WarioWare: Smooth Moves Wii

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 186
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JosephV.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Only a loner in a basement with a pre-determined mindset could possibly call this game a waste of money. It's an absolute blast. Gamers in my home love to get competitive with this game. Non-gamers in my home end up laughing so hard that they hold their sides in pain and wipe tears from their eyes- even those who aren't playing. And I'm talking about social adults, not Only a loner in a basement with a pre-determined mindset could possibly call this game a waste of money. It's an absolute blast. Gamers in my home love to get competitive with this game. Non-gamers in my home end up laughing so hard that they hold their sides in pain and wipe tears from their eyes- even those who aren't playing. And I'm talking about social adults, not little children. The game is anything but boring. If you don't like this game, you don't like laughter. Expand
  2. BradJ.
    Jan 22, 2007
    6
    I'm a huge fan of Wario Ware and I've played all the version, but this game falls short of the 9's that the other games were. The micro games are some of the best and weirdest that have ever appeared in a wario ware game. Sadly the solo game is EXTREMELY short and there isn't much insentive to replay the characters stage. The thing that really got me though was how I'm a huge fan of Wario Ware and I've played all the version, but this game falls short of the 9's that the other games were. The micro games are some of the best and weirdest that have ever appeared in a wario ware game. Sadly the solo game is EXTREMELY short and there isn't much insentive to replay the characters stage. The thing that really got me though was how poor the multiplayer was. Pretty much all the variants are hot potato games and make the game too slow to play. There is only 4 multiplayer gametypes which is sad because multiplayer was the thing I was most excited for. I recommend this for any wario ware fan, but if you are unfamiliar with Wario Ware or isn't into beating your highscores then its just a rent. Expand
  3. JustinC.
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    It was fun, but ultimately too short. You can beat it in an afternoon easily.
  4. CarlS.
    Jan 13, 2007
    9
    I just bought this game and I think its the best use of the wii remote yet. I cannot see how much further developers can take the concept of Wario Ware. Simply the perfect game for the platform.
  5. ThomasL.
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    Probably more of a 9.5 but I can't give it a perfect 10 due to the missing multiplayer elements from earlier versions. The lack of replay value has been greatly overexaggerated. Are you gonna play this game for 40 hours straight like Zelda? Probably not. But this is the first game many Wii users will still be picking up in 6 months. If you're looking for a game that is great in Probably more of a 9.5 but I can't give it a perfect 10 due to the missing multiplayer elements from earlier versions. The lack of replay value has been greatly overexaggerated. Are you gonna play this game for 40 hours straight like Zelda? Probably not. But this is the first game many Wii users will still be picking up in 6 months. If you're looking for a game that is great in short bursts and has enough fun for repeated playthroughs and mad multiplayer action, this one has pound for pound more replay value than almost any other on the system. Other than Zelda (which for the purposes of this review will be considered a GCN port), WarioWare: Smooth Moves is the first classic game for the Wii. Expand
  6. EBrusselford
    Jan 22, 2007
    8
    If you are familiar with and enjoyed the previous games in the series, this version will likely be of little surprise, but you'll like it. However, it is rather short (yes, replayable, etc) and it feels that some of the games rely on the novelty of the controls as opposed to being interesting in and of themselves, as in the first in the series. At the very least, it's a fun If you are familiar with and enjoyed the previous games in the series, this version will likely be of little surprise, but you'll like it. However, it is rather short (yes, replayable, etc) and it feels that some of the games rely on the novelty of the controls as opposed to being interesting in and of themselves, as in the first in the series. At the very least, it's a fun party game that has a sense of humor and makes creative use of the "form baton". Expand
  7. JonS.
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    It will get boring after awhile, but its just plain fun, and will guarantee some laughs.
  8. PaulA.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    Literally hundreds of 3 second games as well as a few mini games to keep you ammused for many hours. The more i played smooth moves, the more I got hooked. 3 year old kids love it to, as so simple to play. Great fun game.. highly recommended for everyone, including people who don't like shoot them up type games.
  9. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Of all games on the new plattforms this is the most fun. Realy wacky and crazy! Most injoyable played in groups of all ages. The only problem with the game is that that the story mode seems to just fly away. Your done the game before you nkow it.
  10. DrewF.
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    Okay, fair comment form everyone, the single player mode take about half an hour to complete... But you do get some dancing cats and a pair of ninjas call cat and Anna (katana for everyone who didn't get that). It's good fun, and it kept me amused for the half an hour that it took to play, but then the real fun came in the multilayer mode. As a testament to what they have Okay, fair comment form everyone, the single player mode take about half an hour to complete... But you do get some dancing cats and a pair of ninjas call cat and Anna (katana for everyone who didn't get that). It's good fun, and it kept me amused for the half an hour that it took to play, but then the real fun came in the multilayer mode. As a testament to what they have archived, my 84 year-old granddad when he left my house after playing the game asked my nan if they could get one. This is the perfect game for the Wii, good honest family group fun! although I would still like a longer single player mode. Expand
  11. SqueM.
    Aug 28, 2008
    8
    Sure...it's short,the graphics aren't really appealing and no main storyline but Wario Ware isn't about those things...it's about fun. Even if you beat it, you go for more as it's addictive and funny. It isn't the best in the series...but it is well done.
  12. JeffZ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    7
    Fun game, but some of the mini games don't make much sense.
  13. EddyH.
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    Lots of fun, even for non-gamers
  14. RyanO.
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    Best use of Wii controls but too short and not enough multiplayer content.
  15. AdamO.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    You may think my score is too generous, but you're completely wrong. Wario Ware for Wii is genius, despite how stupid it is. It's just simple but brilliant and stupid fun. Production values are charming with simple graphics that work fine, and instantly catchy music. I've never seen a game use the Wii remote in such silly and amazing way. The different positions are You may think my score is too generous, but you're completely wrong. Wario Ware for Wii is genius, despite how stupid it is. It's just simple but brilliant and stupid fun. Production values are charming with simple graphics that work fine, and instantly catchy music. I've never seen a game use the Wii remote in such silly and amazing way. The different positions are idiotic, but excellent. Where WW: SM's true strength lies its frantic multiplayer. Easily accesible, yet impossible to master (especially the co-op jumping minigame). I think I've already said enough to tell you why I gave this game a 10. Expand
  16. MickT
    Mar 2, 2007
    7
    I liked it while it lasted but that was all of 5 hours and the multiplayer did not add anything to it.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2007
    1
    It was amusing for about 15 minutes. The same games repeat over and over. They're over too quickly and just tedious to complete. I have no idea who paid the game reviewers to give such great reviews, but what a waste of money this game was!
  18. GainsJ.
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    I find no enjoyment whatsoever in this. It's painful to look at. How can I enjoy a game, regardless of the controls if I can't stand the graphics?
  19. RobertN.
    Feb 1, 2008
    0
    Crappy graphics. No storyline. Games either without challenge or extremly difficult. Might be fun for children under 4 years.
  20. YasharZ.
    Jan 9, 2007
    1
    Terribly stupid and shallow gameplay mechanism. At least Wii Sports was free and had bowling but Warioware is just DISGUSTING!
  21. BrianW.
    Feb 5, 2007
    1
    I gave this a 1, because it was fun for about 1 hour. I have not played a fun game on the Wii yet (including Zelda) besides Wii Sports. Unless something is coming out soon, I will sell this overpriced Gamecube.
  22. ChrisB.
    Mar 3, 2007
    0
    The game is interesting for the first 2 minutes of play than you realize that the most fun you can have with it is when you are tossing the game as a frisbee disc. The games require no skill or understanding as to why you beat the game. BOOOOOOO to the great Wario, his moves are anything but Smooth.
  23. DavidK.
    Jul 3, 2007
    1
    I went to get this game after hearing great things about, i started to play, and my mouth dropped at the shear horror of one of the worst games i have ever ever known. The game involves no real story line and has a long line of incredibly short and pointless mini games which are extremely stupid. each mini game last around 3-5 seconds, and are repetitive. I must aadmit i had about 5 I went to get this game after hearing great things about, i started to play, and my mouth dropped at the shear horror of one of the worst games i have ever ever known. The game involves no real story line and has a long line of incredibly short and pointless mini games which are extremely stupid. each mini game last around 3-5 seconds, and are repetitive. I must aadmit i had about 5 minutes of fun playing this gamel. and the only other fun i had was playing the multiplayers which were fairly ok this is the only reason i have even given it a rating of 1 and not 0. overall this game is a pointless waste of your time and money so 1/10 very poor and over rated game which is the worst game i have ever played and i have played alot. in my own opinion. Expand
  24. Louissa
    Aug 5, 2008
    1
    Everyone in our house LOVES the Wii so we've gone through a lot of games and this one has to be the WORST !! Graphics looks amateurish, games are nonsense, it was like they tossed a bunch of junk on a disc and hoped for the best. Do yourself a favor and buy something more fun like Mario Party or Twilight Princess.
  25. BenihanB.
    Dec 25, 2007
    2
    Beat the game way to fast. Everybody said this was a great party game, one of the first I bought almost a year ago. We hate it! The biggest waste of 50 bucks ever...What kind of mini/party game only alows one player at a time? We beat it and have never played it since...Buy something different or better yet, nothing at all.
  26. LukeM.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  27. RobA.
    Jan 23, 2007
    0
    This game is a boring, repetitive, poorly conceived piece of trash. You can't skip through the ridiculous intros, and the game quickly becomes boring after seeing the same sort of games over and OVER again. This is essentialy Rayman Raving Rabbids with Wario. This game is marketed as "party games", but may God have mercy on your soul if you let any of your friends play this game. If This game is a boring, repetitive, poorly conceived piece of trash. You can't skip through the ridiculous intros, and the game quickly becomes boring after seeing the same sort of games over and OVER again. This is essentialy Rayman Raving Rabbids with Wario. This game is marketed as "party games", but may God have mercy on your soul if you let any of your friends play this game. If you do get a chance to play this game, ask yourself "Is this game worthy of being on a system that cost you $250 of your hard earned money?" The answer is no. Save your money and wait for something worth playing. I'm going back to kicking ass in Zelda: Twilight Princess. Expand
  28. LarsS.
    Oct 30, 2007
    1
    Really really stupid, takes only an hour to beat, no challenge, gets boring fast, inconsistent visual styles, and lack of depth. The presentation of Wiimote stances is wonderful, but not enough to redeem the game as a whole. Although it's terrible for most everyone, it would probably be a blast for developmentally challenged 5-8 year olds that have trouble with complicated tasks and Really really stupid, takes only an hour to beat, no challenge, gets boring fast, inconsistent visual styles, and lack of depth. The presentation of Wiimote stances is wonderful, but not enough to redeem the game as a whole. Although it's terrible for most everyone, it would probably be a blast for developmentally challenged 5-8 year olds that have trouble with complicated tasks and a lack of attention span. Expand
  29. ClauT.
    Jan 30, 2007
    0
    This is definitely not a game, but a weird collection of poor children's comic scenes... the game works like this: 20 seconds waiting, 3(!) seconds playing...well, i'm not sure if i may call it "playing" - it's more like moving the wiimote slightly, and the microgame is done. i case you don't suceed, your time is running out after 3 seconds anyway. yeah, that's This is definitely not a game, but a weird collection of poor children's comic scenes... the game works like this: 20 seconds waiting, 3(!) seconds playing...well, i'm not sure if i may call it "playing" - it's more like moving the wiimote slightly, and the microgame is done. i case you don't suceed, your time is running out after 3 seconds anyway. yeah, that's fun. wahoo. save your money for something better... pink toilet paper or something like this. Expand
  30. DominikE.
    Mar 8, 2007
    0
    It's the best game, I've ever played!

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#18 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. 90
    Where the true value of Warioware lies is in both its multiplayer experience - which, depending on how Mario Party turns out, could be the definitive Wii party game - and it's unrivaled charm.
  2. 90
    I had a great time with Wario Ware: Smooth Moves, and you'll get a lot of value out of the game if you're the type that hosts parties or if you have a group of friends or family already that are enjoying games like "Wii Sports" or "Rayman: Raving Rabbids" together.
  3. Games Master UK
    85
    Bigger than before and funny enough to make anyone smile, but control problems annoy. [Feb 2007, p.78]