User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1456 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the game the Wii was built for! The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is an absolute masterpiece from beginning to end. IGN, a trusted website, doesn't hand out perfect 10's lightly. A must own. 10/10.
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Maybe the best zelda game yet? Maybe! Skyward sword is another game in the long running series, a series well known for having one of the best games of all time. This game is a masterpiece. Enough said. The gameplay is incredible. Trust me, once you play an hour of SKyward Sword, you will never want to go back to controllers. Wii motion plus is what Zelda is made for. Every enemy isnt, WHO CAN HIT EACHOTHER FASTER or somethign like that. It is now, SEE IF YOU CAN LOCATE THE WEAKNESS IN MY STRATEGY AND THEN ATTACK THERE! Trust me it IS amazing. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    To the people who have been giving this game a zero. If you expected this game to have guns, blood, sexuality, or anything like that you are ignorant beyond any reasonable belief. IF you think those elements make a game mature, once again, ignorant. If you gave this a 10/10 for one group of people but 0/10 for another the full review cannot be 0/10 it must at least be a 5. If you actually have a review of this game please post it. If you just say you don't like it, I don't believe you even bought it/ I don't believe you were going to buy it anyway. zeros are by far the most ridiculous scores, even people on Skyrim who give it a zero are ignorant. You know it is worth more, review the game fairly. This game is a 10 for me. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This Zelda is one of the best Zelda game ever. First of all the gameplay is great, with the wiimote plus everything you do will be recognized and its really impressive. But because it uses the gyro instead of using the sensor bar you will often of to recenter the wiimote while using items like the slingshot. Graphics are really wonderfull, its are the best you can find on wii, but take care, while playing on an HD TV you might have a lot of aliasing. Classical Story but with tons of surprises in the second part of the game. You will certainly find the beginning of the game to slow and not really impressive, but the second part of the game is really really cool. A must own. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Im now 15 hours into this game and I think this is enough to judge it. There are several things i don't like about it such as every time if you restart the game and pick something up it will tell you the same **** what this is and bla bla bla about it. The other negative thing isn't the game itself. It is the **** Wii and its HI-RES YAYAYAY. I have a 50" tv and at the beginning it was a pain to get into it. But I think there wouldn't be any other game which could bound me with this resolution. In my opinion it is the best Zelda game and it makes fun in every way. The controls, the dungeons, the flying around, the new things and even the senseless bug catching thing is funny. This Zelda shows the world that you don't need the best graphics or cool explosions in every corner of the screen. This Zelda shows us that a game with a brilliant and catchy story makes more fun then most of the other games out there.This is a true Zelda game and everyone with a Wii should get it. No exceptions! Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    [NO spoilers] I believe this is as good as Ocarina of time. They tried innovating and succeeded! This game makes old gamers happy and new people to the series as well. They changed a lot of new things but in a way that did not disappoint people who loved the formula and got tired of the formula. In my opinion, the old formula was fine, but I still believe this is extravagant. Perfection!!! This game is meant for hardcore and newcomers to the series. Game play is amazing. The Wii motion plus makes you actually feel like youâ Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Just beat the game a 100%, and can now safely say that this game is a true masterpiece.
    It may be easy to point out some minor flaws, but no big dealbreaker in any way.
    As for the controls, after 5 hours they´re natural and fantastic!
    This is a solid 9.8 in my book, but the only cons is some minor flaws thats not even worth mentioning so im pumping it up to a 10 for the
    metacritic :D

    A MUST BUY! (And it´s worth to buy a Wii for it)!
    Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    25 hours till now playing the game ,controls are very impressive,clever, initiative . the important part that i have the same feeling in Ocarina of time the Depth of game play the value that i want to replay the dungeons and visit the area than one Time, ZELDA is the reason i play games
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game of Wii. The game the Wii was built for. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is a demostration of making great designs and a reinvention of the adventures genere.
    A game that all gamer must to play. Must have, masterpiece 10/10.

    Juan Lopez, Zaragoza. España.
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. It's colorful, it's challenging, and while it's reasonably accessible for new players it does none of the claustrophobic hand-holding that many other recent Zeldas have done. The combat is a massive improvement over Twilight Princess, the motion controls being precise, responsive, and making combat an actual treat. A must-own...definitely the best Zelda released since the Wii era began. Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is so amazing. I played all Zelda series's games, it's not simple to say which is the best, but Skyward Sword is surely one of the best game I ever played. The controls are very good, the graphic is stylish and its design for every part of the world is crafted caring about every single aspect. The soundtrack is the best of the series. If you are a fan of The Legend of Zelda you must buy Skyward Sword and you'll see with your eyes one of the best game ever created from 25 years to now. Masterpiece 10/10 Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The best Zelda ever. I have been playing 19 hours from now and the dungeons are the best of the series. The graphics are the best wii can get. The gameplay with the wii controller is superb
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Have been playing this for 30 hours now, completing the sixth dungeon. It is very difficult to state this is the best Zelda ever. You can observe it in two ways; is it the best Zelda gameplaywise and technically? Yes, it is. It has the gameplay of all the Zelda games and has the best graphics and power. Some dungeondesigns are pretty good. I am pleased they attempted to use more dungeonthemes than just the standard earthelements like forest, water, fire. This time you will use more creative elements like timeshiftstones and pirates. Also the motion controls adds more feel to the game. This is easily the best motion game out there, because it works. the swordfighting is very responsive and I always get an exciting feeling when approaching an enemy, even after 30 hours. You fight only because it's fun while you can just run away. Only Nintendo is able to do this in this video game generation. The graphics are the best in a Zeldagame yet. It combines Windwaker with Twilight Princess and adds a waterpainting feeling to it when watching in the distance. The closer you are to an object, the sharper it gets. although, sometimes it is just a pixelmess.


    And then there is another way to review this game. Nintendo already knew fans wanted some changes in the Zeldaformula. You can see they tried with this game. But the things they tried, like returning to already done dungeons, an upgradesystem for your items like shields, potions and the beetle, adding a staminameter, collecting upgradeitems, are not the most creative elements out there in the game. This has already done many times before, therefore it adds no new feeling to it really. It feels like a combination of some old gameplaymechanics with the Zelda-formula (Darksiders gave me the same feeling, combines Zelda with god of war). the changes didn't really stunned me in a way the older Zeldagames did when they were new. It is often predictable what to do when you're stuck, like looking to the ceiling or use the new item you get, because you recognize the situation, it feels very familiar. Of course, some people will only appreciate this nostalgia-feeling. But I already thought Zelda TP felt to familiar and therefore the puzzels were easy. This Zelda has gone some changes in the original formula, but not enough. Don't ask me what is necessary to give a Zelda game a whole new feeling to it but at the same time also feels like a Zelda-game, that is for Nintendo to find out. This is CERTAINLY not a bad game! Gameplaywise it is still one of the best games this game-moviegeneration. But is doesn't stunned me like Mario Galaxy did compared to other Mario-games. Galaxy felt VERY creative, did many things new and still felt like a Mario-game. It is time for the next Zelda to do the same. I heard Miyamoto is leading the first Zelda HD. I can't wait to see what they will do with this one.
    Expand
  14. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    18 Perfect scores for a good reason, Zelda skyward sword gameplay is perfect, using the bow like wii sport resort feels awesome and after swinging the sword you wont want to go back. Using loftwing feel fast and very fun, you will love loftwing alot more than epona. This zelda is a must buy even if u have never pla ya zelda before. 10/10
  15. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Perfect controls, great dungeon design, there are some minor flaws but they don't make it less fun or playable, clearly this game is a fresh air to the zelda formula, a must own for every Wii owner not only Zelda fans.
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Its finally here, this is the game many have been waiting for and let me start off by say it does not disappoint. This is why there are so many fans of the series, amazing story telling, huge dungeons, tons of characters, my heart strings being tugged. From start to finish this game amazed me in all kind of different ways, from being frustrated at times and finally figuring out the correct way to defeat an enemy to the amazing art style and even some really awesome story twists, which I dare not spoil them for you. If you have a Wii I urge you to get this game, if you are a huge fan of the franchise this is a must buy, and if your tired of debating which game is better then that game, check this one out, you will be very thankful you did. i have played every single Zelda game that Nintendo has produced and i can say truthfully this is their finest piece of work ever. Please do not pass up one of the greatest experiences you could ever have with a video game. Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The most unique with this game is the artstyle and that it isn't grimdark like the most of the games this generation. It got extremely many colors and has good graphic considered it is a Wii game. The controls are amazing too and so is the story. One thing I like about this game is that it really explain the beginning of the master sword and the legends!
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    All of you absolute morons rating this a 0 need to stop being jealous that your PS3 and 360's cannot play this masterpiece. You're a cancer to gaming and I hope you all rot with your generic first-person shooters that you defend to the death, and yet bash real innovation like this game with its FLAWLESS controls, design, orchestrated music and 50-100 hours of gameplay. Long live Zelda and this game will sell MILLIONS thank god. Expand
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the most unique Zelda game in years. Nintendo has crafted an experience that feels familiar, but also very fresh and exciting. Skyward Sword's beautiful art design, coupled with phenomenally accurate controls, makes what is easily the most definitive experience on the Wii. This game is a must own for Zelda fans.
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is epic! I just started, and I think it's already better than most Zelda games. It deserves all of the tens it's getting. Best Zelda game? Maybe, once I beat of course, but I'm already considering it to be a little better than ocarina! If you're a Zelda fan, you'll adore this one!
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Ok so I got this game a few days ago and still have a long way to go but I had to write a review in response to so many people who rated this 0. 0? seriously are you really that bitter that you think this game has absolutely nothing to offer? even if you think you are too grown up to play Zelda (im 27 and I can swallow my pride to play a less mature game) and you think the graphics look a few years old you have to admit that the game play and the controls are quite spectacular, the experience it creates for the first time with motion controls gives a sense of reality that all these other high end graphics button bashing games can't achieve. Yes the formula of quirky characters, dungeons and puzzles is similar to previous Zelda titles but why break a wining formula. Any one who is unsure about this game don't listen to the 0 reviews they are people who are more entertained by style rather then substance (not that this game doesnt have style). I will say that it takes a few hours to really get in to the game as the first part introduces the story and controls. This game isnt perfect and in my opinion so far doesnt deserve 10/10 but not many games do but there are several moments in the game that are 10/10 and unrivalled by any game on any other system purely because of the unique controls. I want to see more games use this control system and yes it would be good to have better graphics and some blood and gore but not in a Zelda game. I was playing Skyrim all last week and was addicted but I cant go back to it until Zelda is completed because pointing in the right direction and bashing a button seems so unsophisticated now. The only thing that bugs me about this game is not so much the graphics but that the Wii doesnt support HD so doesnt do the art style of the game any justice. Collapse
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    5 years in waiting for a console Legend of Zelda and by god, it is very satisfying to play a brand new Zelda game on the big screen. I have been playing for 18 hours since Friday so this is a good amount of time to finally do a review. Even though Skyward Sword has the Zelda name, it feels like a complete departure from the other games and I felt like I was playing a newly realized Zelda. Dungeons are still here but the only difference is that the whole world map is a big fat dungeon and I think it's an interesting take on Zelda tradition. The main selling point of the game is its fully implemented motion controls and while it works really well, it's not perfect as it can get frustrating at times, especially when you're in combat, aiming a long range weapon or playing your musical instruments, all requiring motion based gameplay but you will get used to it and in time, it becomes second to nature as the controls has a tight learning curve. The layout scheme itself has also changed (for the better) as the item menu is pretty much at your firsthand disposal instead of pausing into the menu and picking the item then un-pausing, leading to a more fast paced gameplay. The story is the most cinematic I have ever seen in a Zelda game and the visual and graphical style is jaw dropping gorgeous to look at and while I should be half way to through the story, it's pacing is slower compared to the other games but its memorable characters, emotional attachments and atmosphere makes it worthwhile. In conclusion, this is the best game I have played this year alone and the best Wii game because it completely realize and utilizes what the console can do. Albeit not being perfect, the motion controls does its job easing you in the game's mechanics so well that the frustration is forgotten in seconds and the visual style makes Skyward Sword the best looking Zelda game since Windwaker and the best looking game on the Wii overall. If you have a Wii, you have to buy this game as sadly, this is might be the Wii's final swansong in its six year lifespan and by god, what a way to go. Expand
  23. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Finally the first zelda game for the wii comes out and it's the best one since OoT, miyamoto didn't lie when he said, its the best zelda or no more zeldas.

    ITS A MUST PLAY
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    excellent game, the best on the wii, and the best of this generation, GOTY.If you expected this game to have guns, blood, sexuality, or anything like that you are ignorant beyond any reasonable belief.As for the controls, after 5 hours theyÃ
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a spectacular addition to the Zelda series. I knew long before purchasing this game that I would enjoy it, but after trying it myself, I found that it not only lived up to its high expectations, but surpassed them by far. I was blown away by this game's amazing gameplay, which was a huge improvement from the shortcomings of Spirit Tracks. As hard as I try, I can find no flaws in this game. If there is any Zelda game that could possibly challenge Ocarina of Time for the spot of the best game in video gaming history, this is it. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing, I'm not sure what the people who are complaining about the controls are talking about, they work fine for me. Definately a GOTY contender.
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Best Zelda game ever! Hands down. Great graphics gameplay characters and puzzles. Very original. The wii motion plus is very well done and certainly adds to the experience.
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    As I've read in most forums, obvious troll is obvious and these people live in a world all their own. Spewing out negativity in spite, just because they can. Pay no mind to those who are bashing this game, unless they give a legitimate reasoning to why they dislike the game. Anyone who buys Zelda expecting something other than the Zelda formula shouldn't be able to buy the game honestly. That's what players have come to love of this series and if they changed it then we wouldn't have Zelda anymore. Unresponsive controls? What game are you playing? This probably has some of the best usage of the Wii remote to date. The story is plenty intriguing to grab an audience and keep them playing. Everything seems more thought out, and more time was put into the final product. They use cinematic parts to help with the story driving creating drama and all sorts of emotions. The characters are amazing, and well Link is still Link. Best looking game on the Wii and totally worth a buy. 10/10 from me, Zelda is still going strong. Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This was was just a fun one. I saw nothing wrong with it. The story was excellent. While some may say it is graphically lacking, I find the art design aesthetically pleasing.

    Oh, **** has come in just to slander the score.
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Ok so I got this game a few days ago and still have a long way to go but I had to write a review in response to so many people who rated this 0. 0? seriously are you really that bitter that you think this game has absolutely nothing to offer? even if you think you are too grown up to play Zelda (im 27 and I can swallow my pride to play a less mature game) and you think the graphics look a few years old you have to admit that the game play and the controls are quite spectacular, the experience it creates for the first time with motion controls gives a sense of reality that all these other high end graphics button bashing games can't achieve. Yes the formula of quirky characters, dungeons and puzzles is similar to previous Zelda titles but why break a wining formula. Any one who is unsure about this game don't listen to the 0 reviews they are people who are more entertained by style rather then substance (not that this game doesnt have style). I will say that it takes a few hours to really get in to the game as the first part introduces the story and controls. This game isnt perfect and in my opinion so far doesnt deserve 10/10 but not many games do but there are several moments in the game that are 10/10 and unrivalled by any game on any other system purely because of the unique controls. I want to see more games use this control system and yes it would be good to have better graphics and some blood and gore but not in a Zelda game. I was playing Skyrim all last week and was addicted but I cant go back to it until Zelda is completed because pointing in the right direction and bashing a button seems so unsophisticated now. The only thing that bugs me about this game is not so much the graphics but that the Wii doesnt support HD so doesnt do the art style of the game any justice. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Overall, this is the best experience I've had playing a Zelda game since Ocarina of Time and I'd have to say they are pretty equal in my opinion. Either way, you won't be disappointed getting this game, it's a masterpiece.
  2. 90
    New Zelda is the best game of whole series since the groundbreaking Ocarina of Time. It is a true masterpiece with uncompromising playability. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    95
    A magnificent homage for the 25th anniversary of one the biggest franchises in gaming, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword provides a compelling gaming and artistic showcase for the indefatigable potential of the medium as a whole, and a reason to have gaming as a hobby.