• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The single-player puzzle levels in Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz have been designed to challenge gamers' skills like never before. For the first time in the Super Monkey Ball franchise, AiAi and his friends have the ability to jump when players flick the Nintendo Wii controller in anThe single-player puzzle levels in Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz have been designed to challenge gamers' skills like never before. For the first time in the Super Monkey Ball franchise, AiAi and his friends have the ability to jump when players flick the Nintendo Wii controller in an upward motion. The ability to jump has given game designers another dimension in which to expand the Super Monkey Ball gameplay experience and allows gamers a whole new way to interact with the franchise; this time in true three-dimensional fashion. The Party Games return with more variety than ever. An abundance of new Party Games have been designed to take advantage of the Wii controller in a multitude of ways. Gamers find themselves competing in a traditional game of ring toss, or even smacking pesky moles in a game of "Whack-a-Mole." [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Top single-player action, and multi-player that exploits the Wii controller brilliantly. [Christmas 2006, p.72]
  2. A party game that does a lot more than most to show off the possibilities of the controller, and a set of one-player levels that will enthrall, frustrate and capture your attention every bit as much as the previous Monkey Ball games did. [January 2007, p.47]
  3. While the single-player experience can be shallow, this game really shines in multiplayer. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  4. I challenge you to keep a straight face while playing Monkey Boxing... Which is what SMB:BB is all about, delivering a load of insane fun to keep you and your friends happy for hours and hours.
  5. The infrastructure stands and the game is fun, which is most important. But the additions can grate, and most of the minigames strike out, though multiplayer anything that requires people to make foolish gestures has some merit.
  6. It presents a good learning curve for those unaccustomed to the Wiimote, and stays true to the tried-and-tested Monkey Ball formula.
  7. Between odd design choices, forced motion control and a number of questionable mini-games, Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz doesn't exactly live up to the series' standards. However, some of the mini-games are pretty cool, if a bit shallow.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 36
  2. Negative: 16 out of 36
  1. It'sanawesomegame
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Everything is great about this game controls, graphics, stages, gameplay, replay-value! Buy this game!!!
  2. JoeC.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    Fun game, with lots of variety in mini games.
  3. Hank
    Jul 7, 2009
    7
    If you played previous Super Monkey Ball Games and enjoyed them, then you will probably enjoy this one as well. I actually loved the singleIf you played previous Super Monkey Ball Games and enjoyed them, then you will probably enjoy this one as well. I actually loved the single player on this game, it is extremely entertaining. The reason that it is only a 7 is because the multiplayer is not nerarly as good as the previous two entries for gamecube. Instead of having 6 very fun minigames, you receive 50 minigames that range from horrendously boring to average and appear to have very little thought to them. I would however still recommend getting it with the price down to only $20 new. Expand
  4. RobG.
    Mar 10, 2007
    5
    The single player mode works well and is quite fun. The series is inherently frustrating and this game no different. The series has been The single player mode works well and is quite fun. The series is inherently frustrating and this game no different. The series has been crying out for the Wiimote and it uses it effectively. I found it painful to play for too long (>2 hours) as you have to have your arms free to control the wiimote proplerly, you really can't play this lazily. But enough of the positive, you can get that from Sega. The only decent multiplayer mini-games are so hard to find because there are so many terrible ones. You will be pulling your hair out with most of them or falling asleep. Expand
  5. ToddH.
    May 7, 2007
    4
    We bought this specifically for playing together as a family. Unfortuantely, many of the mini games were frustrating for my 9 year old. She We bought this specifically for playing together as a family. Unfortuantely, many of the mini games were frustrating for my 9 year old. She said can't we play a game with a normal controller. If you're interested in the minigames, I'd look elsewhere first. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    3
    I loved the first two Super Monkey Ball games for the Gamecube. I was excited to play this game, but ended up returning it within a week.I loved the first two Super Monkey Ball games for the Gamecube. I was excited to play this game, but ended up returning it within a week.

    This was one of the launch titles for the Wii, and the controls show it. Some of the minigames are nearly impossible to control, and across the game there's a gimmicky over-use of the Wii Remote's motion sensors. All of the fun minigames from 1 & 2 are gone, replaced by more, smaller minigames. The most fun minigame for me was Rock-Paper-Scissors, which should give you an idea of the complexity and enjoyment value of the others.

    The graphics weren't bad for their time, but they look very childish.

    The story mode is the only redeeming factor, as it is similar to that of SMB2, but the ability to jump makes most stages too easy. You are forced to use the poorly implemented motion controls for everything, which ruined the experience for me.
    Expand
  7. MisterT.
    Dec 26, 2006
    0
    Please, do yourself a favor and ignore any positive reviews this game received. It is the worst controlling game I've ever played and Please, do yourself a favor and ignore any positive reviews this game received. It is the worst controlling game I've ever played and easily one of the most frustrating experiences I've ever had with a game. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews