The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Wii

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1640 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ElliottP.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    This game never falters! OoT left me amazed, and this game managed to surpass even that.
  2. DaveH
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    I really dislike comments people make about this game being so similar to Ocarina of Time, but I am even more pissed off those fanboys calling Ocarina the best videogame ever, yes it is a good game, but not that awesome that everyone will call it the perfect game. Truth is, I loved this game, I started playing Zelda with A Link to the Past and then continued with Minish Cap, they were I really dislike comments people make about this game being so similar to Ocarina of Time, but I am even more pissed off those fanboys calling Ocarina the best videogame ever, yes it is a good game, but not that awesome that everyone will call it the perfect game. Truth is, I loved this game, I started playing Zelda with A Link to the Past and then continued with Minish Cap, they were awesome, I loved the game and the gameplay, and when I found this game, I just liked it so much, the fact that you can convert into a wolf was the best feature, yeah well, maybe the storyline wasn't the best, but I sure do think "save both the light and the dark realms" is better than "get in a comma and save the world". Expand
  3. MarcoF.
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    It's easily the best Zelda game ever, it has beautiful enviroments, good graphics, excelent story, and the gameplay it's superb. I've played all the Zelda Games since the first one in NES, but this is the pinacle of the Legend: Twilight Princess.
  4. CurlyCurly
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing Intense gameply Amazing plot line that had me guessing every where plaenty of play time for anyone Beutiful graphics Nice comeback from the Wind Waker Overall: Zelda is one of the best sereis to ever come out. It makes you think more than just point and shoot Twilight keeps you on the ege of your seat for the entire game down to the last climatic batles Gameplay, very smooth, I Amazing Intense gameply Amazing plot line that had me guessing every where plaenty of play time for anyone Beutiful graphics Nice comeback from the Wind Waker Overall: Zelda is one of the best sereis to ever come out. It makes you think more than just point and shoot Twilight keeps you on the ege of your seat for the entire game down to the last climatic batles Gameplay, very smooth, I love the new sword moves Graphics, as far as I car it looks amazing Plotline, one of the best ones for zelda since OoT 10/10 no doubt. Expand
  5. SamJ.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a video game. A moving and inspired storyline, gameplay, and hours of entertainment. If you have ever played a Zelda game in the past, you can't pass this up.
  6. JonathanC.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    It is the best Zelda game I have ever played! Some good graphics, but the best part of it is that you get to be Link!
  7. JordanKnight
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant Zelda game, really stands up to Ocarina of Time, i'd have to say that TP is better than I expected, expecially as I have played OoT over 5 times I think it is brilliant, as it should being Zelda and all, it has great graphics, storyline and characters... I love the new bosses and the new array of items is excellent, it gets a definite 10 from me. I think that this game Brilliant Zelda game, really stands up to Ocarina of Time, i'd have to say that TP is better than I expected, expecially as I have played OoT over 5 times I think it is brilliant, as it should being Zelda and all, it has great graphics, storyline and characters... I love the new bosses and the new array of items is excellent, it gets a definite 10 from me. I think that this game could bring anybody to the Nintendo side. Expand
  8. I
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    This game is really great. I would give it 9.5 (nothing is perfect), but I can't do that so I'll just have to round it up to a 10. Anyway this game is definitely the best game for the Wii out there. When rating this game, I compared it to Wind Waker (the first Zelda game I got) and Ocarina of Time (never actually completed that game though) I realize this game was better then This game is really great. I would give it 9.5 (nothing is perfect), but I can't do that so I'll just have to round it up to a 10. Anyway this game is definitely the best game for the Wii out there. When rating this game, I compared it to Wind Waker (the first Zelda game I got) and Ocarina of Time (never actually completed that game though) I realize this game was better then both of them in almost all respects. I thought in OOT the combat style was incredibly awkward and I found my self using my shield too much. In WW the sword fighting was definitely improved, but probably too much. You could easily go through the entire game without using your shield once. That also made OOT too hard and almost tedious at times and WW, almost too easy. TP is a good balance of the two games, and it has a very good storyline. If the Phantom Hourglass is anything like TP, I'm very much looking forward to a sequel to WW (even though many fans hate WW I actually think it was better then OOT). Ok, sorry to bore you all with this long speech. Anyway, this game pwns and I gave it a 10. Expand
  9. TomP.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love Zelda games and this is definitely worth even more than 10 on 10. Hopefully Nintendo will come out with some more games this good soon.
  10. RyanH.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    This game is superior to even ocarina of time. by far this is the greatest game I've played
  11. DLippert
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Great game once you get past the inital story line (like all Zelda games). If you own a Wii and have any interest in action/fantasy you must buy it. There is one fatal error in this game use two save points to avoid (fixed in later copies). I hit the error and it broke my heart, until i copied a friend's saved game to not have to start from the begining. A copy of real tricky things Great game once you get past the inital story line (like all Zelda games). If you own a Wii and have any interest in action/fantasy you must buy it. There is one fatal error in this game use two save points to avoid (fixed in later copies). I hit the error and it broke my heart, until i copied a friend's saved game to not have to start from the begining. A copy of real tricky things on the air world if you can't figure it out get help. Expand
  12. JayJ.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Cons: midi sample music, no voice overs, blurry textures, annoying remote noises, sometimes feels a little gimicky, often predicable, seen most of it before. Pros: Flawless art direction, flawless gameplay, amazing storyline, although the music is midi its still the most beautiful and best written music in any game (or film) ever. Can sometimes feel retro (which is a very good thing) its Cons: midi sample music, no voice overs, blurry textures, annoying remote noises, sometimes feels a little gimicky, often predicable, seen most of it before. Pros: Flawless art direction, flawless gameplay, amazing storyline, although the music is midi its still the most beautiful and best written music in any game (or film) ever. Can sometimes feel retro (which is a very good thing) its zelda. Also, its probably the best game ever made. Expand
  13. JustusR.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    I didn't think I'd see the day when I'd be more engrossed in a game than I was with OoT. The day has come.
  14. MasterJ.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Ocarina of Time, your time is up. This is hands down the greatest zelda game ever made, it is flawless in every way. I can't wait for the GC version of the game which will be better.
  15. JackBlack
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    This is the best game ever! If u do not like it, u have not seen or played it! Amazing graphics, amazing action, amazing everything! Extremely action full and non stop action, that never ends, and keeps gettting better and better! Get it, or u will not be on top of the besst video games, even if u hate most of Nintendo's games! Truust me on this one I no?!!!...
  16. Ace
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Excellent Game! Full of suprises and very addicting. The graphic, sound, and game play was excellent. No doubt that it is a 10.
  17. jonny
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Pay no attention to these closed minded non-gamers decrying this game for lack of innovation or lesser graphics. This game was a Gamecube game, every addition we got from the Wii (which are all welcome and very cool, though not the best we expect from the Wii later) are bonuses. They make the experience better. If this had been a Gamecube only release even 6 months earlier, none of these Pay no attention to these closed minded non-gamers decrying this game for lack of innovation or lesser graphics. This game was a Gamecube game, every addition we got from the Wii (which are all welcome and very cool, though not the best we expect from the Wii later) are bonuses. They make the experience better. If this had been a Gamecube only release even 6 months earlier, none of these issues would rise with anyone. This game is huge, beautiful, endearing, exciting, and just next to flawless. Get lost in this game, it is soooo worth it. Expand
  18. DeclanD
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    has to be a 10. It is my favorite Zelda game, of all time, Well my favorite game ever!!! the only thing i didn't like was there was a glitch in it, so any one still playing the game, When you get the cannon to get to sky temple, DONT SAVE AND QUIT, thanks =] dispite a glitch, 10/10 well done nintendo,
  19. DiegoM.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    Superb Game, Zelda Twilight Princess delivers excellent thinks in all what the game can offers, wonderfull graphics, stunning light effects, beauty art style, Superb gameplay, very good Music, Excellent presentation, awesome story, the few bads of the game are only technically speaking. Zelda Twilight Princess definitely raises Wii, Gamecube and all video games bar.
  20. AlexT.
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Beautiful. Awesome. Gigantic. The next Zelda had better be very different because this one truly perfected the old formula.
  21. KevinR.
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    This just may be the greatest game of all-time. An epic story, surpassing any other one put forward by a Zelda title, combined with one of the best and most intuitive control schemes ever, show just why Nintendo was justified in waiting to release this game. While it draws some mild influence from previous Zelda entries (for those idiots out there, not just from Ocarina, but from ALL that This just may be the greatest game of all-time. An epic story, surpassing any other one put forward by a Zelda title, combined with one of the best and most intuitive control schemes ever, show just why Nintendo was justified in waiting to release this game. While it draws some mild influence from previous Zelda entries (for those idiots out there, not just from Ocarina, but from ALL that preceded it), it feels completely original, focusing more on Link and his new friend Midna than anything else. I highly recommend this game to anyone who has any interest at all in video games or fun in general. Expand
  22. BenF.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Really Awesome. The game is extremely fun, There is tons of things you can do a yes, you will have a lot of fun with this game. Best game of 2006! Also one of the best games of all time.
  23. JesseS.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    At first I was going to give Zelda:TP a 9, because it's not perfect. And it isn't perfect (but then, what is). There are minor problems here and there with cameras and collision and shadows. Nothing major. Nothing that prevents you from doing what you want to do. It seemed a bit easy at times (we never failed at a boss fight, and rarely had to use a fairy in a bottle). But too At first I was going to give Zelda:TP a 9, because it's not perfect. And it isn't perfect (but then, what is). There are minor problems here and there with cameras and collision and shadows. Nothing major. Nothing that prevents you from doing what you want to do. It seemed a bit easy at times (we never failed at a boss fight, and rarely had to use a fairy in a bottle). But too easy is better than too hard (personally, I thought OOT was a too hard, TP a bit too easy, and WW just about right). So instead, I asked myself if there was a game I had enjoyed more. The answer is no, so I give it a 10. Expand
  24. Mariatrhgfhgfh
    May 12, 2007
    10
    Im giving it a ten so far ive been playing ive al ready been playing for like 8hours and im only at the part where the dungon thing is with the kids, kidnapt and the monkeys trying to guide me to save her frends, i cant win! im stuck i need help! i used all of my sling shot things and now i cant move on so someone just PM me or somethin if you know what to do >Hypnotized3@yahoo.com
  25. HarveyD.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    There is always somethings about a Zelda game that evolves gaming. Not just a revolution by the standards of a wiimote (the GC is just as good) but the mere fact that it makes you feel like you are playing videogames for the first time again. It's reminiscent of what a great game should always accomplish. Invoking not only a connection but memories of bliss. Hmm... I'm not sure There is always somethings about a Zelda game that evolves gaming. Not just a revolution by the standards of a wiimote (the GC is just as good) but the mere fact that it makes you feel like you are playing videogames for the first time again. It's reminiscent of what a great game should always accomplish. Invoking not only a connection but memories of bliss. Hmm... I'm not sure but if you ask me there can't ever be sufficient words to describe such an experience. Merely a grand string of actions and emotions carried by this masterpiece. There is nothing anochronistic about this games release with comparison to any and every other game, and certainly not polemical in the slightest. Hands down, the definition of gaming. Expand
  26. AdamO.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    This game reinvents the Zelda franchise with awesome new items and amazing motion-based controls. It's artistic design is some of the best I've seen since Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away, and it more than makes up for any technical problems. The music may not all be orchestrated, but it's brilliantly nostalgic nonetheless. The dungeons are some of the best in gaming This game reinvents the Zelda franchise with awesome new items and amazing motion-based controls. It's artistic design is some of the best I've seen since Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away, and it more than makes up for any technical problems. The music may not all be orchestrated, but it's brilliantly nostalgic nonetheless. The dungeons are some of the best in gaming history, not just the franchise. The latest entry in Nintendo's triple-A franchise may be the best one. Expand
  27. JoshR.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    The best game ever by far. Simply stunning. Long quest, brilliant music and beautiful environments.
  28. RobertD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The amount of things to do in this game is just insane. The dungeons are really top notch, espeacially City in The Sky, Arbiter Grounds and Snowpeak Ruins. this is basically one of the best games ever created and the best zelda game in years.
  29. ColinC.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Nine months after it came out, I finally picked it up. I loved this game and so did my wife. Prior to this Zelda, my favorite was the N64 classic. But in my humble opinion, this one's got it beat. Huge variety, huge world, huge fun. If you love Zelda games, you'll love this one. Here's hoping Phantom Hourglass is as good.
  30. eeganrac
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    I love zelda games, and this is a fantastic zelda game. the only issue i, or anybody may have is that the bosses are a tad bit too easy. i believe the reason for this is because of the wiimote itself. it is new technology, if they made it too difficult people would just throw there hands up and shut the game off. bottom line, if you like zelda games you will like this game!
  31. JoshS.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. It's not too hard and not too easy and it always delivers in fun.
  32. BarnyR.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    this game is insanely good and ive played(and completed) every zelda game out its a good blend of an amazing zelda story line and some good graphics. although every one was expecting link to do what ever you do we can only hope thats what they do in the next zelda adventure.
  33. fruitloop
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This game is the best game i've ever played, the graphics are good and the sound is good. kind of a weird story line, but i still like it. of course, since I'm to zelda and link, this game is off the top of my list.
  34. LeninW.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Perfect. Simply Perfect.
  35. AramisGutierrez
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    I had just got to the end of Gears of War (I usually only play 1 game at a time), but I thought I would play 10 minutes of Zelda just to see how the controls were. After 10 minutes I was totally captivated. I guess it is going to be a long, long time before I get back to Gears of War.
  36. IiroJ.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    The game is extremely pleasurable to play and all the movement feels so natural. Its allso biggest zelda I ever played.
  37. HilaryB.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    The most amazing game I have ever played! A true masterpiece that is THE reason to get a Nintendo Wii!
  38. JermiahB.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Flawless game. Best game of all time.
  39. IfanW.
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Truly fantastic. I never thought anything would remove Ocarina of time off the top of my gaming list of greatness, but here is the game to do just that. A fantastic achievment. The best game ever. Period.
  40. MikeC.
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    All 3 of EGM's reviewers game this game a 10, RE4, Gears, God Of War and Halo 1 and 2 havn't even recieved that honor. Absolutly an amazing game, one of the best of all
  41. Miles
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    I don't care what anyone says, nobody cares about graphics if the game plays like crap. This game, although not the most graphically advanced, has the most important quality of any game: it's fun. The guys at Nintendo decided that rather than focusing on raw power (graphically, the Wii looks more like the original XBox), they would innovate, and they did. Besides, it I don't care what anyone says, nobody cares about graphics if the game plays like crap. This game, although not the most graphically advanced, has the most important quality of any game: it's fun. The guys at Nintendo decided that rather than focusing on raw power (graphically, the Wii looks more like the original XBox), they would innovate, and they did. Besides, it doesn't look bad, just a tad dated, which in the long run, doesn't matter. It is, however, fun, new, and deserving of any and all 100s it receives. Collapse
  42. JohnH.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Don't listen to the below reviewer Pokey, the Wii can render graphics better than the original XBox can. Twilight Princess is an amazing game. From the gameplay (which is a huge step up from Ocarina), to the plot (which rivals Majora's Mask in quality), to the amazing graphics. This game will keep you entertained for at least 50-60 hours, and is still fun to replay multiple times.
  43. AndrewJ.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    The best game I've ever played. No contest. The distillation and enhancement of everything you've come to know and love from previous Zelda games. Not to mention that this game has the best art direction that I've seen in any game. The art direction is easily on par with Tim Burton's best work. Since 600,000 Wii's have been sold in the first week with only 450,000 The best game I've ever played. No contest. The distillation and enhancement of everything you've come to know and love from previous Zelda games. Not to mention that this game has the best art direction that I've seen in any game. The art direction is easily on par with Tim Burton's best work. Since 600,000 Wii's have been sold in the first week with only 450,000 copies of Zelda sold, there are 150,000 of you out there who NEED to get this game. Sure purchasing this game with your Wii isn't required by law, but it sure should be. Expand
  44. GanonS.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Twilight Princess is the best game in the entire cosmos. It has great graphics, and the controls are out of this world. If you disagree, me and my hawkeye-bow combo will be waiting to kick your.
  45. ErlandK.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    While the Wii's unique control scheme doesn't particularly benefit Twilight Princess, it certainly doesn't detract, either. Probably the best launch title since Super Mario World--maybe ever.
  46. SeanT.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    I have never had so much fun playing an adventure game in my life. The control scheme on the wii makes this game spectacular. This is the only game that I played all the way through and never became bored or really even frustrated. I would say it is not nearly as challenging as Ocarina of Time , but feels far more massive and epic. It's my second favorite game next to Super Mario I have never had so much fun playing an adventure game in my life. The control scheme on the wii makes this game spectacular. This is the only game that I played all the way through and never became bored or really even frustrated. I would say it is not nearly as challenging as Ocarina of Time , but feels far more massive and epic. It's my second favorite game next to Super Mario RPG: Ledend of the Seven Stars on the SNES. Expand
  47. MichaelB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    A truly fantastic game. With an epic quest, immense landscapes, and practically flawless dungeon design, Twilight Princess delivers. You know a game is good when you can have fun just exploring or riding around. So many jaw-dropping moments, from the horseback battles, to riding rails on a giant spinner, and walking on magnetic walls. The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess is quite A truly fantastic game. With an epic quest, immense landscapes, and practically flawless dungeon design, Twilight Princess delivers. You know a game is good when you can have fun just exploring or riding around. So many jaw-dropping moments, from the horseback battles, to riding rails on a giant spinner, and walking on magnetic walls. The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess is quite possibly the best game I have ever played. Expand
  48. Daniel
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    Awesome. Completely awesome! You cannot criticize anything about. Everything is just Classic Nintendo!
  49. TahuN.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess for Wii is very fun. The fighting is very good. There was a big hype for this game. Good tihng that the hype was for a good game. This title is a must-buy for your Wii library of games.
  50. RyanM.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    I think ths game is the best game out for the Wii. I game not get past the excellent graphics and gameplay. This adds new life to an already great franchise.
  51. StevenM.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. The only thing holding it down is the Wii's sub par hardware. I couldn't imagine how beautiful this game would've been if the Wii had the same power as a 360 or PS3. Of course thie gameplay is top-notch and the story is totally engrossing. If you buy a Wii, this is the one game you absolutely must own with it.
  52. Gamer65
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    I absolutely loved this game. The graphics and sound quality was a little bit less then what I expected, but the actual game play was the best so for. Even though OOT was the best game, the new items make TLP even better. Not to mention the sweet sword moves. I would probably say this is the best Zelda game yet. Although I have not played on the Wii yet, it its still AWSOME!
  53. I.L.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    I never thought I'd be fortunate enough to live to see a game that surpasses every bar set by previous games. You can talk about how great Master Cheif, Mario and Sonic all are, but Link is truly the king.
  54. LarsO.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I loved this game! I think it was a major improvement in certain parts over OoT. I think one of the bigger improvements was the fight w/ Ganon. It was harder and longer and much more satisfying. I thought that the temples were easy (not good).
  55. Topher
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    This game is epic. After an admittedly slow start (I stopped playing it after 2 days), I got back into it, and played nearly nonstop until I beat it. This game is epic. The difficulty in fights could be ramped up, especially on the final boss fight, but other then that, this game is one of my favorites of all time.
  56. Sydney
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    This game was the best EVER! Link is so cute and the graphics and everything were amazing. Plus who could hate hearing that amazing music from the old Zelda? If I could rate this to infinity I wouldn't hesitate!
  57. AndresR.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    I still haven't finished the game... Yet it keeps surprising me with new features... It's definitely the best game I've ever played!
  58. BenG.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    One of the best Zelda games ever made. Better than OOT? No. But its still an awesome game.
  59. AlanW.l
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    The best game I've ever played to completion - and I'm 30 and have been gaming since 14!
  60. DanielD.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    The best zelda game in 10 years! Its better than the 64 zelda game.... I haven't had my heart beat as fast as when i got to ganondorf in a long time
  61. KeetonJ.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    It seems as if I waited for this game forever. And needless to say, I loved it. The controls may take a little getting used to, but that's less than a minor flaw. Hyrule is the biggest its been, and you can explore for hours after beating it! I just wish the bosses were a little harder.
  62. JoshC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    By far the best game i have ever played! It has a amazing plot and the controls feel completly natural!
  63. Evan
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal from start to finish. One of the best video games of all time.
  64. StuartP.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    The Ocarina of time has been for me the best game I have played, or until I played the new Zelda for the Wii. At first I was not convinced the latest incarnation was a revolution- I was right it's not much different from previous Zelda games. But as you progress there are moments of pure gaming genius, which create a sense of excitment not found in the other games. After finishing The Ocarina of time has been for me the best game I have played, or until I played the new Zelda for the Wii. At first I was not convinced the latest incarnation was a revolution- I was right it's not much different from previous Zelda games. But as you progress there are moments of pure gaming genius, which create a sense of excitment not found in the other games. After finishing the latest incarnation, I am sure that now I have played the greatest incarnation of the Zelda seris to date, I look forward to see how or if they can improve the series. Expand
  65. EduardoR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    After 100 hours of pure joy (the game can be beaten in 60, but,... why hurry?), I can only say it felt just perfect. The best Wii title so far, the best Zelda title so far. That´s it. 10/10. And, yes, it IS better than Ocarina of Time.
  66. MathewM
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    This is a great game to play. The controls and graphics are great even thought it's a Gamecube port. It doesn't matter if you have a Gamecube or Wii, but you have to play this game if you own either. If you don't play this game, then I pity you, and your children. Play this game.
  67. MichaelB
    May 27, 2009
    10
    My first Zelda game, must say it was the best game i have ever played, subsequently bought the much revered 'Ocarina of Time' and thought it didn't stand a patch on TP. It is very easy to familirise yourself with the characters and I found a soft spot in Colin, personally. Gameplay is both challenging and exciting. My favourite point about this game must be the soundtrack, My first Zelda game, must say it was the best game i have ever played, subsequently bought the much revered 'Ocarina of Time' and thought it didn't stand a patch on TP. It is very easy to familirise yourself with the characters and I found a soft spot in Colin, personally. Gameplay is both challenging and exciting. My favourite point about this game must be the soundtrack, I have never heard greater music for a video game and would instantly buy a soundtrack CD if it were released. The music is produced by full orchestra and sounds glourious both in and out of the game. The iconic Hyrule Field theme tops the list, being its greatest auditory asset. The graphics are also slick enough to enjoy fully but, graphics aren't everything... A great game, Nintendo may well have set a standard it will be hard put to beat in its next release. Expand
  68. JohnB
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Twlight Princess. This was propably the most anticipated game ever for me, and even though the game did dissapoint me a little in certain areas, it's still so much better than the majority of games that anything else but 10 would be understatement. Everything in the game from the graphics to gameplay and plot is perfected, and the game pulls you in with the force rarely seen in Twlight Princess. This was propably the most anticipated game ever for me, and even though the game did dissapoint me a little in certain areas, it's still so much better than the majority of games that anything else but 10 would be understatement. Everything in the game from the graphics to gameplay and plot is perfected, and the game pulls you in with the force rarely seen in videogames. Well, there are exceptions like Okami of course, but for my opinion, Twilight Princess is the best of it's genre. Never frustrating, never boring or dull. I just just wish they would have treated Zant differently, now the character just pisses me of (everyone who's completed the game know what i mean...). Expand
  69. gloterol
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    This was my first zelda game. Before i tried it out, i thought this series was boring, after i played it i was just blown away by how long and complete this game was. the story was impeccable and put me more into the game, the controls were easy and well made, the graphics while dated, still impressed me and i think it looked beautifull-plus graphics don't necessarily make a good This was my first zelda game. Before i tried it out, i thought this series was boring, after i played it i was just blown away by how long and complete this game was. the story was impeccable and put me more into the game, the controls were easy and well made, the graphics while dated, still impressed me and i think it looked beautifull-plus graphics don't necessarily make a good game. the dugeons were geniusly design! incredible game, after super mario galaxy this is the 2nd best game i have ever played. now i need to try ocarina of time!! Expand
  70. liamviren
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    When i got this game i was a first time Zelda player and I got hooked instantly. This game keeps you on the edge of your seat you never know whats coming. Also the graphics are amazing the best I've ever had on a game. My recommendation get the wii sword if you can it makes it a lot more fun
  71. MickH.
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    THE game Zelda fans have been waiting for since ocarina of time. Wind Waker was an excellent game that showed of an unbelievable cell shaded world full of emotions and great dramatic storytelling, but I still longed for the more mature and gritty feel of the wolrd in Ocarina of Time, and now Nintendo have gone and created it. This is not merely a game...it is a work of ART, the dramatic THE game Zelda fans have been waiting for since ocarina of time. Wind Waker was an excellent game that showed of an unbelievable cell shaded world full of emotions and great dramatic storytelling, but I still longed for the more mature and gritty feel of the wolrd in Ocarina of Time, and now Nintendo have gone and created it. This is not merely a game...it is a work of ART, the dramatic storytelling, new immersive medium of control throught the Wii, and of course it is part of The Legend of Zelda franchise that has always been top notch quality. With every new zelda game coming out, you can expect that it would set the bar of quality for the industry higher for which other adventure/rpg games and games in general would be compared to and this is no different. I do not want to go into spoilers, but simply put, Nintendo has outdone itselft with a lengthy title that is impossible to put down as you play through the wii *pun intended* hours of the night. Recomendation: 10/10 EXCELLENT Expand
  72. MikeM.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    This games artistic backing makes it looks so much better then any other game, on any other console.
  73. RandyMoorhead
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    I have loved Zelda my entire life. I've been keeping a close eye on this one for quite some time, observing and watching it as it developed. And, after finally getting my hands on it, i can only say two words: freaking amazing. Twilight Princess is, simply put, genre-smashing and one of the greatest, if not the greatest, game in history....period. Get it.....now.
  74. PeterM.
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This is without a doubt the pinnacle of Adventure games and the best Zelda ever.
  75. JohnG.
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Simply the best game ever made mixing a fantastic story, music and art direction but most of all for a game grat gameplay that immerses you in the game world proper which few games do.
  76. MikeP.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    An artistic masterpiece with gorgeous graphics, pulse pounding action, and riveting score. The story of Twilight Princess will suck you in on a roller coaster ride of emotions, form heart-wrenching moments of sadness, to cathartic bursts of joy. The Wii controls are absolutely flawless to the point where even the spot on awesomeness of Wind Waker's controls will feel clunky and An artistic masterpiece with gorgeous graphics, pulse pounding action, and riveting score. The story of Twilight Princess will suck you in on a roller coaster ride of emotions, form heart-wrenching moments of sadness, to cathartic bursts of joy. The Wii controls are absolutely flawless to the point where even the spot on awesomeness of Wind Waker's controls will feel clunky and archaic. If you love video games, or if you even call yourself a gamer, then stop what you're doing, get to the nearest Best Buy, Target, Wal-Mart, or Gamestop and buy this flawless diamond. Truly this is the greatest video game ever made! Expand
  77. RandolphL.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    This is definitely the best Zelda game I have ever played; in fact, it's the best game I have ever played period. An almost flawless experience that must not be missed.
  78. JayS.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    This game is nothing short of perfect. The game has beatiful graphics, a huge world to explore, and an amazing new control scheme.
  79. YamaZ.
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    This game is from start to finish simply the best game ever created, even without finishing it, I believe this is and was and shall be my best game experience ever!
  80. Dan
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    The most rewarding Zelda game to date, Twilight Princess has delivered on practically every level. Its only weaknesses lie in two areas: the unfortunate use of MIDI rather than orchestrated music for a soundtrack that is easily the best of any Zelda game, and the lack of any speech aside from Midna's nonsensical gibberish. Exploring Hyrule has never been more fun or exhilirating than The most rewarding Zelda game to date, Twilight Princess has delivered on practically every level. Its only weaknesses lie in two areas: the unfortunate use of MIDI rather than orchestrated music for a soundtrack that is easily the best of any Zelda game, and the lack of any speech aside from Midna's nonsensical gibberish. Exploring Hyrule has never been more fun or exhilirating than in Twilight Princess. Riding Epona feels even more amazing than the horse gameplay mechanics of Shadow of the Colossus (another amazing title). The Wii gameplay controls take some getting used to, but are very much a welcome change in the Zelda universe. I will never go back to aiming the bow and arrow or hookshot without the Wii remote. My one (tiny) complaint about the controls is the omission of an option to swing the sword by pressing a button. Swinging the Wii remote to attack with the sword feels somewhat tacked-on and isn't as fun or intuitive as I was hoping for... but it still works great and does not take away from the overall experience. Anyone who picks up a Wii this holiday season must do themselves a favor and pick up this game, the best Zelda game ever, and possibly the best game ever made. Expand
  81. BrianR.
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    A superb game, the land is so huge and there is so much to do at all times that it is almost overwhelming. Nintendo nailed this one, and one can obviously see why it was in development for so long. Controls work great as well, you'd never know this was a "port".
  82. Shaniareeeetkeverlul
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played and it doesn't lose any of its shine while playing this massive game. I thought the graphics would lose a bit of their superiority but they don't everything looks crisp and neatly designed. The sounds are great and that it hasn't been made orchestral a just a setback of minor difference. Gameplay gets an A+++, the wiimote works soThis is the best game i have ever played and it doesn't lose any of its shine while playing this massive game. I thought the graphics would lose a bit of their superiority but they don't everything looks crisp and neatly designed. The sounds are great and that it hasn't been made orchestral a just a setback of minor difference. Gameplay gets an A+++, the wiimote works so fantastic that I don't even want to play other games with normal controllers anymore!
    So this IS a game you have to buy, and everybody who says differently is a douchbag and doesn't know how to spell "I smell like turds" ...
    Thus this concludes the review, go buy the game and enjoy!
    Expand
  83. JaneK.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Fantastic game, it has everything that Ocarina has plus more.
  84. GameCube
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Masterpeice. Better than Ocarina of Time. Awesome music. Great Graphics. Best game of all time.
  85. TylerG.
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    Great game with tons of hours of play - both main story and side quests. Well worth a cold night in line outside a store to get a Wii.
  86. Messiah
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made. Imagine a Zelda with the feeling of Final Fantasy, the design of Metroid Prime, and the space of San Andreas. Yes, this game is the game everyone needs to play.
  87. AndrewG.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    I am beyond addicted to this game. It is all I can think about. With 40+ hours of gameplay for me, it has definitely abetted my terrible senioritis. I am in love with the new weapons (don't read the rest of the sentence unless you want to have a little bit of the surprise spoiled I suppose) - the humungous ball and chain, the dominion rod, and the dual grappling hook. Some things I am beyond addicted to this game. It is all I can think about. With 40+ hours of gameplay for me, it has definitely abetted my terrible senioritis. I am in love with the new weapons (don't read the rest of the sentence unless you want to have a little bit of the surprise spoiled I suppose) - the humungous ball and chain, the dominion rod, and the dual grappling hook. Some things seem awkward for a Zelda game - in particular the snowboarding minigame. But the integration of the wolf, on the other hand, is entirely natural/awesome. The wolf, along with the sword techniques, give the day-to-day fighting of monsters a dynamic twist. I could not be happier with this game. Expand
  88. BarryS.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Best Zelda yet. Absolutely stunning imagination and creativity has gone into making this game. Game of the year.
  89. Toadsanime(RyanBrown)
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess was made in the style it was made in pratically because Wind Waker cel-shaded graphics caused an uproar (although it still rocked), but I couldn't be happier with this game. It has so much replay value, even after the 60-odd hours of gameplay.
  90. Andrew
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I got this game for Christmas, when I got my Wii. It kept me busy for months after that. Twilight Princess is an incredibly good game. I know that it doesn't have as good graphics as other systems (I've played the 360), but it doesn't matter. The graphics are very, very impressive, but where this game shines is the gameplay. If you don't have this game, you shouldI got this game for Christmas, when I got my Wii. It kept me busy for months after that. Twilight Princess is an incredibly good game. I know that it doesn't have as good graphics as other systems (I've played the 360), but it doesn't matter. The graphics are very, very impressive, but where this game shines is the gameplay. If you don't have this game, you should get it. Ignore the negative ratings some users have given the game. Buy it. Now. Expand
  91. MichaelP.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest games I've have ever played in my life, great graphics, the controls feel so natural, excellent storyline (with some dramatic plot twists), hundreds of things to do besides the main storyline, this game will keep you busy for weeks with sheer enjoyment, this game is just so prefect I honestly cannot understand why anyone who's played it would not think its One of the greatest games I've have ever played in my life, great graphics, the controls feel so natural, excellent storyline (with some dramatic plot twists), hundreds of things to do besides the main storyline, this game will keep you busy for weeks with sheer enjoyment, this game is just so prefect I honestly cannot understand why anyone who's played it would not think its one of the, if not the best game ever created on the Wii. Expand
  92. Kagemaru
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    This game had a lot in it I been playing Zelda since it came out for N64 and I always loved the it but this one is the best for me but i just love how they didnt change the music all the ocarina songs its all still the same but way better can't wait tell the next Zelda.
  93. DanH.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Playing it with the Wii controls gives you the feeling of learning to play Zelda all over again in an incredibly enjoyable fashion. If you have a Wii and do not own this game, you are missing out on a masterpiece.
  94. BradyT.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    I loved it. Beat it already but loved it. And when you beet the game it gives you fun side quests that you can still do. Aweome controls, very easy to control. Makes up for me buying stupid Rapalla Tournament fishing.
  95. BobbyB.
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    Amazing, thrilling game. I've played a preview and I think it is the best game I've played in my life. Nothing better for the Wii.
  96. FruityT.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    As compared to other games, no competition is required. Suffice to say, the 2-minute snowboarding scene is more fun than any game on Wii Play. Boss Battles are intuitive and original as well as humorous. With a total of 9 dungeons, this game couldn't be more exciting or enthralling. At all costs, (50$ at most stores) buy this epic installment of the classic series.
  97. johnwako
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    this game has to be the zelda with the best story line and the best battle mechanics which naturally makes it one of the best games that have ever been out. sure in spots the graphics falter sure in spots the sound might be annoying. but who cares the worst website in the world for rating games is gamespot or any others who gave this below a 90.
  98. JamesT.
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Full 100 score would not do this game justice, the amazing game uses full advantage of the Wii's wireless controllers, letting you do spinning attacks, jumping attacks, stabbing attacks and many others. It is a bit slow at the start, and you should consult a website walk through for the basics but after you have the controls going, follow the story, and you will soon find out about Full 100 score would not do this game justice, the amazing game uses full advantage of the Wii's wireless controllers, letting you do spinning attacks, jumping attacks, stabbing attacks and many others. It is a bit slow at the start, and you should consult a website walk through for the basics but after you have the controls going, follow the story, and you will soon find out about the princess of the twilight. Expand
  99. IanG.
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    I would have to say that this is the best Zelda ever, which automatically makes it the best game ever made. I have heard mediocre comments and criticisms from people saying things like "turning into a wolf doesn't add to the game" and "fighting large groups with wolf is too difficult", but in reality, these dont hold up. Actually, the very idea that fighting large groups in wolf mode I would have to say that this is the best Zelda ever, which automatically makes it the best game ever made. I have heard mediocre comments and criticisms from people saying things like "turning into a wolf doesn't add to the game" and "fighting large groups with wolf is too difficult", but in reality, these dont hold up. Actually, the very idea that fighting large groups in wolf mode is difficult in itself, because the Z attack lets you attack 20+ enemies at the same time, and I believe that the wolf mechanic adds much to the game by removing some of the monotony. Additionally, I found the control scheme excellent, and extremely responsive, and quite easy to get used to after jumping out of ocarina and majoras mask. When compared to story-less, boring, and monotonous games like WoW, Fable, and Oblivion, Twilight Princess shines. TP is a virtual paragon of what an adventure game should be, and in reality, other RPG and adventure games seem like a joke. The only other RPG/Adventure game that I have had comparable amounts of fun in, would have to be Baldurs Gate 2, which is also one of my favorites. If you own a wii, but lacked the funds or the sense to purchase this game when you bought it, do so as soon as humanly possible. You would really be missing out. Expand
  100. TylerT.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    It's a game that that I could have been delighted to buy if I had just rented it, but I bought it on release date within 2 min of store opening.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2006
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2006
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    An excellent addition (and homage to "Ocarina") to the franchise, and you'll have an enormous amount of fun playing it from start to finish. Get over the fact that the Wii's hardware is simply not as powerful as the other next-gen machines and get into the fact that Twilight Princess is one of the best games you'll play this year.
  2. It truly is, in my opinion, the best and longest Zelda ever made. With nearly 70 hours of playtime committed and more still to do, I cant think of a better experience or value this holiday season.
  3. 100
    Truly fantastic. It's not a reinvention of the genre like Ocarina was -- but it's much better, because it takes all its predecessors' raw ideas, perfects them, and creates an experience that's at once new and familiar. It's rare to find a launch game that truly justifies the purchase of a new console, but this is precisely that.