Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 72
  2. Negative: 24 out of 72
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AntonBalck
    Jun 9, 2008
    5
    It wasn't that bad the first few days, but its weaknessess soon showed up. The main game is too easy in the beginning, too unfair and difficult in the end and overall too shallow and stale. Graphics and sound are hardly memorable and controls and physics just don't at all work how you'd wish them to.

    There's a giant pile of minigames, which can provide some
    It wasn't that bad the first few days, but its weaknessess soon showed up. The main game is too easy in the beginning, too unfair and difficult in the end and overall too shallow and stale. Graphics and sound are hardly memorable and controls and physics just don't at all work how you'd wish them to.

    There's a giant pile of minigames, which can provide some multiplayer fun, but most of the games suffer from serious control problems or bad design.
    Expand
  2. AndyF.
    Mar 1, 2007
    3
    If you have ever played another monkey ball game, skip this one. If you play this one, it will make you wonder why they had to butcher such a great concept. The standard game has potential, and is fun to control to a point. Bu the boss battles are boring at best, and the levels get too difficult too fast. The fact that you must choose the level you want in between each level really slows If you have ever played another monkey ball game, skip this one. If you play this one, it will make you wonder why they had to butcher such a great concept. The standard game has potential, and is fun to control to a point. Bu the boss battles are boring at best, and the levels get too difficult too fast. The fact that you must choose the level you want in between each level really slows down the game. The game has no pause menu at all and the mini games are just worthless. Expand
  3. NatalieS.
    Jan 27, 2008
    4
    Between the eye scorching colours, annoying sound fx, inadequate controls, strange games and unoriginal, sonic-like feel, the game proved to be a big disappointment for me. Sega tried to make a sonic-like game and it feels just as such, except without the fun platform games, adventures and good controls. Its level-games strive to resemble Mario Galaxy but when the controls fail to respond Between the eye scorching colours, annoying sound fx, inadequate controls, strange games and unoriginal, sonic-like feel, the game proved to be a big disappointment for me. Sega tried to make a sonic-like game and it feels just as such, except without the fun platform games, adventures and good controls. Its level-games strive to resemble Mario Galaxy but when the controls fail to respond to the user's attempts and the screen spins out at a nauseating speed, you can see just how, well, out of control it is. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    6
    Super Monkey Ball is actually worse with the Wii controls than with the regular controller. As always, you tilt the course around to try and get your monkey to the goal. In this game, they incorporate boss battles and have fifty minigames to play. The main game itself is still a lot of fun and the tilting works okay, if a little tricky. What drags it down is the terrible boss battles thatSuper Monkey Ball is actually worse with the Wii controls than with the regular controller. As always, you tilt the course around to try and get your monkey to the goal. In this game, they incorporate boss battles and have fifty minigames to play. The main game itself is still a lot of fun and the tilting works okay, if a little tricky. What drags it down is the terrible boss battles that have no right to exist in this kind of game and by far are the most frustrating part of the game, except for the minigames. Out of the fifty minigames included, maybe five of them are fun to play due to absolutely terrible controls and lack of sophistication. The new Monkey Ball can be fun at times, but due to some major annoyances brings the series way downhill. Expand
  5. Hank
    Jul 7, 2009
    7
    If you played previous Super Monkey Ball Games and enjoyed them, then you will probably enjoy this one as well. I actually loved the single player on this game, it is extremely entertaining. The reason that it is only a 7 is because the multiplayer is not nerarly as good as the previous two entries for gamecube. Instead of having 6 very fun minigames, you receive 50 minigames that rangeIf you played previous Super Monkey Ball Games and enjoyed them, then you will probably enjoy this one as well. I actually loved the single player on this game, it is extremely entertaining. The reason that it is only a 7 is because the multiplayer is not nerarly as good as the previous two entries for gamecube. Instead of having 6 very fun minigames, you receive 50 minigames that range from horrendously boring to average and appear to have very little thought to them. I would however still recommend getting it with the price down to only $20 new. Expand
  6. MattD.
    Dec 12, 2006
    8
    The best version of Monkey Ball I've ever played. The single player game just makes sense with the Wiimote. Yes there are a lot of odd and a few unplayable minigames but there's some real gems too in there. So it's no terribly original or different from its earlier versions, but then neither's Zelda and that's a classic still on the Wii. It probably won't win The best version of Monkey Ball I've ever played. The single player game just makes sense with the Wiimote. Yes there are a lot of odd and a few unplayable minigames but there's some real gems too in there. So it's no terribly original or different from its earlier versions, but then neither's Zelda and that's a classic still on the Wii. It probably won't win over many folk who disliked earlier games, but fans will be pleased I'm sure. Expand
  7. It'sanawesomegame
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Everything is great about this game controls, graphics, stages, gameplay, replay-value! Buy this game!!!
  8. BobClarke
    Feb 4, 2008
    8
    Aside from a few mini-games that weren't fun and somewhat touchy controls, we had a blast playing with 4 players and didn't even get to all the games. Haven't played single-game mode yet, but at $29.99, it was a good value! If you want twists on familiar party games, check this out!
  9. JonathanCarrier
    Aug 7, 2009
    1
    I hate this game most of the mini games aren't fun, the single player manages to be the hardest thing ever and yet the bosses are easy because they actually give you hit me here weak spot arrows as if saying you're stupid. You'll watch as you careen your monkey balls out of control and wonder why it's so bad...well it just is...it just is.
  10. HippieB.
    Nov 20, 2006
    1
    This game is so dum even for a hippie like me. The will should come out with much better games then this, it is hard to control the monkey its like trying to find a needle in a hay stake. Just don't buy this game.
  11. AllistairP.
    Nov 26, 2006
    4
    Boring, annoying, and frustrating. It controls awful with the Wii. It was kind of a fun Marble Madness throwback with a controller, but with the wii it's unplayable. It might just be a learning curve, but as of right now I don't even want to pick it up again.
  12. JorgeV.
    Dec 2, 2006
    7
    It's not the greatest game out there, but the multiplayer modes are very fun. I would also agree that the learning curve for using the wii remote is fairly high, especially for those of us already learned in the button mashing, analog stick ways, but once you figure it out, it's worth it. Some of the games use of the remote is too finicky. Overall, it's worth it for the It's not the greatest game out there, but the multiplayer modes are very fun. I would also agree that the learning curve for using the wii remote is fairly high, especially for those of us already learned in the button mashing, analog stick ways, but once you figure it out, it's worth it. Some of the games use of the remote is too finicky. Overall, it's worth it for the multiplayer fun. Collapse
  13. RustyS.
    Dec 3, 2006
    8
    A good game. The controls are difficult at first, but you can get used to them in due time. In fact, I actually prefer the controls for this game now with the wiimote. However, this game doesn't retain the original's cool, arcade stylings which I miss, and the monkeys have gotten annoying. Good single player, but sometimes the levels are so frustrating that they make me want to A good game. The controls are difficult at first, but you can get used to them in due time. In fact, I actually prefer the controls for this game now with the wiimote. However, this game doesn't retain the original's cool, arcade stylings which I miss, and the monkeys have gotten annoying. Good single player, but sometimes the levels are so frustrating that they make me want to hurl a GameCube. The party games are always good for a laugh, and there are 50 of them. If you're a fan of Monkey Ball you should check it out. Expand
  14. AndrewG.
    Dec 20, 2006
    5
    I give it a 5 for the minigames, which are (on the whole) very bad. I've played about half of them, and only three were good: Hurdles (very simple), Red Light Green Light (frantic fun), and Monkey Wars (pretty good for a mini game). But for most of the minigames the controls are terrible. I would not want to play the minigames again. Single player is as fun and creative as usual, but I give it a 5 for the minigames, which are (on the whole) very bad. I've played about half of them, and only three were good: Hurdles (very simple), Red Light Green Light (frantic fun), and Monkey Wars (pretty good for a mini game). But for most of the minigames the controls are terrible. I would not want to play the minigames again. Single player is as fun and creative as usual, but the reason why I bought the old Monkey Ball game was for Monkey Target and Monkey Battle - the first of which is dumbed down, and the second of which I haven't seen yet in this version. Disappointing. Expand
  15. MisterT.
    Dec 26, 2006
    0
    Please, do yourself a favor and ignore any positive reviews this game received. It is the worst controlling game I've ever played and easily one of the most frustrating experiences I've ever had with a game.
  16. CloverG.
    Jan 9, 2007
    2
    The controls on this game are not good. I don't have any problem with the game concept, but you could have the best concept in the world (which this isn't) and if the controls don't work well then the game is useless. BTW, I haven't had any problems with the controls on other Wii games so my problems are not related to Wii setup issues.
  17. IanI.
    Jan 29, 2007
    6
    On a system plagued with mini game games this is by far the worst, I would think that Wario ware and even Ravin Rabids would fill the need for games of this type, but if your 6-8 and love the seriese it does have its moments. The explanation of the controls on each mini game is overly complicated though, possibly alienating the only audience that should be buying this game.
  18. Cdn-playa
    Mar 8, 2007
    7
    Controls can be frustrating but enough of the mini games are fun enough to play over and over again.
  19. RobG.
    Mar 10, 2007
    5
    The single player mode works well and is quite fun. The series is inherently frustrating and this game no different. The series has been crying out for the Wiimote and it uses it effectively. I found it painful to play for too long (>2 hours) as you have to have your arms free to control the wiimote proplerly, you really can't play this lazily. But enough of the positive, you can get The single player mode works well and is quite fun. The series is inherently frustrating and this game no different. The series has been crying out for the Wiimote and it uses it effectively. I found it painful to play for too long (>2 hours) as you have to have your arms free to control the wiimote proplerly, you really can't play this lazily. But enough of the positive, you can get that from Sega. The only decent multiplayer mini-games are so hard to find because there are so many terrible ones. You will be pulling your hair out with most of them or falling asleep. Expand
  20. SamF.
    Apr 23, 2007
    0
    This game is the worst game I have played on the Wii so far. I cannot believe how Sega have taken one of the most popular and entertaining games from the Gamecube and turned it into the must turgid and disappointing experience it is possible to get on the new and brilliant Wii. It seems to me they have taken the motion sensitive controller and invented ways of using it rather than This game is the worst game I have played on the Wii so far. I cannot believe how Sega have taken one of the most popular and entertaining games from the Gamecube and turned it into the must turgid and disappointing experience it is possible to get on the new and brilliant Wii. It seems to me they have taken the motion sensitive controller and invented ways of using it rather than thinking of ways it can be used to actually improve the game play. 50 minigames? What a joke... they have even ruined perfectly good minigames like Monkey Golf and Monkey Target with convoluted and awkward motion sensitive controls (that hardly work anyway). Avoid like the plague. How the magazines and review sites managed to give it more than zero points is beyond me. Expand
  21. [Anonymous]
    Apr 28, 2007
    5
    50 minigames for $49.99 sound like a best value. It not even worth it! Playing it make me feel like I play flash online game. Want Monkey in a ball and nice control ,buy Super Monkey Ball 1/2.Want mokey in a ball,but hate money buy this game.
  22. ToddH.
    May 7, 2007
    4
    We bought this specifically for playing together as a family. Unfortuantely, many of the mini games were frustrating for my 9 year old. She said can't we play a game with a normal controller. If you're interested in the minigames, I'd look elsewhere first.
  23. RobM.
    Jul 7, 2007
    5
    The mini games are lackluster, and only a few are worth playing more than once.... the single player is fun, but it is way too short, and the levels jump from really hard to really easy to really hard again....rent it first.
  24. Blaze
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    This is a really cool game. It has TONS of minigames that bring sasitfaction to me and sometimes, a bit of a challenge. I also like the new boss fights. The music is extremely satisfying and is one of the greatest tracks I have ever heard.
  25. SimonG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    I only played this game a few minutes. A friend brought it over to my place and never played the game again, which is a shame because I really enjoyed it. The main adventure mode is great and feels right at home on the Wii. Tilting the maze feels totally natural in the Super Monkey Ball universe. I would pick this game over Mercury Meltdown or Marble Mania at any time. It
  26. TotalJ.
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    I would recommend this game to rent and have fun with, or as a cheap used buy only. The game was fun when the Wii first came out because it was a chance to try out the new control scheme and see what it could do. About a year later, it's clear the game has little replay value. The main game is kind of fun until it becomes too hard and frustrating. The mini games are mostly badly I would recommend this game to rent and have fun with, or as a cheap used buy only. The game was fun when the Wii first came out because it was a chance to try out the new control scheme and see what it could do. About a year later, it's clear the game has little replay value. The main game is kind of fun until it becomes too hard and frustrating. The mini games are mostly badly executed and hard to control. There are a few fun ones like the monkey target game. Expand
  27. JoeC.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    Fun game, with lots of variety in mini games.
  28. ShawnP.
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    The single player isn't great, but the mini games are fantastic. Great fun for multiple players.
  29. LexingtonD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    2
    The controls are absolutely awful, and range from unresponsive to oversensitive. We kept losing our on-screen positions and could not recover. The games were either too short or too long, and the single-player mode was tired after the first few levels. This game has a very overt feel as having been developed for use with the Gamecube controller with the motion controls tacked on The controls are absolutely awful, and range from unresponsive to oversensitive. We kept losing our on-screen positions and could not recover. The games were either too short or too long, and the single-player mode was tired after the first few levels. This game has a very overt feel as having been developed for use with the Gamecube controller with the motion controls tacked on afterwards. This was a free rental for which I am going to pursue a refund or exchange. Just plain terrible. Expand
  30. FedorH.
    Dec 19, 2006
    1
    The best game ever made!

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2006
#12 Most Shared Wii Game of 2006
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    65
    So long as you stick with the multiplayer, this game is a decent monkey-filled ball. [Dec. 2006, p.116]
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    Moreover, Sega's done a fine job translating the control scheme for a game that demands precise movements to a controller that is, at best, imprecise. [Dec. 2006, p.58]
  3. 84
    If you've been on the fence about the Wii controls, put those fears to rest. True, there is a different technique involved, but once you get the hang of it you will be flying through levels with precision and speed. Now that I've played through Banana Blitz, I would not want to go back to the older control configurations.