The Last Story Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Last Story is a JRPG for the Wii console from Hironobu Sakaguchi that lets you take charge of a band of mercenaries and journey with them into a sprawling cinematic adventure. Enjoy the adventure alone in this epic Wii game or jump into online multiplayer modes with up to five otherThe Last Story is a JRPG for the Wii console from Hironobu Sakaguchi that lets you take charge of a band of mercenaries and journey with them into a sprawling cinematic adventure. Enjoy the adventure alone in this epic Wii game or jump into online multiplayer modes with up to five other players. [Nintendo UK] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Last Story Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    92
    Hironobu Sakaguchi and Nobuo Uematsu team up again to make a Japanese RPG which can be easily considered one of the best in years. It succeeds in innovating in a lot of features, with a charming gameplay that works and is very fun. It also has an epic and well-told story. A must-have for fans of the genre.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    Sakaguchi knows how to make great JRPGs. The Last Story is a memorable and magical work. The combat system is brilliant, it's fun, and Nobuo Uematsu's music helps you to remember the great games of the genre. Nintendo Wii has another essential. Zael will be your friend.
  3. Nintendo Power
    Aug 1, 2012
    90
    Overall, however, The Last Story is an awesome experience. [Aug 2012, p.84]
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Full of gags, bawdy humour and pratfalls (what other game gives you the chance to shoot bananas at the feet of citizens for comic relief?) it's got charm to spare. Unlike Sakaguchi's biggest hit, The Last Story's title is more likely to be a self-fulfilling prophecy, but it represents compelling proof that there's still life in the old JRPG yet.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    80
    An engaging and refreshingly svelte JRPG, but one that offers mere hints at where the genre may go from here rather than the new blueprint it could have been. [Issue#121, p.110]
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    The Last Story and Xenoblade Chronicles are two different games which both try to achieve certain similar goals, however, The Last Story often shows potential without ever fully succeeding in basically every field. Visuals are absolutely pretty but special effects cause heavy FPS drops; battles are intriguing but extremely easy and confusing; the story itself is well told but very cliché. It's an overall good game, although it doesn't live up to its own hype.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    If The Last Story is the Wii's swan song, it is a miserable dirge, full of regret and remorse.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have played so many Rpgs in this 7th generation era but I will have to say one thing that this game is certainly one of my top 5 game and 3rd best Jrpg after Ninokuni and Xenoblade.

    Story: Story and character is just to fantastic for any game..I cared about Zoel and his Band of mercenaries.Characters have deep emotional touch with beautiful stories and the main protagonist is one of the best i the RPG genere.

    Graphics: Even though frame rate issue was there i was always wondering how did the old Wii manage to produce such a beautiful game.

    Gameplay: Just 10 out of 10. Blend of RPG strategy and action.
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    ive only played this game for about a week maybe im about half way through it. i have to say i love everything the graphics are well done theive only played this game for about a week maybe im about half way through it. i have to say i love everything the graphics are well done the characters are well done the weapon choice is great the story itself is amazing one of the best stories ive ever played the JRPG styled format of the game is amazingly done the enemies are superb as are the classes im constantly guessing who did it? i cant wait to get to the end im sure that ill be disappointed that it is over. id say that this game is as good as any Legend of Zelda game on the market and that it is completely worth every penny i spent for it. i know that when i finish this game i will play it again this is the best game for the wii console ive seen in awhile certaintly better than many supposedly great games. no doubt this game deserves the highest score possible certaintly though there are moments where i feel like crying due to the story line, i wont let any of the story i know out of the bag but this is an amazing game and i encourage anyone who has a wii to buy this game if they love a great story Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the game when I wrote the review, but when I finally did, I realized just how much I loved this game and will remember it for years to come. The Last Story and Lost Odyssey really show Mistwalker's talent, and I hope they come out with something new soon.
    Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    This is another great jrpg on the wii. With a few plot twists, lovable characters and a great combat system, this is another must buy for anyThis is another great jrpg on the wii. With a few plot twists, lovable characters and a great combat system, this is another must buy for any jrpg fans or wii owners. 8.5/10 Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    The Last Story is a very good, if flawed, JRPG. It's a traditional RPG at its roots but it plays out more like an action game with its variedThe Last Story is a very good, if flawed, JRPG. It's a traditional RPG at its roots but it plays out more like an action game with its varied and mission based gameplay. The game's key selling point is the creative real time combat system which combines quick combat with strategy. You will need to micro-manage multiple elements on the battle field and your own party members in order to overcome some hectic battles. The game also boosts a fantastic musical score and art direction, but the game is hindered by frequent by slowdown (which is especially annoying during combat). The story is enjoyable but a tad too predictable. The cast is fairly deep and well developed. The voice work is excellent but the dialogue is very cheesy. Even with all of these complaints, something about this game often put a smile on my face. It only lasts about 20-25 hours and is a bit on the easy side, but it's a heartfelt and enjoyable adventure. *PS* I played the original PAL (UK) release, and because the US release is the same exact game, I figured I'd provide my insights on the game for early adopters (especially since I actually played and beat it). Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    The gameplay is fun, and never gets dull, but its such a shame that there isn't nearly anything to tweak with in usual RPG fashion. EachThe gameplay is fun, and never gets dull, but its such a shame that there isn't nearly anything to tweak with in usual RPG fashion. Each character has two moves each, both of which are not customizable and upgradable. Additionally, you only control one character throughout the game. This wouldn't be such a deterrence if you were given a lot of control of your party members like Mass Effect, but you're limited to filling up a gauge to tell them which arts to cast. In this way you'll never get lost in the gameplay like you would with a deeper structure. The story is only decent. While good for the JRPG sub-genre, I shouldn't excuse its cringe-worthy lines and lack of subtlety just because the genre is known for bad stories. It also hits cliches at every turn within the narrative, which is perhaps why this game feels as though it has a lack of verve and intrigue. Mistwalker proves it is inept at creating tension and drive, because the story always seems rather meh.
    The characters, while likable in their own right, are fairly one-dimensional. The protagonist is simply a virtuous do-gooder, there's a princess with special powers, a drunk, a ladies man, a quiet girl. You know, everything you've seen before. This one-characteristic approach to the characters makes them forgettable and unnecessary to the plot. The best thing I can say about it is its pacing. The game flows incredibly well, and never makes you sick of any of its features. This is especially notable because all party members are introduced within the first few hours. The battle system does get new gimmicks to pique your interest at a nice pace, and the difficulty curve is nice (although it is rather easy at the beginning). The game will only take you about 15-20 hours, but its brevity is actually one of its strengths. It does value this time, and the result is a nice flow that is rather addictive and hard to pull away from. The voice work isn't fantastic, but the dialogue isn't that great either. Expect awkward phrases, lectures, and overly long motivational speeches when playing this game. You know, the usual JRPG nonsense. The score is good for background noise, but its hardly memorable aside from the main theme. Unlike other games, when listening to the soundtrack I couldn't remember where it had come from. Despite these gripes, Nobuo did a nice job.
    The game's lack of customization, verve, and weak story make this hard to fully recommend. I would buy at price drop, but new (to support Mistwalker). It is worth your time though.
    Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2016
    0
    The game is terrible, it's a cheap Final Fantasy ripoff with janky controls, poor combat mechanics, and a cliche story. To attack youThe game is terrible, it's a cheap Final Fantasy ripoff with janky controls, poor combat mechanics, and a cliche story. To attack you literally run into the enemies, there is no attack button. The story railroads you hard, there's almost no way to spend time doing what you WANT to do. The game suffers massive slowdown just running around town. The story explains nothing. Not in an 'ooh mystery' way, but in a 'okay why are we actually doing any of this?' way.

    The only reason we play it is because we paid full price, and we won't get rid of it because we don't want anyone else to accidentally buy it.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

4
3
#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
3
#3 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012