User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 141

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. biffj
    Jul 4, 2008
    2
    Pretty useless for anyone under 90. Doesn't even strengthen the core very well. To slow tempo for proper fat burning. I wouldn't even use it as a warmup before i lift as my muscles would be to cold from this. They needed bands or cables to come with it. There's bands out there that give 300lb to each side, so enough resistance for anyone. They also allow for a ton of core Pretty useless for anyone under 90. Doesn't even strengthen the core very well. To slow tempo for proper fat burning. I wouldn't even use it as a warmup before i lift as my muscles would be to cold from this. They needed bands or cables to come with it. There's bands out there that give 300lb to each side, so enough resistance for anyone. They also allow for a ton of core and running work. Expand
  2. StevenH
    Jan 2, 2010
    0
    What happens when you take advice from middle-aged, overweight female chiropractors, Tai Chi instructors, yoginis, and businesswomen? Something like Wii Fit, of course. As a fitness program, the intensity ranges from standing in certain positions to doing isometric calisthenics for 30 seconds (in other words it's useless). As a game it is incredibly boring and just another gimmicky What happens when you take advice from middle-aged, overweight female chiropractors, Tai Chi instructors, yoginis, and businesswomen? Something like Wii Fit, of course. As a fitness program, the intensity ranges from standing in certain positions to doing isometric calisthenics for 30 seconds (in other words it's useless). As a game it is incredibly boring and just another gimmicky Nintendo Wii title. An utter failure on all fronts. Observe the sales this thing gets, and you will at once understand how pervasive and powerful marketing and advertisement have become. Expand
  3. RoyM.
    May 22, 2008
    4
    Nintendo needs to make freaking GAMES.
  4. TAIPirate
    May 20, 2008
    8
    It's like having your own personal trainer on your T.V. Used in conjunction with a gym contract, the result are pretty awesome. It the measurements and techniques used and offered are excellent. VERY NICE!
  5. TathagataD.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Best Nintendo product to date. It is as good as it has been hyped. highly recommended for anybody lazy about exercising in a regular basis.
  6. NickH
    Jun 28, 2008
    5
    Don't buy this as a fun game. Im a fittness fanatic and you don't wont to waite 3 minutes for every exercise to load otherwise it will take 2 - 3 hours to do a proper workout. Very disappointed I traded it in and got guitar hero 3 which is awesome. It also gave me stress fracture from running on the spot.
  7. DonnaHowe
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    best way to exercise daily and have fun while doing it!
  8. AlistairT.
    Apr 26, 2008
    5
    lackluster attempt at demonstrating advanced pressure sensitive technology. What is sad about it is that no matter what nintendo release at the moment, I'm sure the "wii" crowd will lap it up with its fancy advertisement.
  9. BruceW.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    My best purchase yet for the Wii. The first evening it kept 4 of us absorbed and laughing for 3 hours solid. No, it is not the same as a full Gym workout, but it provides targets, motivation and fun and will - I suspect - lead many to exercise more in the real world, just to impress their Wii trainer. I was so shamed by the fat tummy given to my Mii after my first body check that I have My best purchase yet for the Wii. The first evening it kept 4 of us absorbed and laughing for 3 hours solid. No, it is not the same as a full Gym workout, but it provides targets, motivation and fun and will - I suspect - lead many to exercise more in the real world, just to impress their Wii trainer. I was so shamed by the fat tummy given to my Mii after my first body check that I have already increased my morning run distance. Maybe I'll keep it up, this time, just because I fancy my female (Wii) trainer. Expand
  10. SuperS.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Looks good so far, but kind of easy for me. I hope it gets harder as your workouts continue. The whole family is using it right now.
  11. JenniferV.
    May 30, 2008
    9
    I love the wii fit and you can't deny that it makes for a lot of faminly fun! Even my boyfriend who though it would be stupid enjoyed it very much. I believe that if you use it properly , you can lose weight. This is very motivational and fun at the same time.
  12. CalvinG.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    My entire family loved the game. I think its makes exercising in your living room much more interesting and fun. It doesnt beat having a real personal training and a gym membership, but definitely works up a sweat! Great workout
  13. KaishiA.
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    Wii Fit is both exercise equipment, video-trainer, and a game. For fitness purposes, the encouragement and progress tracking are the most beneficial elements of the game. I've already lost 7 pounds while owning my copy. I also hit the gym 3 days a week, but Wii Fit allows me to do non-sitting fairly aerobic games from my apartment. I highly recommend it.
  14. EllieM.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    A little tedious, but a wonderful way to work out and have fun.
  15. AgentS.
    Jun 5, 2008
    5
    As a game I think it's cute and quaint. As a sole source of fitness (as many are unfortunately seeing this product as), it is simply not. It was fun to try out some of the mini-games but they are short segments and the down-time during navigating the menus drops the heartrate and you lose what exercise momentum you may have been building. There's so many ways to cheat yourself As a game I think it's cute and quaint. As a sole source of fitness (as many are unfortunately seeing this product as), it is simply not. It was fun to try out some of the mini-games but they are short segments and the down-time during navigating the menus drops the heartrate and you lose what exercise momentum you may have been building. There's so many ways to cheat yourself out of proper stances and positions that you might not be doing as much good for yourself as you think you might be. And definitely not as much good as a gym and/or trainer would. And....I'm a horribly practical person with the frugality nurtured by my poor artist background so.... I played this one mini-game of virtual hula-hooping, and I couldn't help but think how much more physical benefits I'd get from a $2 hula hoop as opposed to the hundreds of dollars spent on the wii. Or how much more social interaction comes with $10 soccer ball than watching someone virtually kick a wiiBall with their wiiMee's wiiHead. As I said earlier.... cute game. And I applaud Nintendo on a new approach to tackling the gamer laziness syndrome. Rather than criticizing the lazy with ineffective commercials telling everyone to go out and be active, they used the video game console to create an INTRODUCTORY to the active lifestyle. It's fun for playtime and hopefully it's a springboard to people become more active. Expand
  16. BradWS
    Jun 8, 2008
    7
    This obviously hits the market it intends to - couch potatoes with BMI's 25 and over that rarely exercise. For anyone that does physical activity aside from this and has (even a rough) eating plan Wii Fit fails to deliver. Multiple queued exercises, body type (muscular/fat) options, even a guide for the calorie intake/moderation required, calories burned in a workout, etc, etc... are This obviously hits the market it intends to - couch potatoes with BMI's 25 and over that rarely exercise. For anyone that does physical activity aside from this and has (even a rough) eating plan Wii Fit fails to deliver. Multiple queued exercises, body type (muscular/fat) options, even a guide for the calorie intake/moderation required, calories burned in a workout, etc, etc... are all things that so easily could have been included but haven't - even if it was buried deep in the options. For anyone serious about fitness (with an existing regime) buy it and have a look as a talking point but don't expect anymore than you'd get on your warm-up at the gym. For anyone who wants to pin all their weight loss hopes on a new gimmick you're not going to see any results without performing some moderate cardio at least - which is the failing point here, someone obese should be running or cycling for the 30-40 minutes they can spare each day not using this. I've got body fat % scales which are dramatically more accurate at capturing someones general health and physique too. Expand
  17. LindaD.
    Aug 29, 2008
    10
    I love my Wii Fit. I finally got some unresolved medical issues corrected with proper meds. Illness left me week and very obese. After the meds began to take effect, I started to walk my country road 30 minutes a day and lost 15 pounds. Two weeks ago my husband bought Wii Fit. I have since lost 5 additional pounds. He loves the traditional games and I love the fitness component. I I love my Wii Fit. I finally got some unresolved medical issues corrected with proper meds. Illness left me week and very obese. After the meds began to take effect, I started to walk my country road 30 minutes a day and lost 15 pounds. Two weeks ago my husband bought Wii Fit. I have since lost 5 additional pounds. He loves the traditional games and I love the fitness component. I continue to walk outside 30 minutes each morning and do aerobics on Wii Fit for 45 to 60 minutes per day. I thank everyone who had the courage to carry the wonderful idea of Wii Fit to fruition. Please know that I for one have no current desire to join a gym. The fact that you have taken the need for something like Wii Fit seriously, and found a niche for those of use who would and do take it seriously as well; leaves me with much appreciation for your kind efforts. Personally I am most appreciative of an accurate scale that tracks weight and BMI and has the 'make me sweat and lose weight' factor. Thank you, Nintendo. PS: It is now August, 2008 and I currently weigh in at 220 (down from 240 in April, 2008 and I am only 5' 2" tall). I feel that now I can attain my healthy BMI and have fun doing it! Oh, by the way I am 56 years old. I am very proud of the smiles on the faces of my husband and my doctor. Again, thank you! Expand
  18. MamaK
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    I am a mother of 2 little children. I can't get to a gym, I can't get out for a walk. But I can Wii fit, and my kids love to sit and watch. So we're all happy. I didn't think it possible to get fit by hula hooping, but I'm proof you can. It is awesome. People who don't like it must have had strangely high expectations.
  19. JohnF
    Feb 15, 2009
    7
    Although, Wii Fit has a high price attached to it, remember that it is a fitness program and not a game. If you were planning on buying this as some sort of substitute for eating healthy and exercising, it will do you no good. If you planning to buy this game as a tool to impress your friends, remember that the multiplayer value is low, and this game will collect dust if you personally Although, Wii Fit has a high price attached to it, remember that it is a fitness program and not a game. If you were planning on buying this as some sort of substitute for eating healthy and exercising, it will do you no good. If you planning to buy this game as a tool to impress your friends, remember that the multiplayer value is low, and this game will collect dust if you personally are not interested in using it. If none of the above would trouble you, then you should consider buying Wii Fit for your Wii. Wii Fit allows the user to create their own profile which the user can protect with a password. The Wii Balance Board is able to weigh the user and the game will show the user Expand
  20. GregM
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    I've used Wii Fit every day for the last 16 weeks. I've used it for 3 hours a day for the last 8 weeks. I'm down 45 pounds ... only 60 pounds to go. I'm sure my results are atypical, but I'm documenting my "journey" on my blog, WiiFatMarathon.com
  21. AnonymousMC
    Apr 8, 2009
    6
    No doubt this is fun and I enjoy doing all the different activities. However, it takes too long! You must have a good chunk of time to devote to "exercise" because a lot of time is spent watching your score being posted, seeing how many "credits" you earn, deciding whether you want to repeat the exercise or move on. So your "rest time" is probably longer than the actual workout time. ButNo doubt this is fun and I enjoy doing all the different activities. However, it takes too long! You must have a good chunk of time to devote to "exercise" because a lot of time is spent watching your score being posted, seeing how many "credits" you earn, deciding whether you want to repeat the exercise or move on. So your "rest time" is probably longer than the actual workout time. But many of the challenges are pretty challenging and I have had sore muscles the next day trying to outdo my kids on certain activities. Or even to prove to the silly "trainer" that I can do a sit up, I just can't figure out how the Wii wants me to do it! So I wouldn't say it's for the already fit, I would say it's more for the person who is a couch potato or is just looking for something to do in addition to a regular workout routine and who doesn't belong to the gym. Expand
  22. TerryB
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    I've lost pounds and continue to do so with the help of the Wii Fit. I still walk and exercise in addition to the Wii but it helps with keeping track of my weight loss goals.
  23. Nik
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    It's amazing that this is even considered a game. For everything you can do here, you can do for free outside. And it's boring, meaningless, and stupid. Donating the money paid for this game to the poor is a better option.
  24. MarcoG.
    Apr 18, 2008
    0
    Unfortunately I lived to see this, Nintendo creating a game, that looks nothing like a game, people all around the world excited because of the innovative features, innovative indeed, but soulless! All silly little games, yoga and all, no gaming delivered, and contrary to what is believed, it's not a good or healthy way to lose weight, I regret and now would spend my money on Unfortunately I lived to see this, Nintendo creating a game, that looks nothing like a game, people all around the world excited because of the innovative features, innovative indeed, but soulless! All silly little games, yoga and all, no gaming delivered, and contrary to what is believed, it's not a good or healthy way to lose weight, I regret and now would spend my money on anything else than this. Expand
  25. JonathanP.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    Another great piece of Nintendo innovation that truly moves the game industry forward.
  26. aitaisteach
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Fantastic fun and healthy too. Aerobics, Yoga, Muscle Exercises and fun games that maximise the balance board. From my 3 year old son to my 39 year old wife the wii fit has given huge healthy fun. We compete with each other to lower our Wii Fit age, improve our health and beat the pants of each other. For the tech bit. The board keeps track of your weight and balance / posture as you useFantastic fun and healthy too. Aerobics, Yoga, Muscle Exercises and fun games that maximise the balance board. From my 3 year old son to my 39 year old wife the wii fit has given huge healthy fun. We compete with each other to lower our Wii Fit age, improve our health and beat the pants of each other. For the tech bit. The board keeps track of your weight and balance / posture as you use it. You can set a BMI target and the wii will be your fitness log. It's a gym coach in the privacy of your home. Highly recommend it. Collapse
  27. AlanW.
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    A great addition to a regular exercise programme. If you're a couch potato it may spur you on to actually get fit, or you may use it for a week and then sell it. BUt for me who goes to gym 3 times a week, this is a perfect addition! The balance board is cutting edge kit, and I look forward to other releases that will utilize this kit. The game itself has lots of training activities A great addition to a regular exercise programme. If you're a couch potato it may spur you on to actually get fit, or you may use it for a week and then sell it. BUt for me who goes to gym 3 times a week, this is a perfect addition! The balance board is cutting edge kit, and I look forward to other releases that will utilize this kit. The game itself has lots of training activities and ways to motivate you, by charting your progress versus your set goals. Well Done Nintendo. Expand
  28. JohnnyR.
    May 11, 2008
    0
    Jog to wal-mart and buy a scale. Its 1/5 the price and 10x the exercise, you rubes.
  29. CogsyD
    May 22, 2008
    9
    Just git and love it. Lots of variety in the activities included. Controls are easy and there is lots of challenge to them as well. I only hope I can stick with it to see results. Great response from the balance board - picks up on every little jiggle.
  30. Nelson
    May 25, 2008
    10
    I was waiting for this game to be released just in order to buy a Wii console. This game alone (together with the bundled Wii Sports) is definitely worth spending money buying a Wii console. Ingenious & great fun!! Truly technology at it's best, when you consider what the benefits are, or will be, to your fitness, health, mental well-being, motivation, & self-esteem. Those reviewers I was waiting for this game to be released just in order to buy a Wii console. This game alone (together with the bundled Wii Sports) is definitely worth spending money buying a Wii console. Ingenious & great fun!! Truly technology at it's best, when you consider what the benefits are, or will be, to your fitness, health, mental well-being, motivation, & self-esteem. Those reviewers who have rated this very low obviously don't understand or appreciate these points, especially when paying for gym membership tends to be that "good intention" in the New Year but then just turns out to be a complete waste of money. So for the price of Wii Fit you can exercise & have fun both at the same time (in the privacy of your own home if you want). Congratulations to Nintendo! Expand
  31. JonathanH.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    Overall a worthwhile investment. Cross-training is an integral part of any workout regimen and the Wii Fit provides an an enjoyable and rewarding supplement to my workout schedule. In the running section of the game I am using a jump-rope now and it makes the workout a lot more fun. Plus, the balance games are a blast at parties.
  32. thedude
    May 31, 2008
    7
    This review is based just on my first couple sessions with Wii Fit, so as a disclaimer I have to make it clear that it just represents my initial reaction to the game. As such, I've given it a 7 rather than a lower score so as to not unfairly lower it's tally. I was super excited about Wii Fit. I'm 33, and I used to have no trouble staying fit during my twenties, as there This review is based just on my first couple sessions with Wii Fit, so as a disclaimer I have to make it clear that it just represents my initial reaction to the game. As such, I've given it a 7 rather than a lower score so as to not unfairly lower it's tally. I was super excited about Wii Fit. I'm 33, and I used to have no trouble staying fit during my twenties, as there was always a basketball game, or a volleyball game, or the like to get in on with friends. Now that I've hit my thirties, though, and all my friends are married with children, I've gone about three years without any exercise at all. In that time, I've tacked on 30 pounds of gut, but as someone who hates exercising just for the sake of exercising (I get bored easily) Wii Fit looked like a godsend. Exercising made fun and interactive in the privacy of my own home, whenever I want to exercise? Sounds great, sign me up! In my mind, I hoped that the balance board would be as fun a gaming innovation as the wiimote has been in Wii Sports. Unfortunately, it hasn't turned out that way. None of the games in Wii Fit are that entertaining. The slalom and ski jumping, which I thought would be awesome, are really pretty lame. Okay, so it's still gonna be work and not so much fun, but it's convenient, right? Well, so far, not so much. I've spent about four hours on it, and only amassed an hour and a half of actual exercise time, by its calculations. Sure, the initial session takes extra time because of the initial set-up and the explanations for the exercises, but even my second session was incredibly inefficient. It took me an hour and a half to log on 30 minutes of exercise. And I only watched a couple of exercise demos. Now, as I spend more time at it it will increase the number of reps and duration of the exercises, which should help, but I haven't touched it in a week because I felt like it was doing such a great job of sucking away my time while giving me very little exercise and almost no entertainment value. There are only a few exercises that really feel like significant exercises so far: mainly the side-plank, the lunge, the hula hoop, and the free jogging. Even so, I was able to net a perfect score on the side-plank on each of my first two tries: and I am in terrible shape! Sure, they will add reps, but there just isn't much significant challenge. I actually really enjoy the jogging and the hula hoop, but its a shame that from the start you can't set them for longer durations to give yourself a more efficient work out. Instead, you have to do them in short bursts and constantly start and stop to try and get a decent work out while waiting for the game to open up longer versions. So, in conclusion, as I use Wii Fit more and more it will hopefully get more efficient as I unlock longer and harder versions of the exercises, but if you're looking for entertainment, or a good workout right out of the box, it's just not going to happen. Your going to have to put in the hours just to get the game to open up to the point that you can get a meaningful, decent, and somewhat time efficient exercise program out of it. Expand
  33. Dave
    May 31, 2008
    9
    No, this shouldn't be a primary way of working out, but it's nice for when it's too dark or cold for that. I actually felt tired in places I hadn't used for a while. I wonder if anyone who actually used/bought one of these will give it a bad review, or if their are all talking out of their asses.
  34. KerryC.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Kids LOVE it, Wife Love it, I think it's kind of neat as well. A great new type of game. Thanks Wii masters.
  35. CharleneG.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    I've been using Wii Fit for 32 days now and have lost 10 lbs. 6 more lbs to lose and I get out of the overweight category on the graphs. Yeah!!! BTW I am a 53 year old woman. I am disabled and live way out in the country, not close to a gym. I am unable to walk or run on rough terrain so don't get a lot of excercise. Though I know the exercises aren't as good as working out I've been using Wii Fit for 32 days now and have lost 10 lbs. 6 more lbs to lose and I get out of the overweight category on the graphs. Yeah!!! BTW I am a 53 year old woman. I am disabled and live way out in the country, not close to a gym. I am unable to walk or run on rough terrain so don't get a lot of excercise. Though I know the exercises aren't as good as working out at a gym, they are a vast improvement over not getting any excercise. Once you unlock the more advanced games you get a better workout and can maintain a higher heartrate for 20 or 30 minutes on the free run and the steps. I also think the balance games and the Aerobics games are a lot of fun. Great for family competition. My sister and daughter both live close by and come to compete. It's fun to try to maintain your top 10 slots on the board and knock someone else off. As long as you are willing to use the Wii Fit every day or several times a week, you should see at least some improvement in your weight and feel good about yourself. Expand
  36. AndrewA.
    Jun 3, 2008
    9
    The game will actually help you get fit if you use it correctly. Some of balance games are too easy - or I am in too good of shape and know my body - but it is still fun competing with others to try and get top 10 scores. There are tons of different exercises to do, and a wide range of games. A well done first generation of the Balance Board showing off it's potential.
  37. Ryencoke
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    This is the best thing released on the Wii, thus far. It's the only thing on the Wii that is really actually worth its money. People giving this a score lower than 6 are honestly just fat lazy people. This will keep you in-tone and feeling great. Worthy buy!
  38. KatD
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    Anyone who works out knows that your workout is only as good as what you put into it. You see it at the gym with the people with the treadmill set at speed "2", complaining that they're not losing weight. Wii Fit lets you get out exactly what you put in, while bringing in a novel and fun way to add exercise into your day, even the days you feel like you can barely drag yourself off Anyone who works out knows that your workout is only as good as what you put into it. You see it at the gym with the people with the treadmill set at speed "2", complaining that they're not losing weight. Wii Fit lets you get out exactly what you put in, while bringing in a novel and fun way to add exercise into your day, even the days you feel like you can barely drag yourself off the couch for. The exercises are simple, fun, and the presence of your friend's Miis make it feel more familliar. It's easy to be fooled by the simplicity of these exercises - done properly, they can provide an excellent workout. The core training provides an outlet to explore your own center of balance, flexibility, and core awareness that is inventive, creative - and enjoyable. You can easily combine aerobic exercises to make a longer "cardio" workout if you desire, especially after you unlock longer distances (which doesn't take long). Four days after getting my Fit, my body is pleasantly achy.. and I wouldn't consider myself among the ranks of the "unfit". I managed to string together a well-rounded workout without too much fuss - for those saying it takes too long between exercises, try to continue to run in place while selecting your next exercise. The biggest shortcoming is the inability to streamline through a longer workout (eg. have it "remember" your 10 selections) and the lack of multi-player function without having to exit your Mii to the plaza. I'm sure these things will come in the next version, and in the meantime, aren't that much of a big deal with a little creativity. All in all, the Fit provides a great and interesting way to work out for both experienced exercisers and "couch potatoes" alike ('cmon "buff" people - as IF your abs didn't hurt after your first round of Super Hula Hoop). People complaining about the price amaze me - isn't a regular game around $50-60? At less than double the cost, including the peripheral balance board, this game is excellent value, bound to get you off the couch, and if used properly, bound to make you more "Fit"! Expand
  39. heather
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    Love it! ... I use it every day and lose about a pound to a pound and a half a week.
  40. kerry
    May 18, 2009
    10
    most beautifull, usefull, innovative and fun game of every times!
  41. Sam
    Sep 21, 2009
    1
    This really shouldn't be called a game. You can do everything on it outside in the actual world. The only thing that it's actually useful for is being a scale if you don't have one. Basically, the japan are saying, "ohohohoho, you're obesse! haha you fatty americans!"
  42. HeatherD
    Jan 24, 2010
    5
    At first I loved the wii fit and was addicted to certain games including the obstacle course...but then I got a stress fracture in my foot, so now I cant to any weight bearing exercises at all. I have been a long distance runner for over 20 years, and never had a stress fracture...but using the wii with not shoes...did me in.
  43. MartinD.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Brilliant family fun, and a bloody good workout when you need it. I've just burned 610 calories in 2h:30m and I didn't have to jog past the bloody neighbors once!
  44. MchaelM
    Dec 14, 2008
    7
    The balance board works well and the daily body test will keep you coming back, however you'll be done with the minigames in a week and does not warrant the £70 price tag.
  45. Roger
    May 17, 2008
    9
    Having experienced the game in the past few weeks, I have to say that some of the reviews have been off the mark. Yes, I understand that Wii fit is not your usual game but to hear the criticism it receives for being creative in expanding the gaming experience is something I find hard to understand. I love games and I love sports and to be able to interactively play and get a good feeling Having experienced the game in the past few weeks, I have to say that some of the reviews have been off the mark. Yes, I understand that Wii fit is not your usual game but to hear the criticism it receives for being creative in expanding the gaming experience is something I find hard to understand. I love games and I love sports and to be able to interactively play and get a good feeling of fun and achieving something after hours of gaming, wii fit does it for me. Never had I had the experience with my whole family together laughing and competing eagerly to better one another. I am talking about my 25 year old brother, 50 year old mother and father, 46 year old uncle, 13 and 17 year old cousins and my 24 year old future sister in law. We were immersed in one mini game for an hour each taking turns....... this of course involves many cheers and plenty of teasing ......... We were glued to the screen and when we felt we had enough of that mini game, we moved on to another and the laughs continued.......... The gift of the wii board opened up everyone to another way of playing that was generally speaking even field as all of us naturally to some extent have a good sense of balance. With some practice at the mini game, we all started to improve and constantly teaching each other how to get higher points which really means how to better balance yourself........... I am a lot more aware of my balance than I ever was and just as a side note, my muscles are really getting one heck of a workout from yoga and muscle workouts and they do work ( much more than I expected them to work cause the reps just keep getting higher as you achieve each mark) This game will be used for a long time to come. Expand
  46. BobbyD.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    People are too judgmental about this game. On the one hand it is a game, on the other it is a great fitness tool. to get things straight it cannot replace a gym.. however I have used it the past 2 days and my abs hurt. I am a fitness enthusiast work out weekly... cycle, weight train, and jog. However, this is a crazy work out given you do not cheat yourself. I cannot say enough good People are too judgmental about this game. On the one hand it is a game, on the other it is a great fitness tool. to get things straight it cannot replace a gym.. however I have used it the past 2 days and my abs hurt. I am a fitness enthusiast work out weekly... cycle, weight train, and jog. However, this is a crazy work out given you do not cheat yourself. I cannot say enough good things... It is FUN and it does give you a WORKOUT! Expand
  47. JoeM.
    May 26, 2008
    9
    Though it has its flaws, it is the first game ever to break the barrier of video gaming. I don't know why anyone didn't think of this before. Wii has definitely done it again with this innovative new game. The balance board isn't a gimmick, and today, I woke up sore from the intense workouts they give you. So give Wii Fit a try, because you'll like it.
  48. EtanM.
    May 28, 2008
    6
    Excellent idea and the balance board is well built; however, as a game Wii Fit has some serious shortcomings. First, there is no multiplayer feature at all. It would not have killed Nintendo to build in a quick Mii change or enable competitive features so that you can easily take turns playing the ski jump game using your own Mii. You can't even race a friend in the 2P race. Excellent idea and the balance board is well built; however, as a game Wii Fit has some serious shortcomings. First, there is no multiplayer feature at all. It would not have killed Nintendo to build in a quick Mii change or enable competitive features so that you can easily take turns playing the ski jump game using your own Mii. You can't even race a friend in the 2P race. Secondly, there should be an option to string together exercises and cut out all the screens between activities. Having to watch your ranking, the coin drop, back up, go into another exercise, skip past the trainer and then do the exercise limits ones ability to get a great diverse work out and means you're skipping past menus more than playing the game. Lastly, and most importantly to casual gamers, having to unlock everything is a huge pain. Who has the time to play the game so that everything becomes unlocked? It doesn't even unlock more games in the category you're playing either, just the longer you play the game the more some random game unlocks, and then you have to play basic before advanced which is a slap in the face to those of us who can do super basic aerobics no problem. Expand
  49. MarigeneA.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    I have read the other reviews here, many of them critical of the balance games. I'm over 60 years old and balance is an issue for me. I wish I had had something like this as my balance started to go...so those of you who are young won't have to lose balance abilities as you age.
  50. PaulH.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Don't buy this if you want a fun game to play. If you are looking for a comprehensive fitness and balance program which will improve your quality of life then this is for you. Like any fitness program, it will only be as effective as you make it. That said, Wii Fit is easy to use, fun and will have you shedding pounds and feeling good about yourself if you give it a chance.
  51. Daeniel
    Jun 16, 2008
    9
    Really cool, and useful for losing some weight too (maybe, not really sure about this ;) ). But still, it can become quite of a drug if some good game comes out for the WiiFit.
  52. TonyG
    Jul 26, 2008
    10
    1. Hot girl trainer + Downward Facing Dog yoga pose = win 2. The hidden genius of Wii Fit lies in the feedback which it provides the user. As a veteran of martial arts and yoga, the balance information which it provides for each exercise is priceless.
  53. [Anonymous]
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Why is everybody talking about losing weight? Wii Fit is not all about losing weight, and there is better things you can do if you want to lose some weight; watch what you eat, for example, and do not just sit there playing video games. Wii Fitness can help you to stay in fit and good health, but you cannot get a perfect body by playing video games. You can do yoga and balance exercises Why is everybody talking about losing weight? Wii Fit is not all about losing weight, and there is better things you can do if you want to lose some weight; watch what you eat, for example, and do not just sit there playing video games. Wii Fitness can help you to stay in fit and good health, but you cannot get a perfect body by playing video games. You can do yoga and balance exercises with Wii Fit, and you do not lose any weight by doing yoga and balace exercises. Losing weight is not why we have Wii Fit. We have Wii Fit becouse it's fun. It's still a game, but it can show us that doing some exercises can be fun, and that it's even more fun to do some exercises with your friends. Wii Fit is not a "home fitness equipment". If you are overweighted, then do not eat hamburgers. If you are looking for a new game that's fun to play with your friends, buy Wii Fit; it's really something we have never seen before. Expand
  54. TheWiiFitGirl
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love my Wii Fit since getting it in October. The reason I opted to purchase is I was looking at community yoga classes. For the price I could have paid for two 6-week sessions, I have a tool that has enhanced my life. I am active more and I watch what I eat. That makes it worth it retail price for me!
  55. PG
    Mar 21, 2009
    1
    A fad. A gimmick. A waste of your money. You'll spend more time trying to find one than playing it. And that time could be spent achieving your weight loss or whatever other goal you're buying the thing for in the first place. For those who bought it, congrats on being puppets and slaves to Nintendo's marketing and enjoy the rest of the terrible balance board games on the A fad. A gimmick. A waste of your money. You'll spend more time trying to find one than playing it. And that time could be spent achieving your weight loss or whatever other goal you're buying the thing for in the first place. For those who bought it, congrats on being puppets and slaves to Nintendo's marketing and enjoy the rest of the terrible balance board games on the way and already out. Expand
  56. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    Wii Fit is an interesting game in the sense that it is trying to get people to work out and have fun at the same time. The Balance Board can let you do Yoga and push-ups, oh boy! Wii Fit works very well and seems useful at first but it does not measure weight correctly. Also, the game criticizes you if it thinks you are overweight by making your Mii look fat. Except for being rude, theWii Fit is an interesting game in the sense that it is trying to get people to work out and have fun at the same time. The Balance Board can let you do Yoga and push-ups, oh boy! Wii Fit works very well and seems useful at first but it does not measure weight correctly. Also, the game criticizes you if it thinks you are overweight by making your Mii look fat. Except for being rude, the game turns out to be pretty good, particularly the Balance games, with a more emphasis on fun. It might not be worth a large price, but its a decent game for fun, but if you're looking for serious excercise, its better to exercise without a tv screen . Expand
  57. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    The Wii Fit works wonderfully, it has a simple easy to use system that works great, for the controls it uses the Balance Board which works wonderfully, it has some mini games that are really fun that actually helps your fitness, it also has some yoga and some great training outside of the main workouts, this is a game that's easy to grasp but difficult to master, all in all this is a greatThe Wii Fit works wonderfully, it has a simple easy to use system that works great, for the controls it uses the Balance Board which works wonderfully, it has some mini games that are really fun that actually helps your fitness, it also has some yoga and some great training outside of the main workouts, this is a game that's easy to grasp but difficult to master, all in all this is a great package that will have you coming back every day to try and master everything, a game that can be enjoyed by gamers of all ages. Expand
  58. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Kids that stay all day long playing video games should try having some fun and doing some exercise at the same time. My sixteen-year old son, who is overweight and never works out, is now having a great time with Wii Fit. And the activities that make him really move his body, like stepping and running , are his favorite ones. This may not be the â
  59. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    Pretty impressive for a game to make exercising fun and it actually makes me sweat more than i do at a gym so if you want to lose weight and have a Wii pick this game up.
  60. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    "Wii Fit" mixes fun and exercise into one, for a great time to spend losing calories. Guaranteed worth your money, as there are several mini games that are fun and enjoyable, while you are losing weight along with it.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. A genuinely fun way to get fit. [Issue#22, p.66]
  2. Impressive. But games won't get much from it and it's unlikely to get you trim on its own. [May 2008, p.66]
  3. You need to know before paying out for (and therefore committing to) Wii Fit that it has to become part of your daily life for it to mean anything. And if you are willing to commit to it then Wii Fit is a loyal and multitalented trainer. [Feb 2008, p.136]