Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thor: The Video Game will take players through a spectacular, epic-scale original third-person adventure for which Matt Fraction, the Eisner Award-winning writer and lead Thor comic book author served as story consultant. In the game, Thor battles through the numerous worlds of Norse mythology that span realms ranging from primal worlds of fire and ice to extraordinary planets inhabited by Frost Giants and Trolls to save Asgard, the capital city of the Norse Gods. Thor must overcome monstrous foes lifted from the pages of the comics including Ulik, Ymir, and Surtur, as well as other monstrous denizens. Players will wield the iconic Mjolnir, Thor’s legendary hammer, to fight enemies on an immense scale while controlling the elemental storm powers of lightning, thunder, and wind to vanquish enemies. As Thor earns Valor points through his exploits, players can acquire new abilities, powers, and weapon upgrades. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. May 9, 2011
    74
    Thor: God of Thunder is a very good tie-in, with a huge number of moves that you can perform by moving the Wii-mote as if you were holding the mighty Mjolnir. With nice graphics (what a pity the frame rate is pretty low) and sounds, the game is a little short but it can really be a blast for all the Marvel fans out there.
  2. 70
    The pacing of the game is decent even though it's rather easy. You'll eventually get bored, but you'll have fun until you do.
  3. May 9, 2011
    70
    Despite its predictable layout, Thor: God of Thunder is a pretty decent brawler. The combat is well done, and the boss fights, while predictable in terms of how they finish, feel epic in scale. When it doesn't suffer from frame rate issues, the game looks good, controls fine and sounds nice - once you tune out some of the repetitive pieces in the musical score. It may not be a long or deep game, but it is fun while it lasts. It's a good rental for action fans and a decent buy for die-hard fans of the Marvel character.
  4. May 9, 2011
    58
    Thor doesn't pop on Wii, thanks to a campaign anchored at times by repetitive combat and objectives, but die-hard fans burned out on Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 now have a suitably decent standalone option for taking the Norse comic hero for a spin around a few of the nine mythical worlds.
  5. May 13, 2011
    55
    Thor bashes his way through a stylish adventure, but a lack of diversity and depth leads to stale action.
  6. May 3, 2011
    55
    Clearly has some good ideas; it's just too bad that their execution wasn't as good as it should have been. [May 2011, p.86]
  7. Jun 8, 2011
    16
    Despite Thor: God of Thunder's terrible movie-gameness, I cannot totally bring myself to hate it; after all, I legitimately enjoyed the combat. Sure, it wasn't "good" by any accepted definition, but I did find it fun. Unfortunately, the rest of the game is just unqualified terrible.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    These are wonderful! Thank you for sharing gucci handbags on sale coach bags cheap gucci outlet Discount Gucci Gucci 2011 New Perhaps this is one of the most interesting blogs that I have ever seen. Interesting article, Funny comment. Keep it up!Perhaps this is one of the most interesting blogs that I have ever seen. Interesting article, Funny comment. Keep it up! Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    I really enjoyed the multiplayer levels a lot. My friend got the sniper rifle and I used the tank. Buyer beware: LOTS OF BLOOD. My little brother had to leave the room after a few minutes. He still has nightmares about what he saw. But in the game's defense, I think it was very anatomically correct about everything it showed. Organs are nothing to be ashamed of. Great game, thanks Blizzard! Expand
  3. May 13, 2011
    9
    I have to say I enjoyed this game very much. The combat system was perfect for the Wii controls. The boss battles were engaging and fun. The unlockables were great and all for $40!! Worth every penny. I just wish it was a little longer, but im playing back through it on a harder difficulty. Pick it up! I bet you'll dig it. Collapse
  4. May 10, 2011
    8
    Now this was a surprise to say the least. I ended up watching a friend play it at their place after he picked it up, and while it had it's moments of grimness from some QTE mishaps, shoddy voice acting, and pretty blah music, the game was fun. Not terribly long, but the combat is pretty deep if you are willing to follow it in. In terms of combat, boss fights were pretty epic! I was awe struck at the size of Surtur and Ymir, and I swear I've never seen whatever that fire effect was going on in a Wii game before. Maybe we were just seeing things. To be fair the Wii graphics in general for every third party game tends to suck, we know this as gamers. Thor does pretty good overall at looking nice, and while occasionally there are areas where the graphics fall flat in Thor, they make up for it by being over the top during massive storm power usage and combat sequences! I definitely felt like my friend and I were wielding Mjolnir, empowered as a god as we laid waste to our enemies. Multiple cyclones, some sort of cage thing and lightning storms going on at the same time while beating a troll to a bloody pulp was incredibly gratifying.

    All in all this game is pretty good. It's at least worth a rental. I was never a huge Thor comic fan, but clearly this game pulls from God of War, albeit in its own way, to a decent success. As an additional note, I just looked it up on Amazon and apparently it's only $40 bucks too, which is about as much as I'd be willing to fork over and actually seems like a fitting opening price point for the title. All in all, a pretty solid Wii action game that's fun while it lasts.
    Expand
  5. May 11, 2011
    8
    I'll start by saying I'm a comic fan. I've been looking forward to the Thor and Captain America movies and games. After watching Thor this weekend in theater, I was ready to bring the action home. After looking at some disappointing 360 reviews, I decided to pick up the Wii version... It was cheaper and honestly I haven't played anything on Wii in a while.

    Thor is a fast action masher with a fun cartoony look. The game actually felt like it was based more off the comics than the movie, even though they do have a rough likeness and voice acting of the movie's stars (unfortunately no Nat P). Thor is tricked by Loki and ultimately has to save Asgard... Much of the story is told via animated illustrations (silimar to Infamous but not quite as good). The story is a bit blah, but it ends up forcing Thor to visit many of the 9 worlds (from the Norse mythology) including Midgard (earth). Each world concludes with an epic boss fight, each of which feel very different.

    The combat system is really where Thor shines! Combinations of pressing A and waggling the Wiimote do various satisfying combos. Of course Thor can throw his hammer and he also has the ability to use storm attacks light Lightning or Cyclones. Experience is earned by killing enemies and is used to purchase new combos or increase Thor's health or mana. After getting a handful of new moves and storm attacks, you really start to feel the power of the mighty Thor! There is also a very lenient combo meter which increments when you hit enemies and upgrades your combos by making them do extra hits or even automatically casting a storm attack. At 50 hits Thor can do screen clearing storm attacks which are extremely satisfying. I found myself constantly watching my combo meter trying to get to 50 to finish everyone off! In addition to buying new moves, rune collectibles can be equipped to bump Thors stats. There practice levels where you can fight endless enemies. You don't gain experience, but it's fun to mess around and try out moves. It would have been really cool if they would have created a super hard fight that unlocked a rune or something in each of the practice levels.

    To break things up a bit there are flying levels where the game kinda turns into an on rails shooter. Point the Wiimote at the screen and blast lightning at oncoming enemies. They are quick and pretty easy, but a nice break.

    Overall, Thor was a lot of fun! Few movie games really deliver on creating an experience that really makes the player feel like they are awesome... I truly felt like the God of Thunder! It's a little easy on normal, so i suggest playing on hard. It's also fairly short (under 5 hours) but I'm definitely going to play again with my new Destroyer costume and try out the Ragnarok difficulty.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    O jogo bom, a jogabilidade legal, tem muitos movimentos pra se fazer e pra desbloquear. gostei bastante dos gráficos também e a dublagem também razoável. O que eu não gostei no jogo foram as constantes quedas de FPS que, infelizmente bem recorrente no jogo. Mas tirando isso um ótimo jogo. Expand