Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    42
    On the whole, Thor: God of Thunder is probably only going to be for people who are seriously hardcore about their Thor, as it's clear the Wii version did not get the lion's share of the development resources.
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    16
    Despite Thor: God of Thunder's terrible movie-gameness, I cannot totally bring myself to hate it; after all, I legitimately enjoyed the combat. Sure, it wasn't "good" by any accepted definition, but I did find it fun. Unfortunately, the rest of the game is just unqualified terrible.
  3. May 31, 2011
    60
    Thor is short and often repetitive, but it features a long list of attainable moves, combos and techniques to keep things fun and interesting.
  4. 60
    Thor's not a bad game, it just doesn't seem to care whether or not it does well.
  5. May 13, 2011
    55
    Thor bashes his way through a stylish adventure, but a lack of diversity and depth leads to stale action.
  6. May 10, 2011
    65
    Thor God of Thunder isn't the worst comic book or movie based game. It's also not even close to being the best. Sega did their best to cut and paste the God of War formula and for the most part they succeeded. The action is non-stop and unleashing Thor's powers is fun. The game stays fairly true to what long time fans would expect from Thor and they even threw in the Jack Kirby costume for good measure. The biggest problem with the game is that it just never reaches its fullest potential and it certainly doesn't get close to being as good as the series it is imitating. Throw in a short four and a half hour play time and you have a game that is hard to recommend, unless you are a huge Thor fan. Of course it could be worse, the game could be based off of Syfy's Almighty Thor.
  7. May 9, 2011
    58
    Thor doesn't pop on Wii, thanks to a campaign anchored at times by repetitive combat and objectives, but die-hard fans burned out on Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 now have a suitably decent standalone option for taking the Norse comic hero for a spin around a few of the nine mythical worlds.
  8. May 9, 2011
    70
    Despite its predictable layout, Thor: God of Thunder is a pretty decent brawler. The combat is well done, and the boss fights, while predictable in terms of how they finish, feel epic in scale. When it doesn't suffer from frame rate issues, the game looks good, controls fine and sounds nice - once you tune out some of the repetitive pieces in the musical score. It may not be a long or deep game, but it is fun while it lasts. It's a good rental for action fans and a decent buy for die-hard fans of the Marvel character.
  9. May 9, 2011
    74
    Thor: God of Thunder is a very good tie-in, with a huge number of moves that you can perform by moving the Wii-mote as if you were holding the mighty Mjolnir. With nice graphics (what a pity the frame rate is pretty low) and sounds, the game is a little short but it can really be a blast for all the Marvel fans out there.
  10. 70
    The pacing of the game is decent even though it's rather easy. You'll eventually get bored, but you'll have fun until you do.
  11. May 3, 2011
    50
    The copycat gameplay is sound and fun enough not to be instantly grating. It will be in the long-term, though, when you realize there's really nothing else to do other than mindless combat with generic enemies.
  12. May 3, 2011
    60
    A mixed affair. Level design is unimaginably dull, and boss encounters are too far apart to be rewarding.
  13. Jun 13, 2011
    45
    This game only confirms our anti-Thor prejudice. He IS crap. [June 2011, p.64]
  14. May 3, 2011
    55
    Clearly has some good ideas; it's just too bad that their execution wasn't as good as it should have been. [May 2011, p.86]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 10, 2011
    8
    Now this was a surprise to say the least. I ended up watching a friend play it at their place after he picked it up, and while it had it'sNow this was a surprise to say the least. I ended up watching a friend play it at their place after he picked it up, and while it had it's moments of grimness from some QTE mishaps, shoddy voice acting, and pretty blah music, the game was fun. Not terribly long, but the combat is pretty deep if you are willing to follow it in. In terms of combat, boss fights were pretty epic! I was awe struck at the size of Surtur and Ymir, and I swear I've never seen whatever that fire effect was going on in a Wii game before. Maybe we were just seeing things. To be fair the Wii graphics in general for every third party game tends to suck, we know this as gamers. Thor does pretty good overall at looking nice, and while occasionally there are areas where the graphics fall flat in Thor, they make up for it by being over the top during massive storm power usage and combat sequences! I definitely felt like my friend and I were wielding Mjolnir, empowered as a god as we laid waste to our enemies. Multiple cyclones, some sort of cage thing and lightning storms going on at the same time while beating a troll to a bloody pulp was incredibly gratifying.

    All in all this game is pretty good. It's at least worth a rental. I was never a huge Thor comic fan, but clearly this game pulls from God of War, albeit in its own way, to a decent success. As an additional note, I just looked it up on Amazon and apparently it's only $40 bucks too, which is about as much as I'd be willing to fork over and actually seems like a fitting opening price point for the title. All in all, a pretty solid Wii action game that's fun while it lasts.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    O jogo bom, a jogabilidade legal, tem muitos movimentos pra se fazer e pra desbloquear. gostei bastante dos gráficos também e a dublagemO jogo bom, a jogabilidade legal, tem muitos movimentos pra se fazer e pra desbloquear. gostei bastante dos gráficos também e a dublagem também razoável. O que eu não gostei no jogo foram as constantes quedas de FPS que, infelizmente bem recorrente no jogo. Mas tirando isso um ótimo jogo. Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    I really enjoyed the multiplayer levels a lot. My friend got the sniper rifle and I used the tank. Buyer beware: LOTS OF BLOOD. MyI really enjoyed the multiplayer levels a lot. My friend got the sniper rifle and I used the tank. Buyer beware: LOTS OF BLOOD. My little brother had to leave the room after a few minutes. He still has nightmares about what he saw. But in the game's defense, I think it was very anatomically correct about everything it showed. Organs are nothing to be ashamed of. Great game, thanks Blizzard! Full Review »