Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 Wii

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimG.
    Apr 21, 2007
    0
    This game is a quick bad port of the PC version and is effectively unplayable on the Wii. Golf in Wii Sports is infinitely better and uses the Wii controller much better. The use of the Wii controller in this game is a bad joke. Worst of all, the computer player will often suddenly swing spontaneously and hit the ball while you are either preparing for your swing or doing nothing. This This game is a quick bad port of the PC version and is effectively unplayable on the Wii. Golf in Wii Sports is infinitely better and uses the Wii controller much better. The use of the Wii controller in this game is a bad joke. Worst of all, the computer player will often suddenly swing spontaneously and hit the ball while you are either preparing for your swing or doing nothing. This happens several times per game, ruining your score. I wrote to Electronic Arts about this and they admitted it, sending me a mail with which I was able to return the game to the store for a full refund, even though there were Wii scratches on the disc. Total waste of time and money, play Wii Sports instead, it's much better. (The menu controls with the Wii controller will also drive you totally nuts.) Expand
  2. BrandonH.
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    I'm going to be a copy cat and say what Mike C. and Tony S. said (and I'm splitting the difference in rating!). If you hate this game, you haven't taken the time to learn it. I will totally admit that the first few times I tried it, I HATED it...until OTHER people taught me how to swing it straight. If you can't swing right, don't blame the game because SEVERAL I'm going to be a copy cat and say what Mike C. and Tony S. said (and I'm splitting the difference in rating!). If you hate this game, you haven't taken the time to learn it. I will totally admit that the first few times I tried it, I HATED it...until OTHER people taught me how to swing it straight. If you can't swing right, don't blame the game because SEVERAL people can. For those saying the game swings on its own with the remote unmoving is ridiculous. However, when you are ready to swing watch your character. Unfortunately, there are times he starts the back-swing before you're ready. Just take your hand off the trigger and do it again! My two complaints about the game itself is you can't change the clubs in your bag. I like control, not necessarily distance (I prefer 7-wood over 3-wood, and gap-wedge over 2-iron). Also, putting frustrates me at times. I don't like how some there are some putts that can't go far enough, you will always leave them short. I found how to hit your putt "110%" to go farther, but still some are short. Even though I make most putts, there are those 40 footers that your guy decides to putt 2 feet. Nothing makes me more upset than that. But I have found that if you swing your putter like your driver, he is less likely to do that. One last thing before I close my book...graphics? You're upset about graphics? This game uses very similar real life swinging and you're complaining about graphics? Get a life! Expand
  3. AlexH.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best games that i have ever played, i mean the graphics are just amazing.
  4. JimboH.
    Mar 20, 2007
    6
    The Wii might have more processing power than an Xbox, but it seems that most of that gets used for the controls and background OS, putting it well below the PS2 graphically. There are framerate hitches EVERYWHERE in this game. The graphics are simple; textures are reused liberally. The Wii controls work good... until the framerate drops too low. Its like they programmed everything based The Wii might have more processing power than an Xbox, but it seems that most of that gets used for the controls and background OS, putting it well below the PS2 graphically. There are framerate hitches EVERYWHERE in this game. The graphics are simple; textures are reused liberally. The Wii controls work good... until the framerate drops too low. Its like they programmed everything based on frames rendered instead of time elapsed. Everything is unpolished and incomplete, much like 95% of EA's "meet the deadline" games, except there isn't going to be a patch to fix this one. For example, in gameface, they used the 'A' button for "next menu", but re-used it for rotating the player, so if you just slightly miss pointing at that little button in the corner, whoops, weren't done yet? Don't get me wrong, theres fun to be had in this game once you change the controls so that it quits playing for you, and realize that putting's power is all scaled based on the distance to the pin and the on-screen player (not you). This isn't the type of game you'd proudly show others as the advantages of the Wii. Expand
  5. CheshM.
    Mar 23, 2007
    8
    The swing controls are not as bad as everyone says. Just as in real-life... if your a hack you'll probably have trouble with the swing. I think most difficulties with the swing are happening to those who are trying to swing out of there shoes and ignoring the tempo of the game. Approach it like a real game of golf and you will have a blast. I just wish you could play John Daly or the The swing controls are not as bad as everyone says. Just as in real-life... if your a hack you'll probably have trouble with the swing. I think most difficulties with the swing are happening to those who are trying to swing out of there shoes and ignoring the tempo of the game. Approach it like a real game of golf and you will have a blast. I just wish you could play John Daly or the other real golfers in career mode. Expand
  6. Fervid
    Mar 25, 2007
    8
    Yes, the graphics may not be as good as other consoles (especially the backgrounds at times), but I think this is a great Wii game. I think it deserves a better rating than a lot of these magazines give credit for. The more you play the game, the better and easier the controls get and the more accuracy and rewards it gives you. HIGHLY recommended to check out at least. Personally, I love it.
  7. RickyB.
    Mar 9, 2007
    5
    Just like all the EA sports games the same the same as it was when it came out on PlayStation still the same now just uses a wiimote instead super swing golf is a breath of fresh air because it is different.
  8. Boudin
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    All the critics of the control scheme miss one crucial point: golf is not easy. Hitting the ball and shooting straight is not something you instantly master. I found the controls pretty close to the real thing. If I had a problem with them it would be that they're easier than in reality and that the putting often fails to follow the movement of the wiimote, which is a little All the critics of the control scheme miss one crucial point: golf is not easy. Hitting the ball and shooting straight is not something you instantly master. I found the controls pretty close to the real thing. If I had a problem with them it would be that they're easier than in reality and that the putting often fails to follow the movement of the wiimote, which is a little frustrating. I found that pressing B, then waiting for a split-second before starting the move works best. The menu system on the other hand is incomprehensibly broken. Once again, the wiimote is too imprecise. Using the d-pad works better but it doesn't make the menu organization itself less confusing. Expand
  9. MikeC.
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    Those of you hating on this game apparently haven't taken the time to figure out how to swing (just like in real life!). If you have a herky-jerky motion, the game will automatically swing for you because the Wii Remote detects those forces. However... if you take a nice and easy swing (again, just like in real life) you'll be greatly rewarded. This game is awesome and by far Those of you hating on this game apparently haven't taken the time to figure out how to swing (just like in real life!). If you have a herky-jerky motion, the game will automatically swing for you because the Wii Remote detects those forces. However... if you take a nice and easy swing (again, just like in real life) you'll be greatly rewarded. This game is awesome and by far the next best thing compared to actually being out on the Links! Expand
  10. TonyS.
    Apr 4, 2007
    8
    This is a fun game that could have been a little better. I am a golfer, I have owned and played Tiger Woods golf games on the PS2, and I was definitely looking forward to picking this game up for the Wii. I do like the gameplay aspect to the game... swinging the remote like a club. As long as you take a full backswing, your swing speed will be anywhere between 100% and 110%, depending on This is a fun game that could have been a little better. I am a golfer, I have owned and played Tiger Woods golf games on the PS2, and I was definitely looking forward to picking this game up for the Wii. I do like the gameplay aspect to the game... swinging the remote like a club. As long as you take a full backswing, your swing speed will be anywhere between 100% and 110%, depending on how fast you swing... you REALLY need to swing very slowly to get it at exactly 100%. The things I think could have been better... first, my biggest complaint is that you can not change the clubs in your bag. Sure you can buy new irons, woods, or wedges, but you can not, for example, eliminate your 3 iron and add an additional wedge. The oldest Tiger Woods games used to let you do this, so it seems like they dropped the ball. I do not like the default club selection, as I would have preferred to have the same set of clubs that I keep in my real bag (or at least to have had that option). Secondly, the menu is not intuitive. Things are not where you would expect them to be. Third, working through the menu can be annoying... things frequently pop up when you don't want them to. So far I have been focusing on the Tiger challenges. I think they are a lot of fun and I reaslly like the variety of courses offered. After completing the Tiger challenge, I will start to work my way through the PGA Tour season. I have read some complaints about the putting in this game... it is really quite simple. All you have to do is watch the backswing. It does not take too long to learn how far back the putter should go for a 10 foot putt, a 20 foot putt, or a 30 foot putt. The biggest putt will go around 50 or 60 feet (on a flat surface). You also have to consider if you are putting uphill or downhill. Overall, I really enjoy this game, although there is significant room for improvement. I hope they get these issues worked out for the 2008 version. If they do, I will probably get that also. Expand
  11. ElliottF.
    May 1, 2007
    8
    This has been mentioned before but i really think this is an under-rated game. Love it love it love it!!!
  12. SezB.
    Aug 28, 2007
    6
    This game was good but the controls are awfull very over sensative and hits the ball itself sometimes when u don't even move, good game play but this doesn't count for much when you can't play it properly.
  13. AlexS.
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Ignore the magazine reviews about the games control systems - I've only played a nine hole round and finished 4 under! Applying draw and fade to your shot is easy and works well. My only gripe is the size of the text used - Why make it so dam small! Other than this its a fantastic game.
  14. JeffE.
    Mar 23, 2007
    4
    As both a golfer and a gamer this was a must buy, even taking into account the poor reviews. I laughed those off as being written by 'non-golfers' who were put off by the nuances of trying to hit a ball straight - difficult enough in real life let alone with a wiimote... After playing however, I can confirm that all of the harsh reviews are justified. Driving and approach shots As both a golfer and a gamer this was a must buy, even taking into account the poor reviews. I laughed those off as being written by 'non-golfers' who were put off by the nuances of trying to hit a ball straight - difficult enough in real life let alone with a wiimote... After playing however, I can confirm that all of the harsh reviews are justified. Driving and approach shots are OK (ish) but the putting mechanism is a complete farce. It is neither realistic (ie like real putting) nor controllable. I average a dozen attempted 'swipes' per green before the thing realizes I am trying to putt... Graphically I place it behind the last GC incarnation, and it cannot keep a constant frame rate. It all smacks of 'can't get it right so get it out as it is' - like in the tutorial where it advises you to take a practise swing by pressing the minus key only to find that the feature does not work until you get to the main game! All in all I would prefer to play Wii Sports Golf... as soon as Super Swing is out in the UK I am afraid Tiger will be out on his ear. Expand
  15. MichaelS.
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    The main reason for the 10 is that despite some minor flaws, the way it uses the Wii remote makes it the best golf game available for any console.
  16. RandyM.
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    I don't understand the low scores this game is given, i loved it personally. The controls always worked for me, the putting can use improvement and the graphics could be richer, but the overall experience was great. Ive easily spent over 50 hours playing this game and look forward to playing it more. Lots of variety keeps the replay value high. Theres definately room for improvement, I don't understand the low scores this game is given, i loved it personally. The controls always worked for me, the putting can use improvement and the graphics could be richer, but the overall experience was great. Ive easily spent over 50 hours playing this game and look forward to playing it more. Lots of variety keeps the replay value high. Theres definately room for improvement, which is why i gave it an 8, but an overall fun game for anyone mildly into golf. Expand
  17. CaseyT.
    Apr 23, 2007
    8
    To master the control scheme, you simply have to practice. I have worked my way up to the advance (most sensitive) setting, and everything still makes sense, meaning fewer WTF moments. I find this game play a lot more satisfying than the joystick and button mechanics. It still doesn't replicate that satisfying THWACK of a well-hit ball, but still, it's not bad. Quibbles: There To master the control scheme, you simply have to practice. I have worked my way up to the advance (most sensitive) setting, and everything still makes sense, meaning fewer WTF moments. I find this game play a lot more satisfying than the joystick and button mechanics. It still doesn't replicate that satisfying THWACK of a well-hit ball, but still, it's not bad. Quibbles: There still are a few unpredictable moments while putting. And I wish I could read the contour of the green when I'm still on the fairway. And yes, the graphics can be lacking when compared with other consoles ... although it's only noticeably bad in spots and it doesn't ruin the gameplay experience for me. But this is definitely an evolution in video golf gaming. Expand
  18. AM
    Apr 3, 2007
    9
    Yes, it's not perfect, but it more than showcases the potential of the system and it's capacity to completely immerse the gamer. Sure, the graphics aren't amazing, and the gameplay takes a little while to get used to (particularly getting a hang of shooting straight, choosing clubs/shot angles, and the putting mechanism), but once you're comfortable the game gets very Yes, it's not perfect, but it more than showcases the potential of the system and it's capacity to completely immerse the gamer. Sure, the graphics aren't amazing, and the gameplay takes a little while to get used to (particularly getting a hang of shooting straight, choosing clubs/shot angles, and the putting mechanism), but once you're comfortable the game gets very addictive and actually has lots of replay potential. Give it some time! Expand
  19. TomW.
    May 25, 2007
    0
    Unplayable due to the on-screen character taking shots at random, even when the controller is sitting completely still. How anyone could have looked at Wii Golf and then made such a mess of the core idea (swinging the controller swings the club) is astounding! Everything about this game shouts "get it out the door quick!", from the appalling menu system to the rubbish that is the gameplay Unplayable due to the on-screen character taking shots at random, even when the controller is sitting completely still. How anyone could have looked at Wii Golf and then made such a mess of the core idea (swinging the controller swings the club) is astounding! Everything about this game shouts "get it out the door quick!", from the appalling menu system to the rubbish that is the gameplay there's no way this was play tested by EA for more than a few minutes. Going back for a refund tomorrow. Expand
  20. BobL.
    Jun 16, 2007
    0
    Golf on Wii Sports is so much better than this! The only flaw in the graphics is that the colour palette is so dull that you hardly ever feel like the sun's shining. But who cares about graphics when the gameplay is so bad!? The entire mechanism for swinging is screwed up. In Wii Golf the character's movements follow yours, in TW07 the on-screen character simply responds Golf on Wii Sports is so much better than this! The only flaw in the graphics is that the colour palette is so dull that you hardly ever feel like the sun's shining. But who cares about graphics when the gameplay is so bad!? The entire mechanism for swinging is screwed up. In Wii Golf the character's movements follow yours, in TW07 the on-screen character simply responds robotically to jerks - even tiny ones - of the controller. One jerk to swing back, another to swing forward. That's pathetic; there's no attempt to simulate your actual swing at all. The commentary is by some tedious Americans (I assume Peter Allis and Sam Torrance were too expensive) and the club choice is limited. Plus, even half an inch of fairway before the fringe means no putter allowed! The distance ratings for chipping are just a lie and the computer's insane desire to take sudden strikes at 30-40% (a consequence of the "jerk once for yes" control system) makes this into a joke of a game. Anyone who rated this above a 2 must be fantasically easy to entertain. Hours of my life wasted trying to find some rationale for how this thing works but the simple answer is "it doesn't". Avoid like the plague. Expand
  21. MarcR.
    Jul 16, 2007
    3
    The game itself is well put together and the graphics and sounds work nicely, but this game is SOOOOOOOO frustrating because of the lack of finese in the controls. It's easy to play a big booming drive but around 3 times out of 10 you swing back, hear a "Thwack" and look around in astonishment as the Wii has taken the weakest shot it possibly could to leave you in serious trouble. The game itself is well put together and the graphics and sounds work nicely, but this game is SOOOOOOOO frustrating because of the lack of finese in the controls. It's easy to play a big booming drive but around 3 times out of 10 you swing back, hear a "Thwack" and look around in astonishment as the Wii has taken the weakest shot it possibly could to leave you in serious trouble. The controls on the Wii sports golf game works ok, why not this one? This ruins what could have been a great game and if EA cared more about the product and their reputation rather than sales, they would spend some more time in testing and putting (pardon the pun) out a quality product. Ok rant over. Expand
  22. MrSquirrel
    Jul 5, 2007
    3
    Could have been good, but crappy control and difficulty in getting into any decent games makes this a BIG let-down! I would NOT recomment buying this game - I'm going to look at Pangya Golf with Style instead.
  23. JimP.
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    For those that think this is frustrating, well DUH! THATS WHAT GAMES DO. I love golf and this game is awesome.
  24. BrendanRobinson
    Jun 7, 2008
    3
    This game is absolutely terrible. How can you play a game when the controls don't even work properly? Terrible game. Wii Golf on Wii sports is way more responsive and enjoyable than this p.o.s. Honestly, when a Golf game is both more frustrating and boring than actual golf, then something is seriously wrong. Too bad Tiger put his name out on this piece of shit.
  25. PratikP.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    An absolutely fantastic game. I've loved all the previous versions of Tiger and this is definitely the best one I've played. It just feels so good to be able to swing the Wii controller like a real golf club!
  26. RCR.
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Approach this game with patience and you will be rewarded with a fulfilling gaming experience. Yes, the motion sensing gets a little dicey on short putts, but you can easily bail on a swing by releasing the B button. Otherwise, a smooth, controlled swing keeps the ball on the straight and narrow every time. All in all, this is a very promising start as a first-generation Wii golf-sim title.
  27. OmarR.
    Mar 25, 2007
    2
    This game actually is not great at all, I was excited to get it because I thought it was perfect for the Wii but the controls are so ridiculously bad, 1 out of every 3 swings I take the guy swings when i am still in my backswing, ive tried going faster/slower/everything, what a waste of money, the Wii sports golf game is much better sadly.
  28. Overdroid
    Jun 19, 2007
    0
    This game has frustrated me more than any game I have played ever - mostly because their is the possibility that the game could be fun, and at times it is. But the controls are just not done properly. The interface is horrible, hovering over something opens it up, the controls are non-intuitive and non-standard (pushing the - key takes you back one menu, doesn't every other game use This game has frustrated me more than any game I have played ever - mostly because their is the possibility that the game could be fun, and at times it is. But the controls are just not done properly. The interface is horrible, hovering over something opens it up, the controls are non-intuitive and non-standard (pushing the - key takes you back one menu, doesn't every other game use the B button?), and you rapidly move through menu items based on where the screen pointer is on the screen. Then there's the game - 1 out of 10 times you swing too early because the programmers obviously didn't take the time to work the kinks out of the Wiimote. In a game that requires precision this just isn't acceptable. DO NOT BUY THIS! Expand
  29. EthanR.
    Jun 27, 2007
    8
    I thought this game was very well done. Everybody's complaining about the menu system but what's so hard. Point and click, unless you're an idiot why is it so hard? The gameplay, was pretty well done. And if you suck at it, it doesn't mean that the game's bad. If you havn't experianced any wii games. TRY IT SLOWER!! My brother couldn't do it because he I thought this game was very well done. Everybody's complaining about the menu system but what's so hard. Point and click, unless you're an idiot why is it so hard? The gameplay, was pretty well done. And if you suck at it, it doesn't mean that the game's bad. If you havn't experianced any wii games. TRY IT SLOWER!! My brother couldn't do it because he was doing it fast. Once he learned he was amazing!! The grahics are great. The only problem is the putting system. It's a little unresponsive or too responsive at times. So i reccomend it. Expand
  30. RobL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    5
    I had similar problems with the controls, for the people saying were just not doing it right I have to disagree. I am also having the problem with hitting hte ball while still in my backswing. I found the problem was I was swinging too much like a real golfer, left hip facing the screen keep your head down, golf club hold on the control etc. When I used only one hand and faced the screen I had similar problems with the controls, for the people saying were just not doing it right I have to disagree. I am also having the problem with hitting hte ball while still in my backswing. I found the problem was I was swinging too much like a real golfer, left hip facing the screen keep your head down, golf club hold on the control etc. When I used only one hand and faced the screen instead of being in a proper golf stance it worked better (still happened just not as much) Unfortunatly that takes most of the fun of doing a 'real' golf swing away from the game. Expand
  31. May 27, 2013
    2
    This is an all around poor game that's just boring to play. The controls are what will cause even the most dedicated golf fan to give up on this game. The Wii remote doesn't always respond to your commands, and may even hit the ball for you even though you have yet to swing. There are a lot of different modes but your just doing the same thing throughout all of them. I don't even know whyThis is an all around poor game that's just boring to play. The controls are what will cause even the most dedicated golf fan to give up on this game. The Wii remote doesn't always respond to your commands, and may even hit the ball for you even though you have yet to swing. There are a lot of different modes but your just doing the same thing throughout all of them. I don't even know why they bothered including the "arcade" minigames if the gameplay is exactly the same across the board. There is a lot of content, and the thought of swinging the Wii mote as a golf club does sound cool, but it doesn't work. Why bother putting yourself through this torture when you can just go out and play golf for real. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#20 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Nintendo Gamer
    60
    No matter how well-crafted these features are, they all boil down to gameplay based on a swinging club - the one thing the game can't do. To misquote Twain: "PGA Tour 07 is a good franchise spoilt." [Apr 2007, p.46]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    73
    As for Tiger's mechanics, arthritics beware. If my backswing was jittery, I swung before I intended to--which is frustrating, as the maddening result is a dink instead of a dive. [Apr 2007, p.83]
  3. 75
    The control hiccups may cause problems, but most of them can be countered with care. But the biggest bonus: Not once will you see starlight dancing off the ball.