Super Paper Mario Wii

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 415
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToddS.
    Nov 4, 2008
    6
    Changing from 2D to 3D to solve puzzles is fun. I like the platforming element to this game. But all in all, there isn't enough RPG elements to it, and it has little to no replay value.
  2. Joe
    May 20, 2007
    5
    I feel exactly how Steve E. feels toward this game. There are some really boring parts in this game. Running in the wheel for 6 minutes was horrible, typing please 8 times to get a clue was annoying, then having the clue be a 30 step process that needs to be written down.........Also the ninja level..... I am currently on the 8th world and cant wait to beat it so i can sell it on ebay. I feel exactly how Steve E. feels toward this game. There are some really boring parts in this game. Running in the wheel for 6 minutes was horrible, typing please 8 times to get a clue was annoying, then having the clue be a 30 step process that needs to be written down.........Also the ninja level..... I am currently on the 8th world and cant wait to beat it so i can sell it on ebay. Painfully boring at parts and the game is too easy, big letdown and over hyped IMO After you beat it once why would you want to play this again?????? Super Mario RPG is 1000x better. Expand
  3. TotalJ.
    Oct 30, 2007
    6
    I gave this a shot because it's a Mario game and because the graphics and art style are appealing. The game itself is a tedious journey. I admit I didn't finish the game, probably didn't even get halfway. 2d and 3d? Big deal. This game has very little action or strategy. Rent it and see, but don't buy blind or you'll probably regret it.
  4. GlenC.
    Jul 24, 2007
    6
    This game was a pain to get through. The gameplay was boring and frustrating for me, but admittedly I don't like rpg elements of most games. Some of the dialogue was pretty good (a lot of dialogue), and the visuals were very pretty. I can't complain about the control scheme except that I didn't see any of the style controls mentioned anywhere until after I beat the game. This game was a pain to get through. The gameplay was boring and frustrating for me, but admittedly I don't like rpg elements of most games. Some of the dialogue was pretty good (a lot of dialogue), and the visuals were very pretty. I can't complain about the control scheme except that I didn't see any of the style controls mentioned anywhere until after I beat the game. Probably my fault. I just didn't like this game all that much. It dragged on. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    7
    This was a fun and unique take on the Mario game concept. While I enjoyed playing it, the game's linear RPG storyline makes it unlikely you would want to play it more than once. The story is strange and funny (or at least tries to be), and the fact that you can switch from 1D to 3D added a cool dynamic to the gameplay. Over all, though, the pace was slow and the storyline was too goofy toThis was a fun and unique take on the Mario game concept. While I enjoyed playing it, the game's linear RPG storyline makes it unlikely you would want to play it more than once. The story is strange and funny (or at least tries to be), and the fact that you can switch from 1D to 3D added a cool dynamic to the gameplay. Over all, though, the pace was slow and the storyline was too goofy to really get me excited about playing. This would probably be very fun for its target audience, but older gamers might find it a bit simplistic and watered down. Expand
  6. SteveE.
    Apr 22, 2007
    6
    My wife loves this game, but me, not so much. I love, absolutely love, the old 2D Mario games. But this game is slow-paced and unexciting. There's a painful amount of lengthy dialog and backtracking. Two examples: having to run in a hamster wheel for 6 minutes or walk in a totally blank (white) level in one direction for 4 minutes. It's pointless, and you can't skip it. The My wife loves this game, but me, not so much. I love, absolutely love, the old 2D Mario games. But this game is slow-paced and unexciting. There's a painful amount of lengthy dialog and backtracking. Two examples: having to run in a hamster wheel for 6 minutes or walk in a totally blank (white) level in one direction for 4 minutes. It's pointless, and you can't skip it. The gameplay is fun when it's there, even though it mostly amounts to looking for keys to locked doors. I miss being able to hit a "run" button like all of the earlier Marios. Mario only moves at "walk" pace. He can't pick up shells now without the help of a Pixl, either. Where's the fun in that? This is the worst Mario game I've ever played, but it's still a Mario game. It's fun at times, just not constantly fun like earlier games. Expand
  7. DavidD.
    Jun 10, 2007
    7
    A very neat game. It still has the humour from te previous Paper Mario's, but it lacks the RPG element. The flipping between 2-D and 3-D is fun for a while, but it wears of fairly quick. If you are a fan of the series, it is worth a play through. The game is pretty straight forward and pretty easy. Rent it first too see if you like it or wait till it drops in price.
  8. SimonG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    6
    Here I am, commenting the fourth best game on the Wii according to all the critics. First, I think Super Mario Bros is by far the best 2D platformer series ever, period. Second, I don
  9. A.D.Olson
    Apr 20, 2007
    7
    A very, very basic game, with a boring storyline that's overdone. The platforming is not challenging in any way, shape, or form, and the only RPG elements that were left in were the annoying ones such as stupid run here, run there, talk to someone, and read more than you read through all of high school. The flipping to 3D is more annoying than anything else, and the presentation A very, very basic game, with a boring storyline that's overdone. The platforming is not challenging in any way, shape, or form, and the only RPG elements that were left in were the annoying ones such as stupid run here, run there, talk to someone, and read more than you read through all of high school. The flipping to 3D is more annoying than anything else, and the presentation loses a lot of polish when you're using component cables, in comparison to the 2D look and feel. All is not lost, however, as there are a few throwbacks to classic games and other Nintendo fanboyish things, and for that I gave it a few bonus points. I hope that there is a RUN ability in the next Mario game that Nintendo bothers to push out to us (or better yet, make a new IP rather than continually re-using Mario). Expand
  10. AndrewG.
    May 9, 2007
    7
    SPM's presentation is beautiful and nostalgic, but the gameplay is pretty boring. There are maybe 3 parts of the game (other than the pits of 100 trials) where the platforming is interesting. The 2D/3D mechanic is an extremely cool idea, but was not implemented particularly well. It becomes tedious because you have to constantly switch to 3D in order to make sure that you aren't SPM's presentation is beautiful and nostalgic, but the gameplay is pretty boring. There are maybe 3 parts of the game (other than the pits of 100 trials) where the platforming is interesting. The 2D/3D mechanic is an extremely cool idea, but was not implemented particularly well. It becomes tedious because you have to constantly switch to 3D in order to make sure that you aren't missing any secrets. In addition, while the writing is very funny, and some of the story elements of the chapters are well developed, it is really tiresome to be constantly reading. The worst part, in fact, is the beginning of the game because it takes way too long for the action to start. To top it off, the game is incredibly easy - the bosses, in particular, are complete jokes. If it weren't for the pits of 100 trials, the cool art style, and the (mostly gimmicky, but still interesting) 2D/3D mechanic, I would not recommend SPM. As it is though, I definitely recommend buying the game, even though it sadly failed to meet my expectations. Expand
  11. CameronS.
    Jul 20, 2007
    7
    A great addition to the Mario series, but the childish jokes and EXTREMELY long and boring cutscenes make it a game that nobody over 10 would enjoy thouroughly.
  12. Rick
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    So much text (becomes boring), also is not as too fun as previous Super Mario Bros 2 or 3.
  13. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    The game is not a Mario RPG... it really is something original. The game has lot's of charm, has clever puzzles and is often hilarious. BUT there are parts when I was wondering, "What were the developers thinking?!". Seriously, for every amazing part, such as a castle for dorks, video game hell & an amazing space shoot-out, there is a dumb, bland sequence. Literally, there is a part whereThe game is not a Mario RPG... it really is something original. The game has lot's of charm, has clever puzzles and is often hilarious. BUT there are parts when I was wondering, "What were the developers thinking?!". Seriously, for every amazing part, such as a castle for dorks, video game hell & an amazing space shoot-out, there is a dumb, bland sequence. Literally, there is a part where you run right in a blank white space for 5 minutes... WTF? Good for a rental, but if you want classic platforming, get Kirby, Donkey Kong or New Super Mario Bros Expand
  14. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    Don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but sometimes it feels like your just running around in circles! Want a good Mario game on Wii? Pick this if you want but if you are looking for the best Mario game on Wii, Galaxy 2 is for you then!
  15. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    The Paper Mario series by Intelligent Systems is a series of games dating back to the N64, Intelligent Systems took the reins of the Mario RPG series after Square made Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars, the games have always had colorful characters, interesting locations and worlds and witty writing. Super Paper Mario takes away the turn base format from previous titles for moreThe Paper Mario series by Intelligent Systems is a series of games dating back to the N64, Intelligent Systems took the reins of the Mario RPG series after Square made Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars, the games have always had colorful characters, interesting locations and worlds and witty writing. Super Paper Mario takes away the turn base format from previous titles for more of a plate former feel and action while still keeping the health and moves. While the new take on the series does feel fresh, the way the abilities and character switching completely wrenches the experience. To have to change from one character who can bomb to one that can hammer just gets annoying after a short time. At times it felt that the game was rushed, and rushed bad. The entire use of the mirror town of Flopside is completely under used and felt like a last second addition. In fact, this game lacks a lot of polish the previous games of the series had. Sure the other ones had a few slow chapters, but this one really gets to you.
    If you can trudge along then you'll enjoy it, if not then you'll be annoyed out of playing this game.
    Expand
  16. Dec 30, 2012
    7
    Meh. The gameplay is bad now, you still level up but there is no turn battle, and instead of partners you get pixels who have like one use. The replay value is even worse and the chapters weren't that good. Get the first two, this is good for about 1 or 2 playthroughs, still fun, but isn't comparable to the originals.
  17. May 15, 2012
    7
    +Different playable characters, +Different ways to approach classic Mario combat, +Re-playable levels, +A Mario story where Bowser isn't the antagonist. -Complete removal of the RPG system from the past 2 Paper Mario games, -Using the "Score" as an EXP system is sort of redundant. Although this game is different from the last two, I enjoyed it. Nintendo/IS should have named this game+Different playable characters, +Different ways to approach classic Mario combat, +Re-playable levels, +A Mario story where Bowser isn't the antagonist. -Complete removal of the RPG system from the past 2 Paper Mario games, -Using the "Score" as an EXP system is sort of redundant. Although this game is different from the last two, I enjoyed it. Nintendo/IS should have named this game something else to avoid confusion from avid Mario RPG fans. Collapse
  18. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    En su tiempo me encontré lo bastante ansioso y emocionado por esperar y obtener este título, jugándome en contra mi afición por muchas de las series de Nintendo. Al principio, me gustó mucho pero me fuí dando cuenta que es un juego que promete mucho pero que no te llena al final de todo. Si es uno para pasar el rato.
  19. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    Although this game was okay for me, it is not as good as Paper Mario from Nintendo 64. There's no more turn fights which used to get annoying on Paper Mario 64 (but where fun). What I liked about the game is the flip from 2D to 3D, the second world is really fun and the world about the nerd was also fun and even hilarious.

    The world about game over was rather scary which talked about
    Although this game was okay for me, it is not as good as Paper Mario from Nintendo 64. There's no more turn fights which used to get annoying on Paper Mario 64 (but where fun). What I liked about the game is the flip from 2D to 3D, the second world is really fun and the world about the nerd was also fun and even hilarious.

    The world about game over was rather scary which talked about hell and heaven and even that one business woman mentions if you where bad you'd suffer eternally (on a children's game what the There where also demons on that level (D-Man as they are called).

    What I hated about this game is that you need Mario to flip the world and you can't use the other characters because you can miss hidden stuff. I wish I could had played more with Peach or Bowser but the game didn't let me. Very bad. Also when you flip you have a meter which removes 1 HP each time the meter is over, after the 1 HP is reduced it starts over and I found it very annoying.

    The elevators at flipside are long and annoying, the pixls unlike the friends at Paper Mario 64 have no story at all and become useless, you even need a pixl for the hammer COME ON!

    In all the game was rather enjoyable.. but not as good as Paper Mario 64. Should you get this game? Maybe. Is it better than Paper Mario 64? NO!
    Expand
  20. Aug 15, 2013
    7
    Super Paper Mario is the third Paper Mario Game in the series. SPM is a very dark game for a Mario Game but has a very great story and takes quite a long time to complete the game. The weak point of this game is that the game really doesn't let you explore Flipside for the majority of the game.
  21. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The puzzles were cool. The overall game was decent, wasn't too difficult. Was extra fun as you got to play as many different of the Mario characters, not just Mario the whole way through. It was slightly childish in its execution, and at times slightly boring, and other times annoying. But overall was fun to play through. Expand
  22. Apr 30, 2014
    6
    This game wasn't bad but it was a bit of a disappointment. When it came out i thought it would be similar to the first 2, especially by looking at the box art. I did enjoy this game alot but it didnt even come close to the first 2 Paper Marios. Not only was the gameplay much different, the game was WAY to easy for me, i can get through the game without getting a game over. It was still funThis game wasn't bad but it was a bit of a disappointment. When it came out i thought it would be similar to the first 2, especially by looking at the box art. I did enjoy this game alot but it didnt even come close to the first 2 Paper Marios. Not only was the gameplay much different, the game was WAY to easy for me, i can get through the game without getting a game over. It was still fun but like i said, not the same. What was worse is that there was no turn based battling, but still leveling up which gave you a purpose to fighting enemies unlike Sticker Star. Most of the Pixls in the game were useless for most of the game. And the chapters were very short, on top of the game being easy with short levels it just got boring Expand
  23. Jun 12, 2015
    6
    Overrated. Not horrible, just overrated. It's decent fun, but I'm not a fan of Paper Mario. Overall ok, but not for me. Occasionally confusing, but the Flipside feature is cool.
  24. Oct 7, 2016
    5
    Art style is pretty ugly, boring partners. This game is just so boring, one of the worst paper mario games easy.

    Oh and don't forgett am i the only one who likes Super paper mario?

    This game is pretty garbage 5/10
  25. Jul 31, 2016
    7
    While not quite living up to its predecessors, this game is still very good in its own right.

    Right off the bat, this game's greatest strength is its great story, one with genuine intrigue, surprising plot twists, and characters on both sides having hidden agendas. This game may even top its predecessor in terms of overall story, even if it doesn't have the same advantages of having a
    While not quite living up to its predecessors, this game is still very good in its own right.

    Right off the bat, this game's greatest strength is its great story, one with genuine intrigue, surprising plot twists, and characters on both sides having hidden agendas. This game may even top its predecessor in terms of overall story, even if it doesn't have the same advantages of having a unique subplot for each chapter.

    Character wise, this game was a bit hit or miss. The villains are extremely memorable and unique, while for the most part, Mario's allies are a bit forgettable. The Pixl characters are a bit of wasted potential, since unlike Mario's partners of the previous games (the direct predecessor especially), they remain silent and essentially blend into the background for the rest of the game after their introduction cutscene.

    The game's main flaw is its gameplay, which, while not terrible, and actually blending platforming and RPG elements in an interesting way, does get a bit stale and repetitive after a while.

    But, if you can look past the the gameplay flaws, you'll find a decent game that still maintains the spirit of the Paper Mario series in its incredible story.
    Expand
  26. May 15, 2012
    0
    +Different playable characters, +Different ways to approach classic Mario combat, +Re-playable levels, +A Mario story where Bowser isn't the antagonist. -Complete removal of the RPG system from the past 2 Paper Mario games, -Using the "Score" as an EXP system is sort of redundant. Although this game is different from the last two, I enjoyed it. Nintendo/IS should have named this game+Different playable characters, +Different ways to approach classic Mario combat, +Re-playable levels, +A Mario story where Bowser isn't the antagonist. -Complete removal of the RPG system from the past 2 Paper Mario games, -Using the "Score" as an EXP system is sort of redundant. Although this game is different from the last two, I enjoyed it. Nintendo/IS should have named this game something else to avoid confusion from avid Mario RPG fans. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#3 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    It feels and looks polished, considerate, and expensive. [Apr 2007, p.40]
  2. Anyone with half a heart will absolutely fall in love with the characters, the graphics, the dialogue, the old-school shout-outs to previous games, the little visual effects lingering in the skies of every world... the love just keeps plopping out of the speakers at an incredible rate. For every annoying, excessively long fetch quest or mundane puzzle, there's a huge, cutesy payoff that makes all the trouble worthwhile.
  3. 89
    It controls tightly and uses the Wii remote in a smart manner without stepping into forced territory. The new 2D-to-3D dynamic is built around clever and surprisingly complex puzzles that will challenge and impress you. And it all comes together to make Super Paper Mario a highly enjoyable title, whether you want to call it a platformer, an RPG, or something in-between.