss battles and have fifty minigames to play. The main game itself is still a lot of fun and the tilting works okay, if a little tricky. What drags it down is the terrible boss battles that have no right to exist in this kind of game and by far are the most frustrating part of the game, except for the minigames. Out of the fifty minigames included, maybe five of them are fun to play due to absolutely terrible controls and lack of sophistication. The new Monkey Ball can be fun at times, but due to some major annoyances brings the series way downhill. Expand
  3. Hank
    Jul 7, 2009
    7
    If you played previous Super Monkey Ball Games and enjoyed them, then you will probably enjoy this one as well. I actually loved the single player on this game, it is extremely entertaining. The reason that it is only a 7 is because the multiplayer is not nerarly as good as the previous two entries for gamecube. Instead of having 6 very fun minigames, you receive 50 minigames that rangeIf you played previous Super Monkey Ball Games and enjoyed them, then you will probably enjoy this one as well. I actually loved the single player on this game, it is extremely entertaining. The reason that it is only a 7 is because the multiplayer is not nerarly as good as the previous two entries for gamecube. Instead of having 6 very fun minigames, you receive 50 minigames that range from horrendously boring to average and appear to have very little thought to them. I would however still recommend getting it with the price down to only $20 new. Expand
  4. JorgeV.
    Dec 2, 2006
    7
    It's not the greatest game out there, but the multiplayer modes are very fun. I would also agree that the learning curve for using the wii remote is fairly high, especially for those of us already learned in the button mashing, analog stick ways, but once you figure it out, it's worth it. Some of the games use of the remote is too finicky. Overall, it's worth it for the It's not the greatest game out there, but the multiplayer modes are very fun. I would also agree that the learning curve for using the wii remote is fairly high, especially for those of us already learned in the button mashing, analog stick ways, but once you figure it out, it's worth it. Some of the games use of the remote is too finicky. Overall, it's worth it for the multiplayer fun. Expand
  5. AndrewG.
    Dec 20, 2006
    5
    I give it a 5 for the minigames, which are (on the whole) very bad. I've played about half of them, and only three were good: Hurdles (very simple), Red Light Green Light (frantic fun), and Monkey Wars (pretty good for a mini game). But for most of the minigames the controls are terrible. I would not want to play the minigames again. Single player is as fun and creative as usual, but I give it a 5 for the minigames, which are (on the whole) very bad. I've played about half of them, and only three were good: Hurdles (very simple), Red Light Green Light (frantic fun), and Monkey Wars (pretty good for a mini game). But for most of the minigames the controls are terrible. I would not want to play the minigames again. Single player is as fun and creative as usual, but the reason why I bought the old Monkey Ball game was for Monkey Target and Monkey Battle - the first of which is dumbed down, and the second of which I haven't seen yet in this version. Disappointing. Expand
  6. IanI.
    Jan 29, 2007
    6
    On a system plagued with mini game games this is by far the worst, I would think that Wario ware and even Ravin Rabids would fill the need for games of this type, but if your 6-8 and love the seriese it does have its moments. The explanation of the controls on each mini game is overly complicated though, possibly alienating the only audience that should be buying this game.
  7. Cdn-playa
    Mar 8, 2007
    7
    Controls can be frustrating but enough of the mini games are fun enough to play over and over again.
  8. RobG.
    Mar 10, 2007
    5
    The single player mode works well and is quite fun. The series is inherently frustrating and this game no different. The series has been crying out for the Wiimote and it uses it effectively. I found it painful to play for too long (>2 hours) as you have to have your arms free to control the wiimote proplerly, you really can't play this lazily. But enough of the positive, you can get The single player mode works well and is quite fun. The series is inherently frustrating and this game no different. The series has been crying out for the Wiimote and it uses it effectively. I found it painful to play for too long (>2 hours) as you have to have your arms free to control the wiimote proplerly, you really can't play this lazily. But enough of the positive, you can get that from Sega. The only decent multiplayer mini-games are so hard to find because there are so many terrible ones. You will be pulling your hair out with most of them or falling asleep. Collapse
  9. [Anonymous]
    Apr 28, 2007
    5
    50 minigames for $49.99 sound like a best value. It not even worth it! Playing it make me feel like I play flash online game. Want Monkey in a ball and nice control ,buy Super Monkey Ball 1/2.Want mokey in a ball,but hate money buy this game.
  10. RobM.
    Jul 7, 2007
    5
    The mini games are lackluster, and only a few are worth playing more than once.... the single player is fun, but it is way too short, and the levels jump from really hard to really easy to really hard again....rent it first.
  11. SimonG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    I only played this game a few minutes. A friend brought it over to my place and never played the game again, which is a shame because I really enjoyed it. The main adventure mode is great and feels right at home on the Wii. Tilting the maze feels totally natural in the Super Monkey Ball universe. I would pick this game over Mercury Meltdown or Marble Mania at any time. It
  12. TotalJ.
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    I would recommend this game to rent and have fun with, or as a cheap used buy only. The game was fun when the Wii first came out because it was a chance to try out the new control scheme and see what it could do. About a year later, it's clear the game has little replay value. The main game is kind of fun until it becomes too hard and frustrating. The mini games are mostly badly I would recommend this game to rent and have fun with, or as a cheap used buy only. The game was fun when the Wii first came out because it was a chance to try out the new control scheme and see what it could do. About a year later, it's clear the game has little replay value. The main game is kind of fun until it becomes too hard and frustrating. The mini games are mostly badly executed and hard to control. There are a few fun ones like the monkey target game. Expand
  13. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    The thing that surprised me the most about this game is the controls, they work wonderfully during the single player campaign, but they don't always work on the mini games, the graphics are great, and the sound is good, the real problem with this game is the fact that a lot of the mini games are boring, but all in all this is one of my favorite Wii games, and one I would really recommend.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2006
#13 Most Shared Wii Game of 2006
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    65
    So long as you stick with the multiplayer, this game is a decent monkey-filled ball. [Dec. 2006, p.116]
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    Moreover, Sega's done a fine job translating the control scheme for a game that demands precise movements to a controller that is, at best, imprecise. [Dec. 2006, p.58]
  3. 84
    If you've been on the fence about the Wii controls, put those fears to rest. True, there is a different technique involved, but once you get the hang of it you will be flying through levels with precision and speed. Now that I've played through Banana Blitz, I would not want to go back to the older control configurations.