Tenchu: Shadow Assassins Wii

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Feb 5, 2009
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2015
    10
    Great comeback of great series. You can feel that this game is made by the same people that made Tenchu 1 and 2. It has great story and atmosphere. It's realistic again, so goodbye monsters from Wrath of Heaven. It has huge variety of stealth kills and items are really useful at last. Character design is just great. However, fighting system is not good. But it's stealth game, so if youGreat comeback of great series. You can feel that this game is made by the same people that made Tenchu 1 and 2. It has great story and atmosphere. It's realistic again, so goodbye monsters from Wrath of Heaven. It has huge variety of stealth kills and items are really useful at last. Character design is just great. However, fighting system is not good. But it's stealth game, so if you have to fight it just means you failed. There are only about 5 moments when you are forced to fight. Also, physics behave odd sometimes. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2015
    6
    As a big fan of Tenchu series playing this game disappointed me.
    The game, while not horrible is nothing like the original Tenchu games.
    Gone is the Grappling hook, and combat is limited to motion controlled predetermined mini game segments.
    In the end what we have is more of a puzzle game, that feels like forced stealth segments in other modern non stealth games.
  3. May 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow just wow the best tenchu games of all time is so real everything! like a true ninjas and old Japanese world...
    pros:music,story,gameplay,voice actors,
    cons:-

    Rikimaru was the best and Onikage and the ending was pefect! I don't know if there will be next sequel I want to see ayame die or rikimaru with onikage... that would be a perfect closure of rikimaru tale.Or live both of them I just DONT want to see tenchu game going to dribbler and loveish,Naruto ugly things.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    A solid addition to one of the best series in gaming. My only serious qualm with this game is that certain motions with the Wiimote do not register well (thrusting specifically) during kills. Adjusting the sensitivity up and exaggerating your Wiimote motions helps, but even then a perfect kill gets ruined sometimes. Lesser qualms would be the linear level design, occasionally very longA solid addition to one of the best series in gaming. My only serious qualm with this game is that certain motions with the Wiimote do not register well (thrusting specifically) during kills. Adjusting the sensitivity up and exaggerating your Wiimote motions helps, but even then a perfect kill gets ruined sometimes. Lesser qualms would be the linear level design, occasionally very long "where are you" breaks, and the bogus though completely avoidable (for the true ninja) combat system. Expand
  5. Curarecyd
    Feb 22, 2009
    8
    Pros: graphics decent for the Wii for once. Stealth kills are fun. Soundtrack and storyline quite good. Ninja items useful, so are camouflage and hiding places...and ability to do kills using cover. Cons: no rooftops! no maps. face to face fighting is horrible. Summary: ubisoft is uber cool. they've done something new for the series with the new console generation. not all of it Pros: graphics decent for the Wii for once. Stealth kills are fun. Soundtrack and storyline quite good. Ninja items useful, so are camouflage and hiding places...and ability to do kills using cover. Cons: no rooftops! no maps. face to face fighting is horrible. Summary: ubisoft is uber cool. they've done something new for the series with the new console generation. not all of it works but knowing that there's going to be a trilogy it's encouraging that ubisoft is experimenting now for a better gaming experience. Collapse
  6. marsvolta
    Feb 18, 2009
    9
    I would be tempted to say that the game gets a bit redundant, in how
    you're just kind of sneaking around and coming up on guys and
    everything. But that's what this game is. It's stealth, it's suspense, it's not getting caught and it's beautiful. In this game you're a true assassin. You're not sniping political figures from roof
    I would be tempted to say that the game gets a bit redundant, in how
    you're just kind of sneaking around and coming up on guys and
    everything. But that's what this game is. It's stealth, it's suspense,
    it's not getting caught and it's beautiful.

    In this game you're a true assassin. You're not sniping political
    figures from roof tops. That's getting old. You're in a time when
    getting these things done required much more human aptitude. It
    definitely helps that you can pretty much turn into smoke and hide
    behind things that wouldn't provide cover, but hey, it's a video game.
    And the effects are waaaay tight.
    Expand
  7. BillAvery
    Feb 16, 2009
    9
    Holy moly, guacamole. Ninja action at it
  8. KarenBarber
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    Aw man! BEST! Wii! Game! EVER! I just completed the second stage, and all I can say is get this game. I assume that only people who haven

Awards & Rankings

#50 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#50 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Edge Magazine
    60
    The simple Remote application – flicks to activate instant takedowns – is one of many wise steps taken away from the convoluted mechanics weighing down other current-gen entries. [Mar 2009, p.93]
  2. games(TM)
    60
    It takes several hours of frustrating play to get to the more enjoyable sections of the game. [Mar 2009, p.116]
  3. Here's hoping a few things can be cleaned up for a second iteration on the Wii, and I'd definitely suggest that curious fans give Shadow Assassins a try.