User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1470 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    This is single-handedly the best party game in existence. Forget Guitar Hero or Rock Band, forget Mario Party or Mario Kart, forget DDR. This game has the power to intoxicate anyone that plays. Friends of mine that don't even own a video game system pick up the Wii remote and get hooked on this game and we play for hours on end. The characters are unparalleled. Nintendo has and always willThis is single-handedly the best party game in existence. Forget Guitar Hero or Rock Band, forget Mario Party or Mario Kart, forget DDR. This game has the power to intoxicate anyone that plays. Friends of mine that don't even own a video game system pick up the Wii remote and get hooked on this game and we play for hours on end. The characters are unparalleled. Nintendo has and always will have the best characters to work with. The music is so much fun to listen to while playing. Every song will get stuck in your head or take you back to the glory days of gaming. The fighting mechanic, albeit simple, is perfect. It requires skill, but at the same time is approachable and condescends the normal frustrating and confusing properties of trying to pull of combos and special moves associated with other fighting games (ie. Street Fighter, Blazblue.) I just think this is great game that anyone can pick up have fun. There are plenty of modes to keep you busy in between visits from your buddies that want to play with you. Plus the nostalgia associated with the game, is worth marveling at, with classic characters, stages, music and all kinds of other things. By far the BEST game for the Wii. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    Fun as hell. If you loved Melee, you will adore this game. For some it might feel like a massive expansion pack but you just can't miss this. Completely balanced characters, easy to pick up controls and countless goodies and entertainment at its disposal. Get it.
  3. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    This game is amazing. Of course, you can't really go wrong with Nintendo games. The subspace emissary is the only thing that I find incomplete. Despite being a nice 'quest,' it can eventually feel like a long grind, but I wouldn't be too concerned about that if you aren't going to play it. That aside, I find that with 4 different control methods (Wiimote, Wiimote + Nunchuck, GCThis game is amazing. Of course, you can't really go wrong with Nintendo games. The subspace emissary is the only thing that I find incomplete. Despite being a nice 'quest,' it can eventually feel like a long grind, but I wouldn't be too concerned about that if you aren't going to play it. That aside, I find that with 4 different control methods (Wiimote, Wiimote + Nunchuck, GC Controller, Wii Classic Controller), you can easily find some type of play style you like. It may be 2 years old, but the game is so impressive that it is the best fighter on the Wii. You will NOT be disappointed. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Brawl is the best game in the smash bros. series. The graphics are enhanced and the music is breath taking. The game is really fun with friends and family. The characters are almost balanced but needs few tweaks. The storyline though did not reach my expectation and is awfully short. The multi-player mode is just awesome when played with friends. The online play really sucks because of theBrawl is the best game in the smash bros. series. The graphics are enhanced and the music is breath taking. The game is really fun with friends and family. The characters are almost balanced but needs few tweaks. The storyline though did not reach my expectation and is awfully short. The multi-player mode is just awesome when played with friends. The online play really sucks because of the slow connection. Bottom line: Buy this game and don't borrow it or rent because you have train yourself to kick your friends' ass. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Personally i'm not a fan of fighters, but the Super Smash Bros. series has always been a blast for me, especially with friends. The addition of new characters and a single player campaign ensure that Brawl isn't just Melee with a coat of paint. The amount of collectables in Brawl is astounding, and will take months to complete. The only let down would have to be the online, Mario Kart WiiPersonally i'm not a fan of fighters, but the Super Smash Bros. series has always been a blast for me, especially with friends. The addition of new characters and a single player campaign ensure that Brawl isn't just Melee with a coat of paint. The amount of collectables in Brawl is astounding, and will take months to complete. The only let down would have to be the online, Mario Kart Wii proved that the Wii can handle online and it would have been great fun to beat the **** out of someone in Germany of France, but in the time I have owned this game i have not found a single online game that was playable. Nevertheless, if you own a Wii, you owe it to yourself Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    With a wide array of 38 characters, a single player campaign, a four player offline multiplayer, a comprehensive online play mode, and dozens of other game modes, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is unrivaled in the amount of content and replay value it offers.
  7. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    I think this is the Best Wii game. I have played this the most and think this a great game to play with friends. It always plays different and is enjoyable almost every time. I would advise it to anyone that likes wii or likes fighting games. I love the game and hope to play it many more times.
  8. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This gam isn't only great for its gameplay, but for the amount of content packed into one disc. There are so many characters, stages, items, modes, and collectibles that its surprising the game doesn't explode. Amazingly, there is only minimal wait time. Brawl is exactly like Melee in the gameplay, but there are tons of new characters, including Pit, Diddy Kong, Pokemon Trainer, Wario,This gam isn't only great for its gameplay, but for the amount of content packed into one disc. There are so many characters, stages, items, modes, and collectibles that its surprising the game doesn't explode. Amazingly, there is only minimal wait time. Brawl is exactly like Melee in the gameplay, but there are tons of new characters, including Pit, Diddy Kong, Pokemon Trainer, Wario, Zero Suit Samus, Lucas, Ike, and many more along with Sonic and Solid Snake to round it out. The game has all-new Assist trophies aka dozens more Nintendo cameos. A big difference are final smashes that are jaw-dropping crazy finishing moves and each character has their own one. The game has a story mode, but it is hard to get through the whole thing because its a repetitive sidescroller and the story itself doesn't make any sense. The game allows to adjust song selections, create stages, upgrade characters with stickers, play an interesting arcade game for trophies, play short demos for classic Nintendo games, and gamble on online matches in addition to the old-standbys like event matches, Break the Targets, and Home-Run Contest. The only thing the game does wrong is the online mode because it takes forever to load up a short battle and there are no customization options. Brawl is simply an amazing game and will have you coming back for YEARS. Get it. Expand
  9. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    This game is the best in the universe. Totally buy it. The graphics are amazing too, so buy it.

    bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy iiiiiiiiiiiiiiittttttttttttttttttttt
  10. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Unlimited amounts of replayabiltity, battles of epic proportions, all of my favorite nintendo characters on one incredible roster, unparalleled fighting gameplay, Final smashes, 60 frames per second . . . Need I continue??
  11. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    Perfect. Classic. Timeless. Wonderful.
    Undoubtably the best game I've played on a Wii console.
    It's very fun playing the story mode and battling against opponents to test your skills out.
    One good thing about this game is; you won't be bored; it can be played repeatedly.
  12. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game! For those of you who didnt like it, its obvious they are probably not nintendo fans, so get off our console and keep your complaints to yourself. no point in spoiling this meta score with biased nonsense. must have for wii owners (who like wii)...
  13. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Great fighting. Great Roster. Great story. Man, I have a PS3, but i would always go to my friend's house just to play this game, because it's fun as hell. Probably the best Wii game, but not nearly close to the best game ever. 10/10
  14. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    The best fighting game of all time, its largest flaw lies in that it was not playtested quite enough.

    The game is a fun fighting game. The single player is enjoyable, and there is some good exploration there, as well as some fun challenge. There are also single player challenges which test your skill. The real meat of the game is the competitive multiplayer, and it is excellent - the
    The best fighting game of all time, its largest flaw lies in that it was not playtested quite enough.

    The game is a fun fighting game. The single player is enjoyable, and there is some good exploration there, as well as some fun challenge. There are also single player challenges which test your skill.

    The real meat of the game is the competitive multiplayer, and it is excellent - the best in the series. The controls are simple and intuitive, but the gameplay is very deep. Knocking foes off leads to all sorts of very interesting implications as far as gamplay is concerned, and the game is overall very enjoyable.

    However, there are some flaws. Metaknight is the best character in the game, and it isn't controversial - he is simply too good. While he may not be ONLY advantageous matchups, he is very nearly so, and he can abuse the game in ways that are pretty unfun.

    King Dedede has a chain grab which is incredibly obnoxious and, on a stage with walk-off edges, becomes an automatic KO if he grabs his foe. This results in these stages all being banned from competitive play, which exacerbates the issues with Metaknight, as stages with walk-off edges are his worst stages.

    The supers are overpowered, resulting in them not being usable in tournament play.

    Some items are really obnoxious, and because of their swinginess again are turned off in tournament play, and are even a bit obnoxious in casual play.

    Overall, though, the game is great, and the flaws don't render the game bad, merely imperfect.
    Expand
  15. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    I have to say Nintendo has improved this franchise by alot, in a good way. Smash bros has never been so addictiting and fun than ever before. I honestly loved this game, but there is one flaw that buyers should consider. After you beat this game you will be weeping for more after.
  16. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    Although I now consider Nintendo to be the worst company on earth (not just videogame company, but any type of company), I do want to give them respect when they deserve it. SSB is actually an aquired taste. With the input delay, you really have to learn timing and avoid button mashing to get good. Playstation All-Stars is superior in the sense that you can actually form deep fighting gameAlthough I now consider Nintendo to be the worst company on earth (not just videogame company, but any type of company), I do want to give them respect when they deserve it. SSB is actually an aquired taste. With the input delay, you really have to learn timing and avoid button mashing to get good. Playstation All-Stars is superior in the sense that you can actually form deep fighting game combos, but SSB is better overall because it is a much bigger game with a richer history. Nintendo, I hate you, but you have made some good games in the past. Expand
  17. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    If you have a Wii then you need to get this, it's easily one of, if not the best game on the system, it packs countless hours of gameplay do the extremely large amount of content, and it filled with tons of references to Nintendo's past, it's easy to pick up and play, and fun to play with family and friends, honestly I see no reason not to get this if you have a Wii, sure I've got a fewIf you have a Wii then you need to get this, it's easily one of, if not the best game on the system, it packs countless hours of gameplay do the extremely large amount of content, and it filled with tons of references to Nintendo's past, it's easy to pick up and play, and fun to play with family and friends, honestly I see no reason not to get this if you have a Wii, sure I've got a few minor issues and complaints with it, but when you think of the overall package and how it can literally keep you entertained for hundreds of hours all those flaws just seem to practically disappear, this is truly a must play title for any and all gamers, and stands out among all the other great Wii games as one of the best, it's an outstanding game. Expand
  18. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This game is the best crossover game there is. Mario fights Luigi? Fox fights Kirby? Link fights himself with different clothes? Nintendo characters fight each other with Sonic and Snake involved? It's all here. If you love Melee, Nintendo or just a good fighting game, then what are you doing? The single player mode, The Subspace Emissary is a story that's basically the characters have toThis game is the best crossover game there is. Mario fights Luigi? Fox fights Kirby? Link fights himself with different clothes? Nintendo characters fight each other with Sonic and Snake involved? It's all here. If you love Melee, Nintendo or just a good fighting game, then what are you doing? The single player mode, The Subspace Emissary is a story that's basically the characters have to stop an evil Army involving Master Hand, Bowser, Ganondorf, Wario, King Dedede (and maybe Wolf? Not sure about him) and a whole lot of things to stop turning game characters into statues as collectibles for some evil guy. You may think it's dull, but it's not. It's the way characters interact with each other. Them mission are also really good. Ever wanted Fox in Donkey Kong Country? You can do that here. There's a whole lot more. Unfortunately, I bought a copy with a bug in it that makes it impossible to complete it. Shame that... Also unfortunately, I can't do multiplayer because a Wi-Fi tower near my house has been out of order for quite a while, but I've been told it's really good. So if you want a great fighter game, this is a great choice. Nine out of ten from me. Expand
  19. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Hello, this is Danny T. and this is my first review!!!!!
    SSBB Rating: 100/100
    The only reason that i giv this game a 100 out of 100 is because i cannot find any flaws at all. Don't tell me that it takes too long to load, this game is obviously loaded with tons of things to do. And you truly cannot ask for any more characters. This is probably the only game that i am going to give a
    Hello, this is Danny T. and this is my first review!!!!!
    SSBB Rating: 100/100
    The only reason that i giv this game a 100 out of 100 is because i cannot find any flaws at all.
    Don't tell me that it takes too long to load, this game is obviously loaded with tons of things to do. And you truly cannot ask for any more characters. This is probably the only game that i am going to give a perfect rating to. Wonderful music, graphics, story (SSE), controls, and many things to do. This is my absolute favourite game.
    Expand
  20. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    Finally. I'm doing my review of a multiplayer masterpiece! On April 26, 1999, Nintendo released Super Smash Bros on the Nintendo 64, which is marked as the systems best multiplayer game, competing with GoldenEye. On December 2, 2001, Nintendo kicked off the start of the Gamecube days with the famous Super Smash Bros Melee, which put the N64 original to shame. Then, In 2008, NintendoFinally. I'm doing my review of a multiplayer masterpiece! On April 26, 1999, Nintendo released Super Smash Bros on the Nintendo 64, which is marked as the systems best multiplayer game, competing with GoldenEye. On December 2, 2001, Nintendo kicked off the start of the Gamecube days with the famous Super Smash Bros Melee, which put the N64 original to shame. Then, In 2008, Nintendo released the newest addition into the franchise, which would make the other two games look like children's toys. I'm talking of course about Super Smash Bros BRAWL, for the Nintendo Wii. Nintendo took a big step with this monster, and I have yet to meet anyone who played this game and didn't love the crap out of it. Even a friend of mine who mainly only plays shooters all the time, LOVES this game. So, what's so great about this game? Everything. First off, let's talk about the most important aspect of any game, the gameplay. It works very similarly to Melee, but a few things have been added. like the Smash Ball. This item has been loved as the best add on to the game so far. During a match, sometimes a Smash Ball will appear. If you can get it before anyone else can, you can activate your characters Smash Move. Each character has a different Smash, Link does a triforce omni-slash, Kirby cooks his enemies in a pot, Mario shoots giant fire balls that cover the whole field, and Sonic transforms into Super Sonic, that's right Sonic fans they added Sonic :) Character selection is better than ever. Unfortunately, they removed a couple of favorites like Mewtwo, Young Link, and Roy to add others like Toon Link, Ike, Wolf, and (Metal Gear fans get ready) SNAKE! Luckily they kept a few characters that entered the battlefield in Melee like Peach, Marth, Bowser, Ganondorf, and Falco. But enough about that, what about multiplayer? Well of course, it wouldn't be Smash bros without multiplayer, but they made it better. Not only does it have the classic multiplayer that Melee and Smash Bros 1 had, but they also added.....(are you ready? Ready yet? Here it comes!) ONLINE MULTIPLAYER!! Every Smash Bros fans dream come true, worldwide online multiplayer. BAM! Right in the face! Don't get too excited though, because the online multiplayer may be awesome, but it has noticeable flaws. For example: as always with the Wii, connecting with friends online is a pain with the friend codes, but once you are able to connect to a friend online, it gets a lot of fun from there. Another flaw is the fact that Smash Bros Brawl is actually pretty laggy. It's not always lagging, you'll usually come across some nicely moving games, but it has more of a chance to get laggy than most other online Wii games. One really cool thing about the online is that you can watch other matches that are going on right now. You can either be in the fight, or in the audience. A nice add on I think. One other bad thing about the online is it can take a while to find players, maybe 5 minutes at the most though. The adventure mode actually goes way beyond what Melee did. Unlike the past 2 games, Brawl follows a story in Adventure mode.While the story itself could be a bit better, it's still extremely enjoyable. It runs much like a classic platformer when adventuring, and when you get in the fights, it's a lot of fun. But my favorite add on to the new game is the trophies and stickers. I know Melee had trophies, but they weren't as addicting as these ones. Brawl has alot more trophies than Melee, as well as stickers and sountracks. All this stuff is like unlocking Xbox achievments, but you're doing it on the Wii, ON SMASH BROS!! A very epic win. Just trying to unlock all the trophies and stickers and sountracks will keep you very very VERY busy. Hope you have time to spare, it will take a REALLY long time to unlock every achievement in this game. Overall, Brawl is the best Smash bros game since the N64 classic, and is very addicting when it comes to multiplayer. You and you're friends will have a ton of fun with this monster, This game is a MUST BUY for anyone who has a Wii, or for anyone who just loves good multiplayer games. Very few flaws in this game, but not enough of them to interfere with the awesomness that it Super Smash Bros. A 10/10. Expand
  21. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    A lot of people have condemned this game because of either the disease known as fanboyism or the fact the have the attention span of an 8 year old on a sugar rush. This game has picked up on the forerunner of other companies and integrated the near perfectly. The game manages to innovate while still maintaining the core formula. The character unlocks are designed so that if you can notA lot of people have condemned this game because of either the disease known as fanboyism or the fact the have the attention span of an 8 year old on a sugar rush. This game has picked up on the forerunner of other companies and integrated the near perfectly. The game manages to innovate while still maintaining the core formula. The character unlocks are designed so that if you can not complete one criteria, there is always plan B. I rate this game a 9 only because it can et chaotic with a 4 player brawl and there's LAGGG in multiplayer wifi and lag is a worse crime than Rape X Murder Expand
  22. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    This is SO MUCH FUN!!! Brawling against your friends is very fun, collecting trophies and stickers is another highlight and don't know where to begin on The Subspace Emissary! I'm sure everyone will agree with me on this, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is a must have on Wii!
  23. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This game is undoubtedly one of Nintendo's, if not the the entire gaming world's, finest creations. With so much to do, so many characters, and just such an enjoyable concept, this game is the best on the Wii and a contester for best game EVER. Easily a 10 out of 10, every wii owner must have it.
  24. May 28, 2011
    10
    With so many (really good) user scores, I know my review won't make a dent in the average. Still, this is worth writing. SSBB is the best game I have ever played. I can say that with absolute confidence. Is this targeted to little kids? NO! This game is for everyone, and even MK fans would enjoy this. The story is crazy good, i mean absolutely amazing, i mean better tha anything you'veWith so many (really good) user scores, I know my review won't make a dent in the average. Still, this is worth writing. SSBB is the best game I have ever played. I can say that with absolute confidence. Is this targeted to little kids? NO! This game is for everyone, and even MK fans would enjoy this. The story is crazy good, i mean absolutely amazing, i mean better tha anything you've ever seen. The graphics are absolutely marvelously polished, and the environments look fabulous. The stages are more diverse and exciting, but don't worry! Some of the old stages from melee are back! As are some of the characters. That's where this game truly shines. There are so many characters, and all of them are fun to play with. Also, there are more items to play around with, and the new final smashes make you feel like you're going super saiyan. (Sadly, super sonic is as close as it gets) There are a few clones, but who cares? There are a ton of differences between characters, and every character is amazing. The controls are completely responsive, and don't screw around, and the camera works fine. the cutscenes look great, and really help an already great storyline. You know, I actually traded this game in? Yeah, bad idea. here i am, typing this, waiting until my birthday so i can have it again. Yes, it is good enough to provide limitless replayability, great stories, and make you want it even after hundreds of hours of play. I swear to god, if you buy something else before this, I will find you. I wish i had an eleven. TEN! Expand
  25. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    Because the Wii doesn't have too many hardcore games doesn't mean is death. Smash Bros put in shame the other companies console , and always will. Exaggerated combos and attacks are a joy too watch. The addition of cameos like Sonic and Snake aren't big bomb's but make good shape to the warriors.
  26. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is one of the best games of all time.The only things that need changes is the adventure mode and online.If that improves i will say that this is the best game of all time.I also like that there is trophies to collect from the nintedo franchise, without this it wouldnt be as fun.
  27. May 1, 2011
    10
    Greatest game of all time in my opinion and I've been playing video games since day one. It is so simple, yet so complex. So fun for kids, yet so ingenious that it makes for great tournaments.
  28. May 12, 2011
    10
    We All know Brawl is the Best in the Series sure it may have terrible loading times and Horrible online mode but still doesn't change the fact it was fun!
  29. May 29, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Just amazing. An endless cast of characters, a huge range of modes to play, and easy to learn but hard to master controls. This adds up to one awesome game. Super Smash Bros. Brawl is the best fighting game of its time, and multiplayer mode just rocks.
  30. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    this is probaly THE best game nintendo have made the caracters are all individual the story is apsoultly supurb and the brilliant thing is it is easy to pick up and hard to master.HANDS DOWN THE BEST GAME NINTENDO WILL EVER MAKE EXEPT FOR THE SEQUEL
  31. May 26, 2011
    9
    It's a wonderful game. Enough said. It provides endless hours of fun to any group of people no matter how old you are. My little brothers like it, I like it, my parents like to watch it! There are some problems however, the game can be rather glitchy and a few things can get really annoying and upset the balance of the game (thank god there's a lot of settings to remedy most of this). AlsoIt's a wonderful game. Enough said. It provides endless hours of fun to any group of people no matter how old you are. My little brothers like it, I like it, my parents like to watch it! There are some problems however, the game can be rather glitchy and a few things can get really annoying and upset the balance of the game (thank god there's a lot of settings to remedy most of this). Also I could bring down my score to maybe an eight because online is so terrible, but I just forget that it even exists. This game is practically made for groups of friends, not random strangers on the Internet. Also there's plenty of new content and even a story mode that really fits in great with the rest of the game. There are some characters that will be missed from melee however. Expand
  32. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games ever, alongside "Halo 3". The singleplayer is good, but the multiplayer is EXCELLENT!!!! The graphics are impressive, and many of the characters look more realistic. I like that. My only criticism would be the Stage Builder. The stage builder could be a little better. Wait. A LOT better. But other than that, this game is very, very fun. Definitely worthThis is one of the greatest games ever, alongside "Halo 3". The singleplayer is good, but the multiplayer is EXCELLENT!!!! The graphics are impressive, and many of the characters look more realistic. I like that. My only criticism would be the Stage Builder. The stage builder could be a little better. Wait. A LOT better. But other than that, this game is very, very fun. Definitely worth playing. Buy it!! Expand
  33. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    it's the greatest game on the wii. its the reason to have a wii. and anybody who doesnt rate this a 10 or a 9 is an idiot. hell, it's just as good as halo.
  34. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Brawl just has so much to offer! This is a game that can be played for hours and hours and hours and hours without getting bored. The fighting, items, levels and characters all blow me away! The Super Smash Bros. series is only getting better and better. This game has a lot of content and is so addicting to play! It's story mode is also amazing and very very beautiful!
  35. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    This game is super fun. My house-mate and I play almost everyday and it never gets old. Though in my opinion it is only playable with a Gamecube controller. The variety of characters and play styles is spectacular, the maps are fun and make you pay attention, and even the campaign is fun for the most part. There are also a lot of really tough challenges that take skill to complete. 10 out of 10.
  36. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    My favorite fighting game of all time. This game is fantastic. Years later and I still play a few times per week. This game got 2nd place on IGN's "Best game of the last decade" poll, beaten only by Majora's Mask.
  37. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Story mode is not that awesome, but its cool that they tried to make a story and all. Me and my friends got hooked on this game at college and had tons of fun. The multiplayer is the only thing worth spending hours upon hours playing.
  38. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Probably the best fighting game ever made. This game is HIGHLY addicting, and could become hazardous to your health if not taken care of. The graphics were good considering all of the stuff that had to be animated. I liked how there are less clones than in melee (the only clones being link and toon link, but there is a big difference between the two).
  39. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This is easily the greatest fighting game I've ever played. There are very few flaws with this that don't overshadow the rest of this experience. In fact, this is also the best video game I've ever played. I'm really not kidding here, this game is better than Mario and Zelda. In fact it's both of these games plus more games by Nintendo in the mix. However, it also adds Sonic theThis is easily the greatest fighting game I've ever played. There are very few flaws with this that don't overshadow the rest of this experience. In fact, this is also the best video game I've ever played. I'm really not kidding here, this game is better than Mario and Zelda. In fact it's both of these games plus more games by Nintendo in the mix. However, it also adds Sonic the Hedgehog, and Solid Snake which aren't Nintendo characters (which is a good thing), along with their own stages. Add the characters with the stages, features, adventure mode, and every other great feature, and you've got yourself an absolutely perfect game. Expand
  40. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    My favorite multiplayer game for the Nintendo Wii. Loads of fun with beating each other up, online is a real challenge! SSE mode was a lot of fun completing with family or friends. This is my favorite Smash Bros. ever made as of to date, looking forward to the 3DS version and more character selection! The level selection in this game has everything any type of Nintendo fan wants. This is aMy favorite multiplayer game for the Nintendo Wii. Loads of fun with beating each other up, online is a real challenge! SSE mode was a lot of fun completing with family or friends. This is my favorite Smash Bros. ever made as of to date, looking forward to the 3DS version and more character selection! The level selection in this game has everything any type of Nintendo fan wants. This is a fantastic fun multiplayer fighting game that will have you coming back for more beating and beatings!! Expand
  41. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    What a game! It is seriously the longest lasting game of all time, it never gets boring (coming from someone with well over 500 hours of play time). However, if I was rating the game on single player alone, it would probably get an 8/10, and the online a 7/10. But, if you have up to 3 friends (or relatives) then the game comes incredibly to life, with 35+ characters to choose from andWhat a game! It is seriously the longest lasting game of all time, it never gets boring (coming from someone with well over 500 hours of play time). However, if I was rating the game on single player alone, it would probably get an 8/10, and the online a 7/10. But, if you have up to 3 friends (or relatives) then the game comes incredibly to life, with 35+ characters to choose from and almost as many stages to fight on you will be playing for years (until the next one). It's better than the previous game and is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Expand
  42. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Phenomenal game for the ages. Best fighting Game I have ever had the opportunity to play. Only one's cutting it close are, besides Brawl's predecessors, Soul Calibur II and IV.
  43. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest fighting games ever made. Nintendo's greatest characters return with more action, fighting, pure awesomeness, and some twists, including Sonic the Hedgehog and Solid Snake as the 1st playable 3rd party characters in the series.
  44. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Tons of content to keep the player coming back with beautiful graphics and sound with the excellent gameplay helps this become one of the greatest games on the wii and this generation.
  45. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A true triumph for Nintendo fans. Even though the gameplay could be a tad better and the online has a few loose ends, it still goes a long way. Packed with an adventure mode, 4 player battles, stadium games, online play, and a huge collective vault, this game is definitely worth your money.
  46. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game lasted me hours of fun with my friends. The only problem would be the boring subspace emissary mode which was very limited in exploring and just not as fun as the group battles. But of course it is supposed to be a multiplayer game and it succeeds by far in that standards. Best multiplayer fighting game ever.
  47. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This came contains many of my favorite characters and some new ones that I really like playing as. With many ways to make the brawling fun, this game really delivered. But like many games this one isn't perfect. The online multiplayer is a little dull with just jumping into a battle without being able to talk or add people to a friends list. But other than that this game has everything aThis came contains many of my favorite characters and some new ones that I really like playing as. With many ways to make the brawling fun, this game really delivered. But like many games this one isn't perfect. The online multiplayer is a little dull with just jumping into a battle without being able to talk or add people to a friends list. But other than that this game has everything a long time super smash brothers player wants. Expand
  48. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    I know no one will read this, but don't listen to the bad reviews. If you liked any of the other Smash Bros. games, then you'll fall in love with this game.
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    When the Wii is the lone host to a great game everyone knows about it. Well guess what? Nintendo made a great game and it sits on the Wii. This is in the top 5 fighting games of all time. Right up there with Tekken 3 Street Fighter Alpha 3 and Soulcalibur. The characters are incredible and extremely fun to use. Takes away the overly abused features from Melee and gives the cast, not aWhen the Wii is the lone host to a great game everyone knows about it. Well guess what? Nintendo made a great game and it sits on the Wii. This is in the top 5 fighting games of all time. Right up there with Tekken 3 Street Fighter Alpha 3 and Soulcalibur. The characters are incredible and extremely fun to use. Takes away the overly abused features from Melee and gives the cast, not a makeover, but a booster. The story mode is an actual story and presents a simpler way to unlock characters from Melee. Each character (save one) has their weaknesses and counters. Great game from the best developer in video games. Expand
  50. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    If the online was as good as it should be, this would be the best game on Wii. It's still hugely addictive still today, being the best multiplayer experience on the market.
  51. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    this is the best fighting game. Nintendo Wii might have the worst graphics and online but who cares they have the best exclusives ever! this game is so fun so addictive. the mulitiplayer is really fun and tight and the campaign is very good and long!
  52. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    This thing in one word: EPIC!
    According to nintendo channel, I have played this game (also including the times I accidentally left it on all night) for over 380 HOURS! It's simply the best fighting game EVER!
  53. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Why do I still use my Wii despite me having a PS3 and XBOX360? four words: Super Smash Bros. Brawl.
    Though nowadays I don't play it, It is etched onto my mind as 'epic'. It has a very connecting, lively storyline, how would Mario meet Ganondorf? How do all the villans and heroes from all of nintendo's top franchises and Solid Snake and Sonic team up? Thats the storyline called the Subspace
    Why do I still use my Wii despite me having a PS3 and XBOX360? four words: Super Smash Bros. Brawl.
    Though nowadays I don't play it, It is etched onto my mind as 'epic'. It has a very connecting, lively storyline, how would Mario meet Ganondorf? How do all the villans and heroes from all of nintendo's top franchises and Solid Snake and Sonic team up? Thats the storyline called the Subspace Emissary.

    I was absolutely overwhelmed to say the least, you can brawl for moths at a time without getting the least bored. Every characters move-set was uniquely designed, it feels different playing with each character. They introduce us to each characters background in cutscenes, and the level at which it assimilated me into the story made me feel like a part of the nintendo family in a matter of hours despite being a total stranger before.

    What really made me feel strong is that every character put aside their differences to face that one enemy who could destroy the universe otherwise. If there's one thing I've learned: "United we stand, Divided we fall.'

    A must buy for anyone who loves any kind of fighting and who seeks ways to pass time, Oh did i forget to mention that it had an awesome multiplayer? Despite so many entries since 2008, a very few have managed to match-up/ surpass SSBB!! Thanks Nintendo, for this overwhelming treat!
    Expand
  54. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    THE CAMPAIN IS AWFUL!!! but multiplayer is the most fun multiplayer ever. i know that was gramitically incorrect but this game is fantastic. i played it for a year and now i play it when ever i go to my friends house. (which is fairly often). beyond fun, cant wait for next super smash bros game but at the same time i prob wont get a WII U. :( hopefully they make it for WII too :)))
  55. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    What this game is; is the greatest game of all time! I enjoyed brawl. SO much better than melee. It has ALOT of features in this game. From fighting with your friends to building stages. This is deserve a must buy to any wii gamer in the world. Graphics: 9.5 Gameplay: 10.0 Story: 9.0 Features: 10.0 Overall: 9.8
  56. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    The 3rd entrance in the Super Smash Bros. series is phenomenal. With such a wide cast of characters and stages, the good times can keep rolling. The music and sounds for the game are as great as you could expect a 1st party Nintendo game to have. I honestly looked for a bad thing to say about this game, and the closest I could come up with was a decent story in the Subspace Emissary, butThe 3rd entrance in the Super Smash Bros. series is phenomenal. With such a wide cast of characters and stages, the good times can keep rolling. The music and sounds for the game are as great as you could expect a 1st party Nintendo game to have. I honestly looked for a bad thing to say about this game, and the closest I could come up with was a decent story in the Subspace Emissary, but even then, the story does an interesting job of combining all of the characters to one common goal. The online multiplayer is gruesome, but that is also do largely to the fact that Nintendo decided to go with friend codes for all of their games, which is not the actual game's fault. Even almost four years after its release, I have played close to 3 months of game time in my records. That is roughly 700 hours of game for $50.00, and I would have payed the XBOX retail value of $60.00. Do yourself a favor if you haven't already, and go pick up this game, and even a Wii if you have to. The replay value of this game will keep you entertained for many months. Expand
  57. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Maybe I'm biased towards Smash Brothers in general, but any game that can consistently entertain and satisfy me for 4 years is a great game in my book.
  58. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    This is the best fighting game ever. You can play as all of your favorite characters from most Nintendo Franchises, and some "Nontendo" [play on words =~)] franchise. This has a great moment with my favorite scene from any video game ever in it. The multiplayer is the best kind ever, no one will be disappointed. The only place where it lacks is having online multiplayer with extremely longThis is the best fighting game ever. You can play as all of your favorite characters from most Nintendo Franchises, and some "Nontendo" [play on words =~)] franchise. This has a great moment with my favorite scene from any video game ever in it. The multiplayer is the best kind ever, no one will be disappointed. The only place where it lacks is having online multiplayer with extremely long wait times, so most of the time it better (and perhaps even more challenging) to put some computer players on. Expand
  59. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    It's a very good fighting game, and it's also kid friendly unlike other fighters like Soul Calibur and Mortal Kombat. This game is better played with friends though. Playing alone this game has a hard time keeping it's appeal, but with others it is a great game that I highly recommend. The new features in this game such as stage building and a comprehensive story line greatly increase theIt's a very good fighting game, and it's also kid friendly unlike other fighters like Soul Calibur and Mortal Kombat. This game is better played with friends though. Playing alone this game has a hard time keeping it's appeal, but with others it is a great game that I highly recommend. The new features in this game such as stage building and a comprehensive story line greatly increase the appeal. Online play is dreadful, but aside from that as long as there are friends to play with, I saw Brawl on. Expand
  60. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    i give it a 10. it's fun, one website said it took 100 hours of game play. but that only if you're going for 100% like THE full 100% not just every character, ever perk(Known as a sticker)and every trophy.
    i don't see why people hate it. probably because they can't beat the final boss. he(if it has a gender) is very VERY hard. but one factor i like about this game is the 2 3rd party
    i give it a 10. it's fun, one website said it took 100 hours of game play. but that only if you're going for 100% like THE full 100% not just every character, ever perk(Known as a sticker)and every trophy.
    i don't see why people hate it. probably because they can't beat the final boss. he(if it has a gender) is very VERY hard. but one factor i like about this game is the 2 3rd party characters,*spoiler alert, if you do not want to get spoils i'll tell you when it ends*Sonic and metal snake*spoilers end here*. another thing people probably hate is because Geno(character from super mario RPG) wasn't there and Ridley and meta-ridley weren't playable.
    Expand
  61. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Best fighting video game franchise in the video game history, seriously!! I had so much fun with this little gem that I cant recall bad memories of this game only enjoyable ones. Looking forward to the new Wii U super smash bros
  62. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    one of the best fighting games ever it has all of the classic nintendo characters that we know and love the story mode isnt the best but its probably the best fighting game story ive ever played they have all the chalenge modes from the old game and new characters such as wario pit etc. the only problem with this game is the online matchmaking the only fights you can have are the standardone of the best fighting games ever it has all of the classic nintendo characters that we know and love the story mode isnt the best but its probably the best fighting game story ive ever played they have all the chalenge modes from the old game and new characters such as wario pit etc. the only problem with this game is the online matchmaking the only fights you can have are the standard 2:00 mintune fights other then that its amazing Expand
  63. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Are you ready for the best game on wii as well as the best fighting game I've ever played? I sure am! featuring a character roster that almost comes equal with the 48 characters on the Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition, this game has a far more diverse character roster in every respect. There's a character for absolutely every play style. (my 2 favourites are Ike from fire emblem andAre you ready for the best game on wii as well as the best fighting game I've ever played? I sure am! featuring a character roster that almost comes equal with the 48 characters on the Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition, this game has a far more diverse character roster in every respect. There's a character for absolutely every play style. (my 2 favourites are Ike from fire emblem and Snake from Metal Gear Solid) The solo aka subspace emmisary mode provides about 8 hours of fun but forgettable levels but it only really serves as a filler and a way to unlock all but 3 characters which is fine by me as the multiplayer mode is so incredibly addictive that I don't really notice it although it is quite fun to play co-op. The online mode is reasonably good except there is a lot of noobs online. The multiplayer is where this really shines as this provides as many hours of fun as your Wii and game disc can tolerate. Impossible to put down in a party environment as you don't even need any other games at your party because this is so frickin good. It's rewarding to play as every character and get good with them (except for Olimar, DeDeDe and Wario, they're beyond help) Like I used to love playing as Fox and Link in melee, now I love playing as Ike and Snake, Ike is perfect for 1 v 1 duels in my opinion, and snake is awesome fun for 3 player fights as you can just screw with the other fighters with remote mines, grenades and rocket launchers, fun to watch them get angry at you XD. There is nothing else I can say other then GET THIS GAME!!! (P.S. this is an awesome music disc for gamers with over 200 songs, it's just awesome to use this and play some classic sonic, mario, zelda, and pokemon songs as a bgm for a party) Expand
  64. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Brilliant party fighter. Simple and addictive fun. Exellent stage design, great character roster and YEARS WORTH of content. I always have a blast with this game. Its issues come in the form of balance (Ike dominates) and the Subspace Emmisary mode wasting tones of potential and being repetetive. Overall the most fun on the wii you can have
  65. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Enterteining, complete, spectacular and varied. It is one of the best games of Wii, and it do not have fault. Simply it is more than you can wait in a game.
  66. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    One of the best games ever! The game has so much to do, that you'll keep it in your Wii for a very long time. Hopefully the next Super Smash Bros. will be even better!
  67. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    there is no brakes to this game its so fun and i would give this a twenty because its endless and real endless fun.....you cant have a wii or cll your self a nintendo fan without having this game.......and even if you get bored you can play demo classic games and theres endless mini games....by far nintendo did its best on this game and this is probably the best game for the WII.....bythere is no brakes to this game its so fun and i would give this a twenty because its endless and real endless fun.....you cant have a wii or cll your self a nintendo fan without having this game.......and even if you get bored you can play demo classic games and theres endless mini games....by far nintendo did its best on this game and this is probably the best game for the WII.....by owning this game yo will be a proud owner of the wii!!!!!!! Expand
  68. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    If you own a Wii, getting this game is a necessity. Period. :) You will not regret it. There's so much content in here that you'll likely be discovering more of it for years to come. Far more bang for your buck than most video games can shake a stick at. Most importantly, though, the combat is fun, fast-paced, and there's plenty of strategy involved for the hardcore gamers who like toIf you own a Wii, getting this game is a necessity. Period. :) You will not regret it. There's so much content in here that you'll likely be discovering more of it for years to come. Far more bang for your buck than most video games can shake a stick at. Most importantly, though, the combat is fun, fast-paced, and there's plenty of strategy involved for the hardcore gamers who like to fine-tune their strategies. GET THIS GAME. Expand
  69. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    this is the best fighting game on the wii console, in addition mode subspace emissary gives a look of adventure fighting game to smash the ball over nintendo.En gives each character has a supreme and unstoppable attack was provided to has to see the characters suchas personne.but for sonic, pikachu, bowser, wario the finish are virtually unstoppable.
  70. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    A good game that combines all the company mascots, see the fighting All-Stars Mario, Kirby, Sonic, Pikachu, Bowser, Link, Ike ...
    Subspace Emissary mode successfully, Event mode very well developed, but the default graphics that makes the game a little nerveu, but the game is very playable.
  71. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    A great Nintendo game. Hands down the second best Wii game. Loads of unlockables, and more multiplayer fun than a night of Halo, the best single player and multiplayer game on the Wii system.
  72. May 5, 2012
    10
    Its perhaps even safe to say that Super Smash Bros Brawl is the greatest game ever created. Super Smash Brawl is what you get if you combine deep gameplay with hardcoreness. Super Smash Bros. Brawl is just Melee but better, with new characters like Snake, Meta Knight, Wario and Sonic, new items like the Smash Balls and a lot of new cool stages. This is a game that you'll be playing for aIts perhaps even safe to say that Super Smash Bros Brawl is the greatest game ever created. Super Smash Brawl is what you get if you combine deep gameplay with hardcoreness. Super Smash Bros. Brawl is just Melee but better, with new characters like Snake, Meta Knight, Wario and Sonic, new items like the Smash Balls and a lot of new cool stages. This is a game that you'll be playing for a very long time, perhaps even years. The only problem I have with game is - NOTHING!!! Even singleplayer can keep you entertained for months! So, if you don't have this game yet, go get it! No Wii is complete without this Expand
  73. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    This is probably one of the best fighting games ever made and it improved a lot from the previous game in the series. With lots of new characters, new "abilities" and a new and very improved Adventure mode it certainly adds much new and interesting stuff to the game without changing the basic gameplay of cause. But what really makes this game so great is of cause the Brawl Mode and withThis is probably one of the best fighting games ever made and it improved a lot from the previous game in the series. With lots of new characters, new "abilities" and a new and very improved Adventure mode it certainly adds much new and interesting stuff to the game without changing the basic gameplay of cause. But what really makes this game so great is of cause the Brawl Mode and with all the characters and maps in this game it is certain that to matches of Brawl Mode will never be the same. They also added a new super attack for each character which really adds some excitement to the game and should you ever get bored with Brawl Mode you can also play Special Brawl which have been improved a lot since the last game. Even though this game is 4 years old it is still the game that i play the most on my wii and also one of my favorite games of all time. If it hadn't been for the poor online system and balance this would definetly be a 10/10, but it's still a fantastic game so i'm gonna give it 9/10. Expand
  74. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    It has fantastic graphics,awesome arsenal and game play.I give it to each one 10/10.Overall:3/3.The buttons 1 and 2 make animations.For example:If you press the button 1 while you're using Mario it grow.
  75. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    I liked the game is good for multiplayer is very fun and i love the story and the variable characters is good game for the wii and only the online is poor but is good the fighting mode
  76. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    There are only 3 games I can say are worth getting on the Wii, and this one alone is worth the console. The roster of characters is large at 35, and while some characters have advantages over the others, I never really found it a problem since I never play competitively.

    The Story mode is a nice platforming adventure while the classic mode is there for those who want a short Sweet
    There are only 3 games I can say are worth getting on the Wii, and this one alone is worth the console. The roster of characters is large at 35, and while some characters have advantages over the others, I never really found it a problem since I never play competitively.

    The Story mode is a nice platforming adventure while the classic mode is there for those who want a short Sweet experience. The v.s. mode will take up most of your time though. You'll also be able to save replays of short bouts and take screen caps in any mode at any time by just pausing the game.

    The music list is larger then melee, and you now can change the odds for a track to play. Trophies make a welcome return along side stickers and CDs. A challenge wall allows you to see how to obtain more stages, songs, trophies, and stickers.

    The game is beautiful. Sure it's not HD, but it's a good looking game still. Every stage looks like it's right from it's respective franchise.
    Expand
  77. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    After 3 years, I still find myself coming back to play this, which I do with no other Wii game, other than Mario Kart Wii. I love the graphics, the wide variety of characters - all unique and interesting in their own way. I love the different battle arenas from different Nintendo Games. And the orchestral music is goddamn amazing. Addictive, a load of fun, and so much to do - The SubspaceAfter 3 years, I still find myself coming back to play this, which I do with no other Wii game, other than Mario Kart Wii. I love the graphics, the wide variety of characters - all unique and interesting in their own way. I love the different battle arenas from different Nintendo Games. And the orchestral music is goddamn amazing. Addictive, a load of fun, and so much to do - The Subspace Emissary is vast.
    Almost flawless.
    Oh, and yeah, Tabuu is bad-ass.
    Expand
  78. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    The celebration of all things Nintendo! A fun game with plenty to do. Great characters, stages and music. A must-have for Wii! The controls are responsive, with varied modes and even an excellent adventure mode that is very entertaining.
  79. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Well,basically this is the best game i played on the Wii,yeah,that's it. the controls are perfect,the characters are awesome,the soundtrack melts my ears,and the story is pure fun.damn,even Sonic got the honor of being into this game,Solid Snake as well.
  80. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    The absolute best fighting game I have ever played. This game has so much content, that it doesn't even work on some Wii consoles. This is my lone problem with this game. I have brought this game to friends' houses only to find that their Wii will not run this game. Many would argue this is a hardware issue, and I agree mostly. These issues aside, SSBB is the must have fighting gameThe absolute best fighting game I have ever played. This game has so much content, that it doesn't even work on some Wii consoles. This is my lone problem with this game. I have brought this game to friends' houses only to find that their Wii will not run this game. Many would argue this is a hardware issue, and I agree mostly. These issues aside, SSBB is the must have fighting game of this console generation. 9/10 Expand
  81. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Super Smash Bros. Brawl 10/10.........................................................................................................................
  82. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Bringing characters throughout Nintendo and uniting gamers anywhere in a challenge to have a wonderful time competing with each other. Who ever you play or play with you are going to have great fun no matter what. The story unites all our Nintendo heroes together fighting their way through in a wonderful plot, whether you were the bad guy in the end you would eventually reach the lastBringing characters throughout Nintendo and uniting gamers anywhere in a challenge to have a wonderful time competing with each other. Who ever you play or play with you are going to have great fun no matter what. The story unites all our Nintendo heroes together fighting their way through in a wonderful plot, whether you were the bad guy in the end you would eventually reach the last boss......spoilers Expand
  83. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing the best super smash bros ever i played this all summer long and smoked pot and drank beers and just had a good time and this game is amazing
  84. May 29, 2013
    10
    I really don't mind that there is almost no online multiplayer, because the regular multiplayer in this game is already fine. I really love all of those reviews about how this game is unbalanced; PSASBR is very unbalanced, making this game seem perfectly fair. I like this game more that PSASBR as well because there are obvious skill levels in this game, I can easily beat people that don'tI really don't mind that there is almost no online multiplayer, because the regular multiplayer in this game is already fine. I really love all of those reviews about how this game is unbalanced; PSASBR is very unbalanced, making this game seem perfectly fair. I like this game more that PSASBR as well because there are obvious skill levels in this game, I can easily beat people that don't play as much as me. In PSASBR, my friend came over, and was almost on par with my skills event though it was his first time playing it ever. Maybe because you get the skill from this game, and show it on PSASBR, I don't know. I've heard about 'clones,' whoever has commented about this seriously hasn't played Melee. Let's take Fox and Falco for example, in Melee, both of them have red lasers, that just touch the enemy, an their move sets are very similar. In Brawl, Falco shoots blue beams of energy, and knocks the opponent back. Whereas Fox has a red beam of energy and has the same effect as in Melee. Their down b's are also different, in Melee, Falco and Fox just held their shield in place. In brawl, Falco kicks his down b shield, and Fox does the same as he did in Melee. Same with Ganon and Cpt. Falcon, their moves are slightly different, unlike in Melee. Someone mentioned the subspace emissary? compare it to PSASBR, the only game to really compare this game to. I a really annoyed with people complaining about the music. You know what I'm going to suggest, look at PSASBR. This along with stage problems, ever try PSASBR, in that game, the stage stops after a small amount of playing on it (stock matches especially evident), in SSBB, the stage continues, and keeps pace. Whatever people say about this game, I will still ask you to refer to PSASBR, to see if it is any better. I will only start to complain if the next Super Smash Bros game is worse than this one. My Verdict is the same at 9.8/10, online is almost (if not) literally impossible to use. Expand
  85. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    It's outrageously entertaining, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is the perfect game to play with a group of buddies or homies. Its got amazing characters and epic battles and moves that will make it a nonstop playing game.
  86. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Absolutely flawless game, with fun to last through the ages, of all ages. Great game. So good, that it's so good. Words cannot fathom the awesomeness.
  87. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    I'm a Nintendo fan. There is no doubt about it. Super Smash Bros. is a series that had kept Nintendo fans on their feet for ages. Well...not that long. Super Smash Bros. Brawl really impressed me. All of the new playable characters have a good moveset as well as the old ones. I'm just glad that my favorite character, Mr.Game&Watch, has returned. I think the smash ball was a veryI'm a Nintendo fan. There is no doubt about it. Super Smash Bros. is a series that had kept Nintendo fans on their feet for ages. Well...not that long. Super Smash Bros. Brawl really impressed me. All of the new playable characters have a good moveset as well as the old ones. I'm just glad that my favorite character, Mr.Game&Watch, has returned. I think the smash ball was a very interesting thing for them to add. All of the final smashes were related to the games. The assist trophy was another great thing to add. You get to see non-playable characters fight by your side. Expand
  88. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Probably one of the greatest party games ever created. The graphics are great for a Wii game and the multiplayer and single player options guarantee that players will continue playing for a long time.
  89. May 5, 2013
    10
    Hands down my favorite Wii game ever. It's a blast to play with friends, has crazy amounts of content and you can beat the snot out of your least favorite Nintendo characters with the incredibly tight controls. You also have 4 different controller options and can customize the controls so you can have the perfect fighting experience.
  90. RNH
    Feb 2, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is one of the greatest games ever created. The game is very fun and addicting to play. The game has a wide cast of your favorite characters, from Kirby to Oilmar to even Solid Snake, and a great variety of items, stages, music, and game modes. Fighting in this game is simple but strategic, simple enough that anybody can join in the game and have a funIn my opinion, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is one of the greatest games ever created. The game is very fun and addicting to play. The game has a wide cast of your favorite characters, from Kirby to Oilmar to even Solid Snake, and a great variety of items, stages, music, and game modes. Fighting in this game is simple but strategic, simple enough that anybody can join in the game and have a fun time, but also skill-based enough that there is a competitive metagame for it. Super Smash Bros. has changed fighting games with its unique fighting system with a backwards health bar and directional button combos. This game has tons of bonus features besides multiplayer, with single player modes such as an adventure mode, event mode, classic mode, and training mode. This is a perfect game to pull out during a party, and everyone would want to play it and also have a lot of fun. This is probably the funnest game on any system to date, and is a must-own for humble Wii owners. Expand
  91. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    Sue me for all I care. I personally think this game is better than Melee. Don't get me wrong: I love Melee, but I would be lying if I said I didn't love Brawl even more. Why? One word: content. Brawl has at least twice as much content as Melee. The addition of the Subspace Emissary mode was a brilliant one on the developer's part, and while people whine about it having pretty much noSue me for all I care. I personally think this game is better than Melee. Don't get me wrong: I love Melee, but I would be lying if I said I didn't love Brawl even more. Why? One word: content. Brawl has at least twice as much content as Melee. The addition of the Subspace Emissary mode was a brilliant one on the developer's part, and while people whine about it having pretty much no story, they probably had fun playing it whether it had a story or not. Boss Battles mode is very challenging, Stage Builder (while a little bare-bones) is a great idea, stickers and CDs will keep completionists like me busy for months, and do I even need to talk about Final Smashes? As for everything else that's an improvement on Melee, Brawl just gives us more. More characters, more stages, more modes, more trophies, and pretty much just more things to do.

    Was there anything really bad about the game? Well, not really bad, just annoying. The ability to unlock every character just by playing through Subspace Emissary I think wasn't a good idea (maybe if you just unlocked ROB, Snake, and Sonic as milestones), and the online mode is really laggy, though not enough to stop you from having a good fight with folks online. And yeah, there are a couple characters I would have loved to have in the game, but I won't hold that against the game. Every single crossover fighting game that exists suffers that problem. As for the lack of L-canceling or wave dashing or other crap like that, look at it this way. Most of the people who play Super Smash Bros. probably don't play it competitively (including me though I'm a die-hard fan of the series). This stuff doesn't bother me in the slightest, and if you're still kicking ass without those mechanics, it shouldn't bother you either.

    Bottom line is that Brawl is a fantastic fighting game. It's one of the best games I've ever played, and no one will change my mind. Is Brawl going to become somewhat obsolete when Smash Bros. 4 comes out for 3DS and Wii U? Of course it is, but for now, if you have a Wii or Wii U and don't own Super Smash Bros. Brawl...you, my good sir or ma'am, are out of your mind.
    Expand
  92. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    As a kid, I remember playing the first Super Smash Bros., saying to myself, "It just can't get better than this". Later, Melee came out and I was proven wrong. After playing Melee for a solid 100 hours, I said, "There's no way it can get any better than this!" Then, Brawl came out, and I was proven wrong yet again.

    Brawl is, without a doubt, the most complete Smash Bros. game to date.
    As a kid, I remember playing the first Super Smash Bros., saying to myself, "It just can't get better than this". Later, Melee came out and I was proven wrong. After playing Melee for a solid 100 hours, I said, "There's no way it can get any better than this!" Then, Brawl came out, and I was proven wrong yet again.

    Brawl is, without a doubt, the most complete Smash Bros. game to date. There are tens of characters to play as, dozens of stages (not to mention you can build your own), hundreds of trophies, and many different gameplay modes to mess with. There's also a pretty good story mode, which is a change for the series.

    The only flaw with this game is the online play with random strangers. Saying that there's lag is an understatement.

    All in all, this is the best Smash Bros. yet. There's no way it can get better than this (or can it... WiiU?)
    Expand
  93. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I got this game around 2010, and was instantly hooked. The graphics are epic, the fights are epic, and the story is super epic. I think it deserved to be the last 10 in Nintendo Power history! (R.I.P. Nintendo Power)
  94. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    very amazing game. Every mode is fun. especially the adventure mode. the cutscenes are great, and I experienced no lag. The only reason that this game is rated less than a nine is because there are some crazy halo fans who are putting other games down even though halo hasn't had a decent game in years! *looks at crazychief112* but this is easily one of the best games ever released on the Wii.
  95. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    This game is the most fun I've ever had on the Wii. When my friends come over, this is usually what we play. It is so fun to play as some of your favorite characters in gaming and compete against your friends and see who's the ultimate Brawler. The gameplay is so simple and so fun, which is what I believe to be the reason so many people adore it. The many different places you can fight inThis game is the most fun I've ever had on the Wii. When my friends come over, this is usually what we play. It is so fun to play as some of your favorite characters in gaming and compete against your friends and see who's the ultimate Brawler. The gameplay is so simple and so fun, which is what I believe to be the reason so many people adore it. The many different places you can fight in have some great surprises and may give you nostalgia attacks if you love the original games. If you have a Wii, you have to have this game. You will be playing it again and again and again. Expand
  96. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a big fan of these games and now this game has been up the next level by making the Wii go on line and challenge your friends or just random people.

    They is a least new characters on this game some take time to know what skills they do.

    On the downfall I hate this game for:

    On line can be slow to connect if you playing with random players in a team got to wait at least 20 minus or so before another guy comes on and then it sometimes disconnect you off then you have to start again finding players.

    And you trip a lot too on this game half a time I lost in the sudden death mode because I tripped up and a bomb landed on my head and I could not move in time to avoid it or the other player killed me.

    The game is detail in the characters that is on it.

    The levels is awesome and some playable enough.

    The songs/music is well composed and nice to listen to.

    They 's is the challenges you can do for more stuff in the game that will take you a few days to do.

    The game is just great, it's fast paced with extra bits like a stage builder you can now re-create the old levels in other games but it has hardly room to make a lot of things to make it annoying for you.

    Overall I personally love this game too bits.
    Expand
  97. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    Excellent game. I would recommend it to anybody. Worth every penny. Excellent moves, great graphics, and extreme addictiveness, and nice storyline makes this game the incredible game I knew it would be
  98. May 5, 2013
    9
    This is presented excellently, the graphics look realistic and the gameplay was what I have expected, ever since playing the first two games. Nintendo has gotten serious into these type of games and have given it their best shot.
  99. May 12, 2013
    10
    If you want to know what my favorite game is; I'd be surprise knowing that you cared, it's this one. I'm going to start off with what makes this a good game first, then go on with why I love this game so much. First off you get a sequel to one of the biggest gamecube games at the time and probably now, and is also being released on one of the biggest systems at the time; that I'm sure of.If you want to know what my favorite game is; I'd be surprise knowing that you cared, it's this one. I'm going to start off with what makes this a good game first, then go on with why I love this game so much. First off you get a sequel to one of the biggest gamecube games at the time and probably now, and is also being released on one of the biggest systems at the time; that I'm sure of. You get an expanded roster of some the most iconic Nintendo characters, plus now for the first time 3rd-party characters Snake and Sonic. With highly detailed graphics it makes watching the fighting even more enjoyable, which is also a minor problem because there's so much going on that you can't fully enjoy the detail. The biggest part this game had to offer was the fact that it had online play, which would mean that we could pown noobs anywhere now, but unfortunately that didn't really meet our expectations. Now in this one there's a story mode along with the usual material, and that is probable the not so great part of this game. it goes on for too long, and is not that entirely interesting; it is at times, just not all the time. Now for the best part: VS mode. by far the greatest 4 player fighting game to date, or the greatest I can think of. Just casual producer as always, pick your character and stage, then proceed to beat the living crap out of your friends. There was also the introduction to final smashes, which are these dazzling super moves that can clear the stage of enemies. This was always the one thing I think didn't need to be in the game; it's great though how you can just turn it off with ease, it can be seen as unfair because players could just wait for the smash ball to appear and just use that to win. Now for why I love this game. Don't you love it when you see an image from your childhood in a cool game or movie? Well for me I was excited to kick all my friends asses with Meta knight! Now though it's seen as unfair to play as him. What's also cool is that this game doesn't focus on combo's and special moves like most previous fighting games do, but instead tries to give players; or rather force others, to use strategy while fighting. Characters don't have a label on their heads saying how to be played, all characters can be played differently and can be efficient, but some have certain advantages over others, but none that are major. So in conclusion I think this is one of the best fighting games of all time; please note I said "one" of greatest, and I wish I could play it now. Expand
  100. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    the best wii game out there and a great extension of the super smash bros series. The campaign mode is fun, each character is unique and well thought out. It would easily get a ten if it: A. wasn't so floaty B. didnt have tripping
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Brawl is easily the most fun I’ve had on a Wii, and could be the most fun I’ve had with a game in ages. It’s just that good. There is just so much to do, and so many different and refreshing things added that it would be a crime not to at least take a look.
  2. Rarely has any title delivered so much amazing action, such a wide variety of modes, and so many hours of value. It doesn't get any better than this. [Mar 2008, p.82]
  3. It’s obvious that developer Game Arts have put a painstaking amount of effort into creating this game and every time we play it we’re discovering new Nintendo references which bring back a rush of nostalgia. Brawl’s chaotic multiplayer sessions are some of the best to be had on the system, plus there are plenty of challenges and modes to amuse those ‘friend-impaired’ individuals out there as well. It’s a no-brainer, every serious Nintendo fan out there should score themselves a copy of this game, invite some friends/victims around, and have a smashing good time.