• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jul 15, 2008
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Simple and intuitive controls mix perfectly with its appealing and approachable cartoony look to perhaps make We Love Golf the best, non-simulation links experience available on the console.
  2. As anyone who has played a "Mario Golf" title can tell you, developer Camelot knows how to make a great golf game. [Aug 2008, p.88]
  3. Gets the nod for its accessible controls and online gameplay. It's definitely more about multiplayer though. [Aug 2008, p.91]
  4. A fun and very pretty arcade golf. Too bad it's way too easy - you win tournaments easily on your first try. Multiplayer matches are naturally tougher. [Aug 2008]
  5. 82
    The simplistic swing mechanic hasn’t changed much, but what is here works flawlessly.
  6. The best golf on the Wii. Definitely worth playing with several golf-loving mates. [Aug 2008, p.68]
  7. The best-made golf game on the system. [Aug 2008, p.106]
  8. One thing that stands out first and foremost is the music for We Love Golf. The music sounds a bit too simple and happy when you start the game, but it's passable. However, when you get on the green and putt for the first time, the music becomes tense and more focused.
  9. Camelot have done it again, weaving their unique brand of golfing simplicity on a console where swing confusion rules. It could do with some padding, but this is a great start. [Mar 2008, p.56]
  10. It's the best golf game on the Wii, but you should wear sunglasses to shield yourself from the primary colours. [Issue #24, p.72]
  11. 80
    Players who've wrung all they can out of Wii Sports will appreciate We Love Golf if they're not looking for anything too serious. But if you draw the line at pirate-themed golf courses, avert your eyes, matey.
  12. Overall, despite the poor AI in single player, lack of game modes in multiplayer, weak audio and poor graphics, We Love Golf! is more like We Like Golf! and is a major improvement on the golf game within Wii Sports.
  13. While the swing mechanics might not appeal to everyone, the many game modes and online play trumps previous Wii golf outings.
  14. 75
    It's enough to keep golfing fans entertained, and it's nice to see Camelot's golf system enhanced with motion controls. But, like I mentioned earlier, players looking for a more true-to-life golf sim on the Wii may want to go with something like Tiger Woods -- or simply just play more of Wii Sports Golf, which comes packed in with the system.
  15. 74
    I think Camelot made a mistake by ignoring true one-to-one swing mechanics in favor of a more traditional Mario Golf-style control scheme. And I think We Love Golf! is as a result a little easier than it should be. But the strange thing is, it's still a really good game of golf that's fun because the controls do exactly what they're supposed to and because the pace is so fast.
  16. A fun golf game thats only drawback is that it is quite easy and therefore not very challenging.
  17. Ultimately We Love Golf is better than Wii Sports Golf but it could be so much more. While it's good fun in multiplayer and perfectly charming, it's pretty boring played on your own.
  18. We Love Golf grafts a golf swing onto the Wii's motion controls exceptionally well but, apart from that, the game's substance is very run of the mill.
  19. You should be happy to play We Love Golf! It's not phenomenal, but it's not awful, either, and it does provide a measure of fun. If you're looking for a Wii golf game without the PGA frills, WLG will do just fine.
  20. We Love Golf! is a casual game for Wii, like the majority on the console, but it has quite a style and a great multiplayer fun.
  21. Players that obsess over every club purchase or need to have complete control over their golfer's stats will be turned off by the low level of difficulty but for players new to the genre, or new to videogaming in general, the stylish and happy theme of the game, combined with the intuitive controls makes for a fun golfing experience.
  22. There’re other arcade golf games to be enjoyed if that is what you desire and while this game does make par, it’s certainly no eagle.
  23. It's competent and capable of entertaining, and perhaps Camelot has proven that you don't need to exercise as much restraint as Wii Sports did to make a good golf game - but it still suffers from a lack of challenge for single players and being disappointingly unbonkers.
  24. The problem lies with the basics of the gameplay itself; basing your movements on a gauge and pointing out perfect swings defeats the purpose of actually learning how to play the game well. It’s too mechanical and counterintuitive.
  25. An acceptable Wii golf game. It's better than the Wii Sports version and it does offer a few hours of decent gameplay. However, the lack of courses, limited character choice and annoying audio does little to elevate it beyond a novelty game, and while the swing system, once mastered, provides an interesting way to play, it is something of an obstacle to overcome initially, after which the multiplayer captures the friendly rival nature of the Wii perfectly.
  26. Overall We Love Golf! turned out to be another middle of the road Wii title that this time actually made use of the systems controls, but forgot to put in the whole package.
  27. It offers online play through Wi-Fi Connection, but it's strictly limited to ruled nine-hole match play. With the exception of amateur golfers, this Love simply doesn't last.
  28. The onscreen golf is just as poor as the disappointing gameplay mechanics. [July 2008, p.93]
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 2 out of 2
  1. Fryfat
    Jul 28, 2008
    1
    Another disappointing game. This is far from realistic golf. The graphics are very "kiddy". I played Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09 for the PS3 and this was the best golf game out on the market. I would recommend this game for very young children, but other than that, avoid this game. Full Review »
  2. MickMoose
    Jul 4, 2008
    1
    We Love Golf? Not this aimed at under 5s, chintzy, annoying, cartoons with stupid tunes version of golf we don't. Even the wiimote squawks at you with the annoyance of an ill disciplined child. The control is poor, makes wii sports golf look awesome. Proof that some mags sites get paid to give favourable reviews. 80%? They've bumped their heads! Full Review »