Super Smash Bros. Brawl Wii

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1695 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DivineStorm
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever. Maybe even better than tekken 3,castlevania symphony of the night,super mario galaxy and metroid prime.
  2. totlmstr
    Jul 3, 2008
    8
    It's not the absolute best game out there; I agree with the people who say "It can get boring after a while", as that it can. The two major downsides to the game is the low replayablity it has, and the fact that "Microsoft fanboys" (looks that way for most bad ratings, since a stupid person among them said that Halo 3 has more guns, etc.; how did that get there?) will rate it badly It's not the absolute best game out there; I agree with the people who say "It can get boring after a while", as that it can. The two major downsides to the game is the low replayablity it has, and the fact that "Microsoft fanboys" (looks that way for most bad ratings, since a stupid person among them said that Halo 3 has more guns, etc.; how did that get there?) will rate it badly for no apparant reason (Ex.: a guy in the reviews said "you can't even see your own HP", which is the reason to his low score; wow). Single-player, on the other hand, is the one thing that raises the bar for SSBB. SSE (one guy among the reviews said "Space Station Emassary," lol). It actually is the best thing in the game, but it only lasts for less than 5 hours if you want to finish quickly. Then again, raise the bar to Intense mode on it and you got a killer 'sub'-game (i.e., 2 games in one; perfect). Also, Intense mode on any game mode (Boss Battles, for example) makes any mode extremely challenging, but frustrating, and that makes me come back for more. AI is incredible, to say the least. On Level 9 AI in 4-Vs., Sonic, for example, is jawdroping. He seriously goes nuts on the stage, making him an excellent fighter to fight against. My personal favorite in the game is Lucario, since his attacks can be more powerful to a point where he's over-powered (300% and Last-place can instant-KO anyone over 50%). And you do not want to miss out on Snake's Codec messages: they're too hilarious. I believe it's the single-player that's better than the multi-, since there's not a lot of variation between the fighters (3 Fox Clones?!). If only Nintendo removed the clones in the game, or at least made the clones different from each other (Toon Link to have the Phantom Hourglass would've been great), then it would've gotten a higher score. Then again, who's the guy complaining about a 94-rated game: fanboys? Expand
  3. JoshuaD.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    I've had this game for at least 4 months now, and I still don't have all the challenges complete. When my friends come over, the first thing we do is play ssbb. Good job Nintendo for making one of the best video games that the Wii has to offer.
  4. NathanW.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    It's effectively a love letter to Nintendo fans after over 20 years of wonderful treats and treasures, crammed full of references and easter eggs that will make you smile like a clown on nitrous oxide.
  5. AlexM.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Good...no... great, no... AMAZING game. it lasts forever, and is even greater fun with more than one person. you can have tournaments, bets, and who knows what else. just get it. Trust me.
  6. KentL.
    Jun 30, 2008
    4
    It's not a bad game, but it's not a Wii game either. It could work equally on any platform. It takes no advantage of the controls glory that makes the Wii the Wii. In fact, although you could play it with with both the regular controller and the nunchuck, my family finds it easier to play with just the regular controller horizontally as if it was a 1980s through early 00s It's not a bad game, but it's not a Wii game either. It could work equally on any platform. It takes no advantage of the controls glory that makes the Wii the Wii. In fact, although you could play it with with both the regular controller and the nunchuck, my family finds it easier to play with just the regular controller horizontally as if it was a 1980s through early 00s controller! The game is either just a player version player on one screen (ala Rampage) or a solo player side to side w/ slight vertical scrolling platform game. The graphics are good and some of the character animations are attractive. Playing as chars from various games is mildly pleasant but the game does little to deepen them as characters. The sound is average as is the game play for a scroller. I hate the controls. Nothing is more frustrating when I go to shoot left but instead and shooting right, completely missing the target. And don't get me started on trying to jump and not actually jumping. I think the game is fine although I wouldn't have purchased it knowing that's what it is. Expand
  7. NohC.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Great game, i have all 3 ssb and melee looks like a demo compared to brawl. I can play 3 hours a day. Also wifi battles are rely cool. this is not a waste of money. I give my word to all parents, its a great game your kid will live. Not a waste. 10 out of 10.
  8. JohnE.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    The Wii many people under estimate the console but Super Smash Bros Brawl shows how good the Wii can be. The graphics and levels are fully detailed if your a regular Super Smash Bros player you know what your going to get with the game. If you have not played this before it is worth checking out if you hated SSBB then you should of checked out the other games earlier. S.S.B has taken a The Wii many people under estimate the console but Super Smash Bros Brawl shows how good the Wii can be. The graphics and levels are fully detailed if your a regular Super Smash Bros player you know what your going to get with the game. If you have not played this before it is worth checking out if you hated SSBB then you should of checked out the other games earlier. S.S.B has taken a big step with adding a brand new mode as it now has it's own story known as Subspace Emissary where you will find all Nintendo characters teaming up with each other. Also this adds Sega's Sonic The Hedgehog and Konami's Solid Snake which adds more fun to the brawl. The online has problems with getting in a match it lags quite a bit making it sometimes unplayable. Anyway this game is worth buying it is a must for any Smash Bros fan. Expand
  9. RichardO.
    Jun 29, 2008
    1
    Never played a Smash Bros game before and probably never will again. Utterly confusing, no explanation of what you're supposed to do. Didn't like it at all.
  10. TimJ.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Great game, great action.
  11. SteveR.
    Jun 27, 2008
    5
    I was looking forward to this, and was sucked in the hype. Its essentially a platform game, where you run back, forth and jump. It doesn't really utilize the Wii's #D, 360 degree play capability. There are better games out there.
  12. CianM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    I loved this game. I have about 50-70 hours racked up and still going. In response to everyone saying it's not different enough from Melee, well what do you want? There was little that could be improved and the vast majority of sequels don't do much to change the core gameplay. This takes any problems with Melee and chucks them out the window. Anyway let's just say I loved this game. I have about 50-70 hours racked up and still going. In response to everyone saying it's not different enough from Melee, well what do you want? There was little that could be improved and the vast majority of sequels don't do much to change the core gameplay. This takes any problems with Melee and chucks them out the window. Anyway let's just say it's an easy game to play but difficult to master Expand
  13. SamB.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Any sega fans dream would be able to kick the crap out of Mario with sonic and now u can do it. thanks nintendo.
  14. DrewH.
    Jun 15, 2008
    0
    Terrible Fighting Techniques, very bad combat system, repetitive techniques, no competitive factor. Huge letdown in general. I regret wasting 60$ on this game.
  15. ManoelQ.
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    "Super Smash Bros. Brawl" is an intense game, which makes you play for hours without wanting to stop. The game is perfect in replay and fun manners, but it has long loading screens and the Solo Mode could be a little better.
  16. Brian
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    Truly the best of the series so far. Vastly imroved graphics, smash balls, and the new Subspace Emissary make this one of the best games on the Wii. No other game has had all my relatives on one HD TV and watch us Brawl till there is no tomorrow! A large amount of characters, items, stages, and modes keeps this game so fresh through out the days I play. Also, the challanges the game has Truly the best of the series so far. Vastly imroved graphics, smash balls, and the new Subspace Emissary make this one of the best games on the Wii. No other game has had all my relatives on one HD TV and watch us Brawl till there is no tomorrow! A large amount of characters, items, stages, and modes keeps this game so fresh through out the days I play. Also, the challanges the game has is the closest thing to Xbox 360's Achievements the Wii can get. The only downside to this is the online. When you play "With Anyone", it almost never gets me with another Brawler quick, and sometimes it disconnects. "With Friends" is slightly better, but sometimes it is very laggy. JUST BY THIS GAME!! Expand
  17. LanceC.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    The game is very fun. So fun tht it will keep your interest for many months ,or even years, to come. Although I don't believe any game can be perfect, since nothing is perfect, this game does stand up there. I do complain about the stale stage builder and Nintendo probably rushed with online gameplay. Subspace Emmissary is pretty fun for the first time, but then you will notice it The game is very fun. So fun tht it will keep your interest for many months ,or even years, to come. Although I don't believe any game can be perfect, since nothing is perfect, this game does stand up there. I do complain about the stale stage builder and Nintendo probably rushed with online gameplay. Subspace Emmissary is pretty fun for the first time, but then you will notice it sometimes get repetitive. I also think they should have kept some thing from melee, like not weakening some of the fighters, or slower speed. Overall, it is still very good and a must-have for the wii. Expand
  18. EtuS.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    This is just awesome! The best game ever!
  19. Chris
    Jun 5, 2008
    8
    People that say this is just a clone of the old games with better graphics haven't played the previous games. Melee was much faster paced and used a much more sensitive jump system that made shorthopping difficult. Brawl uses a slower fighting system that increases recovery chance over melee. Its easier for new people to pick up brawl but at the same time, it made it impossible to be People that say this is just a clone of the old games with better graphics haven't played the previous games. Melee was much faster paced and used a much more sensitive jump system that made shorthopping difficult. Brawl uses a slower fighting system that increases recovery chance over melee. Its easier for new people to pick up brawl but at the same time, it made it impossible to be a true pro of brawl. The difference between and average player and a pro in melee was huge. In brawl, its not nearly as big of a difference. Overall, its a good game but its not going to be as competitive unfortunately. Expand
  20. AlvinH.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    Someone gave it a 0 which is just being ignorant and it made me really angry because for what's out for the Wii right now it's the best of the best.
  21. JoshuaL.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    This game is really exciting. I have been playing this game since I got it and there are many things to do. Some of the modes were copied from melee and are similar but they improved it and made it better. The multiplayer is a blast with friends and some of the new items and rules make it more action packed and amazing. The graphics on the characters are well detailed but I don't This game is really exciting. I have been playing this game since I got it and there are many things to do. Some of the modes were copied from melee and are similar but they improved it and made it better. The multiplayer is a blast with friends and some of the new items and rules make it more action packed and amazing. The graphics on the characters are well detailed but I don't really mind about how good or bad the graphics are, I always play this game whenever I have a chance and I enjoy playing it all the time. Expand
  22. AreYouSerious
    May 28, 2008
    1
    There is no function served in playing this - all you do is mash buttons and it has no real impact on anything. What a waste of money.
  23. TomH.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Anyone who doest like this game because they just don't is a retard. and yes I'm talking about everyone who use the 5 immortal words 'i just don't like it'. i can understand people not liking the game its just when people cant be bothered to explain to everyone who reads it why they don't like it that is when the review becomes completely pointless and Anyone who doest like this game because they just don't is a retard. and yes I'm talking about everyone who use the 5 immortal words 'i just don't like it'. i can understand people not liking the game its just when people cant be bothered to explain to everyone who reads it why they don't like it that is when the review becomes completely pointless and unhelpful it is simply stating your opinion on something an opinion that people who don't know you don't care about all they care about is what the game is like not whether you like it or not. Expand
  24. AnonymousConnor
    May 24, 2008
    10
    All these people who say it's overrated obviously are mentally challenged or they need to hang themselves from meathooks. Easily earns a 10.
  25. JackH.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed Melee, so I like Brawl just as much, if not more. I'm glad that you can now create your own stages, and I only dislike 2 or 3 characters (thank god Pichu got left out). Online was a little disappointing, but overall it is one of the best games for the Wii.
  26. Ptolemy
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Its a love letter to all Nintendo fans. Its got great multiplayer and tons of stuff for the completionist in you. I can't give it a perfect score because its not for everyone. But, for dyed in the wool Nintendo fans, its a perfect 10 all the way.
  27. DougL
    May 23, 2008
    7
    This game does not do anything very well the four player action is some what random. The one player mode is kinda cheesy and it doens't use the motion controls to heighten the experience, maybe i'm getting old but this game did not impress me.
  28. JoshS.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is so much better than the previous ones. It shows you don't have to change anything to make a game better.
  29. JoshuaM.
    May 23, 2008
    8
    An awesome game, but there were some problems with play testing in that some of the old characters like link is pretty shit now whereas other new characters like pit and lucas are a bit overpowered. Still a really fun game to play
  30. KyleF.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    This game takes everything that made the other Super Smash Bros games amazing and does the unthinkable: makes it better. It's amazingly well balanced, gameplay is refined to a tee, I can't think of a better game.
  31. RoyM.
    May 22, 2008
    6
    SO overrated. Most new features aren't good. Online is awful.
  32. Maslab
    May 21, 2008
    8
    Very fun, especially when Mario beats Peach in to a bloody submission. However, it really is just more of the same, and the use of the Wii motion sensing would've been really fun.
  33. NicholasA.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    It's a pretty great game, I'm not sure whether it's better than melee competitively though.
  34. RedGreen
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Offline-wise, this game is at perfection. Online-wise, this game is a piece of crap If you are buying this game, it is definitely not for its online capabilities. It will need to be on the PS3 or the Xbox 360. before I buy it for online play. Online - 2 Offline - 10!
  35. AndreB.
    May 13, 2008
    4
    They managed to create a button masher for the system that was supposed to end button mashing. The game is fun for about 5 minutes, until you realize it never actually gets any deeper than doing the same moves over and over and over.
  36. NicolasB.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    The mere multitude of features this game holds is recognition enough to buy this game. The gathering of Nintendo's most nostalgic of characters brings the new 2D/3D fighter to a whole new level with the lot of modes one (and their friends') can do. The multiplayer, whether it's just you playing against computer players or an all out brawl with your friends, offers the main The mere multitude of features this game holds is recognition enough to buy this game. The gathering of Nintendo's most nostalgic of characters brings the new 2D/3D fighter to a whole new level with the lot of modes one (and their friends') can do. The multiplayer, whether it's just you playing against computer players or an all out brawl with your friends, offers the main dish to the feast that is Super Smash Bros. Brawl. Especially in this mode you get the maximum replay value which you'll find yourself going back to years to come. Now most of this is basic knowledge to anyone at this point but the nostalgia that Nintendo gives the gamer in this gamer could make Nintendo Fanboy froth at the mouth. In fact, the first game in the series is what turned me on to the esteemed lineage of Nintendo games. A must buy, for anyone, and make sure you clear your calender too. You won't be leaving the house for awhile. Expand
  37. OwenM
    May 6, 2008
    7
    Brawl is a good game, but it doesn't bring anything really new to the table. While it has a vastly superior single player mode, the story itself is empty and really isn't worth the 7 hours or so to play through it. The speed of gameplay has been brought down. I don't think anyone is a fan of the random tripping either. It's a great game to buy if you don't already Brawl is a good game, but it doesn't bring anything really new to the table. While it has a vastly superior single player mode, the story itself is empty and really isn't worth the 7 hours or so to play through it. The speed of gameplay has been brought down. I don't think anyone is a fan of the random tripping either. It's a great game to buy if you don't already have Smash Bros Melee. Expand
  38. CalebraD.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The best the Wii has to offer. Worth buying a Wii for. A must have for any gamer.
  39. AlecC.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The epitome of multi-player gaming action. Enough content to last another decade. Too much depth to be called a "Fighting Game."
  40. JustinS
    May 4, 2008
    10
    WHAT ARE SOME OF YOU PEOPLE THINKING!!!!! This is one of the greatest games out on the market. If you don't like how they are not changing anything, then go play something else. I wouldn't change anything ether if the first two where complete hits, what's the point? I say keep up the good work.
  41. ErnieU.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    I thnk its the best game on this console great graphic improvment and gameplay expecially the final smash.
  42. FabianH.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    The people who rated it low are probably just jealous becous they couldnt get it becous its sold out. And yeah its true its almost the same but with new characters songs options and features. But if they change the gameplay too much it wouldnt be smash bros. anymore, it would just be another fighting game. Jay I know its not true that you have just as much fun with the original smash The people who rated it low are probably just jealous becous they couldnt get it becous its sold out. And yeah its true its almost the same but with new characters songs options and features. But if they change the gameplay too much it wouldnt be smash bros. anymore, it would just be another fighting game. Jay I know its not true that you have just as much fun with the original smash bros. becous it almost got no characters and much features of brawl are not in it like the stage builder. And the gameplay of brawl is faster than the other smash bros games. Expand
  43. TSwan
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Deep as a fighter, Nintendo history class, and multiplayer game. No fight is EVER the same. Millions of collectables, online matches, definitely 100%.
  44. BengtL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's absolutely fantastic!
  45. JoeL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Not very fun. The game does not have the same feel as the older smash bros. I tried playing it for a while but lost interest.
  46. RandyY.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    There is really nothing bad I can say.
  47. MikeG.
    Apr 27, 2008
    3
    Sorry but this game is for people who don't like depth in thier fighting games. many matches will be lost because someone fell off a platform, and three buttons dedicated to jumping?!? Too much random action, not enough combos per charicter. I want to like the Wii, but if mariokart is another last-gen retread like this game(i hope the leave computer assisted catch-up off, but...), Sorry but this game is for people who don't like depth in thier fighting games. many matches will be lost because someone fell off a platform, and three buttons dedicated to jumping?!? Too much random action, not enough combos per charicter. I want to like the Wii, but if mariokart is another last-gen retread like this game(i hope the leave computer assisted catch-up off, but...), 'k*** m* a**' to all you fanboys that gave this game a 10 and got tired of it the next day. Expand
  48. JailS.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    This is the best game on the Wii, even if the online service is rather lukewarm- But who cares, you get to beat the crud out of people from around the world or your friends, AND you get to shame them with your taunts.
  49. DanteR.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Far more balanced than melee and I love playing online with my friends. Great game.
  50. MikeK.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    absolutely fantastic. Everything a gamer could want piled into a super-mash up fighting game.
  51. ZackD.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Brawl really achieves what was expected from it. Not only is the mulitplayer just as good as melee (with extra characters to make it better), but the new one player modes make the game endless fun.
  52. Peter
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Spartian Gamer1342 What do you think this game is? Doom 3? This game is awesome. More unlockables than you can find in a safehouse, though the Wii Remote alone would sour some of the experience.
  53. AndyO.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    A very great game. Ussualy ill expect zeros from people that live halo or ect. but im kinda shocked how people who played this jewel of a series. You need to find some good in this game. Im a big nintendo fan (even though i have been on the computer most of the time now), and the graphix and sound are very good. They kept the gameplay the same for the most part and added some nessecary A very great game. Ussualy ill expect zeros from people that live halo or ect. but im kinda shocked how people who played this jewel of a series. You need to find some good in this game. Im a big nintendo fan (even though i have been on the computer most of the time now), and the graphix and sound are very good. They kept the gameplay the same for the most part and added some nessecary features (the final smashes are just SWEET). The balance is perfect, all the extras make this game worth the buy. Dont get me started on the replayability, you will be playing this game in 5, 7, 10 years from now (exgaggeration, 4 or 5 seems reasonable). Sure... the thing is like a clone (but better!) but i think nintendo recognizes when a concept has reached its full potential. (if they can find another thing to raise the bar on this, they deserve a award) The only thing i think would need improvement is the online play (its kinda slopy, looks like it was made in a hurry) and the mapmaker (add some more depth!!!!). Expand
  54. eric
    Apr 19, 2008
    1
    One could write a 10-page essay on the many ways Nintendo has screwed over its long-time fans in the past few years. For me, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is the greatest example because I am (or was) such a fan of the series. It
  55. NintendoNerds
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    Awesome game. The more I play it, the more addicted I come.
  56. PritenV.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    I am a pro of Melee (yes, that means a tourney player) and while I regret the loss of wavedashing and other advanced moves and techniques, I have no reason to fuss over it when Nintendo has delivered to us what is probably the best game it ever created, except for maybe Super Mario Bros. The nostalgia alone should force any reasonable fan to get this game-the Chronicle is a list of every I am a pro of Melee (yes, that means a tourney player) and while I regret the loss of wavedashing and other advanced moves and techniques, I have no reason to fuss over it when Nintendo has delivered to us what is probably the best game it ever created, except for maybe Super Mario Bros. The nostalgia alone should force any reasonable fan to get this game-the Chronicle is a list of every Nintendo game ever created! Unbelievable! This is easily the best game in the series and there can be no doubt: if you have a Wii, you need to have this game in your collection. Expand
  57. SiriusB.
    Apr 16, 2008
    9
    Its really fun. Simple as that, If you really want to analyse every little aspect then go ahead. I just know that its fun whilst still being able to be a competitive fighting game.
  58. MattB
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    This was Awsome all around there was never a dull moment. The addition of the Sub Space Emissary was awsome i loved playing throuhg the story that way in stead of doing the exact same levels over and over like in Melee. The Graphics were amazing! The add feature of being able to create and play on your own levels is amazing part all in its self. All in all I would recommend everyone with This was Awsome all around there was never a dull moment. The addition of the Sub Space Emissary was awsome i loved playing throuhg the story that way in stead of doing the exact same levels over and over like in Melee. The Graphics were amazing! The add feature of being able to create and play on your own levels is amazing part all in its self. All in all I would recommend everyone with a Wii to buy this game IMMEDIATLY!! Expand
  59. PhillipV.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    I don't fully understand how this game could get anything but a 10. It was easily the best Super Smash Bros. game that I have played to date. The characters were all easy to use and the Sub Space Emessary was amazing. 10/10. Way to raise the bar Nintendo!
  60. AnthonyB.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    I've always been a fan of the SSB. series. Brawl was definitely did justice to the series. Melee was definitely a bit too fast paced, and the original just wasn't smooth. In Brawl however, combining the smoothness of melee, and the speed of the original, it makes the gameplay a lot more appealing to beginners, and still be playable for veterans. Still staying to the simple 2 I've always been a fan of the SSB. series. Brawl was definitely did justice to the series. Melee was definitely a bit too fast paced, and the original just wasn't smooth. In Brawl however, combining the smoothness of melee, and the speed of the original, it makes the gameplay a lot more appealing to beginners, and still be playable for veterans. Still staying to the simple 2 button attacks, but with incredible amount of depth. I didn't expect much from a Wii motion sensing game, because this is an all out BRAWL fighter. Using motion sensing would make the game a bit to slippery, and for the hardcore, that's not very good. The lead director stated that "If this was a 1st party Nintendo game, we would definitely have included motion sensing." Which Brawl is not, it's a 2nd party game. Comparing Halo 2 to Halo 3, the control scheme isn't that different either, and so is the sixaxxis to the dual shock 2. My favorite character (Link), was a bit nerfed, which only made my matched harder, which I like that. In Melee, I was hauling so much *ss, not in Brawl, I have to try just a bit more. It goes to show, they definitely were able to balance the characters out more. Some people just aren't good at this game. The people that say it's boring, I agree... when I'm playing by myself. Playing the lvl9 com players does get a bit repetitive. But that's the point, this game is a party game. Go to a college party, Cod 4/Halo3/Rock Band/ Guitar Hero... and now Brawl, is going to be at that party. Playing with friends is what made the game so fun in the first place. When you're with your friends, it's just a blast. The single player... is meh. It's a 10 hour long experience, and you kinda have to force your way through it. But comparing the greatness of the mutiplayer. The near infinite amount of unlockables, and the customizations. It's a game that everyone Wii user should get. Expand
  61. GameM.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Super Smash Brothers Brawl is definitely worth the money. Even though its been called overrated and a cash cow, the action and many variant modes will keep you playing for hours. The graphics, while below that of PS3 and Xbox 360, are superb from a Wii standpoint. Plenty of modes to play, as well as online options that are excellent. The only annoying thing about the game is the 12 digit Super Smash Brothers Brawl is definitely worth the money. Even though its been called overrated and a cash cow, the action and many variant modes will keep you playing for hours. The graphics, while below that of PS3 and Xbox 360, are superb from a Wii standpoint. Plenty of modes to play, as well as online options that are excellent. The only annoying thing about the game is the 12 digit friend codes you must share to play with your friends, and the Subspace Emmissary (story mode) is a little boring, however, you need to play through it to unlock characters and stages. An overall good experience. Expand
  62. Michael
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    You know a game is awesome when the only bad thing people say about it is that 'it didnt reinvent the series'. Smash players don't want a reinvention, they want more content! We've all been spoiled by melee, and Sakurai delivers even more than any of us thought possible. I'm still playing melee, and I'll still be playing brawl in 10 years time!
  63. ZachC.
    Apr 12, 2008
    0
    Bored after 2 minutes. I don't get the hype.
  64. MarkusG.
    Apr 12, 2008
    3
    Agreed w/what JayB said: "Nintendo really understands the meaning of "cash cow, because they are really milking this concept dry of all of its novelty and flavor. Brawl is more of the same thing we've been waiting and expecting for almost a decade and I'm not impressed at all. Yes it is fun because Smash bros. in general is fun, but that's not the point. The point is to Agreed w/what JayB said: "Nintendo really understands the meaning of "cash cow, because they are really milking this concept dry of all of its novelty and flavor. Brawl is more of the same thing we've been waiting and expecting for almost a decade and I'm not impressed at all. Yes it is fun because Smash bros. in general is fun, but that's not the point. The point is to utilize the full power of new technology and create something different and meaningful rather than clone the previous game with "sweeter graphix and soundz!!!1!1". Yes Smash bros is fun, but gimmicky plastic add ons are not. I have just as much fun playing the original Smash bros, if not more. It's so sad that developers are getting more and more lazy the better the technology becomes". Expand
  65. ThomasR.
    Apr 9, 2008
    8
    Fairly good game, not everything i'd thought i'd be. Honestly, I don't see why it's so acclaimed. The graphics are great, the music is great, and the massive selection of characters is great, but it's still the same old fighting game. Character's final smash moves are simply breathtaking, yet Subspace Emissary is absolutely horrible with no apparent storyline Fairly good game, not everything i'd thought i'd be. Honestly, I don't see why it's so acclaimed. The graphics are great, the music is great, and the massive selection of characters is great, but it's still the same old fighting game. Character's final smash moves are simply breathtaking, yet Subspace Emissary is absolutely horrible with no apparent storyline whatsoever. All in all, this game deserves nothing more than an 8.5 which I rounded down to an 8. Expand
  66. CalebH.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Best game for the Wii yet and best installment in the SSB series. Chock full of Nintendo nostalgia and awesome multiplayer action. Years of enjoyment!
  67. Starfox
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Of course we were all expecting Brawl to be a great game but I was absolutely blown away when I first played this! The graphics are really quite good for the Wii and the massive amount of maps and characters is great! I love playing with other people most, but Subspace Emissary is probably one of the most fun single player story modes I've ever seen. The story is actually Of course we were all expecting Brawl to be a great game but I was absolutely blown away when I first played this! The graphics are really quite good for the Wii and the massive amount of maps and characters is great! I love playing with other people most, but Subspace Emissary is probably one of the most fun single player story modes I've ever seen. The story is actually surprisingly good! Great job Nintendo, you pulled off what is possibly one of the greatest games of all time! Expand
  68. TedAwesome
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    A nice selection of characters and stages Some great music A lot of unlockables Terrible, unnecessary loading times. Terrible online (With Anyone - the rest is Nintendo's fault) Wasted characters.
  69. GerardW.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    Best bloody game ever hands-down. The only people who vote it down are the people who whine about it being "overhyped." Ridiculous, just enjoy the game!!
  70. BobC.
    Apr 7, 2008
    7
    A fun game, but doesn't make use of the Wii the way I was hoping. Still a lot of button mashing, and many have found the older controllers to be superior to the Wii-mote and nunchuck during play. If you're using the Wii-mote only, you don't have as many weapons or control. I enjoy this game, but there are other games I enjoy more (Mario Party 8, MLB Power Pros, Smarty A fun game, but doesn't make use of the Wii the way I was hoping. Still a lot of button mashing, and many have found the older controllers to be superior to the Wii-mote and nunchuck during play. If you're using the Wii-mote only, you don't have as many weapons or control. I enjoy this game, but there are other games I enjoy more (Mario Party 8, MLB Power Pros, Smarty Pants, to name a few). Expand
  71. LeonM.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Nintendo has done it again. Super Smash Bros. Brawl has done what it was promising to do for a while. After many delays it has finally come out, and to be honest, it doesn't get much better than this. The new levels are awesome, the music is awesome, the adventure mode is awesome, the new moves are awesome, the characters are awesome, ETC ETC. I simply cannot praise this game enough. Nintendo has done it again. Super Smash Bros. Brawl has done what it was promising to do for a while. After many delays it has finally come out, and to be honest, it doesn't get much better than this. The new levels are awesome, the music is awesome, the adventure mode is awesome, the new moves are awesome, the characters are awesome, ETC ETC. I simply cannot praise this game enough. Definitely worth the money. Expand
  72. RobertG
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Good game over all
  73. MickyW
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Best Smash Bros game to date.
  74. DarwinZ.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    This is my FAVORITE game by far! it is so fun, and packs a great kick! i love it! and i'm so glad i got it! BEST EVER!
  75. JordiR.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing and I think it's the best fight game I played ever.
  76. StrikeC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    7
    "This is a poor game. It was built 8 years ago, and is meant for 8 years ago. Nowadays there are lots of better games available, with much more realistic graphics, gameplay, and whatever you can imagine. In this game you can not only headshot someone without aiming with AWP, you can also shoot trough 99% of the walls. So if you want to win, just shoot against all walls. Graphics quality "This is a poor game. It was built 8 years ago, and is meant for 8 years ago. Nowadays there are lots of better games available, with much more realistic graphics, gameplay, and whatever you can imagine. In this game you can not only headshot someone without aiming with AWP, you can also shoot trough 99% of the walls. So if you want to win, just shoot against all walls. Graphics quality is as low as it can be, and gameplay sucks as much." Expand
  77. JohnJ.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. A real masterpiece!
  78. JohnF.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    I love this game, all my family is super into it! I also love how giantbomb gave it the lowest score to maybe get more hits in there page.
  79. BrandonB.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    This game sweats amazing, if you want a Wii game, and your one of the nine people that doesn't own Brawl, then go to your local retailer and get a freakin' copy already!
  80. JeffS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Perfect! this game is awesome. wow whoever gives this any lower than a 7 is seriously a miserable man with no friends. the single player mode is great enough for it, BUT MULTIPLAYER OWNS. it took me a long time to complete and still i am not done...good job nintendo
  81. BobAndrews
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever rate this game a ten.
  82. JasonF.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    As a fan of all previous SSB games, I found this one to be as enjoyable as all of the others. I rate the graphics, music and content of the game very highly, but the inflexibility (in most cases) of the map maker and the lack of quality in the online "With Anyone" is what takes away my perfect score. Never the less, I'm a huge fan of the series and have been enjoying my copy of Brawl As a fan of all previous SSB games, I found this one to be as enjoyable as all of the others. I rate the graphics, music and content of the game very highly, but the inflexibility (in most cases) of the map maker and the lack of quality in the online "With Anyone" is what takes away my perfect score. Never the less, I'm a huge fan of the series and have been enjoying my copy of Brawl since day one. I only hope Nintendo updates the online play when playing "With Anyone". Two minute four person free for alls leave a lot of room for improvement and (less importantly) the map editor comes out with new parts/backgrounds/space. Expand
  83. Daniel
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    A thoroughly fantastic and magical experience.
  84. JayB.
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    Nintendo really understands the meaning of "cash cow, because they are really milking this concept dry of all of its novelty and flavor. Brawl is more of the same thing we've been waiting and expecting for almost a decade and I'm not impressed at all. Yes it is fun because Smash bros. in general is fun, but that's not the point. The point is to utilize the full power of new Nintendo really understands the meaning of "cash cow, because they are really milking this concept dry of all of its novelty and flavor. Brawl is more of the same thing we've been waiting and expecting for almost a decade and I'm not impressed at all. Yes it is fun because Smash bros. in general is fun, but that's not the point. The point is to utilize the full power of new technology and create something different and meaningful rather than clone the previous game with "sweeter graphix and soundz!!!1!1". Yes Smash bros is fun, but gimmicky plastic add ons are not. I have just as much fun playing the original Smash bros, if not more. It's so sad that developers are getting more and more lazy the better the technology becomes Expand
  85. MearshG.
    Mar 28, 2008
    0
    Not a very good game, so overrated.
  86. PedroH.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    melee was better in many ways than this piece of garbage! yeah, melee had vastly overpowered characters, so powerfull that using a character that wasnt marth, sheik or fox was suicide! it had more collectables,better adventure mode, it is way better than brawl, besides, i am a god in melee, to prove it i will play anyone in an online match and defeat them.........WAIT!!!
  87. MichaelH.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is completely different from Melee. All the people that complain about this game obviously are taking this game too seriously or too loosely. This game will keep you playing for years and years, what with the many modes, stages, and online. Heck, I'm only halfway through with the game right now! Ican't keep my hands( or my friends hands) off of Brawl! Super Smash Bros. Brawl is completely different from Melee. All the people that complain about this game obviously are taking this game too seriously or too loosely. This game will keep you playing for years and years, what with the many modes, stages, and online. Heck, I'm only halfway through with the game right now! Ican't keep my hands( or my friends hands) off of Brawl! It's just the great. So if you're reading this, ignore all the crap other idiots have been saying and just buy this game, it'll be worth your while. If you don't understand the game, go ask someone to explain or just don't buy the game and whine about it later. It's a fun fighting game, better than street fighter and soul caliber, imho, so try it out and people...(who gave the horrible reviews), go get a life and try to actually REVIEW the game for what it's worth. Much more than half of the people here agree that this is a good game, so I'm pretty sure Brawl is not a bad game, it is indeed near perfection. Expand
  88. JoakimN.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    THE PEOPLE WHO ARE DRAGGING THE SCORE OF THIS GAME DOWN (With user votes 6 or below) . Deserve a LIFETIME sentence in a supermax Prison. Its a CRIME to give this game less then maximum score
  89. MikhailR.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    I've been an SSB diehard since the first game int he series. I pride myself in absolutely dominating all comers, and now I get brawl. I haven't played a single game since I've gotten my copy of Brawl, and I have to say it has yet to get old. Not counting the several thousand hours (no exaggeration) of replay value, and the non-stop party-on-a-cd known as multiplayer, the I've been an SSB diehard since the first game int he series. I pride myself in absolutely dominating all comers, and now I get brawl. I haven't played a single game since I've gotten my copy of Brawl, and I have to say it has yet to get old. Not counting the several thousand hours (no exaggeration) of replay value, and the non-stop party-on-a-cd known as multiplayer, the game has online. Now, I can fight my friends ONLINE. Need I ask for more? Answer: You'd be a complete douche to do so. IT replaces Galaxies as the must-have game for hte system. Honestly, if your a fan of the series and you don't like this game, something is wrong with you. Expand
  90. IanH.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    If there is any game worth getting on the wii, it's none other than Super Smash Bros Brawl. This sequel to 2001's gamecube game takes the series into the next generation with over a dozen new characters, a bunch of new stages, four different control types, and hundreds of collectibles, such as trophies of classic nintendo characters or stickers of artwork and sprites. The If there is any game worth getting on the wii, it's none other than Super Smash Bros Brawl. This sequel to 2001's gamecube game takes the series into the next generation with over a dozen new characters, a bunch of new stages, four different control types, and hundreds of collectibles, such as trophies of classic nintendo characters or stickers of artwork and sprites. The game's 4 control types include gamecube, wiimote, wiimote and nunchuk and classic controller. one of the games new features includes online play and the new adventure mode known as the subspace emissary. The controls feel very similar to melee: not too different but not quite the same either. One of the game's best features includes the game's stage builder where you can create your own stages. Theres also over a hundred different songs in the game with several more you have to unlock. The game is sadly not perfect. the adventure mode is only about 8 hours long and gets repetitive and the stage builder is not as customizable as I had hoped. Also the online mode could've had more customizable features when playing other random people online. However, these are only minor issues, and the game overall is a must buy for anyone with a wii and a must hate for the nintendo haters. Expand
  91. PhillepinoGangsta
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The game had more than I expected. Obviously, online system for this game is not very great but probably the second best next to Medal of Honors 2. All the extra things such as coin launcher, recording replays and stage builders make this game have an excellent replay value. A must-have, unless you're a melee loyalist and can't face the fact that your ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The game had more than I expected. Obviously, online system for this game is not very great but probably the second best next to Medal of Honors 2. All the extra things such as coin launcher, recording replays and stage builders make this game have an excellent replay value. A must-have, unless you're a melee loyalist and can't face the fact that your favorite character has been nerfed. There are ways to get around this however, such as finding a new character. I myself ditched Peach and started exploring new characters in which in a sense gave this game a new feeling other than Melee v2.0 Expand
  92. TomA.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    I'm just like everyone else. I've been waiting for this game since it was first announced. And like a ton of other people, I got the the game the day it came out. This is by far the Wii's best game. It has the best graphics on the system (even better than Mario Galaxy), over thirty playable characters, and it's playable online. Unfortunately, the online multiplayer I'm just like everyone else. I've been waiting for this game since it was first announced. And like a ton of other people, I got the the game the day it came out. This is by far the Wii's best game. It has the best graphics on the system (even better than Mario Galaxy), over thirty playable characters, and it's playable online. Unfortunately, the online multiplayer isn't perfect. It'll lag, it'll kick you off, it'll make you wait a long time for someone to play with...but when it does work, oh boy does it rock. It's so much fun playing with others, be it in the same room or not. The multiplayer is where most of the fun is at. The single player Classic mode is back and as fun as ever, and there's a new Adventure mode, that'll last you about ten hours, with an actual storyline and impressive, gorgeous cutscenes. Unfortunately, the story itself for the Adventure Mode seems like a crappy Kingdom Hearts-esque fanfiction gone awry, and towards the end it becomes an exercise in controller-snapping frustration. It'd probably be better with a second player (the mode supports two players), as the fights don't become clusterf***s, but the mode ain't perfect either.Another thing this mode gets wrong is that it makes it way too easy to unlock characters. I personally would rather unlock them by satisfying certain conditions during the course of the game. It almost feels like cheating, it's so easy. You could totally avoid the Adventure mode if you'd rather unlock them the way I would've wanted to. It should also be worth mentioning that Nintendo will never make cutscenes this good for a game ever again, so it's kind of a drag that the mode they were used for ended up being not all that grand. And some characters, like R.O.B. and Jigglypuff, are totally unnecessary for this game. They aren't very good characters. But still...the fun that's had playing with others eclipses any of the game's faults. Just make sure you have a Classic or a Gamecube controller handy. Expand
  93. JustinB.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Amazing.. that's really all I can say.
  94. SpartianGamer1342
    Mar 25, 2008
    5
    This game sucks. Halo has better fps controls, better graphics, better online, a larger selection of guns.
  95. BryanM.
    Mar 25, 2008
    8
    Fantastic game. Musical score is by far one the best I've ever heard. Subspace Emissary, while boring and repetitive at time, is a fun fan-service for long time fans of Nintendo. Overwhelming amounts of unlockable characters, modes, trophies, stages, and other content. However, the gameplay is slowed down and the character list needs some work. Online suffers from the same issues as Fantastic game. Musical score is by far one the best I've ever heard. Subspace Emissary, while boring and repetitive at time, is a fun fan-service for long time fans of Nintendo. Overwhelming amounts of unlockable characters, modes, trophies, stages, and other content. However, the gameplay is slowed down and the character list needs some work. Online suffers from the same issues as every Nintendo game. (WHY?!?) Overall, if you have friends or are a fan of Nintendo this is a must buy other then that steer clear. Expand
  96. BenP.
    Mar 24, 2008
    4
    SSBB really didn't do it for me - it's a bit of fun for a while, but I really don't see why everyone rates it so well? It just seems like another random button-masher fighting game that I got sick of 10 years ago. And it doesn't seem to be very well adapted to the Wii. why are there no motion sensitive controls? Why can't I choose options on the screen with the SSBB really didn't do it for me - it's a bit of fun for a while, but I really don't see why everyone rates it so well? It just seems like another random button-masher fighting game that I got sick of 10 years ago. And it doesn't seem to be very well adapted to the Wii. why are there no motion sensitive controls? Why can't I choose options on the screen with the wii-mote, like all the other games? This is not even half the game that Mario Galaxy is. Expand
  97. LydellF.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Never cared for this series, and had to actually be at my cousin's house to see the new one in action. Tried out the adventure mode and couldn't resist the Old School charm especially with Kid Icarus. I bought one within 24 hours.
  98. FranciszekK.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Fanboy Present T. blatantly hasn't played this game. Nintendo have proven their worth yet again, and released what is undoubtedly another contender for Game of the Year. If this were the case that only Nintendo fanboys would like this, then it wouldn't be scoring so highly everywhere.
  99. [Anonymous]s
    Mar 23, 2008
    8
    Holy crap guys Brawl. Having now played it for a couple weeks, I have come to the conclusion that while a worthy successor to the franchise, Brawl falls short of ideal in some areas. First, the good: The core gameplay elements that make the franchise great in the first place are still around, with some minor tweaking that seems to improve upon, rather than detract from, the gameplay. The Holy crap guys Brawl. Having now played it for a couple weeks, I have come to the conclusion that while a worthy successor to the franchise, Brawl falls short of ideal in some areas. First, the good: The core gameplay elements that make the franchise great in the first place are still around, with some minor tweaking that seems to improve upon, rather than detract from, the gameplay. The multiplayer still rocks, the characters are still absurd and hilarious, and the amount of fanservice and nintendo nostalgia is staggering. A couple things the game does wrong, or not all the way right: Online. I'm sure this is a common complaint, but the online is severely gimped. The lack of options while playing online, the total absence of player to player communication, the horrendous matchmaking, and some very irksome lagging issues all make the "with anyone" nearly unplayable. "With friends" is better, but still not great, as the entering of friend codes and the need for an outside communication method to set up a match can get rather tiresome. The lag seems to be less of an issue when playing with friends online, but it is still very present. There are more rule options for with friends play, however, which saves it from being completely pointless, and I actually use it regularly. The other area in which Brawl falls short is the single player. This should be obvious to anyone who's played any game in the series before, Smash brothers is very much a multiplayer franchise. Subspace Emmisary, while relatively fun to play through once, if taken on its own is a rather weak attempt at a single player campaign (although admittedly not nearly as weak as the adventure mode in melee). The gameplay gets repetitive at times, and the seemingly senseless reduction in running speed for every character prolongs the gameplay unnecessarily. When taken as part of the Brawl package, SSE certainly isn't bad, and adds some hours to the game before you're only playing multiplayer matches, but is by no means perfect. Overall, Brawl is certainly a fine game. If you already like the Smash Brothers series, then pick it up, you won't regret it. If you don't understand what all the fuss surrounding the series is about, Brawl isn't really going to sway you, but it might be worth taking a look at nonetheless. This game certainly doesn't deserve a 10 or even a 9, but despite being largely imperfect, it is a great game that will keep you playing for a good while. Expand
  100. NathanL.
    Mar 23, 2008
    3
    Very little difference from Melee. Poor utilization of the wii's capabilities, in fact I can't stand playing it on the wiimote and have to use the GC controller. It's just the same game with a few new characters.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Brawl is easily the most fun I’ve had on a Wii, and could be the most fun I’ve had with a game in ages. It’s just that good. There is just so much to do, and so many different and refreshing things added that it would be a crime not to at least take a look.
  2. Nintendo Power
    100
    Rarely has any title delivered so much amazing action, such a wide variety of modes, and so many hours of value. It doesn't get any better than this. [Mar 2008, p.82]
  3. It’s obvious that developer Game Arts have put a painstaking amount of effort into creating this game and every time we play it we’re discovering new Nintendo references which bring back a rush of nostalgia. Brawl’s chaotic multiplayer sessions are some of the best to be had on the system, plus there are plenty of challenges and modes to amuse those ‘friend-impaired’ individuals out there as well. It’s a no-brainer, every serious Nintendo fan out there should score themselves a copy of this game, invite some friends/victims around, and have a smashing good time.