• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2009
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 254

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeT
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Great game. Controls work perfectly and are fully customizable as well as extremely precise, thus making the game require and reward those with skilled aiming and practice (making the multiplayer and single player much more satisfying). Graphics are very well done for a Wii game and could even be at 360/PS3 level if it were not for some bland textures and low resolutions in a few level Great game. Controls work perfectly and are fully customizable as well as extremely precise, thus making the game require and reward those with skilled aiming and practice (making the multiplayer and single player much more satisfying). Graphics are very well done for a Wii game and could even be at 360/PS3 level if it were not for some bland textures and low resolutions in a few level objects. But overall, it looks great and most people will be impressed. This game sounds great also with a nice sound track and gun fire sounds that feel realistic as well as good use of the Wii remote speaker. Weapon wise, this game has many fun to use weapons that are all very balanced and useful in different situations. You won't be dissapointed in this category at all. Storyline is somewhat cliched which may discourage some from enjoying it to it's fullest extent but it is still very well done and there are plenty of hidden messages in the levels that add a lot of depth to the story. Single Player is well done and serves it's purpose nicely as a run and gun shooter that has enough action to keep most fans busy for 3-4 play-throughs, assuming they go for all the secrets and difficulty levels. It lasts about 8 hours. The Multiplayer, on the other hand, is even better and is definitely the best on the Wii so far surpassing Super Smash Brothers Brawl mainly due to the little or no connection issues players have been experiencing. Although, without a fast connection some lag may occur during full rounds but it is never anything unplayable. There are plenty of game modes and weapon sets to keep players happy and overall it is a highly addicting experience (especially with the ranking system) that can, in my opinion, easily compete with some of the more popular online shooters out there (yes, even Halo 3). Overall, this game is excellent and has well lived up to its very high expectations and hype. Aside from a slightly cliched and short storyline, The Conduit shines with a fun campaign, highly addictive online that will keep players busy for a long time, and controls that separate it from many generic alien shooting games on the market today. I recommend this game to anyone who has a Wii, or to anyone who wants a good shooting game, or even to anyone who is just interested in what all the hype is about. Expand
  2. carterk
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    The game is much more fun than the "critics" are suggesting. The gameplay may not be anything new but the controls are truly revolutionary and make this game really fun. The only thing I would have liked to improved upon is the big boss battles.
  3. kd
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Despite what all the reviews said, this game is extremely fun every second, and that's why I have a gaming system. For only $39, this is the best money I've spent, and recommend this title 100%. Best racer I've played.
  4. TonyJ
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This game is, hands down, the best first person shooter and the best online game on the Wii. The controls are awesome, and the difficulty ranges from entry-level to hardcore. I am going to sink some serious time into this game!!
  5. RonW
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Yes, the Conduit may not be a step forward in game play, but it sure as hell is in controls. Undoubtedly the most configurable control set up to date on any system. Online is a smash and will keep you returning to play for months and months, don't be scared off by the relatively average single player length, the multiplayer is where it's all at.
  6. DerekS
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Great game. By far the only way FPS games should be played in the future. All other control methods (dual analogs, keyboard-and-mouse, etc) seem archaic and unnatural compared to this. Your arm might hurt by constantly holding the gun/controller while walking, and the camera might be shaky while doing so, but that's the way it's done in real life. At times, you'll want to Great game. By far the only way FPS games should be played in the future. All other control methods (dual analogs, keyboard-and-mouse, etc) seem archaic and unnatural compared to this. Your arm might hurt by constantly holding the gun/controller while walking, and the camera might be shaky while doing so, but that's the way it's done in real life. At times, you'll want to put your left and right hands closer together just to keep your gun and camera steady, which emulates how you naturally achieve the accuracy you want, and hence makes this game very interesting. Expand
  7. hooko
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. Reviewers don't know what they're talking about. They're taking points off subconciously BECUASE its a third party wii game (omg no way!)

    Get this game now., You won't be disappointed. You want a good review, read IGN's or the user reviews from FELLOW GAMERS who played and loved this game.
  8. sebk
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This game just shows what the wii can do when devs acually try. I own a xbox 360, and love it, but this acually made me pick up my wii 'mote for a while -easily the best fps on wii (yes better then metroid).
  9. StevenN
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Although the single player mode is slightly derrivitive, the online multiplayer is the real hook.us This is the game wii owners have been waiting for!
  10. CH
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    This game is great. It definitely reminds me of 007 and Perfect Dark. The single-player is fun ... not thrilling. But the online is perfect. I couldn't have asked for a better online experience (except maybe for the dumb friend codes). I'm very pleased with this game - I'm glad I dropped the $50 to get it.
  11. AgtError
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Do not worry! This game is the greatest! As to why the other reviews were so low? It's because they didn't fully explore the game! They complained about controls, graphics and short story line! Storyline I do agree on, but its graphics are way beyond amazing for the Wii! The graphical technology is underappreciated in most reviews, because they compare it to a PS3 or 360! About Do not worry! This game is the greatest! As to why the other reviews were so low? It's because they didn't fully explore the game! They complained about controls, graphics and short story line! Storyline I do agree on, but its graphics are way beyond amazing for the Wii! The graphical technology is underappreciated in most reviews, because they compare it to a PS3 or 360! About the controls, this FPS offers THE BEST controls! Many reviewers didn't take the time to mess around and tweak their controls or were too lazy looking for their hot spot! I am really disappointed at the reviewers besides IGN.. At least IGN supports what they said unlike the others. Expand
  12. KevinC
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    While this game may have not appealed to eager Wii fanboys like me at first, it begins to grow on you, and eventually you'll get hooked on this game. While trailers for The Conduit showed that this game was going to be one of the most beautiful Wii games, graphic-wise, it wasn't really as well as I expected. Controls are easy to learn and adapt, and online multiplayer is quite While this game may have not appealed to eager Wii fanboys like me at first, it begins to grow on you, and eventually you'll get hooked on this game. While trailers for The Conduit showed that this game was going to be one of the most beautiful Wii games, graphic-wise, it wasn't really as well as I expected. Controls are easy to learn and adapt, and online multiplayer is quite enjoyable as well. The Conduit succeeds in taking your classic alien homeland invasion and creating something completely new out of it. Expand
  13. adamh
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    By far the best looking game on wii. best control set up on wii and possible on any other system. many say the story is cliche but if you look for all the imagery and the hidden messages and google every other word you find youll start to see connections behind seemingly unconnected things. im amazed at some of the connections and references i found but im more amazed that the reviewers By far the best looking game on wii. best control set up on wii and possible on any other system. many say the story is cliche but if you look for all the imagery and the hidden messages and google every other word you find youll start to see connections behind seemingly unconnected things. im amazed at some of the connections and references i found but im more amazed that the reviewers missed them. it seems cliche if you only watch the cut scenes but if you notice every name and every picture and every hidden message you will realize how interesting this story is. level design is a bit generic though. Expand
  14. LukeS.
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    A fun game, with great graphics and a solid overall presentation. The Conduit has been a lot of fun to play online, once you've beaten the single player game. I really like The Conduit. It fits perfectly in my Wii library right alongside Mario, Zelda, and Wii Sports.
  15. John
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Ignore the reviews, they're all flawed (except IGNs) All of them ignore some part of the Conduit's amazingness. A few of them didn't even realize about the Games customizable controls. Contrary to reviews, the single player isn't that short, because its damn hard. The AI is amazing, ambushing me, flanking me, and dodging. The NP reviewer played it on easy difficulty, Ignore the reviews, they're all flawed (except IGNs) All of them ignore some part of the Conduit's amazingness. A few of them didn't even realize about the Games customizable controls. Contrary to reviews, the single player isn't that short, because its damn hard. The AI is amazing, ambushing me, flanking me, and dodging. The NP reviewer played it on easy difficulty, no wonder he thought it was crap. Multiplayer, this game shines, with so many options. This game, is truly a wii gem, and one which every self-respecting wii gamer should have. Expand
  16. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    Played for around five minutes.
    Gave up.
    Difficult as **** to play.
    Graphics are strange, and from what I could remember, somewhat ****ty.
    Was addicting.
    If you are looking for a game that is so **** challenging and **** addicting, this game is recommended.
    If looking for a game to play casually, or just not freaking hard as hell,
    DON'T **** BUY THIS.
  17. TimH
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    IGN and G4TV had horrible reviews. This game was very well made. The control system is very well done with tons of room for customization. The online mode in comparison to other wii games is outstanding. I never cared for online wii games before now. This game should hopefully influence other developers to do the same. I encourage Wii owners to give it an open minded try as opposed to IGN and G4TV had horrible reviews. This game was very well made. The control system is very well done with tons of room for customization. The online mode in comparison to other wii games is outstanding. I never cared for online wii games before now. This game should hopefully influence other developers to do the same. I encourage Wii owners to give it an open minded try as opposed to deciding the game is not worth your time because the story isn't extraordinarily original as if any story these days is. Expand
  18. JoshuaR
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    Even though I've only had a short time with this game, it's been nothing more then impressive. The SP campaign is not what anyone would call ground breaking, but it is very enjoyable and I really enjoy the exploration aspect. While it is an extremely linear experience, the linearity of it all doesn't take away from the enjoyment this game provides. If you really just want Even though I've only had a short time with this game, it's been nothing more then impressive. The SP campaign is not what anyone would call ground breaking, but it is very enjoyable and I really enjoy the exploration aspect. While it is an extremely linear experience, the linearity of it all doesn't take away from the enjoyment this game provides. If you really just want to shoot aliens and experience the best controlling FPS on any console, this game delivers. I have yet to touch the multiplayer portion of this game, but I'm pretty certain that it won't disappoint. One can not forget that this game is on the Wii and that the system has been lacking terribly in the online market. Great game and definitely worth of a purchase. Expand
  19. DarrenZ.
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    This could very well be the most underrated game on the Wii. No, it doesn't revolutionize the FPS genre, but then it doesn't try to. What it does do is give us a well-designed and entertaining game that gets all the fundamentals right and does very little wrong. Presentation is top-notch, controls are tight and highly configurable, the single player is fun, fast-paced, and This could very well be the most underrated game on the Wii. No, it doesn't revolutionize the FPS genre, but then it doesn't try to. What it does do is give us a well-designed and entertaining game that gets all the fundamentals right and does very little wrong. Presentation is top-notch, controls are tight and highly configurable, the single player is fun, fast-paced, and compelling, and jumping online for some competitive multiplayer action couldn't be easier: literally a couple of clicks of the Wii Remote and you're playing. High Voltage Software may have stuck to the basics when designing The Conduit, but they delivered a solid product that is an absolute blast to play. I highly recommend it. Expand
  20. Highlar
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is just the kind of FPS game that Wii owners and players have been waiting for. The single player is challenging, with the last couple of levels feeling murderous (to me, who hasn't really been able to get into FPS games on console systems before). The AI could use a bit more fine tuning, but they do use cover, attempt to flank you, and cover each other when some try to The Conduit is just the kind of FPS game that Wii owners and players have been waiting for. The single player is challenging, with the last couple of levels feeling murderous (to me, who hasn't really been able to get into FPS games on console systems before). The AI could use a bit more fine tuning, but they do use cover, attempt to flank you, and cover each other when some try to charge at you. The game was repetitive in ways, but most FPS games that I have tried in the past seemed the same overall: you move forward, killing enemies, to reach the end of the level. I enjoyed the story, for the most part, and am interested in seeing it continue in a sequel. The graphics are great for the Wii. Enemies are detailed, but there aren't enough varieties of them. Also, the weapon details are some of the best I've seen yet. Some of the weapons are pretty imaginative, and can only be done on the Wii (shrieker comes to mind). The single player campaign isn't too long, but then comes the better part of the game: Multiplayer! Long matches or short, its great that everyone has a chance to vote on what they'd like to have as a match. I haven't been able to try Wii Speak, as I don't have it yet (and don't have any friends on the list anyway), but I hope to do so eventually. There are a good variety of matches (personal favorites are ASE Football and Bounty Hunter) to choose from, in both free for all and team play. Several different weapons sets are set up to choose from, as well as map and game type. My only gripe so far about multiplayer, is that too many people select the "Street" map for just about everything. Although, I will say that it is a small map that works GREAT for games of ASE Football with larger numbers. 10-12 people running around blasting each other trying to steal and hold onto the ASE is great, frantic fun. And I think that, to me, sums up The Conduit the most: The game is just fun! And isn't that what games are supposed to be about? Not necessarily flashy graphics...or awesome controls...or deep stories...but FUN. If it has all of the above, then so much the better, but as long as the fun shines through that's all that I need. Expand
  21. Mr.Ford
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is a good game but it can't be compared to other FPS's on other consoles, simply because that would be like comparing apples to oranges. It should be compared to other Wii shooters though and there, it can be said that The Conduit is one of the best Wii shooters. Not as good as MP3:C, of course. I think it will probably sell well enough to guarantee a sequel. Some The Conduit is a good game but it can't be compared to other FPS's on other consoles, simply because that would be like comparing apples to oranges. It should be compared to other Wii shooters though and there, it can be said that The Conduit is one of the best Wii shooters. Not as good as MP3:C, of course. I think it will probably sell well enough to guarantee a sequel. Some recommendations for the sequel: 1. Offline: * Improve enemy AI * Add Drop in/drop out local MP (2 players, so it doesn't hurt the frame rate). * Better story and voice acting * Some visual Improvements (backgrounds, lightning, more variety of enemies, etc) 2. Online: * More players/maps * Reduce lag * Ranking system * Improve visuals In the end regardless of the reviews, a game should be able to answer a simple question: is it fun? For The Conduit , the answer is yes. Expand
  22. DouglasC
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    This really is a great game! The controls are spot on, the graphics are great. I cannot believe the amount of detail that went into the characters and modeling. The story is fine, too. I think some reviewers are just copy and pasting their reviews to make their lives easier. There is a lot of Background to the story, you just have to search for it. The difficulty is great, as you can see This really is a great game! The controls are spot on, the graphics are great. I cannot believe the amount of detail that went into the characters and modeling. The story is fine, too. I think some reviewers are just copy and pasting their reviews to make their lives easier. There is a lot of Background to the story, you just have to search for it. The difficulty is great, as you can see the AI change at different difficulty levels. It can be as easy or challenging as you want. The weapons are also a lot of fun. I keep thinking I have found my "Favorite weapon", and then another pops up that I like! Buy this game, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  23. RussellF
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is great. Note that I didn't add 'for a Wii game' at the end of that sentence. I look at all of these low scores in confusion; what happened to these people that they couldn't enjoy the game as much as I did? The most common complaint seems to be the story of the game. I partially agree with this sentiment: the story that is presented to you is very The Conduit is great. Note that I didn't add 'for a Wii game' at the end of that sentence. I look at all of these low scores in confusion; what happened to these people that they couldn't enjoy the game as much as I did? The most common complaint seems to be the story of the game. I partially agree with this sentiment: the story that is presented to you is very mediocre. That is not all there is to the story, however. The main theme of the game is conspiracy and secrets. Thus the more interesting parts of the tale are told through the secret messages on the walls located by the ASE, and the radio chatter heard as you walk through levels. The story they tell is very deep, involving an alien race known as the Annunaki, Sumerian and Greek mythology, and American history. It's a lot in information to discover and work through, so if you are interested in hearing more of the story, you can go the this URL (NOTE: There are spoilers involved, so I'd recommend finishing the game before checking it out): http://uk.gamespot.com/wii/action/theconduit/show_msgs.php?topic_id=m-1-50295705&pid=947068&page=0 Another common complaint seems to be that the enemy AI is lacking. I've heard from many review sources that the best strategy is to "run 'n gun" through the whole game. I would only recommend this strategy if you intend to lure your enemies into a false sense of security, or kill them by making them laugh so hard that they choke. Though on some occasions faulty, the AI is smart enough to take cover, flank you, and swarm you with their numbers as the situation calls. Yes, one or two guys do occasionally get stuck, but as a whole the enemy AI is formidable, especially in the higher difficulty settings. The graphics are a mixed bag: some of the effects are excellent, even early 360 worthy. On the other hand, some textures are blurry and muddy. The character models look great, but the enviornments are bland, and in the case of the horizon laughable. Still, the graphics are decent enough to not pull you out of the experience. The game sounds great. Voices of the main characters are believeable and good, the weapons have strong bangs and electric whirs as necessary and the enemies scream and yell "THERE HE IS!" with just enough vigor to take seriously. All the way down here, and I still havent mentioned the control. This has the best control of any console FPS bar none. Every aspect is customizable, making for a great, custom tailored experience. If you have any problems at all, you can change the controls and see their effect on your play in realtime. This system will be the benchmark for FPS control on Wii, and rightly so. Online games are a snap to sign on to. The guys at High Voltage have studied the other popular online FPSs well. The system is simple, you only need to point and click, and you're online. In addition, The Conduit is the second game to utilize the Wii Speak peripheral. I've yet to use it (I lack one), but from what I've heard it works well. Friend codes rear their ugly head again, but you don't need them to play online. The Conduit can connect you to national and worldwide matches without those finicky numbers. The only issue with the multiplayer is the fact that there is no local multiplayer. So if you were interested in playing against your friend who is sitting right next to you, you're out of luck. The Conduit is a fun time. The story is deep for those who look for it, the graphics are nice, the gameplay is awe inspiring, and the multiplayer is the best on the console. If you own only a Wii buy this game. If you own any other console, at least give it a rent before trashing it on the nearest forum. Expand
  24. StephenW
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Definitly a must buy for Wii owners. On any other system the visuals would stop this from getting a 9 but on the wii they are fantastic. The gameplay is spot on and the sound does the job. It's not perfect but it's a very good way to spend $50 on some Wii software.
  25. EvanS
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    Decent game. The single player is hard, although, short and some bits aren't that good. But overall its great. The Multiplayer is the best on the Wii by far. Even better than MoH:H2 and Mario Kart. The weapons are awesome. The graphics are variable. Some models look good, especially enemies and weapons. Some rare bits look as bad as Red Steel though. The controls need to be Decent game. The single player is hard, although, short and some bits aren't that good. But overall its great. The Multiplayer is the best on the Wii by far. Even better than MoH:H2 and Mario Kart. The weapons are awesome. The graphics are variable. Some models look good, especially enemies and weapons. Some rare bits look as bad as Red Steel though. The controls need to be customized, good thing you can do this, but once you do so, they work well. The story isn't that great. It would be better with full cutscenes. The major plot twist is to abrupt. Expand
  26. JamesB
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    The game isn't perfect, but is an amazing effort nonetheless. Fantastic online multiplayer and a great single player campaign make for a very solid package. If you own a Wii, you must buy this game.
  27. AlexMcAnnally`
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    Despite what the reviewers say I thought the story was awesome! Levels are nice and long, acheivements are also cool, Online right now is a bit laggy I don't think its the framerate dropping its just the horde of people playing online. I think this game deserves more credit than its currently receiving *looks at 1up and Gamepro reviews* Quit comparing it to the X360 and PS3 the Wii isDespite what the reviewers say I thought the story was awesome! Levels are nice and long, acheivements are also cool, Online right now is a bit laggy I don't think its the framerate dropping its just the horde of people playing online. I think this game deserves more credit than its currently receiving *looks at 1up and Gamepro reviews* Quit comparing it to the X360 and PS3 the Wii is not going to ever catch up to them graphically. BRING ON THE GRINDER! Expand
  28. JohnL
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    Great multi-player. Decent single player, but a little short and they could of tied the conspiracy elements into the game more. Some single player levels are better in both graphics and design then others, but all the modes for multiplayer are great.
  29. Kyle
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    This game is seriously unappreciated by the majorty of critics. yes there are many flaws to this game, but this is high voltage software's first real wii game. look at the big corperations like EA and Activision that have been in gamming before the atari, thay have massive resources and lots of $$$ and they were unable to produce a game of this quality with more time to work with theThis game is seriously unappreciated by the majorty of critics. yes there are many flaws to this game, but this is high voltage software's first real wii game. look at the big corperations like EA and Activision that have been in gamming before the atari, thay have massive resources and lots of $$$ and they were unable to produce a game of this quality with more time to work with the wii than High Voltage. Sure the single player campane was difficult, but I have been gamming since the nes with titles like "contra" for kids this level of difficult is very welcomed to me. the story was ok, but it gets the job done to fill in the gaps and it makes seance. the Gameplay is awsome, they basicaly have recreated the missions that get you to point A to point B without getting lost. there was a lot of complaining that the world was not open enough, but I really liked the tight battles it made the game more intense. I can see why they didn't want wii motion plus, because the controls rock the wii. I really don't think natal could do better : ) Not to mention that you can configure them to be anything you want. there is no split screen gameplay in this game, but online makes up for it (hopefully they will fix this issue in "the Grinder") the computer AI on the humans are dead on but I find the Alien AI really dumb. There is no Lan mode, but there has not been a wii game that has does than anyway. Over all it is a great game. yes it is not a 360 or ps3 game, but it was made just for the wii and that makes it special. I can see this game becoming a big cult and having a great sequile. Expand
  30. RichardB
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    The only review I agree with is (surprisingly) IGN's This game has fantastic online, but if you don't have online, you may want to think about getting this game. The single player experience isn't all that long, but the online is what is done right. Please buy this game. High Voltage did a great job, and they deserve all the suport they can get!
  31. JoseRubioRubio
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    This should've deserved better scores. What are the critics thinking. I think the reason why it got some low scores is because they compare it to the 360 and PS3. So like what? nintendo can't have great third party games with great graphics.
    bunch of Wii critic haters r just scared cuz the wii will return to the hardcore market
  32. zachstr
    Jul 5, 2009
    9
    While it is not the best shooter ever, it is a great shooter on the Wii with some of the best graphics I have ever seen on the Wii. The online multiplayer will keep you hooked even after finishing the story.
  33. AdamAubin
    Jul 7, 2009
    9
    For what it is this game is a lot of fun.
    To me that is what matters most. It's a bit on the short side, and could use some fine polish, but I guess I just enjoy the promise of this game and my hope for a sequel.
    It makes the best of the Wii hardware.
  34. AlexanderP.
    Aug 13, 2009
    9
    I have played through the game already. I thought The Conduit was a well-done game to be honest with you. So Gamespot, Eurogamer, and 1UP.com all said the game was generic, and multiplayer was unoriginal, but none could deny the success of the graphics and controls. With all due honesty, High Voltage Software has been putting more and more successful games and has been improving with each I have played through the game already. I thought The Conduit was a well-done game to be honest with you. So Gamespot, Eurogamer, and 1UP.com all said the game was generic, and multiplayer was unoriginal, but none could deny the success of the graphics and controls. With all due honesty, High Voltage Software has been putting more and more successful games and has been improving with each game that comes out. To be honest, the graphics are second to Galaxy, maybe Brawl. The difficulty of the game to me started off harder than most Wii games I've played, but once I got used to getting swamped by Drudges and other soldiers, I got through the game pretty quickly. Was it original like Gamespot said? I can't disagree with them, but can't the same thing be said with a lot of other shooter games on the market right now? The only thing I thought about when I played through the single player was how short the game was, I thought it could've been better with more missions and other whatnot. "Multiplayer" was fun, but the only thing they offered in their multiplayer mode was the online play. I can tell you right now, I am not very good at online multiplayer. Nonetheless, the connection was always very good every time I have played and it was always fun to play. I honestly thought there would have been an offline multiplayer mode, but I guess you can't put everything on a Wii (unless it's a double layer game). Bottomline, it's still a good game to have. With the very slow sales going on, don't be surprised if the price of the game goes down very quickly, that's gonna be a great time to pick up a copy of this game. Expand
  35. LizzyM.
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. The only complaint I have about this game is the single player campaign is way too short. The graphics are great on the wii and the controls are really good and customizable. This game's strong point is defiantly the online multi-player. I've done a few matches online and it runs very smoothly. The levels I've played through were really big and cool. This game is awesome. The only complaint I have about this game is the single player campaign is way too short. The graphics are great on the wii and the controls are really good and customizable. This game's strong point is defiantly the online multi-player. I've done a few matches online and it runs very smoothly. The levels I've played through were really big and cool. The single player is really great but short. I haven't played through the game entirely but of what I have played of it is really fun. Expand
  36. TimS
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is easily the best fpd on the Wii, but it is so much more. Despite the single player campaign being short, I enjoyed it and the story. The Conduit isn't as cliched as people would want you to believe, with pot twists that I never saw coming. At the climax of the story is a cliffhanger, a la Halo, which had me wanting more (in a good way). My only beef with the campaign is The Conduit is easily the best fpd on the Wii, but it is so much more. Despite the single player campaign being short, I enjoyed it and the story. The Conduit isn't as cliched as people would want you to believe, with pot twists that I never saw coming. At the climax of the story is a cliffhanger, a la Halo, which had me wanting more (in a good way). My only beef with the campaign is the continuity of the missions. They seem a little disjointed. But that is only a small con, up agianst many pros. The Multiplayer is amazing. I can't think of another word for it. Even though you can only use Wii Speak with friends, I have fun playing it every time I get onto the Nintendo WiFi. Being the fist original game from High Voltage Software, this is an impressive game. I'm sure that this will sell enough for a sequel. Expand
  37. ShannonW.
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    Finally a great shooter for the Wii. I love shooters and have played thousands of hours or single player and online shooters dating back to Tribes and this was truly one of my favorites. The abilty to customize the controls and to play free online has had me locked on this game for hours since I bought it. Finally a new way to play shooters so that I don't have to buy something that Finally a great shooter for the Wii. I love shooters and have played thousands of hours or single player and online shooters dating back to Tribes and this was truly one of my favorites. The abilty to customize the controls and to play free online has had me locked on this game for hours since I bought it. Finally a new way to play shooters so that I don't have to buy something that plays just like all the other shooters on consoles. Thank you High Voltage Software, Sega and Nintendo for finally bringing something new and fun to the shooter arena. Expand
  38. MikeB
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    The Conduit gets a high rating in my book for its customization and multiplayer. The campaign mode may have been generic and short, but the fact that High Voltage Software and SEGA poured so much effort into creating "a gamer's game" really makes this a stand-out title for 2009 and for the Wii in general.
  39. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    This is the game that I've played the most on my Wii, the online is completely addictive, this was my first online FPS and I've tried other but none come close to the excitement this game produced, the controls are customizable and allow for a unique personalised online experience. The single player has an good story as their are twists and betrayal and an ending asking for a follow-up.This is the game that I've played the most on my Wii, the online is completely addictive, this was my first online FPS and I've tried other but none come close to the excitement this game produced, the controls are customizable and allow for a unique personalised online experience. The single player has an good story as their are twists and betrayal and an ending asking for a follow-up. Since I got addicted to the online gameplay more than any other game i've played I've given it a high score. Expand
  40. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    I was very surprised with this game, the graphics are fantastic, this is definitely the best looking Wii game I've seen so far, the controls are fantastic and very responsive, the only problem I had were some very light issues with turning, and melee attacks could use some work, voice acting is good for most of the characters, although the main characters is pretty bland, and while theI was very surprised with this game, the graphics are fantastic, this is definitely the best looking Wii game I've seen so far, the controls are fantastic and very responsive, the only problem I had were some very light issues with turning, and melee attacks could use some work, voice acting is good for most of the characters, although the main characters is pretty bland, and while the story does borrow from some other sources, it is still enjoyable, and the multiplayer is fantastic, this is one of the best games on the Wii, a must get for Wii owners. Expand
  41. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Great Game, I picked up at Target for $15 dollars and was well worth it. Sitting back in my couch with my gun in one hand, and my grenade/nunchuk I manage to stop the immediate invasion. I found the story interesting and I like how they make the character sound like he is kicking their arses. Game ended short and seemed more like a trial run for the designers. Custom controls were aGreat Game, I picked up at Target for $15 dollars and was well worth it. Sitting back in my couch with my gun in one hand, and my grenade/nunchuk I manage to stop the immediate invasion. I found the story interesting and I like how they make the character sound like he is kicking their arses. Game ended short and seemed more like a trial run for the designers. Custom controls were a must and really made the game better. I understand The Conduit 2 is coming soon and I will dump the $50 to get it. Expand
  42. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    This game is good, i don't see why it got such a low score, the story is the same as other shooters, like Halo 3, the gameplay is in my opinion slightly better than killzone 2's gameplay, mainly cause i don't like charging and shooting, which makes that game easy. The Conduit online hacker problem doesn't bother me, cause there's hardly any hackers, from what i This game is good, i don't see why it got such a low score, the story is the same as other shooters, like Halo 3, the gameplay is in my opinion slightly better than killzone 2's gameplay, mainly cause i don't like charging and shooting, which makes that game easy. The Conduit online hacker problem doesn't bother me, cause there's hardly any hackers, from what i saw when i played it. Its worth it Expand
  43. WesM
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    From a gameplay standpoint, The Conduit is great. The controls are easily the best seen on a console first-person shooter, the game provides a decent challenge without being unfair, and shooting things just feels right. A lot of reviewers don't seem to understand: The Conduit isn't trying to revolutionize. It's a love letter to the shooters of the past. It's meant to From a gameplay standpoint, The Conduit is great. The controls are easily the best seen on a console first-person shooter, the game provides a decent challenge without being unfair, and shooting things just feels right. A lot of reviewers don't seem to understand: The Conduit isn't trying to revolutionize. It's a love letter to the shooters of the past. It's meant to be the Wii's GoldenEye or Perfect Dark, not its Halo or Killzone. Is the game perfect? No, absolutely not. There are some glitches and the visuals, although from a technical standpoint about as good as it's going to get on Wii, are lacking due to their generic art direction. But if you're looking for a pure shooter that delivers where it counts the most--pure, unadulterated fun--then The Conduit will deliver in spades. Expand
  44. DarrenM
    Jun 27, 2009
    8
    The Conduit is finally out, and for those who have been looking forward to this game for a while now they can hope to find a like able character in a poorly presented and rather bad and clichéd storyline, but with engaging and fun gameplay that is full of unique weapons, levels, and a really good multiplayer experience that is also accompanied by a good amount of extra content and The Conduit is finally out, and for those who have been looking forward to this game for a while now they can hope to find a like able character in a poorly presented and rather bad and clichéd storyline, but with engaging and fun gameplay that is full of unique weapons, levels, and a really good multiplayer experience that is also accompanied by a good amount of extra content and graphically and artistically nice level designs and intense, but not memorable, music. Expand
  45. AdamH.
    Jul 23, 2009
    8
    Ah, the conduit. i found this to be a very enjoyable experience. The campain is rather dull in a sense. Its extremely tedious at times. and the strange fluxuation in difficulty gives it a certain unpredictable vibe at times. the story may not seem like much but the real story is told through all the hidden messages and radio broadcast scattered through out the game. most reviews simply Ah, the conduit. i found this to be a very enjoyable experience. The campain is rather dull in a sense. Its extremely tedious at times. and the strange fluxuation in difficulty gives it a certain unpredictable vibe at times. the story may not seem like much but the real story is told through all the hidden messages and radio broadcast scattered through out the game. most reviews simply look at the most obvious parts of the game and say "cliche" but its takes some digging to really appreciate the story to any degree. a fair use of symbolism is used as well. If they had presented it in a less cryptic way it may be much more entertaining but sadly they went all out for the multiplayer leaving the campain short and the story with a feeling of being wasted when it had so much potential. hopefully in the inevitable sequal they will capitalize more on how deep the story really is. and if you dont think the story is deep just listen to the radios scattered around every level then find all the hidden messages. then google everything you find. it will make sense (mostly). so from the campain bland level design, repetative enemy types, and lost potential in the story subtract from the score. the multiplayer would be the big draw here. no other wii game has a multiplayer this good. 12 player frag fest can cure any disease. the online play will vary depending on youre connection. most reported glitches are the fault of poor connection such as spawing in an orange/brown/white/ bare room/wall is the fault of connection. laggers are a big problem too. if someone does manage to get connected and they have an awful connection then they will probably win. through the simple fact that you can kill them 20 times over but the damage will take so long to register that they could kill you,youre team mate, your friends, and your grandma before they die hackers are a major problem as well. i cant imagine who would have the audacity to hack the best online game for the wii but they should be strung up high for it. level design for multiplayer is a little bit better than the campain but the weapon sets are poorly balanced. the explosive set gives you the rocket launcher as a defualt weapon. so now as soon as the game starts an earthquake ensues. the multiplayer is this games strength. but it isnt perfect. a poor connection will leave you covered in glitches and getting disconnected constantly. laggers and hackers also hurt it but thats not the fault of the developers. but if you get in a full group of players and you and everyone else has a good connection and there are no hackers then you will be in heaven with this multiplayer. controls are simply the best. if there is something you dont like then simply change it. anything at all. it can be changed/tweaked/adjusted/lowered/increased/altered or anything else you can think of. the graphics are uneven. the character models look great, the weapons look great, the A.S.E looks great. but the enviroments are very blocky and bland. although bump-mapping is absolutly everywhere. so all in all a very enjoyable game. the MP is the best on wii and i think in the sequal we could see alot more done with it. the campain is short with a deep but hard to reach back story. enviroments are bland and the number of character models is small but they look really good. weapons are just what you think "point and shoot" certain ones do have interesting effects. one bounces off of walls, another follows your cursor, and there are some others. all in all great game. Expand
  46. MattN
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    Oh, The Conduit, where do I start? First off, great effort, High Voltage. Very connected to the community and a job well done for your first non-shovelware title. Now to the big things. The game controls extremely well, with very few slip ups. As most of you know the game's controls can be mapped to a huge extent (only minor exceptions). The voice acting is great, and the graphics Oh, The Conduit, where do I start? First off, great effort, High Voltage. Very connected to the community and a job well done for your first non-shovelware title. Now to the big things. The game controls extremely well, with very few slip ups. As most of you know the game's controls can be mapped to a huge extent (only minor exceptions). The voice acting is great, and the graphics and combat are very inspired. The realism style works well here. And all you nay sayers, honestly, I don't see what there is to say nay about. There are no huge minuses besides the lackluster story and somewhat linear story. I've seen comments such as, "the Wii isn't suited for an FPS," and, "It's good...for a Wii game." Heck, I've even seen, "This game sucks and so does the Wii." Honestly, me and millions of other Wii owners are ready to usher in a new era of FPS controls. Dual analog is done, and for motion controls, this game is flawless. Well done, High Voltage! Expand
  47. WESB
    Dec 13, 2009
    8
    The fully customizable controls get a 10 from me and it's nice to have online but this is a diamond in the rough. Generic story which doesn't develop as fully as it could've and no destructible environments are some disappointments. While this isn't the only game that does this i'm always annoyed when you get your new wii game and discover it's trapped on The fully customizable controls get a 10 from me and it's nice to have online but this is a diamond in the rough. Generic story which doesn't develop as fully as it could've and no destructible environments are some disappointments. While this isn't the only game that does this i'm always annoyed when you get your new wii game and discover it's trapped on your wii...try to play it on another wii system and get ready to start over. Smash brawl,smash up,mario kart and this game are just some of the offenders. In the end it's nintendo who treats us like thieves for legitimately buying their games. It's like thanks for buying our game...potential thief and virtuial console games are also stuck on the wii of purchase unlike 360 and ps-3 where you can put your dl content on more than 1 system. For those controller layout and custom game options including placement of health,weapon status and even the bounding box size the conduit is truely a diamond in the rough and worth purchasing hopeing the game gets a 2nd chance to improve on weak area's in this game. Expand
  48. jbee02
    Jun 26, 2009
    8
    In the campaign you go from point A to point B shooting anything in your way. Very simple in a retro way, but done really well. The online multiplayer is amazing wilth plenty of modes and option with voice chat and a fun mode unique to The Conduit. Grade A online. Tons of control customization option, and with the majority of the option bieng customizable in real time, it only takes a few In the campaign you go from point A to point B shooting anything in your way. Very simple in a retro way, but done really well. The online multiplayer is amazing wilth plenty of modes and option with voice chat and a fun mode unique to The Conduit. Grade A online. Tons of control customization option, and with the majority of the option bieng customizable in real time, it only takes a few seconds to find you're perfect setup. Though i would like to mention tha 1UPs review is misrepresented here. They gave it a C+ rating. And in the letter grading system C represents the 70 - 79 range. Since it's a C+, Metacritics should have listed it around 78 or 79. They gave represented their review as 58 which would fit the D+ range. Expand
  49. aznhomieboi1689
    Jun 28, 2009
    8
    This game has its flaws, but what game doesn't? The story might need to life and more suspense, but overall it is interesting. The multiplayer is a great game, just needs a little more polishing, there's a lot of glitches and sometimes lag. But overall, fun experience on Wii!
  50. DamianP
    Jun 30, 2009
    8
    Solid FPS game that is a base for future HVS games like Grinder. It has a few hiccups and the lack of splitscreen or coop multiplayer is why its an 8 and not a 9. Online play is fantastic and a lot of fun. Many ways to play and you can easily get in contact with your registered Wii friends or play strangers from around the world. Controls are about as good as you can get for a FPS on a Solid FPS game that is a base for future HVS games like Grinder. It has a few hiccups and the lack of splitscreen or coop multiplayer is why its an 8 and not a 9. Online play is fantastic and a lot of fun. Many ways to play and you can easily get in contact with your registered Wii friends or play strangers from around the world. Controls are about as good as you can get for a FPS on a console. Default is good, but customized is far above anything on any console. Graphics are definitely appealing, if a little bland. HVS needs a better art director. Tech is great though, detail is amazing. Obviously not PS360 HD, but comparable to many 1st/2nd year game in SD. Single player campaign is fun and can be very difficult depending on your setting. However, its would have been better if it wasn't so A to B shooter. A little variety would be nice. It should take you between 6-9hrs to complete depending on how much of the story extras you try to grab and the difficulty setting you play. Of course online multiplayer makes this game have endless hours of fun. All in all, I would highly recommend this game to any Wii owner. If you don't own a Wii, this isn't the game to single handily push you into one, but along with many other great Wii games it makes Wii ownership a must for any gamer. Expand
  51. HamzahJonas
    Jul 1, 2009
    8
    short Story mode, is more than redeemed by, deeply robust custmiation features, everything one might want to tweak, one can. multiplayer, is brilliant, various modes some of whice are quite ingenious, and wiispeak support, make it by far one of the most enjoyable online wii experience for fans of the genre,.
  52. JoH
    Jul 17, 2009
    8
    While i am very happy that nintendo is making titles that take more than a week to design and attract an audience over the age of 7, i was still a little dissapointed. The game had like 12 kinds of enemies and about 10 weapons to use. There were only ten levels and the movement was so fast and hard to use i had a headache after5 minutes of playing. On top of that, the plot was so generic While i am very happy that nintendo is making titles that take more than a week to design and attract an audience over the age of 7, i was still a little dissapointed. The game had like 12 kinds of enemies and about 10 weapons to use. There were only ten levels and the movement was so fast and hard to use i had a headache after5 minutes of playing. On top of that, the plot was so generic it was like the game designers used the story line of the imaginary adventures their kids had while plaing in the back yard. I give the game an 8 but only because it gives hope that nintendo will makd more titles with decent graphics and maybe even M ratings as opposed to dishing out simulation crap games like candy mints. Seriously. The biggest nintendo game thats out now is go play lumberjacks? How sad is that. Expand
  53. DonK
    Aug 10, 2009
    8
    a few comments. those who rate this a 4 should probably not be playing this type of game. the graphics are technically best of wii with depth of field blur, bump mapping everywhere, glows, lighting effects, particle effects, all rendered in real time and quite beautiful. they should have hired a map creator from another company I think, that's the worst part of the game (but still as a few comments. those who rate this a 4 should probably not be playing this type of game. the graphics are technically best of wii with depth of field blur, bump mapping everywhere, glows, lighting effects, particle effects, all rendered in real time and quite beautiful. they should have hired a map creator from another company I think, that's the worst part of the game (but still as good as anything else on the best of wii such as ghostbuster, metroid 3 etc, all of which are great games but not as interesting maps imho as halo or even the Marathon series back in the day, the true forefather of fps scifi games of this type).. The music is exceptional - I can't imagine why someone would insult it. The voice acting is great, but the director of the actors didn't do a good job in helping the actors understand theirsituations I feel. Also there is some very jaded and below average script writing imho, this isn't the 80s any more... The control is outstanding - best of breed period. if you can't keep your wiimote pointed at the screen then you shouldn't be using a wii, stick with a dummy proof console that doesn't take skill to operate (the wii IS tougher to use than a simple joystick and button control system after all). the aliens are I'm quite certain purposely sort of dumb at easier skill settings. how else would it be an easier setting? Set the skill to high (severe? I can't recall the term they use in the game) and the enemies are extremely smart, more so than in call of duty 2. my summary of comparison points with Medal of Honour 2: online: the BEST online setup comes from EA games on the wii. COD:2 does NOT use friend codes. Neither does fifa, madden, nhl, etc etc etc, all from EA. EA invented the only true way to avoid Nintendo's nasty friend code system, and only EA games support it unfortunately. Setting up online on this game is tougher and not as good an experience as with Medal of Honour 2. world: the environment in Medal of Honour 2 is VASTLY superior to that in the conduit when talking about beauty, complexity, and believability (outside world, trees, buildings etc, all better). Not technically as well done I think though, bump mapping etc isn't everywhere, lighting effects are pretty dull in COD2, but the overall experience is more immersive and believable I think. But then, it's real world compared to sci fi I suppose. Still, while the conduit might do more amazing coding things, the actual playing experience is more enticing in COD2. If you're into historical fps world war games at least... game pace: pretty slow (but you get used to it fast, and there's plenty to do and it gets hectic later on, so not dull, just slowish at times), kind of like metroid prime 3 in that way although generally a little faster and more intense than metroid imho. COD2 is faster, more intense, more exciting in the single player campaign. conduit improves in multiplayer mode though since all humans tend to go nuts in multiplayer online LoL, this is no exception. Still, a well paced game, grows in difficulty. story: average. background story is interesting, based on lots of real stuff you can read about online, but honestly... for me it's kind of like I just don't have time or inclination to bother reading up about it. A good idea though, using conspiracy theory stuff from all over the web within the game, and some people will love that. At least it doesn't matter for the gameplay so I can safely ignore it since the actual info isn't supplied to the player in the game itself, otherwise it would be a pain to lookup on google something that was required knowledge to pass a certain point in the game. wait a minute, actually, that might be kind of cool... overall: it's like marathon updated like crazy, moved from the mac to the wii many many years later with the obvious improvements in technology that have come along since then. Really, that's what it's all about to me. If you love metroid (or even just like it a lot) you'll love this game. So far I slightly prefer this to metroid 3 (gasp!), because there aren't stupid, difficult, completely unbelievable in their sheer existence... boss fights at the end of every "level". I dislike boss fights in a fps - ftp is about immersing the person an artificial reality. in reality, if we're trying to escape from or fight etc a bunch of baddies, do we encounter one single super baddy every 25 minutes? nope. The conduit as a result has a much more even and gradully increasing (until close to the end...) difficulty that is far more believable as a plot. It's really a very good game. On the wii I give this an 8.5 or a 9 even. On 360 I'd give this a 6.5 or maybe a 7. it's passable and fun and enjoyable on any platform (if it wasn't wii only), and on the wii assuming you don't own another console then this is one of 3 or 4 best of console fps games. But then I also like onslaught, so maybe I'm just into fps games even if they don't have much content. Expand
  54. EstebanA
    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    to put it short, amazing gameplay, great online, a bit generic and not really innovative story. But for anyone looking for game simply based on how much you enjoy playing, do not hesitate to buy it, and that way you show support to HVS for their efforts to please all of us
  55. WesleyM
    Jun 28, 2009
    8
    Had this game been released on any other console or the PC, it would merely be a slightly above average offering, maybe warranting a rental or purchase as a used game. As a shooter on the wii, however, it provides an intense experience that proves just what nintendo's console is capable of. More than anything, The Conduit is a proof of concept, showing that a blockbuster experience Had this game been released on any other console or the PC, it would merely be a slightly above average offering, maybe warranting a rental or purchase as a used game. As a shooter on the wii, however, it provides an intense experience that proves just what nintendo's console is capable of. More than anything, The Conduit is a proof of concept, showing that a blockbuster experience can be delivered on a somewhat lackluster console. I'll go over what I think are the main points here: A) Graphics. Its long been assumed that the only company capable of fully realizing the wii's graphical potential is nintendo itself and its second party developers. This is disproven right here. The Conduit delivers graphics that could pass as early 360 or PS3 level visuals. Special attention has been paid to the character and weapons models and effects like bloom, reflections and explosions. Sometimes the environment details seem a little patchy, but I was amazed that there was absolutely NO framerate issues and almost zero load times. It definitely seems to me that they could have pushed the system further. Its safe to say that you will not be assaulted by blocky enemies and blotchy textures to detract from the experiences. B) Controls/HUD. This is where the game blows any other offering on ANY console out of the water. The wii is already a natural system for any FPS game, and its pretty much impossible to bungle the controls. This fact is increased even more by the completely customizable controls that allow any particular action to be mapped to any particular button or motion. Set it up in the configuration that is most comfortable to you. Utililzing every available button, its is worthwhile to experiment and find the most intuitive layout. The customization doesn't stop there, though. You can fully customize the layout of the Heads up display, a feature I wish other games would utilize. And I mean you can literally put any element ANYWHERE you want it onscreen. Cluster them together to get all the info at a glance, or spread them out to maximize visibility. Heck, you can put them all in the middle of the screen and block your view if you so desire. This feature is so obvious and so useful its a wonder it isn't seen more often. I do hope that other developers get the hint on this one. Add to that the near limitless options to tweak, and it is impossible to complain about the controls of this game. If theres a problem, odds are its user based. C) Gameplay. Its a shooter on the wii. You point the wii remote, and pull the trigger to kill stuff. That in itself is a fun but not anything we haven't seen before. It excels at throwing a lot of enemies for you to dispatch, and gives you a good variety of ways to do so. As I said, controls are near perfect, so that doesn't detract from the experience. If you enjoy eviscerating enemies with conventional armaments, energy weapons, and creative alien guns (which i'm pretty sure are alive, one appears to be a fish with a trigger), plus a trusty grenade or 3 you'll find fun here. The standout point and what is likely to become the most recognizable symbol of the game is the All Seeing Eye. This little do-it-all gadget is pretty much the only non-combat oriented item in the game. With it, you can literally see things that you couldn't normally and hack electronics and such. There are hidden messages to find and weapons cache's to unlock. In other words, you'll spend a lot of time just scanning the walls in hopes of finding some hidden goody. Just be sure to clear the room of baddies before you do, or you'll be looking at the 'mission failed' screen in short order. This happened to me more than once. It never gets much more interesting than that, and I wish the game had more variation as well as more functionality for the ASE, like the ability to spot enemies through walls or pick up enemy's weak spots. This I will say. On the higher levels, this game is hard as balls. You'll spend most of the time scrambling for cover and health pickups as hordes of enemies bear down on you. They're tough, accurate, and in many places, endlessly respawning until you destroy the titular 'conduits' that pop them onto the level. Before you get your health regenerating suit, be prepared for some frustration in completing certain objectives. There is no problem that cannot be overcome through superior firepower, however. D) Story/Environments. Just creating a game like 'The Conduit' is a rather risky endeavour, so I suppose I can't blame High Voltage for sticking to a tried and true (read: cliched) story offering. Quite similar to both Halo and Half-Life, the game sets it self somewhat apart by setting itself in near future Washington D.C., hopefully making it a little more relatable to the gamer. You have your standard conspiracy/alien invasion plot,with you playing the hero brought in to clean the mess up. Its been done before, but I admit that I truly enjoyed the (slightly) more realistic and familiar sights of Washington D.C. Voice acting is impeccable, which is good because cutscenes are minimalistic and far between. I'd like to see some pre-rendered cutscenes to enjoy between levels, something I hope gets implemented in the future. It unfolds in a quite straightforward fashion, a twist thrown in for good measure, nothing special. A feature I DID like are the radio broadcasts the player comes across several times during a level that grant insight into the crisis unfolding outside. With the ability to flip through several channels at a time, you can take in news broadcasts, police radio chatter, and even some kooky talk show hosts who speak of events that the player is involved in, as well as revealing much of the backstory to the events. I'd like to be able to view these events directly, but imagination is a powerful tool, and the reports of the ensuing chaos occuring around me made the game that much more immersive. You can even follow the events chronologically with the same station. So yeah, nothing special, but the story serves its purpose to give a reason for the violence and gives the player something to do. As a sidenote, the music is absolutely amazing. It coalesces with the environment to create a very suspenseful mood and escalates at all the right times. They truly outdid themselves in that particular area. E)Multiplayer. If the single player is the steak, then the multiplayer is a heaping helping of tasty mashed potatoes. Once you've blown through the short main story (or before you have, most likely) you can take your skills online. While it has a limited selection of skins and rudimentary customization, it had what is HANDS DOWN the best and most in depth online system for the wii. Only 7 maps ranging in size from small to medium large, (and I doubt any more will ever be made available), but they are varied enough that boredome seems quite unlikely. They're designed for maximum conflict and action regardless of which mode you're in, and man is it fun. Various modes in both team and free-for-for all make sure that ever match is a good one. There is a ranking system, a team balancing system, and a voting system to determine which maps, settings, and weapons are used. All in all, this is the kick in the pants that the wii online gaming has been waiting for. This is what justifies the purchase, this is what makes this a legitimate game. Final comments: The creativity is apparent ALL throughout this game. The guys at High Voltage knew what they were getting into, and definitely put in due effort. The result is not the alpha and omega that some may have expected or hoped for, but it comes through on every promise it made, and delivers the best first person shooter experience on the wii since Corruption, and certainly the best online play. It need improvement in certain areas, just as there are certain things i'd like to see appear in other games. Here's hoping that they get the sales and excitement they need for both of these hopes to come true. This game deserves a sequel, warrants a sequel, and hopefully gains a loyal following to keep it strong. Expand
  56. zitiprmnem
    Jun 29, 2009
    8
    7.5..is what it deserves in general
    but definitely 10 fior effort.

    ..its not the best fps game on the wii.. metroid is better..and the online play of cod waw is WAY better.
    The conduit is just horrible online... i never laged with cod waw ..but in the conduit i laged like crazy and frame drops are even more annoying..same for delay on player deads.. WHATS UP WITH THAT ?
  57. JonathanH
    Jun 29, 2009
    8
    Awesome game! i agree with some of the points reviewers made about its shortcomings but i didn't agree with ALL of them. i actually liked the story just because kevin sorbos voice acting is so emotional and gripping. single player is fun and with 5 difficulty settings its got the right amount of challenge for everyone. multiplayer is great too.
  58. EdwardG
    Aug 17, 2009
    8
    As a PC online FPS gamer (L4D, TF2, CSS, etc back to UT & Q3) this is the first console shooter I have enjoyed playing. I bought a Wii for Console Games. Not Beat em Ups: the Dreamcast and Arcade sticks still holds its own there, but Platformers, On screen multiplayer, and stuff it is fun to play with a friend even if the game is single player. The Conduit is no Bioshock as an overall As a PC online FPS gamer (L4D, TF2, CSS, etc back to UT & Q3) this is the first console shooter I have enjoyed playing. I bought a Wii for Console Games. Not Beat em Ups: the Dreamcast and Arcade sticks still holds its own there, but Platformers, On screen multiplayer, and stuff it is fun to play with a friend even if the game is single player. The Conduit is no Bioshock as an overall experience but the controls actually create a sense of immersion that is lacking (for me and many other PC gamers) with game pad FPS's on the other consoles. The visuals are not super HD FSAA x8 FSAA x 16 (lets not play the PC vs Console visuals game here) but they are good enough not to distract if you are used to playing next gen shooters. Sure the art is poor in some sections. But good in others. The AI is a bit random. More consistent on harder levels. The story is okay. This isn't an epic. It won't make you cry. But it might make you grin. And the online is a blast. Some nights I don't want to spend 30 minutes trying to get a decent L4D game and then deal with the stress of 'Am I playing well enough for my friends'. The Conduit is a perfect solution. Collapse
  59. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    The Conduit is a nice interesting game that has many interesting ideas going for it, but it never uses to the max to make an impact on the gamer. Still, it's definitely a nice first person shooter that uses in an excellent way the Wii controls. However, the game suffers from two main problems and is that the single player campaign is way too short and it has inconsistent difficulty. ThisThe Conduit is a nice interesting game that has many interesting ideas going for it, but it never uses to the max to make an impact on the gamer. Still, it's definitely a nice first person shooter that uses in an excellent way the Wii controls. However, the game suffers from two main problems and is that the single player campaign is way too short and it has inconsistent difficulty. This means that certain parts from the beginning of the game can be really hard while others after that one can be much more easy. Yet, the game offers a very nice online multiplayer that is great for wii online players that barely get an online shooter and it works like a charm for the most part. I have hopes that the sequel will improve the mistakes done with this first part, because I have seen how greatly interested are the developers in making a great project and communicating with the fans. Expand
  60. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    Pros:
    great game, the controls work perfectly and you can customize them, i enjoyed the story, it gave me a tones of replay value, the lighting effects was fantastic, the graphics where nice

    Cons:
    no polish, a typical run and gun game, no explorations, no fully instruct-able environments, no boss fights
  61. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    For a Wii shooter, it IS something to be noticed among all others, only when pitted against other shooters does it fall short. I for the sake of it however will stick to Wii only. The controls are Spot on, something only ever encountered on light gun games for the platform. The mouse like aiming adjustments will make A few PC-WII casual shooters feel right at home. The story...don't worryFor a Wii shooter, it IS something to be noticed among all others, only when pitted against other shooters does it fall short. I for the sake of it however will stick to Wii only. The controls are Spot on, something only ever encountered on light gun games for the platform. The mouse like aiming adjustments will make A few PC-WII casual shooters feel right at home. The story...don't worry about it, it's about as cliche as it can get. The Mutiplayer is unsurpassed by any other in it's respective genre on the platform. A few shortcomings here, but it's a great example for others to follow. Expand
  62. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    I wasn't looking forward to get this game, because the Wii doesn't have a perfect FPS games that has balanced controls and better story. However, when I played this game I'm impressed. Honestly, this is the only FPS that is well done on the Wii that I've played. The aiming is smooth and perfect, my Wiimote balance's this game perfectly. Music is really cool, should have an album. Story isI wasn't looking forward to get this game, because the Wii doesn't have a perfect FPS games that has balanced controls and better story. However, when I played this game I'm impressed. Honestly, this is the only FPS that is well done on the Wii that I've played. The aiming is smooth and perfect, my Wiimote balance's this game perfectly. Music is really cool, should have an album. Story is a little confusing, but it's not bad. But, their are problems I have with this game. The health system, you'll die so many time you will start yelling at the TV all day. First in the game, you die easily because your not wearing protective gear. Later in the game, you wear a power suit to regenerate health slowly, but you'll still die fast. Also, when you finish the game, you fell like you don't want to play it again. It's not a bad game, but when you finish it, your done with this game. Plus, the story is very short, I finished this game in about 6 hours. The online is good, but I wish the Wii has voice capability's like the PS3 and 360 has. If Nintendo can make something like that for the Wii, you will be playing this game forever. But it's still a great game, until you finish it your done with it. This game is worth a rent. Expand
  63. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    good arcade fps with simple but crisp visuals with great fx(for wii) perfect controls(as always on wiis fps) and varied levels make this a nice fp experience
  64. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    This game is terrific.For some reason i liked it more than 2 (which i'm currently playing).I didn't pay much attention to the story but i had fun with the game play and with the toughness of the game.Dont understand the hate of other reviewers but i dont care.A must for wii owners.
  65. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Usually, I would say the wii had a lot of weak FPS games but this game totally changed my opinion. The Conduit brings awesome gameplay with great graphics (considering the wii's power) and an amazing level of customization when it comes to everything control related. The single-player is long and satisfying and the multiplayer is fun and just epic although I would appreciate a reducedUsually, I would say the wii had a lot of weak FPS games but this game totally changed my opinion. The Conduit brings awesome gameplay with great graphics (considering the wii's power) and an amazing level of customization when it comes to everything control related. The single-player is long and satisfying and the multiplayer is fun and just epic although I would appreciate a reduced amount of hackers. This is a great game overall and I recommend it to any wii gamer. Expand
  66. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    The graphics are insane, and the sound is well done. The game suffers framerate issues but nothing major. The story is good. The gunplay and controls are great, and the level design and mission structure are good. The ai is impressive, but the game doesn't have enough variety. Plenty of content to be found here as well.
  67. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    This is a really good Wii FPS for hardcore gamers. It was very hard but a lot of fun to play this through. The Conduit has nice controls, good graphics and an awesome soundtrack. The story could be better or at least more interesting. There are a lot of cool weapons to choose from, but the enemies could be more interesting. I will however buy the Conduit 2 because this game left me wantingThis is a really good Wii FPS for hardcore gamers. It was very hard but a lot of fun to play this through. The Conduit has nice controls, good graphics and an awesome soundtrack. The story could be better or at least more interesting. There are a lot of cool weapons to choose from, but the enemies could be more interesting. I will however buy the Conduit 2 because this game left me wanting more. I reccomend this game if you own a Wii. I got it used for 8€. Expand
  68. YosefM
    Nov 14, 2009
    7
    I thought the campaign mode was alright and interesting enough to play with, but the online gameplay--decent at best. I give huge props to HVS for putting effort into the game, and revolutionizing customizable controls, wii speak support and pretty graphics on a first person shooter--however, I feel like HVS focused TOO MUCH on innovative stuff, and less on overall gameplay. Online mode I thought the campaign mode was alright and interesting enough to play with, but the online gameplay--decent at best. I give huge props to HVS for putting effort into the game, and revolutionizing customizable controls, wii speak support and pretty graphics on a first person shooter--however, I feel like HVS focused TOO MUCH on innovative stuff, and less on overall gameplay. Online mode has a lot of glitches--especially concerning respawn glitches, also the art design of the maps are nothing special.. If anything.. It's just boring, because they're mostly symmetrical for the most part. Also I could have sworn HVS promised a party system--but it never ended up being in the final retail version. Other small things such as not being able to play private matches with yourself to test out maps, like MOH:H2 and WaW Wii really bugged me. Expand
  69. AlanD
    Jul 17, 2009
    7
    Very solid, but a bit of a letdown. I give it the slight edge over COD:WaW for the larger variety of options for multiplayer. However, great as the MP is, it can be very buggy at times. More than the usual online gaming hiccups. Game-lobby waiting time can be painfully slow sometimes. Nothing worse than waiting for 5 minutes to get into a match and then have a freezeup that requires a Very solid, but a bit of a letdown. I give it the slight edge over COD:WaW for the larger variety of options for multiplayer. However, great as the MP is, it can be very buggy at times. More than the usual online gaming hiccups. Game-lobby waiting time can be painfully slow sometimes. Nothing worse than waiting for 5 minutes to get into a match and then have a freezeup that requires a restart! Finally, I don't think the developers did a very good job in crafting XP advancement for the various MP scenarios. You don't get much of a team bonus at all when winning a team death match, for example. In this COD:WaW really showed its pedigree and thought. These are all negative things--but I do think that if you only have a Wii, the Conduit is worth picking up if you like FPS's. If you manage to avoid the glitches (and I guess this has the potential to get better through fixes), MP is quite awesome. It's frustrating though because with a little more care this could have been a singular experience on the Wii. Let's hope that if they make a Conduit 2 they work hard to solve all of these problems. The Wii deserves its own version of Goldeneye. Expand
  70. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    I bought this game for £13.50 which is a good price for what i got. The pros are it has good graphics, fast paced gameplay, nice selection of weapons. There are some serious difficulty spikes in the game though, so be warned one section in particular had me losing lives endlessly even on normal difficulty. I dont mind a challenge but this was ridiculous. this aside a good gameI bought this game for £13.50 which is a good price for what i got. The pros are it has good graphics, fast paced gameplay, nice selection of weapons. There are some serious difficulty spikes in the game though, so be warned one section in particular had me losing lives endlessly even on normal difficulty. I dont mind a challenge but this was ridiculous. this aside a good game that was very entertaining and worth the asking price. Overall a 7. Expand
  71. Steven
    Oct 10, 2009
    6
    Well seeing the mixed reviews of this game, it seemes to be based on your preferences for a fps. The graphics and the amount of customization on this game is fantastic, but that is really the best part of the game. This game would flop if it was on the 360 or PS3, as their is much better games for those systems, but sadly this is a really good game by the wii's standards. So really Well seeing the mixed reviews of this game, it seemes to be based on your preferences for a fps. The graphics and the amount of customization on this game is fantastic, but that is really the best part of the game. This game would flop if it was on the 360 or PS3, as their is much better games for those systems, but sadly this is a really good game by the wii's standards. So really your review is based what level of games you have played prior to this game. Expand
  72. GregB.
    Oct 11, 2009
    6
    This game should have been great, customizable controls, best graphics on the system, and 12 person online multiplayer. The single player is good, but by the 3 level it just gets to repetitive. The Conduit can be extremely frustrating, with most levels you having to face an endless wave of enemies until you destroy the portals or eggs there coming from. There are some boss fights, but This game should have been great, customizable controls, best graphics on the system, and 12 person online multiplayer. The single player is good, but by the 3 level it just gets to repetitive. The Conduit can be extremely frustrating, with most levels you having to face an endless wave of enemies until you destroy the portals or eggs there coming from. There are some boss fights, but they suck and are underwhelming. The first time you see one of these huge aliens you expect a great battle, but they don't even fire at you, the only damage you'll take is ammo lose. Online play is usually lag free and there are plenty of people, but there is nothing to keep you playing. All you earn by playing is a new medal next to your name. Overall it should have been a much better game than it was, I would wait for Call of Duty Reflex or just get WaW. Expand
  73. JohnF
    Oct 12, 2009
    6
    Let me preface by saying I'm not a hardcore FPS fan. I'm just a casual to moderate video game player. GRAPHICS: Prior to The Conduit's release, the graphics was one of the major talking points. Having beat the game, I'm not impressed. Compared to Metroid Prime 3, Mario Galaxy, Zelda TP, The Conduit ultilizes basic models with a few added textures and particle effects. Let me preface by saying I'm not a hardcore FPS fan. I'm just a casual to moderate video game player. GRAPHICS: Prior to The Conduit's release, the graphics was one of the major talking points. Having beat the game, I'm not impressed. Compared to Metroid Prime 3, Mario Galaxy, Zelda TP, The Conduit ultilizes basic models with a few added textures and particle effects. It's nothing to write home about. GAMEPLAY: The controls are solid and fully customizable which is great because the default controller layout can be awkward. Puzzles and aside tasks are practically nonexistant, so thankfully the shooting/combat controls are flawless, because that's practically the only thing you'll be doing in this game. Online-multiplayer has a good amount to offer, it's just nothing special. The maps aren't compelling enough to keep things fresh over time. PRESENTATION: The story primarily plays out in text and voice dialogs between missions. Perfect Dark and GoldenEye still blow this game out of the water. By 2009 standards, text/voice boxes don't cut it. The level design is one of the worst I've ever seen in a game. They reuse rooms constantly, often immediately after each other. There is little variety in weapons and enemies-- and by little, I mean you'll be seeing the same 7-9 enemies for the entire game, likewise with the weapons. The music is a mind-numbing 10 second techo look. The story ends very VERY abruptly and you don't feel like you've gotten anywhere between the first and final level. Expand
  74. SeanA
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    The Conduit, undeniable the best and only FPS on the Wii worth spending some time with. That said... it didn't have a whole lot to compete with. The Conduit sets a new benchmark on the Wii for graphics, it is certainly one of the best looking games for the console. However, the graphics are very much sub par for current generation shooters and the frame rate still suffers at times The Conduit, undeniable the best and only FPS on the Wii worth spending some time with. That said... it didn't have a whole lot to compete with. The Conduit sets a new benchmark on the Wii for graphics, it is certainly one of the best looking games for the console. However, the graphics are very much sub par for current generation shooters and the frame rate still suffers at times indicating that the game is squeezing all it can out of the Wii. In terms of gameplay, its your typical linear shooter. Lots of enemies, very little variation among them and the AI is quite lacking. Movement feels very sluggish and the game as a whole is quite slow paced. Controls are spot on and honestly it is probably the first game on the Wii to ever actually show that the Wii mote is a capable controller, not just a gimmick. If you play on multiple platforms, The Conduit is an entirely forgettable below average FPS. If you play exclusively on the Wii, The Conduit will probably be the highlight of your console's lifespan, so pick it up. Multiplayer is functional and can be fun. However, the core mechanics of the game are not solid enough, nor do they provide a particularly big skill ceiling and as a result The Conduit certainly won't be used in major leagues. Conclusion: My score is based on "The Conduit vs. All shooters", not "The Conduit vs. Wii shooters". The bar for shooters has been set much higher in many other games. Expand
  75. RyanR.
    Jul 13, 2009
    6
    Single player was ok it held my intrest "for the 6 hours it took me to beat it." That aside i bought it for the online play. All I can say is I've wasted 50 bux. The online is very very glitchy. Freezes at random"other people are having the same problems as me so its not an isolated problem. This game pretty much will fade into history as quietly as it entered. High voltage F'n Single player was ok it held my intrest "for the 6 hours it took me to beat it." That aside i bought it for the online play. All I can say is I've wasted 50 bux. The online is very very glitchy. Freezes at random"other people are having the same problems as me so its not an isolated problem. This game pretty much will fade into history as quietly as it entered. High voltage F'n sux!. O and IGN you r crazy for rating it so well. Its obvious ign and high voltage are in bed with each other. Considering almost all new conduit news origanated from ign. Scratch my back and ill give your substandard game a better score then wow. By the way the only thing that saved it from getting a 5 was the amazing controls and options. Go by COD:wow you wont regret it. Expand
  76. JacobF.
    Sep 12, 2009
    6
    Sadly, the technology behind this game is far superior to the game itself. For a game on the Wii, the graphical capability is incredible. But even that is marred, as there are many textures, which are often blurry, due to their low quality and resolution. The level design is often bland, and often very similar to the corridor you just passed through. It reminds me of when you're Sadly, the technology behind this game is far superior to the game itself. For a game on the Wii, the graphical capability is incredible. But even that is marred, as there are many textures, which are often blurry, due to their low quality and resolution. The level design is often bland, and often very similar to the corridor you just passed through. It reminds me of when you're following the Monitor of the Index in Halo. You run around, shooting baddies, and then run into a room that looks almost identical to the one you were just in. It occasionally lags, and the gameplay is just repetition. You run here, shoot a couple aliens and conspirators, run here, shoot a couple more... The gameplay works, but it's just so darn boring and repetitive. The story is kind of lousy. It's way too short, and it's a basic story that has been done over and over again. The government is conspiring against the American people, with a secret organization that is claiming aliens are invading, while actually covering up the fact that they're the ones making these creatures, all to gain the trust of the people and the president, and then gain control. Similar things have been done before. The sounds are pretty good, and are one of the good points of the game. The voice acting is okay, the sounds are pretty good, and I didn't see an enormous amount of downsides. Might be a little simplistic and poorly written, but that's the fault of the script writers and sound directors. The controls and user interface are great, since you can customize them anyway you want. The multiplayer, in my opinion, is not good. It wasn't fun, and many times I couldn't even get on. It isn't the fault of my internet connection, because I have a very reliable 20 MB connection. In online games, I often have one of the lowest ping times. But I would try to get online, or join a game, and the console would just freeze. I would have to shut off the console to be able to do anything again. A couple times I joined a game, I could hear the people around me running around and shooting everyone, but my screen would be black with the HUD on it, and I wasn't able to do anything. I couldn't go to the Wii Menu with the Home button. A little picture of a crossed out home button would appear, and I would be stuck unless I turned off the console or waited for the game to end. Overall, this game makes a good rental, but don't waste your money to buy this game, unless all you have is a Wii, and need a shooter. The breakdown: The graphical capabilities are good. But the artistic quality is not. A point docked. The story is bland and unoriginal. A point docked. The gameplay is boring and repetitive. A point docked. Terrible multiplayer. A point docked. Good voice acting, but somewhat counteracted, and therefore made mediocre, by the boring script and poor directing. No points docked, but definitely not to be praised. The sounds effects are pretty good. No points docked. So, all in all, it gets a 6. Mediocre, with little imagination and work put into it. Good rental, but not a good buy. Maybe High Voltage Software's next games will be better, as they don't have to build a new engine. Expand
  77. Sep 16, 2011
    6
    First of all, lemme say that I like first-person shooter; I just don't go fanboy over them. The Conduit suffers from a very cumbersome control scheme and wildy uneven difficulty. One mission will have you breeze throught it, and then the next you hit a brick wall. The graphics are gorgeous, but the blood looks like spray-paint. The Conduit isn't bad but it's not good either.
  78. RandyG
    Jul 6, 2009
    5
    I'll say that The Conduit is a good stepping stone for developers for the Wii. It has good graphics and I like the customizable controls. But this game really let me down, I was expecting so much more. The multiplayer is just stupid! The one who wins is the one with the best internet connection, the charracters are slow, and there is no way you can have any kind of aiming, just shoot I'll say that The Conduit is a good stepping stone for developers for the Wii. It has good graphics and I like the customizable controls. But this game really let me down, I was expecting so much more. The multiplayer is just stupid! The one who wins is the one with the best internet connection, the charracters are slow, and there is no way you can have any kind of aiming, just shoot as much crap that way as you can and hope something hits someone. I've got pretty good aim on Call of Duty WaW so i'll stick with that, return The Conduit, and wait for another COD to come out on the Wii. Expand
  79. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    Really disappointing. I was hoping for a really decent FPS game on the Wii and I thought The Conduit would do it for me. I was very wrong. Though the graphics are kind of nice to look at and the controls are easy and very customisable, the overall gameplay and story is repetitive as hell. Enemies always look the same every time, the story is forgettable and boring and the overallReally disappointing. I was hoping for a really decent FPS game on the Wii and I thought The Conduit would do it for me. I was very wrong. Though the graphics are kind of nice to look at and the controls are easy and very customisable, the overall gameplay and story is repetitive as hell. Enemies always look the same every time, the story is forgettable and boring and the overall experience is just too easy to pass up. The multiplayer is the only redeeming factor but that doesn't save the fact that it is a completely mediocre game. Expand
  80. MartinW
    Oct 31, 2009
    4
    I'm a single player gamer so the single gamer campaign is critical to me. Hence my score. The story was bland and the action very dated, Graphically at times it was just about superior to the original xbox, on very rare occasions but generally much weaker and to be honest 'Black' on the ps2 is more impressive most of the time.
  81. ChuckB
    Jul 23, 2009
    4
    The writing and voice acting are horrible. You could play a drinking game. Every time the narrator says "some sort", take a drink. It looks like some sort of plasma weapon. It looks like some sort of alien shock trooper. It looks like some sort of deatomizer. And the voice acting! One of the actors is so old he can barely articulate his lines. It sounds like his dentures keep coming The writing and voice acting are horrible. You could play a drinking game. Every time the narrator says "some sort", take a drink. It looks like some sort of plasma weapon. It looks like some sort of alien shock trooper. It looks like some sort of deatomizer. And the voice acting! One of the actors is so old he can barely articulate his lines. It sounds like his dentures keep coming loose. The unintentional humour starts to grate after a few hours. This game would be a lot more fun if they didn't take themselves so seriously. Or if they had a decent script. Expand
  82. JacobC
    Jul 29, 2009
    4
    There's no reason why an FPS should be this sub par on the Wii. I played a version of Quake on the Wii, and it handled fantastically, so I don't see why a company with 13 years of technological advancements can't even make a standard "vanilla" FPS on the wii.
  83. RobertD
    Jul 24, 2009
    3
    The Wii is ill suited to point and shoot FPS games. The game is fine when you are running down halls and all the enemies are in front of you (which is the way it works for the first few levels), but it falls apart when you get out in the open and enemies can surround you. If you move too quickly and the pointer goes off the screen, your view gets "stuck" looking at a cloud, or the ground The Wii is ill suited to point and shoot FPS games. The game is fine when you are running down halls and all the enemies are in front of you (which is the way it works for the first few levels), but it falls apart when you get out in the open and enemies can surround you. If you move too quickly and the pointer goes off the screen, your view gets "stuck" looking at a cloud, or the ground or something. The enemies show no mercy and you're usually dead before you can get the pointer reoriented. After a few hours of not getting past a level because of this, I ejected the disk, deleted the game file and sent the game back to the rental store where it came from. I never want to see this again unless they port it to the PC or somewhere that FPSs work. I tried to get different options, lighting conditions, etc. etc. Nothing worked. It is too much frustration for a generic FPS. Rent it if you want to try it. Expand
  84. DarylW
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    4 words can describe this "FPS". It sucks really bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If any readers have a ps3 or 360 get world at war, or the new wolfenstein. Those are great games. This is absolute garbage. I returned it the day after I bought it, and lost money on the trade in F$%K the conduit!!!
  85. BrentN
    Jun 24, 2009
    2
    So dissapointed, will be ebaying today (bought yesterday). The controls are customizable, the rest of the game is awful. The single player levels are all boring and repetitive, the enemy ai is god awful, and its the first fps story i have seen worse than killzone 2. The online is expectantly a cluster F of awful wii speak, friend codes, and insane lag The graphics are worse than most So dissapointed, will be ebaying today (bought yesterday). The controls are customizable, the rest of the game is awful. The single player levels are all boring and repetitive, the enemy ai is god awful, and its the first fps story i have seen worse than killzone 2. The online is expectantly a cluster F of awful wii speak, friend codes, and insane lag The graphics are worse than most gamecube games, and the bland art style makes this even more obvious. All in all, if this game came out in 2005 on the gamecube and without awful tacked on moition control/light gun style aiming it may have been DECENT, but now? Not even worth the 10$ it will cost when it hits the bargain bin. Expand
  86. PotaterManPazza
    Jul 2, 2009
    0
    Generic characters and graphics, bad sound, bad MP, bad story, mediocre controls. It's one of those games that people say is "good for the wii", because if it were on any other console it would belong in the bargain bin, as it would be smashed by any mildly good FPS.
  87. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    This game was terrible. Felt like as i was playing nothing, lifeless and boring. Controls, while customizable, are still bad, and making the game so graphics focused was a HORRIBLE decision on High Voltage's part. The game actually looks bad, because there's no stylization whatsoever, and realism just isn't for the Wii. And the plot. My god, the plot has to be the worst i've seen in aThis game was terrible. Felt like as i was playing nothing, lifeless and boring. Controls, while customizable, are still bad, and making the game so graphics focused was a HORRIBLE decision on High Voltage's part. The game actually looks bad, because there's no stylization whatsoever, and realism just isn't for the Wii. And the plot. My god, the plot has to be the worst i've seen in a current generation game. It's like they didn't even bother to make a decent singleplayer. Multiplayer is also broken due to cheaters.
    Pass this one up, isn't worth it at all.
    Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. The best pure first-person shooter on the Wii. [July 2009, p.84]
  2. Nowhere near classic status, but this is a welcome companion to "Metroid Prime: Corruption." [July 2009, p.78]
  3. 86
    While the game does not turn the genre upside-down, it is innovative in certain areas -- for example, it features the most customizable, precise and enjoyable controls of any console shooter created, hands down.