Super Paper Mario Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The newest chapter of the Paper Mario story isn't just out of this world ... it's out of this dimension. What at first glance appears to be a 2-D sidescroller ripped straight from the pages of the Paper Mario universe soon turns into a 3-D action-adventure that defies all video game logic.The newest chapter of the Paper Mario story isn't just out of this world ... it's out of this dimension. What at first glance appears to be a 2-D sidescroller ripped straight from the pages of the Paper Mario universe soon turns into a 3-D action-adventure that defies all video game logic. Fusing 2-D and 3-D perspectives, not to mention RPG and platformer elements, the game slips back and forth between dimensions. The action sprawls across eight worlds filled with traps, puzzles, bizarre mysteries and items that often draw themselves out of thin air. Oh, and just because Mario's in the title doesn't mean he's the only star – players also get to play as Peach and Bowser. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Probably the perfect game for those that enjoyed New Super Mario Bros. and don't mind reading a bit too much as it has an actual story and cutscenes...This game is so engaging that you won't quit without finishing the game and finding out what happens at the end.
  2. It’s relatively shallow but contains enjoyable combat, and is packed full of secrets and wonderfully realized worlds. [June 2007, p.102]
  3. 90
    Virtually everything you come into contact with during your time spent with this game is laden with a truly warped sense of humor.
  4. With Super Paper Mario, Intelligent Systems has crafted a game that will appeal to fans of both the platforming and RPG genres.
  5. The switch to 3D is dazzling. The rest of the game, not so much.
  6. Blending classic platform game elements with a humourous storyline and a cool dimension-flipping gimmick makes this one of the most satisfying Mario games in years.
  7. 70
    When push leads inexorably to shove, there are probably two good games here. The problem is that you have to play them both at the same time. Those of us that would have preferred a pure platformer, or indeed a pure RPG experience, will suffer the most. Those that are happy to live with the combination will find a compelling experience, with well written dialogue, innovative play dynamics and bucket loads of Nintendo charm.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 120
  2. Negative: 15 out of 120
  1. TroyB.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    This is the best Paper Mario game yet, and a very unique game incorporating so many different elements from very different but equally This is the best Paper Mario game yet, and a very unique game incorporating so many different elements from very different but equally classic genres, making it an instant classic in my opinion. Easily the sleeper hit of the season! Expand
  2. RyanO.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Great game, good retro feel. Tricky puzzles to figure out. an My 9 year old loves it Was never that big fan of mario but this has changed it Great game, good retro feel. Tricky puzzles to figure out. an My 9 year old loves it Was never that big fan of mario but this has changed it around Flippin fantastic. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Here's my take on this game: The gameplay is fairly simple, but can get REALLY fun. I admit, it is a somewhat easy game, but that's not whatHere's my take on this game: The gameplay is fairly simple, but can get REALLY fun. I admit, it is a somewhat easy game, but that's not what compels you to keep playing. That's the story's job. This game has one of the most compelling stories I've ever seen in a video game, let alone a Mario game. It'll occasionally throw a curveball at you, be it a plot twist, character revelation, etc. Despite being a Mario game, it can get surprisingly dark, especially in worlds 2, 5, and 6. Combined with beautiful artwork, good level design, and multiple ways of playing, this is a game that is an experience you won't want to miss. Unless you're, I don't know, a prick who hates creativity and a good story? Expand
  4. JesseS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Not perfect, but a lot of fun. Great level design. Occasionally a bit wordy. And, yeah, there are a few parts that seem needlessly repetitive Not perfect, but a lot of fun. Great level design. Occasionally a bit wordy. And, yeah, there are a few parts that seem needlessly repetitive (Hamster wheel and "please" task, I'm looking at you). But, overall, we've had a blast playing it. Expand
  5. ScottM.
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    Alright, lets face it, Super Paper Mario is a great game. But the thing about it is that it doesn't have the RPG battling style like the Alright, lets face it, Super Paper Mario is a great game. But the thing about it is that it doesn't have the RPG battling style like the two previous Paper Mario games did. But it really wasn't all that bad. Like the previous Paper Mario games, you can complete it in less than 24 hours. The story is Fantastic. Especially the chemistry between Timpani and Blumiere. And the fact that Count Bleck really wasn't all that evil, it was just his past that made him think that way. And they put enough detail about that by doing something a little less noticable: The fact that Count Bleck never Punished his minions. The worst thing was probably when O'Chunks had to sing that song 1,000 times, but it was Nastasia that issued that punishment, not the Count. As for partners, you have the pixls. At first they're pretty cool, but then you start to miss the original partners like the goombas, koopas, etc. Another problem is when you start to travel to Flopside. Its not that bad, but its like, first you come out of the door on the to of Flipside Tower, then you go down two floors, then you go throught the Mirror Hall, then you get to Flopside. The you go to wherever the Heart Pillar is, then the door opens back where you started, so you have to retrace your steps. I believe that starts in Chapter 5. So for three chapters, you have to do that. So much dialogue, but if your used to the other games in the series, you should be fine. Some of the stuff that they say is actually pretty funny. I decide to rate this an 8. Expand
  6. Rick
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    So much text (becomes boring), also is not as too fun as previous Super Mario Bros 2 or 3.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    I remember when I was a kid that my favorite game on the Gamecube was Paper Mario The Ten Thousand year door and when I heard that there was aI remember when I was a kid that my favorite game on the Gamecube was Paper Mario The Ten Thousand year door and when I heard that there was a new Paper Mario game coming soon I got hyped more then for Super Smash Bros. Brawl. I couldn't wait but little did I know I was waiting for a huge kick in the balls. The game was basically New Super Mario Bros. RPG (infact I would have preferred that title much more). With a boring storyline (that I can't imagine any kids understanding), graphics that are an insult to the Wii, terrible partners (I prefer one done well then 9 with no soul), Navi/Tippi, bad boss fights (excluding the first one), a main villain with no incentive (other then just take over the world), and some of the worst levels I've ever seen. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.